PDA

View Full Version : Support to VST XML


Apokalipsis
09-08-2016, 09:58 AM
Hello all!
Add the Reaper support to vst.xml please, it's nesessary for some plugins.
For example: Tone2 synths have short names for params and values in "Default VST to generic UI (instead of plug-in UI)".

Thanks in advance.

Apokalipsis
10-14-2017, 07:44 PM
Reaper developers can answer, someday will add vstxml or need to forget for it?

mschnell
10-15-2017, 01:28 AM
In fact I don't find anything about VSTXML. Does such even exist ?

-Michael

Apokalipsis
10-15-2017, 08:54 AM
mschnell
See please vst 2.4 sdk and vst3 documentation, related pages / vst xml definition files.
In steinberg website too enough information.

This example for sdk:
<!-- ================================================== ========= -->
<!-- VST Parameter XML Definition for vstxsynth ================ -->
<!-- Version 1.0 =============================================== -->
<!-- Date: 01/2006 ============================================= -->
<!-- ================================================== ========= -->

<VSTPluginProperties>
<VSTParametersStructure>
<!-- ================================================== ===== -->
<!-- Value Types =========================================== -->
<!-- ================================================== ===== -->

<ValueType name="Waveform">
<Entry name="Sawtooth" value="[0, 0.5["/>
<Entry name="Pulse" value="[0.5, 1]"/>
</ValueType>

<!-- ================================================== ===== -->
<!-- Templates ============================================= -->
<!-- ================================================== ===== -->

<Template name="Osc">
<Param name="Waveform" type="Waveform" id="offset"/>
<Param name="Frequency" id="offset+1"/>
<Param name="Level" id="offset+2"/>
</Template>

<!-- ================================================== ===== -->
<!-- Global ================================================ -->
<!-- ================================================== ===== -->

<Param name="Volume" id="6"/>
<Group name="Osc Left" template="Osc" values="offset=0"/>
<Group name="Osc Right" template="Osc" values="offset=3"/>
</VSTParametersStructure>
</VSTPluginProperties>

mschnell
10-15-2017, 01:33 PM
Reaper does show the host parameter names the VST provides. So what needs to be enhanced ?

-Michael

Apokalipsis
10-15-2017, 04:05 PM
Hmm, I'll try to explain.
In some vstplugins, developers shorten parameter names or do not sign at all. Reaper shows them as "---". This problem happens with the values ​​of the parameters, there are for example plugins whose value is shown in numbers, but this parameter can be responsible for displaying the menu in the plugin and its elements.
With vstxml can assign names to parameters and their values.


See this example:
Parameter: Osc1 Syn (28) Value: neoFM 0.0000
Parameter: Osc1 Syn (28) Value: neoFM So 0.0100

First string param show short name)))
Second string show short param value.

Parameter: Matrix S (94) Value: 63 0.4760
In this string value shows as number, only this is the same menu as for osc1

mschnell
10-15-2017, 10:14 PM
OK.

(With instrument lists,) Kontaks shows hundreds of parameters just as numbers, because it does not know about the libraries that are loaded.

But I don't see how such xml files could help.

-Michael

Apokalipsis
10-15-2017, 10:32 PM
Hello Mschnell!
In Steinberg DAWS, this allows you to rename the parameters and assign their names to the values ​​that are displayed in the automation.
As standard means Reaper do I can not think of. With Lua scripts, can only create alias for the parameter name, not its values.

Sorry my bad english, i try explained more simply.