Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 05:04 PM   #1
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default EMU 1820M interface on Windows 7 64-Bit (plus request for drivers)

Hi all

I've just been reading this thread:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=68803

and rather than resurrect the dead I thought I'd start afresh.

I have an EMU 1820M and am still on WinXP. I want to make the jump to Win7 64-Bit but am having trouble finding the last released driver (the beta I presume) and the latest version of Patchmix.

If anyone still has these, would there be any chance of uploading to Dropbox again (or uploading somewhere else, emailing me, etc)? Would be amazingly helpful if you could.

Also, any new advice or stories from EMU users on Win7-64? Would love to hear from you if so.

Cheers

Max
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:29 PM   #2
SamuelC
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 232
Default

http://www.general-files.org/go/161628798500

About 20 megs.

Beta drivers + app.
SamuelC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:48 AM   #3
Bigopigo
Human being with feelings
 
Bigopigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 75
Default

Using 1820m with w7/64 and Reaper64 since they got out.

No problems. Stable.
Bigopigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 01:56 AM   #4
Bigopigo
Human being with feelings
 
Bigopigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 75
Default

Here is the 2.30 Beta 32/64. I think its last one that came out.


https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...30_00_BETA.rar
Bigopigo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 02:19 AM   #5
msmucr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Praha, Czech republic
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuelC View Post
http://www.general-files.org/go/161628798500

About 20 megs.

Beta drivers + app.
This is IMO incorrect driver for EMU USB cards like 0404.

OP needs beta driver version 2.30:
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00_BETA.exe
and the Patchmix:
EmuPMX_PCApp_US_2_20_00.exe

It is hard to find, because both files are on support page of E-MU 1616M PCIe. (PCIe is misleading)
I have 1212M PCI in one computer, which is basically same card as 1820M without dock and it is stable under Win7 64bit.

Michal
msmucr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 03:08 AM   #6
jiff 41
Human being with feelings
 
jiff 41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: WALES, UK
Posts: 733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msmucr View Post
OP needs beta driver version 2.30:
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00_BETA.exe
and the Patchmix:
EmuPMX_PCApp_US_2_20_00.exe

It is hard to find, because both files are on support page of E-MU 1616M PCIe. (PCIe is misleading)
I have 1212M PCI in one computer, which is basically same card as 1820M without dock and it is stable under Win7 64bit.

Michal
Don't know which driver is correct for 1820m cos I've got the 1616m PCIe & I downloaded the us_2_30_00 beta driver & it works fine here on W7x64
__________________
"I started out with nothing & i still have most of it left"(seasick steve)
jiff 41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 03:50 AM   #7
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Great stuff guys. And re-assuring because I have been reading about others who have had problems....

How have you all been finding the EMU works with WDM drivers/audio? A lot of people report problems with that.

Thanks for all the help.
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 03:34 AM   #8
JimCurtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Default Any up date on this please?

Any valid update on this or valid download links.

I am currently looking to upgrade one of my old PCs to a new PC with either windows 8 or 7, 64 bit, can I still use my Emu-1820m with these OS systems?

any replies with help appreciated...

Cheers

Jim

--------------------
http://www.jimcpettigrew.com
JimCurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 04:25 AM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,720
Default

FWIW I gave my 1212m (same card without the connecting box that fits in a drive bay) to a friend who is currently running it on those beta drivers with no issues.
And MY card was pci, not even pci-e
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 05:34 AM   #10
JimCurtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
FWIW I gave my 1212m (same card without the connecting box that fits in a drive bay) to a friend who is currently running it on those beta drivers with no issues.
And MY card was pci, not even pci-e

Sounds good, but no good to me without any valid links for me to download, anyone please?
JimCurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 07:39 AM   #11
Ozymandias
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 144
Default

http://support.creative.com/Products...e+Professional

Edit: Sorry, looks like that's only for Vista/XP.
Ozymandias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 09:26 AM   #12
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,720
Default

That link IS the beta that everyone has been using & it does/did work with 7 on my computer
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 05:10 PM   #13
Mind Riot
Human being with feelings
 
Mind Riot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimCurtis View Post
Any valid update on this or valid download links.

I am currently looking to upgrade one of my old PCs to a new PC with either windows 8 or 7, 64 bit, can I still use my Emu-1820m with these OS systems?

any replies with help appreciated...

Cheers

Jim

--------------------
http://www.jimcpettigrew.com
I was a long time 1616PCI user on my old DAW running XP, and I used the beta drivers when I built my new one running 7/64. It developed loud crackles and pops that I couldn't get rid of no matter what I did. Uninstalling, reinstalling, using different PCI slots, searching for resource conflicts, every setting tweak imaginable, I tried everything to no avail. I finally had to buy myself a new interface, which I did NOT want to do. I loved the 1616, it was a great piece of hardware (and still is, just not on my machine).

But as others have noted, many have made it work with 7 with no problems. So I attribute the failure to my PC's incompatibility or my inability to find the problem.

