Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2017, 09:30 PM   #81
EgM
Human being with feelings
 
EgM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 119
Default

To be honest, I think this thread should be in the bug report section. It's not really a feature request since the midi editor view doesn't work properly.
__________________
Eric E. Hache
Game music composer @ www.gamemusic.ca
Main (iMac27, Mid'11, i7-2600/16G, 10.11) VEP5-Slave (i7-3770/32G, Win8.1-64)
EgM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 05:32 PM   #82
inarisound
Human being with feelings
 
inarisound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EgM View Post
To be honest, I think this thread should be in the bug report section. It's not really a feature request since the midi editor view doesn't work properly.

absolutely agree on this one!

Midi Editor is a nightmare in Reaper... once it would be fixed/improved it would be such a great DAW!

Now every single time I open Midi Editor I start crying and my eyes somehow become red and proceed bleeding. My tears and blood mix together creating this painful and unbelievable misery feeling. The next thing I know, when I take a breath I feel like air is heavier than metal bars on construction sites... breath in breath out and am no longer cautious.

Maybe I should go check a doctor... but it only happens when I open Midi Editor in Reaper tho.
inarisound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 11:24 AM   #83
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 284
Default

Big +1 on this. Having to resize/zoom the MIDI editor window every single time I open an item is a big inconvenience atm
Arthur McArthur is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2017, 04:59 PM   #84
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,064
Default

While I do think this needs a fix, it rarely bugs me anymore since I tend to work with either short items or time selections, so I can hit tab to zoom all notes or shift+tab to zoom to notes in time selection.

It should be automatic, but sometimes tweaking your workflow a bit goes a long way (like setting the zoom actions to easy hotkeys).
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 09:42 PM   #85
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 80
Default

Bumping this, please make this happen.
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 08:41 PM   #86
inarisound
Human being with feelings
 
inarisound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 79
Default

keeping it alive guys... keeping it alive
inarisound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 09:14 AM   #87
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I noticed something here.

When one MIDI editor per project is active, and these options enabled:

Active MIDI item follows selection changes in arrange view
Selection is linked to editability
(Optionally) Selection is linked to visibility


Then if you zoom out enough to see multiple items, zoom is preserved as you select different items for editing... that is UNTIL you select an item that is outside the MIDI editor viewport, which Reaper then messes up and zooms into the selected item, instead of just scrolling to it!

Another problem is that depending on item selection, and probably also contributing to the problem here: Reaper simply truncates the MIDI editor ruler - for example, if you have a bunch of items, and you select items starting from bar 20, you can never scroll back to bar 1 in MIDI editor after that! This "ruler truncation" also happens if you use horizontal scrolling action - even if the ruler wasn't truncated automatically when selecting a different set of items! That's pretty bad (and also not something that happens with the main arrange view - so why can't MIDI editor behave the same?)...

Seems like a relatively simple thing to fix - just SCROLL to the items, never ZOOM, and while at it, also NEVER truncate the ruler! After all, arrange view has a stable zoom level as last one used is remembered, and even when selecting different items from Project Bay, it just scrolls to the one you selected, instead of re-zooming into it!
Yes, lots of people have complained about this. The auto-zoom behaviour to items outside current view is awful.

I made a bug report thread about it ages ago...

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=180610

A bug report because auto-zooming might be what the program does, but it can't be intentionally designed specifically to auto-zoom 1/2 bar or 1000 bars to fit the screen if the user clicks on something. It makes the MIDI editor feel like it's under the control of an annoying goblin at times.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 05:30 AM   #88
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Not sure if this helps, here something I am using for some time, it just zooms to all notes in the item.

Paste into a file 'toggle_midi_editor_and_zoom_to_notes.eel and put into Scripts directory.
PHP Code:
function toggle_midi_editor_and_zoom_to_notes()
(  
  
Main_OnCommand(407160); // Main toggle show midi editor windows
  
active_MIDI_editor MIDIEditor_GetActive(); // Now the MIDI editor is opened -> get MIDI editor ID
  
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor40746); // ME action: Edit: Select all notes in time selection
  
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor40725); // ME action: View: Zoom to selected notes/CC
);

toggle_midi_editor_and_zoom_to_notes(); 
The only problem I remember was the vertical zoom, might not be always perfect, but ok, better than having nothing.

