Cockos Incorporated Forums

Cockos Incorporated Forums (https://forum.cockos.com/index.php)
-   REAPER General Discussion Forum (https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Start/Stop recording via footswitch (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=195886)

jzucker 09-10-2017 05:29 PM

Start/Stop recording via footswitch
 
I'm not interested in hacking a game controller or building my own. I would just like to purchase a commercial midi or usb footswitch.

Is there a straight-forward way to do this? Something like this?

Something like this?

https://www.amazon.com/Logidy-UMI3-M...idi+footswitch

In my case, i'm not using it to punch in so millisecond response time is not important though I would grow to use it if I had it. Alternatively, if I could somehow trigger the record start with my mobile device...Obviously, the mobile device response would be extremely slow but that's not an issue in my case.

cfillion 09-10-2017 05:49 PM

Yes: every REAPER action can be assigned to any incoming MIDI event.

You can also do so with your mobile device using REAPER's relatively new web interface feature.

karbomusic 09-10-2017 06:36 PM

The Lodigy is fine, I have one.

jzucker 09-10-2017 06:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by karbomusic (Post 1884473)
The Lodigy is fine, I have one.

is there a FAQ for setting it up?

karbomusic 09-10-2017 06:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jzucker (Post 1884474)
is there a FAQ for setting it up?

There is a user's manual...

http://logidy.com/?pid=5

It's pretty easily to use in Reaper actually. There is an app with it to set up the channels/CCs you want to use etc.

jzucker 09-10-2017 07:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by karbomusic (Post 1884476)
There is a user's manual...

http://logidy.com/?pid=5

It's pretty easily to use in Reaper actually. There is an app with it to set up the channels/CCs you want to use etc.

i'm talking about configuring it to start/stop recording in reaper. Not a manual of the device itself, lol.

karbomusic 09-10-2017 08:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jzucker (Post 1884478)
i'm talking about configuring it to start/stop recording in reaper. Not a manual of the device itself, lol.

You need both.

mschnell 09-10-2017 10:30 PM

It might be more efficient to buy a fader/rotary controller with a foot switch input.

-Michael

ivansc 09-11-2017 01:34 AM

There is another thread on this if you do a search. I bought MY MIDI fotswitch based on recommendations found there. Works great & is fully assignable to whatever function you need.

BigFella 09-11-2017 01:43 AM

Slightly OT but maybe relevant to OP or others.

I have a little external number pad that I keep beside me when I'm recording myself. It works better than a foot switch because I can assign a whole load of functions via "actions" like record/stop/keep (or delete) recorded files, create track, etc.

It's on a usb extension direct to laptop. Also - very cheap.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/26196...D1307079019849

Wow - there's a wireless one:

http://m.clasohlson.com/uk/Exibel-Wi...SABEgJitvD_BwE

Great thread, I'm off shopping.

BigFella 09-14-2017 03:37 AM

For the record:

Wireless number pad works great. Once you've clarified what you want to do (individual tasks and general workflow), all buttons show up as potential 'action' triggers.

With num lock on:

1 - Transport: Start/stop recording at edit cursor
2 - Transport: Stop (save all recorded media)
3 - Transport: Stop (DELETE all recorded media)

Anyone got a better way?

jzucker 09-14-2017 04:27 AM

I got my presonus faderport and installed the driver and have everything pretty much working the way I want.

However, the default for the footswitch was play instead of record.

I went to the actions menu and tried getting it to listen to the midi event but it never saw it. Any idea why?

So instead of doing that, I went into the ini file to change the footswitch default to record but I couldn't find the record action id anywhere. I ended up finding it in a google search and once I input it into the footswitch value in the ini file and restarted reaper it worked. Where is the complete list of action ids? One google search said it's at the right side of the list box in the define actions dialog but it wasn't there for me.

I notice the device gets some power from USB, anyone know if it can be used in some capacity without the power cord connected? Didn't seem to in reaper.

Also, can reaper be coerced into re-reading the ini file without having to restart?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.