So I hope it works out for you, I just thought I'd share my experience. One thing I will note, though, is that the latest iteration of the beta drivers didn't work for me at all and I had to go with an earlier version to get things to work at all. If the one you get doesn't work I might still have the one that worked for me sitting on a USB drive somewhere around here and I could get it to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
http://support.creative.com/Products...e+Professional

Edit: Sorry, looks like that's only for Vista/XP.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
That link IS the beta that everyone has been using & it does/did work with 7 on my computer
Yeah, 7 wasn't even out yet when they stopped working on those. That's how far back we're going; they're 64 bit drivers but originally written for Vista, which is why it's not guaranteed that they'll work for everybody on 7/8. We're in Vintage interface territory here.
__________________
"Mah blahkinned sole izz daw-kaw thawn thah blahkissed nye-eeeet!!!"
SQUONK SQUONK SQUEE!!! SQUIDONK SQUIDONK DONK SQUEE!!!
"Thah daaahhhk of thah nye-eeeet izz lye-eeek my-eee sole-aaah!!!"
Mind Riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 03:19 AM   #14
JimCurtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for the replies and yours Mind Riot.
New Pc arriving tomorrow so I will see if this weekend throws up any problems with old gear and compatibility issues, so I might be asking you Mind Riot to seek out that driver for me 😉

I will be back for help I'm sure...

Cheers

Jim
JimCurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 04:51 PM   #15
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Hi all

I'm still on XP with my 1820M. But Win7 is somewhere on the distant horizon...

So, while this thread is back up, please could anyone confirm whether they have had success with the WDM drivers (i.e. using WAVE 1 / 2 In and Out on the patchmix) in Win7? Or has success only come with ASIO? From what I read previously there are issues with Win7 and the WDM drivers.

Will be interested to see how you get on JimCurtis. Got my fingers crossed for you.

Cheers
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 08:10 PM   #16
Mind Riot
Human being with feelings
 
Mind Riot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimCurtis View Post
Thanks for the replies and yours Mind Riot.
New Pc arriving tomorrow so I will see if this weekend throws up any problems with old gear and compatibility issues, so I might be asking you Mind Riot to seek out that driver for me 😉

I will be back for help I'm sure...

Cheers

Jim
No problem, I'll go rummaging around and see if I can get it ready.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Dread View Post
Hi all

I'm still on XP with my 1820M. But Win7 is somewhere on the distant horizon...

So, while this thread is back up, please could anyone confirm whether they have had success with the WDM drivers (i.e. using WAVE 1 / 2 In and Out on the patchmix) in Win7? Or has success only come with ASIO? From what I read previously there are issues with Win7 and the WDM drivers.

Will be interested to see how you get on JimCurtis. Got my fingers crossed for you.

Cheers
I never found a way to make WDM work with Patchmix, and as far as I know they never released a version of it that would.
__________________
"Mah blahkinned sole izz daw-kaw thawn thah blahkissed nye-eeeet!!!"
SQUONK SQUONK SQUEE!!! SQUIDONK SQUIDONK DONK SQUEE!!!
"Thah daaahhhk of thah nye-eeeet izz lye-eeek my-eee sole-aaah!!!"
Mind Riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 01:55 AM   #17
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mind Riot View Post
I never found a way to make WDM work with Patchmix, and as far as I know they never released a version of it that would.
Oh dear - not good news!

So let's just make sure I have got this right... If sound is coming through the WAVE 1 / 2 channel strip (as opposed to any ASIO, or any physical inputs) the WDM driver is being used? Is that correct?

As it is set up now, I have foobar play all my music back through WAVE 1/2. Likewise, any sound on the internet comes through WAVE 1/2. Although mainly used as a DAW, I do you this as a general PC and therefore definitely need to be able to use that channel strip.

So if it won't work on Win7 that could be a real problem for me...

Hmmm.

Thanks for the reply.
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 06:39 AM   #18
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,720
Default

JimCurtis.

If you back track one stop on that link to the creative/emu/pro 1820 drivers, you will come to the 1212m drivers.
Google is your friend in this case, too.
These are the exact ones that I used & they work equally well with the 1820M.

You are not going to get any better/newer driver than that & like I said they are the ones that worked for me.
Make sure you get ALL the component parts, like Patchmix as well.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 01:40 PM   #19
JimCurtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
JimCurtis.

If you back track one stop on that link to the creative/emu/pro 1820 drivers, you will come to the 1212m drivers.
Google is your friend in this case, too.
These are the exact ones that I used & they work equally well with the 1820M.

You are not going to get any better/newer driver than that & like I said they are the ones that worked for me.
Make sure you get ALL the component parts, like Patchmix as well.
Thanks ivansc, back in the studio tomorrow so I will try it out then and report back.

Cheers

Jim
JimCurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 02:06 AM   #20
Mind Riot
Human being with feelings
 
Mind Riot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Max Dread View Post
Oh dear - not good news!

So let's just make sure I have got this right... If sound is coming through the WAVE 1 / 2 channel strip (as opposed to any ASIO, or any physical inputs) the WDM driver is being used? Is that correct?

