Old 08-31-2007, 06:02 PM   #1
simplecarnival
Human being with feelings
 
simplecarnival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 364
Default Edit shuffle mode

It's described well here, but I didn't see it as a FR...

http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=8306

I'm not sure about how it could be implemented, but I find myself needing the equivalent of PTLE's shuffle mode as I post this...
simplecarnival is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2009, 10:54 AM   #2
calim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Default

I give Reaper a try (since 2 hours on a post-production work) and now I'm stuck with this problem too... I have sliced up an interview, and I need to reorder regions on the track like it's possible in PTools.

For now I need to make space between slices to be able to insert something in without doing an overlap mess.

Last edited by calim; 03-21-2009 at 10:59 AM.
calim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 12:06 PM   #3
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 589
Default

+1 from my side

Didn't find another FR thread asking for it. Kind of strange - this is so old. I just worked for the first time with Pro Tools and have to say that this is a nice style to work with. Example:
You have to audio items on a track like just cut through one, so no space inbetween. Now you want to move the material of the second item more to the right but don't want a gap between the items. Also you don't want the end of the second item to be cut/removed. Shuffle mode: Drag the left border of the second item to the left and it gets bigger. Wonderful. Of course the item should have more material in it then currently visible / in use.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 12:36 PM   #4
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luster View Post
+1 from my side

Now you want to move the material of the second item more to the right but don't want a gap between the items.
That confuses me. It seems you would expect a gap if you move something further right. What appears in between when you move it right?

(I don't know Pro Tools, so maybe that is why I don't understand your question.)
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 01:19 PM   #5
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Since I don't see any use of the word "ripple" here, I have to ask:

1. Have you tried Reaper's Ripple Edit mode (it's on the main toolbar, by default).

2. If so, what about it didn't work for you?
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 03:00 PM   #6
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 589
Default

A LiceCap might help:
Attached Images
File Type: gif shufflemodeex1.gif (49.5 KB, 199 views)
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 03:35 PM   #7
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Ah, fair enough.

Really, the FR should just be "make ripple edit mode consistent". If you're in Ripple, the above behavior should of course happen. Likewise, there are a lot of actions that ignore Ripple completely.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 03:48 PM   #8
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 589
Default

No. That's just one little aspect of shuffle mode I described. The point of shuffle mode is having several items in a row without gap and reordering them via drag and drop. I know there are scripts to help out but honestly: they can't beat drag and drop. Additionally the above posted working methods are nice and would come with this.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 04:34 PM   #9
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

That's what I mean - Ripple mode is very inconsistent about when it ripples and when it doesn't. The .gif above, and being able to drag+drop as you describe, are things that it should be doing an isn't.

The fact that there are no actions like "fix overlaps on current track by moving items to the right" doesn't help.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 04:49 PM   #10
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,962
Default

Cool! maybe should be posted in "Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks" section
Things that don't really qualify as bugs, but aren't "right".
https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 06:21 AM   #11
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 589
Default

Hmm. I don't see a Nitpick here but a big enhancement, I would even say a completly new feature. Another example here:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=179395
To rearrange the order of items on one track ripple editing right now feels like the wrong one. You have to "lift" the selected item in some way (like a modifier e.g.).
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 07:55 AM   #12
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Later today I'll see if I can write a script for "Shuffle selected item to mouse cursor" - basically taking the scripts in that thread and automatically repeating the action until the item gets to the mouse. Not quite drag and drop, but it would just be a matter of hovering the mouse and pressing a shortcut key.
__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 08:24 AM   #13
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 589
Default

Thanks for the efforts. Please relax - no need the hurry, at least from my side.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 09:21 AM   #14
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,962
Default

yep! this should be native !
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2018, 02:14 PM   #15
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,551
Default

Lokasenna_Shuffle selected items to mouse cursor should be up on ReaPack shortly. Worthing noting that it only works with items all on the same track at the moment, and having items grouped will probably mess it up.

__________________
I'm no longer using Reaper or working on scripts for it. Sorry. :(
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2019, 01:00 PM   #16
PointReyes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 164
Default

Very crucial for pro work, and I'm quite surprised it's not in Reaper natively. It really, really needs to be there because it saves gigantic amounts of time and fiddling about.

The scripts are good and appreciated but are workarounds -- a native shuffle mode would be a game changer for editing in Reaper.
__________________
Latest Reaper 6. Mac Pro trashcan 6-core 3.7gHz; 32g RAM; all SSD drives for system, audio, and (3 drives) samples; the most current OS X version; Apollo 8 2nd Gen interface
PointReyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.