Old 03-30-2017, 11:53 AM   #481
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerendrad View Post
Or should I be buying an hardware soundcard like the ones mentioned here and plug into it for editing on reaper.
The level of quality in an audio interface isn't tied to the connection format. eg. A pci card connecting interface isn't automatically better than a USB connecting interface.

PCI card, firewire, thunderbolt, & USB interfaces all come in OK/better/best quality. It's more about choosing the I/O you need, the level of quality of the analog stages (input preamps and AD/DA converters), and the bottom line latency of the hardware (if you are planning on live sound use).
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2017, 01:39 PM   #482
goldie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Default Creative Sound Blaster X-FI SB0460?

Hello,

I have the CSB sound card listed in the title. My OS is Windows 7 running on a PC.

The connectivity on the card is:

> RCA 2-channel analog audio line in, mono phone jack with volume pot,
> MIDI in/out, Mic in, SPDIF in/out, optical (laser) in/out, headphone out, and aux in.


> I will be mixing down very simple demo tracks, vocals and acoustic
> guitar mostly, recorded on an Alesis ADAT XT at 44.1 KHz/16 bit with an AKG 414.
> They were recorded dry, so I'll need to sweeten the vocals. I also
> need to digitize and clean up some OLD archival cassettes. One spin is all you get!

My question: I can't tell if my card is covered in the list of working sound cards or not. Any opinions as to whether I'll be good to go, or have to buy new drivers?

This is my first post, so please forgive newbieness. And thanks for your help!

goldie
goldie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 07:15 AM   #483
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,881
Default

Hi and welcome to the forums!

First off, based on what you wrote in your other thread, I would suggest that it is going to be more important to get a halfway decent audio interface rather than the consumer unit you have now.
It will sorta do what you want but a better interface will give you so much less hassle.

Plenty out there that will do ADAT (for your 8 track i/o) and since you really dont need to build a massive monster of a computer, you could easily wind up paying out for something with ADAT I/O and have plenty left over for a pretty good desktop, especially if you self-build.
Really not that difficult, honest!

I just found the Behringer UMC1820 which appears to have a generally good reputation for working at a very low price. BUT check around for other opinions before you leap in on it.
I have an old rme HDSP9652 pci card in my studio machine which has 3 ADAT I/O for a total of 24 in and out if I used them all! Cost me £200 used a few year back and is still updated regularly.{ Performance is excellent.
My laptop and my Mac Mini share a RME Babyface USB and ADAT interface which is also excellent.
Both a bit too pricey for you unless you get lucky on the used market like I did!
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more

Last edited by ivansc; 05-07-2017 at 07:23 AM.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 07:05 PM   #484
msuscorpio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibi.meszi View Post
Rednet works perfectly with Dante Virtual Soundcard, and Rednet Pcie card too...
That it does! Getting 2.6ms roundtrip latency with the RedNet PCIeR card without a hiccup!
msuscorpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 02:33 PM   #485
Kiddo
Human being with feelings
 
Kiddo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 34
Default Roland Super UA perfect

Working Perfectly(44 to192khz rec / 352 khz pbk)good latency straight out of the box on win 10 pro 64 16gb ram rock solid so far only just got it.
OMfG Plug&PLay the grasshopper has landed it's about time bill .....installed asio driver and control panel without me doing anything it was just all there to use a 1st for me on anything windows.
Don't know why this didn't sell better, It seems to be a very good card, I think Roland did a good job on this it beats the hell out of my old focusrite 18i6 card which seemed to always have the odd click no matter what I did. The sound is much clearer than the focusrite so happy days so far hope it will last , me thinks it will.
May the Reaper be with you
and..................will we ever learn it all ..........................

Last edited by Kiddo; 05-27-2017 at 02:56 PM.
Kiddo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 04:41 AM   #486
semikid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 262
Default

UAD Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo (with specific MB gigabyte gaming 7 (the one with USB C thunderbolt) on PC
semikid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2017, 06:48 AM   #487
InTone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 29
Default

Focusrite 2i4 2nd Generation working well in Windows 10 and Manjaro.
InTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2017, 10:31 AM   #488
pksdp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: East Sussex, UK
Posts: 20
Default MOTU Ao

Hi - can anyone confirm to me if Reaper will recognise the MOTU Ao unit.

http://motu.com/products/avb/24ai-24ao

I need to interface with it on a forthcoming project.

Many thanks
pksdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 12:19 PM   #489
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pksdp View Post
Hi - can anyone confirm to me if Reaper will recognise the MOTU Ao unit.

http://motu.com/products/avb/24ai-24ao

I need to interface with it on a forthcoming project.

