Old 03-10-2014, 04:42 PM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,798
Default No Background Icon Panel

I don't know why but when i pack my Theme into a ReaperThemeZip, the background of the icons in the icon panel disapear (you can see that in the attached file)

When it's unpacked, it's all ok.

What am i doing wrong ?

Thanks for your advices !
Attached Images
File Type: jpg iconNoBackground.jpg (68.1 KB, 1129 views)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 03:26 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,798
Default

Still no answer to that problem.
Nobody has the same ? =/

I tried a lot of things without success, i don't know what is wrong =/
You can download my theme if you want to test, the link is in my signature.

Thanks !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 07:03 AM   #3
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 971
Default

Answered in the other thread Anyone had Reaperthemezip not load certain images?

Peter
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 01:18 AM   #4
serenityjazz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Marseille
Posts: 740
Default

Hello Xray,

I tested the ReaThemeZip and got the same problem. It works fine when the theme is unzipped but it doesn't work with the ReaThemeZip file.

Looks like you found a bug!
serenityjazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 02:31 AM   #5
Never
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Still no answer to that problem.
Nobody has the same ? =/

I tried a lot of things without success, i don't know what is wrong =/
You can download my theme if you want to test, the link is in my signature.

Thanks !
This is actually the case with ALL packed themes that contain uncomposited
toolbar icons, in the toolbar customization window, they all show just
the uncomposited icon illustration with no toolbar blank underneath, until they are unpacked,
then they show the image overlaid on top of the toolbar blank.
The only exception to this I have found is the default versions,
which of course already have the icons(including the toolbar blank)
unpacked in the \program files\REAPERx\installdata\data\ folder.
Never is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 03:56 AM   #6
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 971
Default

Hi,
I can confirm all this. It is obviously a Reaper problem.

I added a uncomposited toolbar icon directly into the default ReaperThemeZip via drag and drop without unpacking, and if you load that default theme, the bug appears too.

Peter
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme

Last edited by Pet; 12-03-2016 at 05:00 AM. Reason: typo
Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2016, 10:24 AM   #7
lucas_LCS
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Never
The only exception to this I have found is the default versions,
which of course already have the icons(including the toolbar blank)
unpacked in the \program files\REAPERx\installdata\data\ folder.
that sounds like the answer right there.
have you tried putting you files in the folder (after backing up the originals, of course)?
lucas_LCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 06:10 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,798
Default

@Never,
I also noticed that if I removed some icons (like the ones from RADO, packed in my theme zip), then I can get the background back,

Do you think this should be reported as a REAPER bug ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 07:26 PM   #9
Never
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@Never,
I also noticed that if I removed some icons (like the ones from RADO, packed in my theme zip), then I can get the background back,

Do you think this should be reported as a REAPER bug ?
I just tried to do that. Removed all of the RADO and ED icons, repacked,
reloaded theme. this is what I got.



Of course if your color themes folder still has a copy of the
X-Raym_Analog folder from the unpacked theme, and the new packed version is still set to use that folder instead of the zip file for resources in the
reapertheme ini file....well then thats the answer....apart from that ....idk...
Never is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2016, 08:03 PM   #10
Never
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 404
Default

Whether or not this is a 'bug' I think could be considered a matter of opinion
.....from what I have seen thus far, this phenomena is in accord with
the normal operation and idk maybe it could be an issue for some, or a non-issue for others, but it is...I would say 'anomalie-esque'. One thing
is for sure...WT has admitted that during past development, and especially
more recently with the transition to V5, alot of changes had to be made across
the board, and the entire toolbar segment, including the way icons are
delivered, composited, (or layered), and (at least for the Default V's),
placed in another 'resource payload' type of library along w/ the composite OL and the TB Blank, for REAPER to draw from, or not draw from, depending on it's mood at the time--(JK)--Is...by all accounts, a system formed of vestiges of
theming formats of the past, workarounds of the present, and a lot of compromise on the part of the DEV team....OK so it's a bit simpler the way
WT explained it, but he did say there was a lot of debate and division.
So maybe at the least your discovery will be a milestone on the road to
reform my friend.

Cheers
Never is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 02:32 PM   #11
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,798
Default

Thanks for the help in debugging !

@Never
I didn't succeed to reproduce either. This was an old memory, maybe I was wrong. I compile this zip hundreds of time since I have this bug so...

----

So that lead me to the conclusion that it is a bug cause packaging new images into a themezip should work. It it is not an image format, an image dimension, comrpession, naming or folder problem... Then maybe something should be optimized on themezip interpretation side.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2017, 04:10 AM   #12
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,798
Default

As we agreed that it may be a bug,

I open a bug report thread :
Packed Theme and Backgroud Icons - Cockos Confederated Forums
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.