Old 06-04-2017, 09:29 AM   #1
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,257
Default Mute env. not visible in waveform

Hi!

When using mute envelope for folder-track,
peak waveform is not ereased (as for muted items)



Expected behavior:
Peak waveform for folder track is only visible when mute env is off.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 12:21 PM   #2
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Hi!

When using mute envelope for folder-track,
peak waveform is not ereased (as for muted items)

Expected behavior:
Peak waveform for folder track is only visible when mute env is off.
Hi G-Sun, Can I assume the white line in the folder track is the mute?

At any rate, I don't think any envelopes, like volume, affect the folder peak waveforms. At least that's been my experience.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 03:03 AM   #3
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Hi G-Sun, Can I assume the white line in the folder track is the mute?
No, the red line is the folder-mute.

e.g
3.vers: Folder is muted, yet peak preview is showing audio
4.vers: Children items are muted, and folder peak preview is erased (as should be)
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 09:32 AM   #4
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,860
Default

Oh, okay, I thought you were taking about the folder track, and that it had a mute envelope on it.

Quote:
At any rate, I don't think any envelopes, like volume, affect the folder peak waveforms. At least that's been my experience.
Also, I see I was wrong, the folder waveforms do reflect the various changes, both with the child tracks and the folder track envelopes themselves.

So I don't know, Reaper can be a little fluky and strange sometimes.

I ran into a situation where I can't move tempo markers without moving the whole item on the right side of the marker, even though I have stretch markers located to the right of that stretch marker.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 01:12 PM   #5
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Oh, okay, I thought you were taking about the folder track, and that it had a mute envelope on it.
Yes, I am
The lanes are for the folder-track
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2017, 03:09 PM   #6
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 10,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Yes, I am
The lanes are for the folder-track
Aah, okay, I don't use folders like that and I nearly always have my envelopes in the media lanes.

After reading your post this morning, I did a quick test with folders and sure enough, the waveform changed with the folder volume envelope. Total surprise because I'd noticed in the past, that the waveforms were unaffected.

Ha, actually I think I have some little gremlins that come into my studio and do things. I say that because I decided to track down my stretch marker problem and discovered my modifiers had changed to "Ripple".

First of all, I know I didn't change my tempo marker modifiers, the only time I've even looked at them was a while back when I wanted to see which one I could use with left click to add the markers.

Secondly, I never, never use ripple, I even took it out of my toolbar above the TCP so that I couldn't accidentally select it.

Heh heh, of course I did somehow manage to do it because I'm the only one who uses my computer. Unless I really do have gremlins.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums
Elk Videos->Opening / Snooze / Bull Fight / End Credits
Tod's Music->1st Recording (1965) / My Daughter / A Little Country
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2017, 12:20 AM   #7
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Ha, actually I think I have some little gremlins that come into my studio and do things. I say that because I decided to track down my stretch marker problem and discovered my modifiers had changed to "Ripple".

First of all, I know I didn't change my tempo marker modifiers, the only time I've even looked at them was a while back when I wanted to see which one I could use with left click to add the markers.

Secondly, I never, never use ripple, I even took it out of my toolbar above the TCP so that I couldn't accidentally select it.

Heh heh, of course I did somehow manage to do it because I'm the only one who uses my computer. Unless I really do have gremlins.
I guess we've all been there.
I'm not always sure what's user error and Reaper animalities though
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 05:16 PM   #8
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,111
Default

Only pre-FX volume changes are visible in the waveform. Mute is post-FX.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2017, 08:56 PM   #9
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Only pre-FX volume changes are visible in the waveform. Mute is post-FX.
Still makes sense to hide the wave form just in this case, even if not bothering with the volume envelope. Though I don't see why it doesn't change to the post fader either, I'm sure there is a reason.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 02:06 PM   #10
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Dstruct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
I'm sure there is a reason.
CPU usage I guess.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.