Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2017, 10:34 AM   #1
Jyibe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Default Battery 4 Crashes when modifying samples or switching kits

Hi all,

I've searched the forums and can't find an answer. I'm running Reaper 64bit 5.35 on late 2013 mac pro, OSX 10.10.3 (but honestly, it's never mattered what computer, version of reaper or OSX.. this problem has always occurred for me, which, as you can imagine makes producing much more difficult).

When I'm playing with ANY sample parameters in battery 4, changing samples, previewing samples, or changing kits (e.g. You have a midi pattern running and you want to scan kits for the right sound), battery 4 will inevitably crash. Sometimes it's on the very first "manipulation", sometimes it takes as many as ~10, but it is inevitable, if I mess with battery 4 in Reaper.. it crashes. Period.

Does anyone know what may be going wrong?.... Here's the error code (didn't include any of the thread information):

Process: REAPER [8251]
Path: /Applications/REAPER64.app/Contents/MacOS/REAPER
Identifier: com.cockos.reaper
Version: 5.35.0 (5.35.0)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: ??? [1]
Responsible: REAPER [8251]
User ID: 501

Date/Time: 2017-03-20 10:23:13.318 -0700
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.10.3 (14D136)
Report Version: 11
Anonymous UUID: 2EF45D0A-CA34-13DB-14CC-28EADE74664E


Time Awake Since Boot: 130000 seconds

Crashed Thread: 0 Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type: EXC_CRASH (SIGABRT)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000000, 0x0000000000000000

Application Specific Information:
abort() called
*** error for object 0x61000060c920: Invalid pointer dequeued from free list

AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0x135), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (7.15.166.24.3)
Bluetooth: Version 4.3.4f4 15601, 3 services, 27 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
Network Service: Wi-Fi, AirPort, en2
PCI Card: AMD FirePro D300, Display Controller, Slot-1
PCI Card: AMD FirePro D300, Display Controller, Slot-2
PCI Card: Universal Audio Apollo Twin Duo, Other Multimedia, Thunderbolt@81,0,0
Serial ATA Device: APPLE SSD SM0256F, 251 GB
USB Device: Hub
USB Device: BRCM20702 Hub
USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller
USB Device: AS2105
USB Device: Hub
USB Device: ADATA USB Flash Drive
USB Device: Williams Allegro 2
USB Device: XMOS USB Audio 2.0
USB Device: iLok
USB Device: Razer DeathAdder 2013
Thunderbolt Bus: Mac Pro, Apple Inc., 19.2
Thunderbolt Device: Apollo Twin, Universal Audio, Inc., 3, 7.1
Thunderbolt Bus: Mac Pro, Apple Inc., 19.2
Thunderbolt Bus: Mac Pro, Apple Inc., 19.2
Jyibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 11:16 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,868
Default

Are you using the AU or VST version of Battery? And does it make any difference when you use the other plugin type?

Otherwise have you already checked if you have the latest Battery update installed?

And has the Battery plugin (used in Reaper) the same version number as Battery standalone? To check the version number, launch Battery (standalone and as plugin) and click on the NI logo at the top right.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 06:18 PM   #3
Jyibe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
Are you using the AU or VST version of Battery? And does it make any difference when you use the other plugin type?

Otherwise have you already checked if you have the latest Battery update installed?

And has the Battery plugin (used in Reaper) the same version number as Battery standalone? To check the version number, launch Battery (standalone and as plugin) and click on the NI logo at the top right.

Thank you for the reply!

a) AUi and VSTi function equally in a project (though after testing AU seems marginally more stable).

b) Latest versions of both Battery and Reaper are installed.

c) Battery versions the same in the standalone and VSTi versions.


Are there any DAW preferences I have enabled/disabled that could be causing this issue?




Again, thank you for your help :-)
Jyibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2017, 02:54 AM   #4
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jyibe View Post
a) AUi and VSTi function equally in a project (though after testing AU seems marginally more stable).
b) Latest versions of both Battery and Reaper are installed.
c) Battery versions the same in the standalone and VSTi versions.

Are there any DAW preferences I have enabled/disabled that could be causing this issue?
OK, then maybe try to make a fresh portable Reaper install to a second folder (without importing the configuration from your current Reaper install) and check if the problem with Battery still exists there (just to rule out if the issue might be related to your current Reaper config): http://reaperblog.net/2015/07/reaper...nstall-option/

Or check if using a different plugin run-mode makes any difference (chapter 16.25 Bridging and VST Plug-in Run Mode in the User Guide): http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php
There are also some general settings in the Preferences: Plug-Ins -> Compatibility and Plug-Ins -> VST ...

Otherwise it's probably best to post your crash report also in the Bug Reports section: http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22
More info here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36653

Last edited by solger; 03-23-2017 at 03:19 AM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 10:27 AM   #5
Jyibe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solger View Post
OK, then maybe try to make a fresh portable Reaper install to a second folder (without importing the configuration from your current Reaper install) and check if the problem with Battery still exists there (just to rule out if the issue might be related to your current Reaper config): http://reaperblog.net/2015/07/reaper...nstall-option/

Or check if using a different plugin run-mode makes any difference (chapter 16.25 Bridging and VST Plug-in Run Mode in the User Guide): http://www.reaper.fm/userguide.php
There are also some general settings in the Preferences: Plug-Ins -> Compatibility and Plug-Ins -> VST ...

Otherwise it's probably best to post your crash report also in the Bug Reports section: http://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=22
More info here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=36653
Digging up old wounds here... but this problem persists. I did try the portable Reaper install which seemed to work for roughly two days with no problems--it was the most productive 2 days of my production career. ... :|

...but now the problem is back.

I'll post over in Bug Reports section.

Thanks.
Jyibe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.