PDA

View Full Version : Generative streaming to the internet w Reper

k!lowatt
07-24-2016, 10:28 AM
Hi all - I've been doing this for a few years - I rolled my own algorithmic MIDI generator. I run Reaper on a virtual machine and route the MIDI from my plugin to the VSTis I have loaded, then bounce the audio straight to the internet with SHOUTcast plugin. Basically, the the software is my instrument - I don't touch anything once its deployed to the VM, I just let it run 24/7. Link is in my sig.

Is anyone out there doing anything similar? It'd be nice to talk to anyone working in a similar space but there don't seem too be many out there. I'm also interested in problems people may have run into leaving Reaper running (on a VM) for an exceptionally long time (e.g. multiple days)...

maxdembo
07-26-2016, 06:09 PM
Been looking forward to seeing/hearing what this sounds like. Couldnt get it to stream on my phone.

On a pc now, listening on headphones.

k!lowatt
07-26-2016, 06:43 PM
Oh damn the speaker wouldn't toggle? What phone?

maxdembo
07-26-2016, 07:06 PM
the speaker image toggled, but i got no sound. galaxy s5, android 6.0.1

maxdembo
07-26-2016, 07:08 PM
Its a great stream btw, really enjoying it a lot.

k!lowatt
07-29-2016, 09:34 AM
Hey thanks a lot man. I'm really appreciative of the feedback especially the mobile issues you mentioned. Gonna look into the Android problems next week.

zeekat
07-30-2016, 09:27 AM
It sounds in places like a decent indie band. I don't know if I should be impressed or terrified.

maxdembo
07-31-2016, 07:45 PM
It sounds in places like a decent indie band. I don't know if I should be impressed or terrified.

Both!

...and neither.

Judders
08-01-2016, 07:43 AM
Sound impressive!