Psst, some secret tip how to bind this action, coming from Jeskola Buzz way of cool mapping, RETURN from pattern edit to sequence edit and RETURN back. In arrange window RETURN will trigger above, here the line if you are using vimper.
PHP Code:
OpenMidiEditor 40153
   
['<cr>'] = runAction(OpenMidiEditor

Then in midi editor RETURN will trigger closing window. Here the line if you are using vimper:
PHP Code:
  ,['<cr>'] = MidiEditor.runAction(MidiEditor.CloseWindow
This way you can navigate around in arrange window between items, hitting ENTER for midi editing, hitting ENTER again for leaving editing, back to arrange. Navigate around, ENTER, ENTER... could it be simpler?

Or try this instead:
PHP Code:
function open_in_midi_editor_and_zoom_to_content()
(  
  
Main_OnCommand(401530); // MAIN section action 40153: "open selected item in MIDI editor"
  
active_MIDI_editor MIDIEditor_GetActive(); // Now the MIDI editor is opened -> get MIDI editor ID
  
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor40466); // ME action: "zoom to content" 
  
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor40468); // ME action: "zoom to one loop iteration"
);

open_in_midi_editor_and_zoom_to_content(); 

Last edited by TonE; 11-01-2017 at 02:12 PM. Reason: better colors using php instead of code
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 09:33 AM   #89
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

Thanks, but the issue isn't about zooming to notes or zooming to a fixed zoom level, it's about Reaper not damaging the current zoom level. I've tried scripting a solution, but nothing I've tried works.

The funny (not ha ha) thing about this is that this auto-zoom behaviour was added to the notation view, which was previously unaffected.

The MIDI editor zoom is far from ideal for people who want zoom to fit between 0% and 0.05% of the time, not automagically on item select.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:11 PM   #90
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Ok, just tested a bit around.

Now I am using this:
PHP Code:
OpenMidiEditor 40153
-- Time selectionSet time selection to items40290
 
['<cr>'] = runAction(40290OpenMidiEditor
This combination seems to be most reliable. However there can be problems:
-if you select only a single item

But if you select more than a single item, so the screen needs to readjust, then it does its job perfectly. It seems one has to force Reaper to update its screen. Whenever Reaper decides 'not to update anything', then the zooming behaviour is not optimal, it just uses something, but not what we asked for. I discovered OpenMidiEditor is dependent on time selection, so I do always a fitting time selection before opening the midi editor.

Just a few comments from my side. Probably from time to time we have to investigate again which is the current best combination of available actions.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:16 PM   #91
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snooks View Post
... it's about Reaper not damaging the current zoom level.
Well, ok, for me, I just want to see all notes in the selected items as my items are not 10 minute items. Not sure how big your items are. And I am using 's' frequently to split items at mouseover.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 04:52 PM   #92
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

It's not just about how big they are, but how small too. Auto-zooming in on a 0.5 bar item or a 2 minute long item is equally undesirable. 0.5 or 1 bar items for percussion/FX is kind of standard issue. Having very big and very small items is very normal too.

When making the mistake of clicking on an item/track with item that's outside of the current view the enormous change to the view to something you'd never do manually is very unwelcome and actually a bit jarring.

Just make zooming manual please. No auto-zoom. As an option.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:30 AM   #93
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

It does not make sense talking of details, without knowing your exact workflow*. If you still can not find a working custom action combination, then you are doing something wrong.

I did a licecap recording, however it is bigger than 64kB, the gif limitation in this forum, do not know who set such a small limit for gif uploads, it seems sharing useful gifs is not wanted in this forum. So everyone has to find out themselves.

* For example how often are you entering and leaving midi editor? Are you spending your most time in arrange view or midi editor? Are you doing your most navigation in arrange view or in midi editor? Are you splitting your midi items in arrange easily and frequently? Splitting and glueing frequently is not forbidden.

Last edited by TonE; 11-02-2017 at 06:45 AM.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:35 AM   #94
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
It does not make sense talking of details, without knowing your exact workflow*. If you still can not find a working custom action combination, then you are doing something wrong.
No, you're wrong. This is definitely a pain point, and no script or a set of custom actions is helping it. I have outlined where the problem EXACTLY lies (along with a GIF, too), and what exactly causes it. It just needs to be fixed so that it doesn't do it (or at least does it optionally, but it should really never do it, it should just work logically, because right now it's not logical at all):

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...7&postcount=79

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
it seems sharing useful gifs is not wanted in this forum.
So upload it to imgur then paste the link here.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:39 AM   #95
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Evil, your workflow is wrong. So change it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I noticed something here.

