PDA

View Full Version : 'Upgrading' Reaper on Mac

artkau
09-19-2008, 08:34 PM
Hi all, absolute Mac noob here.

When I download the latest build of Reaper, I find that the upgrade process is stupid with a Mac... Please correct me if I am wrong, but the only way to upgrade is to copy the Reaper folder onto my Mac and replace the old one, manually copying out my folder structure from the current installation. Copying and replacing DOES NOT MERGE THE REAPER FOLDERS but rather deletes my old folder contents.

What a drag?!

How are the rest of you upgrading? I keep my convolution library and of course all my plugs in the Reaper folder, so I don't really want to be manually rebuilding my Reaper folder each time.

The best thing I have come up with so far is to simply replace the Reaper application alone, but that's not the greatest idea for obvious reasons.

Otherwise, loving Reaper on Mac, don't touch Logic and am wowing the guys at work. :)

Art

Jack Winter
09-20-2008, 04:49 AM
Noob here too, but afaik you can not drop a folder with the same name and have the content merged. OSX will completely replace the old folder with the contents of the new one. This happens in finder too. I fail to see the use of this behaviour, but seems to be how OSX is intended to work...

kerryg
09-20-2008, 11:41 AM
And honestly, as a 17-year Mac user I never saw this as an important omission up until the day I started working with PC and saw the obvious benefits - and wondered "how have we ever done without this on the Mac?".

As a "second best" suggestion, it's possible there might be some free third-party utilities that will sync folders on the Mac on versiontracker.com; if I get a little free time today I'll see if I can't recommend something that might help.

semiquaver
09-21-2008, 04:24 PM
how about this automator action: http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/automator/syncfolders.html ...

Justin
09-21-2008, 04:48 PM
Suppose we need to make a little installer, eh? :)

semiquaver