Old 01-27-2015, 10:06 AM   #1
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default EEL : Glue selected items independently

Hi !

This thread is a spin-of of the thread How do you glue/render items with ReaScript? which focused on a python script.

Here is the adapted EEL script, with some other feature, and most of all, an thread name that matches what it is about

So here is a script that will allow you to glue selected items indepently, perserving color, item name, and with one undo point.

You can download it on here :
My REAPER Scripts / ExtremRaym
Look for Item Editing folder!


To do (help welcome) =>

  • Suceed to get the muted note, and to set it back to the glued item. It is done inthe Python script but I don't succeed to reproduce it in EEL.

Cheers !

Last edited by X-Raym; 03-08-2015 at 05:29 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 12:41 PM   #2
reapertribal
Human being with feelings
 
reapertribal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Spain
Posts: 284
Default

Thank you X-Raym for share with us.It seems be very helpful
Cheers
reapertribal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2015, 02:02 PM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

@reapertribal
It is, definitely :P

Thank you a lot !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 10:20 AM   #4
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

Because of this bug (Items with Loop and Incomplete Measure), you may find useful to SWS/BR: Split selected items at time signature first
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 03:18 AM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

Now with Prevent UI refresh (huge performance optimization)

The Suceed to get the muted note still cannot be done because Reascript RPR_MIDI_InsertNote produces unexpected results is still not corrected.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:09 AM   #6
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,596
Default

meanwhile... a FR :P
I would like to select all items in project, without worrying if I am selecting midi items or audio items, then apply glue them all independently, and make it sure it only glues the midi ones, ignoring any audio item.

But, again the problem with pooled midi items. When gluing all the items I would like to preserve the pooling, so it should be intelligent to recognize the pooled items, glue one of them and then delete all the rest, and then pool copy the original new glue one to the same positions of the deleted ones.

maybe too complicated
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:27 AM   #7
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 659
Default

J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 11:32 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

Audio/Midi recognition is quite easy, it can be done in a second

Pooled midi items, that is the hard part.
I didn't remember what was the trick to know if a MIDI item was pooled, and if pooled, what is the ID of these...

You worked on this if I remember ?
EDIT: OH YES: that was brilliant=> heda_Keep selected only one item per MIDI pool.eel

EDIT: that might be something to do with the default REAPER action. Hmm...

Last edited by X-Raym; 03-08-2015 at 11:46 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 08:46 AM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

@heda
I was digging the Glue selected media items independently preserving pooled MIDI and I came to the the conslusion than it would be harder than expected.
The fact is than Pooled MIDI share a lot of things, but not "loop item from source" properties and In and Out points.

Example: Yes, this items are pooled together.



If you also consider the fact than glueing will create new in and out points, that become a bit complicated :P

EDIT: Playrate is not Pooled either!

I dont tell it is impossible, but sure, it would be very difficult.

EDIT: even more complicated, take envelope are nore pooled either haha

Last edited by X-Raym; 03-09-2015 at 09:00 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 09:03 AM   #10
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,596
Default

I wouldn't mind if no looping is supported. I don't usually have pooled looped items. a lot of oo, pooled looped.. too much
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 09:36 AM   #11
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

-- Off Topic --
♫ heda coder doesn't use pooled looped items ♫
I think we have the beginning of a song here.
--------

And what about the different take envelope and take rate than this pooled items can have ? ^^
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:08 AM   #12
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 5,596
Default

yes that's a hit song lol

maybe I asked for a complicated feature
But I don't use take envelopes for midi items either
This may change with new REAPER 5 take automation for fx parameters.

Today I had to glue all items themselves again in a project because I wanted to copy a region and it was impossible if I didn't glue the items first, because when doing so, all the midi was out of time. Maybe a REAPER bug, but I always find gluing the midi items a good way to fix this kind of issues. But I don't like to lose the pooling in midi items each time I do it.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2015, 10:37 AM   #13
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,195
Default

Yes, there is some misbehavior sometimes.

So it would be without take playrate variation, without take envelope, without tempo change and without loop and other item properties.
That's is a bit restrictive. But surely to conceive!

I have other plans for the moment, can I can still note this in my idea box.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.