When one MIDI editor per project is active, and these options enabled:

Active MIDI item follows selection changes in arrange view
Selection is linked to editability
(Optionally) Selection is linked to visibility


Then if you zoom out enough to see multiple items, zoom is preserved as you select different items for editing... that is UNTIL you select an item that is outside the MIDI editor viewport, which Reaper then messes up and zooms into the selected item, instead of just scrolling to it!

Another problem is that depending on item selection, and probably also contributing to the problem here: Reaper simply truncates the MIDI editor ruler - for example, if you have a bunch of items, and you select items starting from bar 20, you can never scroll back to bar 1 in MIDI editor after that! This "ruler truncation" also happens if you use horizontal scrolling action - even if the ruler wasn't truncated automatically when selecting a different set of items! That's pretty bad (and also not something that happens with the main arrange view - so why can't MIDI editor behave the same?)... Also, this truncation happens regardless of MIDI editor timebase - it should NEVER happen in "project beats" or "project time" timebases - they are supposed to show the whole project's timeline, just like they do in the arrange view!

Seems like a relatively simple thing to fix - just SCROLL to the items, never ZOOM, and while at it, also NEVER truncate the ruler! After all, arrange view has a stable zoom level as last one used is remembered, and even when selecting different items from Project Bay, it just scrolls to the one you selected, instead of re-zooming into it!


Here's a GIF explaining the above happenings. I hope schwa sees this and comments (right-click->"View image" to see fullsize)...

TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:41 AM   #96
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,542
Default

That's a rich thing to say. My workflow is not wrong, Reaper is bugged at these settings, it's simple as that.

This workflow is perfectly normal especially when working with dual monitors. So if you don't like that, go somewhere else, don't tell me to change MY workflow, I certainly am not saying you should change yours. Accept that Reaper is bugged here, is not perfect, needs fixing, and move on. Don't lecture me.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:10 AM   #97
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

I lecture you.

Here my imgur, thanks for the suggestion.

Further tip: I assigned ENTER also to my Razer DeathAdder side button, back button, so I am always in a thumb click distance for editing any midi item from arrange, same thumb click to return back to arrange. It works as you can see in this image. Now you can keep your workflow and complain here. For me these are improvement areas:
-vertical zooming so a few notes are free on top, e.g. 5 notes empty lines at top, similar as emacs can do when using Control-l
-single item selections do not behave optimally


Last edited by TonE; 11-02-2017 at 07:15 AM.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:14 AM   #98
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,542
Default

Respectfully, you are completely missing the point. So your lecture is useless, and quite frankly disrespectful and completely diminishing the VERY REAL issue Reaper has, and which was showcased time and time again.

What you show there is absolutely useless for the kind of work I, and many others, do (which is: arrange view on one monitor, MIDI editor ALWAYS OPEN on another monitor. No switching between arrange and MIDI editor with a shortcut - both are ALWAYS OPEN). Not just that, it's in fact slower, and it still doesn't solve the issue outlined in the thread. Which is again, very real, it exists, and it affects certain workflows. And no, the solution is not to change the workflow, the solution is to FIX THE ISSUE.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:39 AM   #99
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
... MIDI editor ALWAYS OPEN ...
Reaper does not behave here nicely, just use a working way until Reaper improves the way you are dreaming about.

We are talking about, thumb click or not here. For all other readers, who did not read everything above. Plus, Evil prefers wasting space on his second monitor by keeping it always open for the midi editor. Yes, wasting choices are not forbidden. Having Reapers action power, then not using it, is also not forbidden.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:42 AM   #100
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,542
Default

Oh cut the crap please. My second monitor uses multiple things depending on what screenset I'm using. I have MIDI editor and mixer on it at all times, because that's how I work. No space is ever wasted.

Again you are sidestepping an important issue and this is not cool. For many, the issue is real. Stop diminishing it. I am not alone in this, this is not the only thread that mentions the issue, it's existed even before MIDI editor was possible to stay always open. So yes, stop preaching to the choir and sidestepping the real issue here.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:52 AM   #101
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Title says: 'Midi Editor', yes we are talking about it.
Then 'Remember last used zoom', hmm, why one would want this? Usually I only want to zoom to the items I want to edit, not remembering anything.
Then 'Stable default zoom', hmm, my image above behaves quite stabelly, select two or more items, bam, you zoom exactly there, always.