As it is set up now, I have foobar play all my music back through WAVE 1/2. Likewise, any sound on the internet comes through WAVE 1/2. Although mainly used as a DAW, I do you this as a general PC and therefore definitely need to be able to use that channel strip.

So if it won't work on Win7 that could be a real problem for me...

Hmmm.

Thanks for the reply.
I couldn't get any Windows audio or sounds to play through Patchmix, period. BUT this was on my setup and there's no reason to assume it will be that way for you with all the different configurations out there.

EDIT: Yeah, the Wave strip should be WDM, MME, Wave, whatever Windows is using.
__________________
"Mah blahkinned sole izz daw-kaw thawn thah blahkissed nye-eeeet!!!"
SQUONK SQUONK SQUEE!!! SQUIDONK SQUIDONK DONK SQUEE!!!
"Thah daaahhhk of thah nye-eeeet izz lye-eeek my-eee sole-aaah!!!"
Mind Riot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 04:32 AM   #21
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,720
Default

it has been a while but I am sure I was able to route everything through Patchmix via ASIO drivers.

Cant remember for sure but I KNOW I have been using one set of monitor and no computer speakers t do everything for at least tn years, so I HAVE to have managed to get it working.
I will check with the friend I gave my 1212m to and see what he is using.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 06:43 AM   #22
JimCurtis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
it has been a while but I am sure I was able to route everything through Patchmix via ASIO drivers.

Cant remember for sure but I KNOW I have been using one set of monitor and no computer speakers t do everything for at least tn years, so I HAVE to have managed to get it working.
I will check with the friend I gave my 1212m to and see what he is using.

Thank you...
JimCurtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 05:19 AM   #23
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimCurtis View Post
Thanks ivansc, back in the studio tomorrow so I will try it out then and report back.
Jim
Hi Jim

Have you had the chance to try it out yet? Any chance of that report if so? Would also be mega helpful for me if you could report whether the WDM drivers work ok, and whether you are getting audio through the WAVE 1/2 strip.

Cheers
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 07:55 AM   #24
g0th1c
Human being with feelings
 
g0th1c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 6
Default

E-MU appear to have a new website now, which in itself is strange, but you can download the latest drivers from here:
http://www.emu.com/index.php/support...test-downloads

Ignore what it says in the release notes, the 1616m PCIe drivers work absolutely fine for 1820m PCI (unless you're one of the few reported unlucky ones).
g0th1c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 11:36 AM   #25
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,683
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by g0th1c View Post
Ignore what it says in the release notes, the 1616m PCIe drivers work absolutely fine for 1820m PCI (unless you're one of the few reported unlucky ones).
that's awesome news. my 1212m pci causes occasional random bluescreens with the last beta drivers released, hopefully these change that! although the file is identical to the one i was using. same size and version. but there is a stable release, also v2.3 which claims to work on win7 x64. that's new.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 11:36 AM   #26
Bob Headroom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimCurtis View Post
Thanks ivansc, back in the studio tomorrow so I will try it out then and report back.

Cheers

Jim
Hi Jim

Just wondered how you got on?

Cheers
Bob Headroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 07:35 PM   #27
Nana
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Sol III, Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 16
Default

Hi.

E-MU 1820m works perfectly on Win7 x64.

BUT there is ONLY ONE combination of drivers and PatchMix working reliably:

EmuPMX_PCApp_L6_2_10_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00_BETA.exe

DO NOT install the following, and if you did, do a clean uninstall of them, before installing the right ones:

EmuPMX_PCApp_US_2_20_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCApp_??_2_20_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_??_2_30_00.exe and all older or newer ones, unless a release specifically for legacy cards comes up.

Additional information: The PCIe version of the 1010 card without firewire port is incompatible with the dock. The PCI card works perfectly on an adapter riser. Maybe the IRQ needs to be remapped or another slot chosen.

regards
Nana
Nana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 10:48 AM   #28
fraz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nana View Post
Hi.

E-MU 1820m works perfectly on Win7 x64.

BUT there is ONLY ONE combination of drivers and PatchMix working reliably:

EmuPMX_PCApp_L6_2_10_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00_BETA.exe

DO NOT install the following, and if you did, do a clean uninstall of them, before installing the right ones:

EmuPMX_PCApp_US_2_20_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCApp_??_2_20_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_??_2_30_00.exe and all older or newer ones, unless a release specifically for legacy cards comes up.

Additional information: The PCIe version of the 1010 card without firewire port is incompatible with the dock. The PCI card works perfectly on an adapter riser. Maybe the IRQ needs to be remapped or another slot chosen.

regards
Nana
This is good to read - I know this is an old post thats been dug up but I've acquired an 1820M a bit late in the day maybe but it's for future use -

How about if Widows 7 / 10 32 bit was used? - Is the best configuration of

EmuPMX_PCApp_L6_2_10_00.exe
EmuPMX_PCDrv_US_2_30_00_BETA.exe

still the best way to go for 32 bit windows 7 & 10? - x64 is best but I'll use Vienna Ensemble Pro to gain access to x64 plugins and unlimited RAM !!! - The base is covered !
fraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.