Old 03-06-2013, 06:24 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,713
Default Display the Default Controller Mapping

[Reposted from Pre-Release forum]

When I load a VST with a Default Controller mapping I cannot see any way to make the mapped parameters visible.

Saving the track as a Track Template doesn't do it either - the TCP knobs are displayed but not the envelope lanes.

And we still cannot easily tell what is mapped to a TCP knob or Automation Envelope without doing a MIDI Learn again and cancelling it.

I suggest adding more choices to the Default Controller Mappings menu to make the mapped parameters visible as track envelopes or as track controls (knobs) or in the same format as when the mapping was Saved:



-----------------------------------
Vote here:. http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=186
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 11-11-2014 at 02:05 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 01:48 AM   #2
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,713
Default

Knock, knock, I know I haven't visited you for over 5 years, but can I have your vote?
.
.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 11-11-2014 at 02:05 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 02:02 AM   #3
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,726
Default

Oh yeah.

You need a decent memory to recall all your mappings, because there's no way to look up an overview of them.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2014, 06:54 AM   #4
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 807
Default

This would be extremely useful!!! Voted, of course...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2015, 05:17 PM   #5
jrp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 149
Default

this is indeed surprising that you cannot view them...

guess the reaper way is to look them up in the right .ini file
not sure if that info is human readable though...
jrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2016, 06:54 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,713
Default Bump

... and while I'm here: the menu say "Mappings" so can we have the functionality to:
-- save several (named) sets of mappings for each plug-in?
-- select one as the default?
-- remove any of them?

(The original thread and Tracked Issue were posted in 2009:
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=34711 )
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2017, 12:54 PM   #7
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,068
Default

Would really help if the mixer parameters could be saved and recalled in this way, without relying on storing them in fx chains.

For consistency, there should be an easy way to apply a set of mixer parameter knobs and controller mapping to all project instances of a plugin. To do this manually across all my old projects would take me weeks with the current toolset and this time would have been wasted if I decide at some point to modify the setup in any way.

Project Bay ought to be able to do this; apply parameter visibility/aliases and controller mappings across all instances of a plugin.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2017, 05:12 AM   #8
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 1,537
Default

See ReaPack/mpl_LearnManager.

Quote:
When I load a VST with a Default Controller mapping I cannot see any way to make the mapped parameters visible.
Done
Quote:
And we still cannot easily tell what is mapped to a TCP knob or Automation Envelope without doing a MIDI Learn again and cancelling it
Mapping is independent from TCP or FX. Overview current mapping: done.
Quote:
I suggest adding more choices to the Default Controller Mappings menu to make the mapped parameters visible as track envelopes or as track controls (knobs) or in the same format as when the mapping was Saved
Done.
Quote:
save several (named) sets of mappings for each plug-in
Done.
Quote:
select one as the default
You can apply one of 4 slots to currenty focused plugin and then store current mapping as default (or to another slot).
Quote:
easy way to apply a set of mixer parameter knobs and controller mapping to all project instances of a plugin
Done.

If you like it or something goes wrong, please share your thoughts to this thread.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate

Last edited by mpl; 11-05-2017 at 05:21 AM.
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.