Cockos Incorporated Forums

Cockos Incorporated Forums (https://forum.cockos.com/index.php)
-   REAPER Feature Requests (https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   new innovative auto punch in (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=32839)

daniel 03-01-2009 07:57 PM

new innovative auto punch in
 
hi there, :)

let me begin by making clear that i am aware about reapers normal auto-punch-in methods. i also used the search function and read all threads that looked relevant about auto punch-in, but could not find any information for my feature request.

this thread is not about recording one take and then automatically punch in at the same beginning for the second take.

okay let's start!

imagine you're going to record your voice but no recording engineer is there :/
because your verse is very complicated you have to split it into four sections.
after every take of each different section you have to step back from the mic, go to your daw, punch in and go back to your mic. you lose all of the feeling and energy from the former take. additionally you changed your standing-position a few inches, so the following take will sound a bit different.
instead of concentrating in our perormance and getting in the mood we are forced to always "r&r" (run and record) ;>
even if we might have the possibility to operate the sequencer at our recording position we would have to break our recordingworkflow.

this is my daily scenario, and i think many in the same situation can follow me.

i think it would be great if we could set several different record-markers (start01/end01 start02/end02 ... ...) for the different punch-ins before we do our recordings.

if startmarker02 would be after endmarker01 it would be simple. but that's not the case.

i want to be able to postion the beginning of my second take shortly before the end of take 1. take one gets recordet till endmarker01 and reaper jumps automatically back to startmarker02 and records take02 etc...

i can't explain it any better :>

imagine how many people could profit from this kind of workflow.

at the moment it might be possible to create something similar by using makros, i'm going to check that out, but nonetheless you would need to use your shortcuts for every different take while recording.

peace

jas 03-01-2009 08:48 PM

This might be another way to go:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...301#post289301

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...8450&CatId=627

nofish 03-01-2009 09:47 PM

If I understood right what you're trying to do is already possible with marker actions.

You need to install the sws extension to use it.

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...2&postcount=19

basically marker actions work like this:

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...6&postcount=12

note:
The marker actions are now included in the SWS extensions (see first link), so no need to download and install the reaper_markeractions.dll.

Further down the thread there are also some ideas of how marker actions could be used.

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=24297

daniel 03-02-2009 02:24 PM

thank you for your responses.

if i understood everything correctly, i am not able to do it even with the sws extension.

maybe this makes it clearer

M=marker
(ignore ...)

...M1__[Take1]__M2.......................................
................M3__[Take2]__M4..........................
...........................M5__[Take3]__M6...............
.......................................M7__[Take4]__M8...

in detail:
M1 starts recording Take1
M2 stops recording Take1 / jumps to M3
M3 starts recording Take2
M4 stops recording Take2 / jumps to M5
etc...


the problem is M3 is BEFORE M2
so, in the middle of Take1 Marker M3 gets triggered
then M2 jumps to M3
M3 records till M2
then M2 jumps to M3
M3 records till M2
.... etc
endless loop


a workaround:
M1 (record)
M2 (stop + set M3 + jump to M3)
M3 (record + delete M2) ....
;) not convenient


in the meantime i was able to make some makros that will work for me during recording without looking on the screen. so implementing such a feature would now just be a bonus for me. but its still just a workaround and i need to have my keyboard in the tracking room.

and i think there are quite a few young people out there, recording themselves on their own, who might profit from it, or might change to reaper if this feature would be implemented in an easy understandable way. even though these users might not be the ultimate target group :)

it's one of those "easy" things that would be very convenient. reaper is getting on a level of its own. but many people do not grasp it. this feature would "leave a mark".

<3 reaper

nofish 03-03-2009 12:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by daniel (Post 291042)
thank you for your responses.

if i understood everything correctly, i am not able to do it even with the sws extension.

maybe this makes it clearer

M=marker
(ignore ...)

...M1__[Take1]__M2.......................................
................M3__[Take2]__M4..........................
...........................M5__[Take3]__M6...............
.......................................M7__[Take4]__M8...

in detail:
M1 starts recording Take1
M2 stops recording Take1 / jumps to M3
M3 starts recording Take2
M4 stops recording Take2 / jumps to M5
etc...


the problem is M3 is BEFORE M2
so, in the middle of Take1 Marker M3 gets triggered
then M2 jumps to M3
M3 records till M2
then M2 jumps to M3
M3 records till M2
.... etc
endless loop


Yes, I think you're right. This problem was discussed in the marker actions thread. As I don't use marker actions myself this way I had overlooked it, sorry. Maybe SWS will step in if he has a solution for this, or even better, the Reaper dev's will take on it, as I also like this idea.

sws 03-03-2009 09:51 AM

Daniel, here's a way to use marker actions to setup your workflow. Using your same marker nomenclature, setup the following:
...M1__[Take1]__M2.......................................
................M3__[Take2]__M4..........................
...........................M5__[Take3]__M6...............
.......................................M7__[Take4]__M8...

M1 = "!1013" record
M2 = "!1013 40434 40613 40172 1013" record stop (toggle), move edit cursor to play cursor, delete marker, move to previous marker, record
M3 = no name
M4,M6 = M2
M5,M7 = no name
M8 = "!1016" stop

So this gets around the infinite loop issue with self deleting markers. However, you lose your setup. You may want to bind "SWS: Copy marker set to clipboard" and "SWS: Paste marker set to clipboard" to keys, or maybe just embed those actions in the start/stop markers. (I would have done it for you, but AFAIK extension action #s are not consistent across computers) You may also want to check out the features "SWS: Save marker set" and "SWS: Load marker set".

Also, this doesn't work for some reason if the start take/end take markers are too close together.

If you copy the following to your clipboard and run my action "SWS: Paste markers from clipboard" you'll have a three take setup ready for you to drag the markers wherever you need them.

Code:

1 2.00000000000000 "!1013 Take1Start" 0 -1.00000000000000
2 8.00000000000000 "Take2Start" 0 -1.00000000000000
3 10.50000000000000 "!1013 40434 40613 40172 1013 TakeStop" 0 -1.00000000000000
6 14.50000000000000 "Take3Start" 0 -1.00000000000000
4 16.00000000000000 "!1013 40434 40613 40172 1013 TakeStop" 0 -1.00000000000000
5 26.00000000000000 "!1016 Stop" 0 -1.00000000000000

Hope this helps! :)

daniel 03-03-2009 02:33 PM

thank you sws!

it works :) *jeah!*

now, one thing to make it perfect for my workflow would be to add a new track after every take. all 4 recordet takes are on different tracks.

i use "automatic record-arm when track selected". the inserted track becomes automatically the armed track.

really, for some people this recording workflow might be just a minor thing, but for me it's elementary. thanks everybody!!

daniel


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.