PDA

View Full Version : Reaper width

Clapz
08-24-2011, 11:52 AM
Hi ,
I wonder , why is the default width set to 100% on each track when starting a new song in reaper 4?
Should this not be 0% ? Or does 0% set a track mono?
If so, what does - 100% mean?
And as a final question, how can I set the default for track width
in reaper 4 ?
Please help, because I am really struggling with these questions.
Yes I am new to reaper and can't find info on this one .

mabian
08-24-2011, 03:20 PM
100% = as it is, 0% = collapsed to mono

- Mario

gofer
08-24-2011, 05:10 PM
-100% = Channels switched sides, left is right and light is reft :D.

It is no stereo widener gadget.

Clapz
08-24-2011, 05:14 PM
Thanks guys !

the-patient
11-05-2011, 06:57 PM
I don't mean to bump a somewhat old thread, but what's the purpose of this from a mixing standpoint? I guess so you can tighten up stereo tracks, and do interesting things by automating this knob and making items switch sides?

chrisharbin
11-05-2011, 07:27 PM
Sometimes I just hate how wide something is. I think to myself "self, this just sounds too wide"

Stereo loops are a big part of this, as well as stereo drums. Sometimes, narrowing the field let's things sit better. Another thing I'm really happy to be able to do now that I'm on 4 is narrowing the verb buss in certain instances. Of course it's all about choice.

It's truly nice to be able to have it in host again with a simple right click (or I guess some might like it as the default. For the record, I like R/L and the wide option ("stereo pan") but the R/L independent is nice too.

the-patient
11-05-2011, 07:31 PM
Thanks for the reply Chris!

That's what I was thinking, and I could see how that would be handy in the reverb buss. While I have your attention, what's the deal with the input fx chain?

I understand that it only works on audio coming in, when it's record armed - is this for monitoring purposes?

mabian
11-06-2011, 10:16 AM
Thanks for the reply Chris!