Old 05-14-2008, 05:51 PM   #1
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default Marker list / save / load extension

Edit: The marker list is now contained in the standard SWS Extension installer. Go to the SWS website here for more info.

I've created another REAPER extension plugin for some marker/region related utilities.

Press Ctrl-Shift-M to open the marker list dialog. The time is shown in project time format (set by right-clicking on the ruler. Click on a marker's time to move the edit cursor.

You can also right click to get a list of options.

The commands are also accessible via a new set of menu items at the end of the "Edit" menu and in the action list (? key, search for SWS).


You can save and load marker sets, they are stored in the project file. If you want to copy your marker set to a different project, just copy it to the clipboard with the included command and paste it in the other project. You can of course paste list from the clipboard into a text editor if you wanted to use it for some other purpose.

I also added the useful command "reorder markers" to renumber markers so they're in time order.

Notes:
-While I refer to everything as a "marker", this includes regions as well.
-When pasting/loading markers you'll notice some odd behavior, zooming around, the "add marker" dialog flashing, your loop/time selection will go away, etc. Sorry about this, I had to hack around some stuff.

I hope you find this extension useful! Reply to this thread if you find any issues or if I missed something obvious.

Last edited by sws; 05-11-2009 at 05:20 PM. Reason: New links
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 05:56 PM   #2
Deric
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 794
Default

Hey sws, nice work!

I'll take a look.

Well done

Deric.

Ps. Re-order Markers is seriously useful - I ALWAYS end up adding markers!
__________________
REAPER? Oh yes...
Deric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 05:59 PM   #3
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

thank you very much sws,

now it works between sessions too!
__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 06:25 PM   #4
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deric View Post
Ps. Re-order Markers is seriously useful - I ALWAYS end up adding markers!
OMG! Thank you very much sws! I've wasted too much time editing markers to reflect their chronological position...

Edit: ahh, I see I still have to edit them manually...is it possible to just auto-renumber their IDs?

Last edited by Bevosss; 05-14-2008 at 06:33 PM.
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 06:28 PM   #5
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

I like the Jump To in the List view.

Problem, on my machine the Reorder displays each marker's edit dialog, and there is no reordering of the markers.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:36 PM   #6
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevosss View Post
Edit: ahh, I see I still have to edit them manually...is it possible to just auto-renumber their IDs?
Oops, fixed one bug earlier and broke autorenumber. Thanks for finding this for me!

All fixed now, redownload from the link above and you should be set.
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:44 PM   #7
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default

Works perfect! I've needed this action for so long, thanks again!
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 07:58 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,494
Default

Awesome!

I created an "Extension Plug-ins" category on stash.reaper.fm .. in case you want to upload it there:

https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Extension-Plug-ins
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:03 PM   #9
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default

What's the chances of another action to autorenumber regions?
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:05 PM   #10
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

Reorder works swell now. Good to see it is listed in the undo.

Request: the Marker List dialog cannot be resized. It is much wider than what I need. Also being able to stretch it up and down, depending on the Marker count would keep them all in view, with the minimum desktop space. Is it possible to make it sizeable and remember the window size and the column widths?


Again. This is very useful

Edit: and an option to delete marker in the dialog?
EDit: and reorder in Marker List?
These 2 would save a lot of mousing, I am see the Marker List View as the center of this tool. Like it should be in the View menu, then do the other stuff from inside the Marker List

Edit: then add the option to select multiple markers in the Marker List for copying. Might not want them all.

Edit: and open edit dialog on dblclick?
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.

Last edited by xackley; 05-14-2008 at 08:22 PM.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:17 PM   #11
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default

And further to this, what about region sets?

Reason being, you can't tempomap a freetime piece that has regions in it. Now if you've already set up regions in a song, you could copy the region list, delete all the regions (another action?), tempo map the piece, then paste the region list back in with maybe some small adjustments.

Ahh what a can of worms...
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:31 PM   #12
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

another context menu option, Snap.

Throwing down markers on the fly with transport running makes all the markers a little off. A Snap Selected would put them right on the mark. As it is now, I manually jiggle each one to get them to snap into the correct position.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:41 PM   #13
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default

Okay, made a bunch of quick changes:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevosss View Post
What's the chances of another action to autorenumber regions?
Easy. Download the new DLL from link above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by xackley
Edit: and an option to delete marker in the dialog?
EDit: and reorder in Marker List?
Delete's now in the dialog via rightclick. I'll have to spend time later to make the del key work. Might be buggy too.