Many thanks
Reaper will recognize any connected audio interface that is either class compliant or has a compatible driver for your current version of OS.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:40 AM   #490
Denial
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 9
Default Soundcards

I use a Delta 410, Delta 1010LT and Line 6 UX2
Denial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 09:35 AM   #491
Kenr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Default

Will Reaper work with the UAD Apollo Twin duo Mk 2?

I have a Mac Pro that I'd like to run it on. Do the plugins work without issue?

Another thing I'm considering is the L22 mic which models many mics using UAD plugins. Hopefully this is all compatible.
Kenr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 08:07 AM   #492
Curmudgeon1
Human being with feelings
 
Curmudgeon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Phoenix AZ area
Posts: 8
Default Universal Audio UAD 2 Quad PCIe DSP

Is anyone using this device? Curious how it would function with Reaper.
Curmudgeon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2018, 12:08 AM   #493
yolov
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 3
Default

The M-Audio MobilePre USB no longer works on windows 10 (thank you MS for the updates!) in case anyone finds this useful. I've had my trusty old MobilePre for 5-6 years and since the last Win 10 updates the drivers no longer work. Thinking of switching to the 2nd gen Focusrite Scarlett.

Edit: Forgot to mention that MobilePre is discontinued and the last drivers were released for win7, but still worked on 8 and 10 until a few MS updates ago.
yolov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 11:52 PM   #494
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 832
Default

Presonus Quantum 2

Damn stable, superb sound quality and performance.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris

Last edited by Aymara; 11-22-2018 at 12:10 AM.
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 12:09 AM   #495
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 832
Default

The new Apogee Jam Plus also works like a charm and sounds very good.

Might be interesting for those, who only record guitar and bass, but no mics.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 03:23 AM   #496
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,881
Default

200 euros does seem a bit expensive for what it is, though. I got my RME Babyface for 300! Admittedly it WAS slightly used, but....
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 03:28 AM   #497
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 832
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
200 euros does seem a bit expensive for what it is, though.
I bought the Apogee Jam Plus mainly for use with my iPad and for quick listening and mixing sessions on the Macbook.

For this purpose, especially considering it‘s portability, I found 169€ quite ok ... but ok, it‘s not recommendable for people being on a tight budget.

It defintely sounds much better than the iRig Pro, I used before.

PS: Quick tip for people being interested in a good thunderbolt interface: The Quantum 2 is currently available for 500€ instead of 750€!
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 07:22 AM   #498
marsax73
Human being with feelings
 
marsax73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Default Focusrite 18i20 (2nd Gen) & Behringer ADA8200

I'm using the Focusrite and Behringer ADAT with Windows 10 (both on a desktop and laptop) and they work wonderfully. Recording at 24bit/48Khz, the latency is around 5 ms with no dropouts.

For portable recording, I'm using a Behringer UMC404HD. For $100 USD, it's a solid interface with low latency.

Thanks!
__________________
My PC Setup: Intel i5-7500; MSI B250M Motherboard; 16GB Crucial DD4-2400; 250GB Samsung 850 m.2 SSD; Windows 10 My Audio Gear:Focusrite 18i20 (2nd Gen); Behringer ADA8200 ADAT Preamp; JBL LSR305 monitors; Waves Gold Bundle; Waves CLA Plugins; Slate Everything Bundle
marsax73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 04:00 PM   #499
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curmudgeon1 View Post
Is anyone using this device? Curious how it would function with Reaper.
Yes I do, PC as long as you have PCIe mounts in the computer you are good to go
I have had a quad card for a while I would recommend the bigger Octo.
I have just purchased one so have two cards in my rig.

Grinder
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 09:14 AM   #500
bublor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1
Default Presonus DigiMax D8 with Presonus 1818 VSL

Hey all,

I know the Presonus 1818 VSL was mentioned, but I also wanted to add that I have a Presonus 1818 VSL with a Presonus DigiMax D8.
The Presonus DigiMax D8 is an ADAT unit that adds 8 more pre-amps, giving a total of 16 preamps through the 1818 VSL ( the 1818 VSL only has 8 pre-amps ).


I connect the DigiMax D8 to the VSL with an ADAT cable and a BNC clock sync with VSL as source. I record 16 channels connected on my Lennox ThinkPad.
Recording our live sessions of our bands( 16 tracks: drums 10 tracks, bass 2 tracks, guitar, sampler, synth, vocals ). 44.1 kHz, USB 2.0 from VSL to laptop.

I also am running the Native Linux version of reaper. Latency is about 6 ms roundtrip, using JACK/Alsa. I will post latency and comp specs in the other message.

Thanks so much for the Linux version! I am running Ubuntu Studio with a Low-Latency Kernel. I have some interest in the Gentoo studio for even more latency, but am fine with what Ubuntu is giving me currently.

Cheers!

--John
bublor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 06:49 PM   #501
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 119
Default

RedNet PCIe is working.
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.