Cockos Incorporated Forums

Cockos Incorporated Forums (https://forum.cockos.com/index.php)
-   ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions (https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   is it possible that reaper will call processevents (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=200381)

junko 12-05-2017 09:43 AM

is it possible that reaper will call processevents
 
even when there are no events, while the transport is in playing state ?

I saw that reaper call js plugins even when there are no events,
but call vst's ONLY when there are events

thanks ahead.

Justin 12-05-2017 05:27 PM

effProcessEvents is only called if there are events to process. If your processReplacing() is called without an effProcessEvents first, then no events were sent for that block!

junko 12-07-2017 08:31 AM

right.
so is there a (vst) way or any workaround you know of,
that the host will call the plug as it does with script plugs ?
thanks for reply.

EDIT: the solution i thought of is simply process what i need in processReplacing which
is called always.
i you have a better idea i would like to hear, if no then this issue is solved.
thanks.

Xenakios 12-07-2017 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by junko (Post 1922365)
right.
so is there a (vst) way or any workaround you know of,
that the host will call the plug as it does with script plugs ?
thanks for reply.

I noticed this same issue when trying to do a VST plugin with JUCE that would just generate MIDI events. It indeed looks like in Reaper a MIDI item (maybe with some dummy event inside, I don't recall exactly) needs to be placed on the track before the plugin will be able to output MIDI. It would be nice if Reaper had some workaround/option for that...

junko 12-07-2017 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xenakios (Post 1922388)
I noticed this same issue when trying to do a VST plugin with JUCE that would just generate MIDI events.

exactly what my plug does.

Quote:

(maybe with some dummy event inside, I don't recall exactly)
yes, i think it has to have some dummy events.

junko 12-09-2017 11:09 AM

sorry, wrong Assumption
 
I just realized that this thread based on wrong Assumption that reaper call script plugins processEvents always.
wrong. i don't know and it doesn't matter.

the answer to this thread is:
"if you want to be called always then put your code in processReplacing
and not in processEvents!"

there could be one problem, if the code include processing midi events

the solution is simple:
collect MIDI events in processEvents and process them in processReplacing.

thanks justin. thread is solved!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.