Reorder's there too. Oh yeah, added "delete all markers/regions" too.

What else - I made the dialog a little smaller, xackley. Maybe that'll be better? I'll add resize later, that's on the list of things I've "never done so will have to learn about it first".

Thanks for the suggestions! I'm done for the eve but I will revisit tomorrow.
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 08:44 PM   #14
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Awesome!

I created an "Extension Plug-ins" category on stash.reaper.fm .. in case you want to upload it there:

https://stash.reaper.fm/tag/Extension-Plug-ins
Thanks!! I dropped a copy of the DLL up there. It is a little difficult to keep files up to date in the Stash, however.
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2008, 09:12 PM   #15
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
Oh yeah, added "delete all markers/regions" too.
Autorenumber regions worked perfectly too!

Could you make 2 separate actions, delete all markers and delete all regions? Mainly so I can delete the regions before tempomapping without touching the markers...although after mapping, I'd probably reinsert the regions and delete the markers, so it'd work both ways.

Anyone who wants both can macro them together I guess, unless you leave 3 actions...

Brilliant work sws!
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 03:18 AM   #16
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
Thanks!! I dropped a copy of the DLL up there. It is a little difficult to keep files up to date in the Stash, however.
... and for some strange reason, difficult for me to d/l from there.

Thanks for this, this is wonderful
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 03:26 AM   #17
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,127
Default

One small suggestion, if I may, of presentation.

Both the right click Marker List menu and the Edit, SWS Marker Utilities menu show up (for me at least) as one long list, which makes is not too easy to find what you're looking for. The use of a couple of divider lines would really improve this.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 04:05 AM   #18
charles.monteiro
Human being with feelings
 
charles.monteiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 906
Default

yes, thank you, been waiting for something like this for a while. Will be used heavily.
charles.monteiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 07:43 AM   #19
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Damn, gotta head for bed, I'll give this promising thing a try in the morning.
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 08:12 AM   #20
LCipher
Human being with feelings
 
LCipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,940
Default coolest!

Love it - missed the markerlist from Cubase!
LCipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 09:34 AM   #21
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default

Wow - really useful

Thanks heaps

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 05:32 PM   #22
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

This is very, very nice - many thanks.

A direct FR (already mentioned above) - ability to edit the marker label. If this could be done right there in the marker list (so the actual text in the list would be directly editable) so you wouldn't have to move the mouse somewhere else it would in my view be ideal. I'm thinking of the scenario where you have markers representing tracks in a classical CD and you want each marker to be labelled with movement details, and you simply want to type them in quickly from the concert programme notes.

I can't help think that the marker sets facility would work very nicely in conjunction with a facility to create markers based on cues stored in wave and wavpack files. Thus before extracting the markers from the files into the project you could save the existing markers as a set, delete all, read in file cues, save that as a set, etc etc.

Merging sets... I guess one could do that sort of manually using copy and paste into a text document and reading that back in.

All good stuff!!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 05:58 PM   #23
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans View Post
This is very, very nice - many thanks.

A direct FR (already mentioned above) - ability to edit the marker label. If this could be done right there in the marker list (so the actual text in the list would be directly editable) so you wouldn't have to move the mouse somewhere else it would in my view be ideal. I'm thinking of the scenario where you have markers representing tracks in a classical CD and you want each marker to be labelled with movement details, and you simply want to type them in quickly from the concert programme notes.

I can't help think that the marker sets facility would work very nicely in conjunction with a facility to create markers based on cues stored in wave and wavpack files. Thus before extracting the markers from the files into the project you could save the existing markers as a set, delete all, read in file cues, save that as a set, etc etc.

Merging sets... I guess one could do that sort of manually using copy and paste into a text document and reading that back in.

All good stuff!!
Unfortunately some of that stuff is very very tricky do as the now available developer APIs in Reaper don't really support manipulating the markers at all. (They can only be read directly, so what SWS has achieved here is pretty great stuff.) For the extraction of info from audio files it would probably mean writing a custom audio file parser, as I think Reaper doesn't support for example cue points in WAV-files directly.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 11:37 PM   #24
Mudchild
Human being with feelings
 
Mudchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 696
Default

This plug is REALLY useful for me - thanks.

I have two ideas which would make it even better though...?

1) I would like to be able to resize the window
2) I would like to be able to hit play (spacebar) while the markers window has focus... currently this does not work

good work though!
Mudchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 06:43 AM   #25
steadyrev
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: JAMAICA
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mudchild View Post
2) I would like to be able to hit play (spacebar) while the markers window has focus... currently this does not work
When the marker window has the focus, the spacebar NEEDS TO BE a spacebar, to put empty spaces in text.
Think it through!
steadyrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 08:24 AM   #26
Mudchild
Human being with feelings
 
Mudchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steadyrev View Post
When the marker window has the focus, the spacebar NEEDS TO BE a spacebar, to put empty spaces in text.
Think it through!
YOU think it through - you can't even edit text in the marker window. Spacebar does nothing.

Perhaps what I should say is "I would like to be able to hit play (WHATEVER shortcut is assigned) while the markers window has focus... currently this does not work"
Mudchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:30 AM   #27
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default

OK, I'll add direct marker text editing from the marker list dialog, and howabout keyboard pass though, except when editing markers.

I'm having mucho ISP troubles at the moment so may be a bit before I can upload new versions. Hopefully soon!
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:35 AM   #28
Mudchild
Human being with feelings
 
Mudchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
OK, I'll add direct marker text editing from the marker list dialog, and howabout keyboard pass though, except when editing markers.

I'm having mucho ISP troubles at the moment so may be a bit before I can upload new versions. Hopefully soon!
That would be very splendid of you indeed. Good work!
Mudchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 09:59 AM   #29
Gloops
Human being with feelings
 
Gloops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 55
Default Where the save???

Thank you very much for this extension.
I have just a small matter where are registered backups?
Gloops
Gloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 10:23 AM   #30
jamester
Human being with feelings
 
jamester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 2,185
Default

This is great, can't wait to check it out tonight...

THANKS!
jamester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 10:27 AM   #31
spikemullings
Human being with feelings
 
spikemullings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East London
Posts: 1,697
Default

SWS - this is terribly good indeed!
__________________
Cloth-Eared Hobbyist
http://www.reverbnation.com/spikemullings
spikemullings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 02:51 PM   #32
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,127
Default

SWS - just to let you know I'm including this in the next User Guide update. This wonderful feature just adds so much value to Reaper ....

__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2008, 11:18 PM   #33
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default Visual Bug

I found this bug when re-ordering regions and markers, sometimes it places the region colour on top of the marker, if they occupy the same position:



If I delete that marker and then reinsert it, the marker colour shows on top instead.

Not sure if that's your domain or Justin's...
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 02:22 PM   #34
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloops View Post
Thank you very much for this extension.
I have just a small matter where are registered backups?
Gloops
The "saves" are encoded into the project file (.RPP).
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:44 AM   #35
Gloops
Human being with feelings
 
Gloops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 55
Default Genial!!!

Wouaww Cool Merci very very very much SWS
Gloops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:53 AM   #36
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 851
Default

I've posted a new version which includes:

1) In place renaming of markers. Double click on a marker in the list to rename it, TAB to set name and goto next marker (region). This is nice and quick if want to set labels for "tracks" in your project. ESC cancels edit, RETURN or click somewhere else accepts.

2) Resize capability - window can be resized/positioned anyway you want. State is remembered so the window will appear just as you left it.

3) Key pass through - most Reaper keycommands work even if the list has focus (except ESC/Enter/TAB and Delete, which now deletes the current marker)

4) Separated out delete markers/regions. (Note: if you want a delete all markers AND regions command try creating a macro.)

5) Better menu organization.

nicholas: I'm honored you're including this in the manual, thanks!

Enjoy!
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:58 AM   #37
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
I've posted a new version which includes ...
Ah yes, that looks SO much better now and is much easier to follow and use, thanks.
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 12:59 AM   #38
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Wow - a responsive developer in the Justin Frankel mould!

Many thanks. It's just perfect!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 01:31 AM   #39
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

Well, nearly perfect - any chance of being able to copy marker sets to the clipboard in human readable form, in other words, so that you could use the list for a track list on a jewel case? So the time would be in hours mins secs etc. This would be in addition to the present method which I appreciate is more designed for copying to another project in Reaper-readable format.

Of course as it stands, times are from the beginning of the project, but ideally for jewel case use the time would be the length of the marker (till the next one or end of project) or the region length.

Pushing my luck...

If it's not possible please ignore this FR!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2008, 01:38 AM   #40
Tedwood
Human being with feelings
 
Tedwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: South Coast UK
Posts: 14,303
Default

This is great, so practical and simple, even I could immediately put it to good use
__________________
The grass is greener where it rains
Tedwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.