Just shared this solution strategy here.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 07:55 AM   #102
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,542
Default

Yes, what YOU usually do is not going to be identical what SOMEBODY ELSE might want to do, especially with the options to show all project MIDI in MIDI editor, and linking visibility/editability with arrange, and using multiple monitors, etc. You work completely differently to what's outlined in the thread, hence you completely miss the point on where the issue lies, hence you're preaching to the choir, and annoying the lot in the process. Just don't do it, please stop.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 05:13 PM   #103
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

Well said ED, I do get the eagerness though and the desire to solve things through scripting and minor workflow changes.

I'd like auto-zoom and auto-scroll both being options. I've said this possibly literally a hundred times though.

Hopefully with the dark lord ED on side this might get attention.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 06:39 PM   #104
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 997
Default

Did you explain your workflow reasons anywhere? I would like to learn from others.

Are you editing mostly notes? Note adding, moving, deleting.
Or are you editing lots of cc? And which of both more? Why you need to keep the zoom setting constant? Why is zooming to selected items perfectly not good enough?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2017, 01:35 AM   #105
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,542
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Why you need to keep the zoom setting constant?
Because zoom level is always constant in the arrange view? It doesn't change when selecting different items, it only changes WHEN YOU TELL IT TO? So arrange and MIDI editor should behave the same when you have both of them displayed at the same time? You know, logical things. This is why just zooming to selected items is not good enough, and your suggestions completely missing the point.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 04:52 AM   #106
inarisound
Human being with feelings
 
inarisound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 79
Default

up. never give up.
inarisound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 08:12 AM   #107
EgM
Human being with feelings
 
EgM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Did you explain your workflow reasons anywhere? I would like to learn from others.

Are you editing mostly notes? Note adding, moving, deleting.
Or are you editing lots of cc? And which of both more? Why you need to keep the zoom setting constant? Why is zooming to selected items perfectly not good enough?
All the other DAWs (Logic, Cubase, DP, Sonar, StudioOne) don't mess with your midi editor zoom levels, horizontally or vertically, you're saying ALL the other DAWs are doing it wrong? Maybe you just dabble in simple midi clips where you don't have to see a stable 1/16 notes-4/4 view but some of us are doing complex work with CCs and velocities and the current zoomed to clip view does NOT work.
__________________
Eric E. Hache
Game music composer @ www.gamemusic.ca
Main (iMac27, Mid'11, i7-2600/16G, 10.11) VEP5-Slave (i7-3770/32G, Win8.1-64)
EgM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 10:37 AM   #108
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Why you need to keep the zoom setting constant? Why is zooming to selected items perfectly not good enough?
Zoom level is not constant, it varies. It just must not move from where we manually set it.

Zooming to a 0.5 bar item that contains one note to that one bar fills the screen when you click on a track in the Track List is useless behaviour. Same with 32 bars or whatever. Especially when you then have to noodle your way back to the previous position and zoom level.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 02:43 PM   #109
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snooks View Post
Zoom level is not constant, it varies. It just must not move from where we manually set it.

Zooming to a 0.5 bar item that contains one note to that one bar fills the screen when you click on a track in the Track List is useless behaviour. Same with 32 bars or whatever. Especially when you then have to noodle your way back to the previous position and zoom level.
i am not sure if this is related , but there is a behaviour which personally annoys me a LOT.
The last position i zoomed or adjusted in the midi editor is altered many times when close it. I still didn't say anything about this because i assumed i am doing something wrong, but maybe it is builded this way. If so it's BIG annoying .
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 04:07 PM   #110
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 80
Default

Is there really a debate about this? This post has continued to stay strong since 2011 (SIX years of complaints), because of how blatantly absurd it is to not remember the zoom on the midi editor. Having to re-zoom in every single time you exit the piano roll on one instrument is nonsense.

I am trying to have faith that this will be addressed in Reaper 6.
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:59 AM   #111
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

Yes, hopefully the or friendly neighbourhood devs will get round to it soon. Maybe next Tuesday afternoon or thereabouts.
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 09:28 AM   #112
snooks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1,460
Default

Only 35 minutes left until Tuesday afternoon, EST. Excitement builds...
snooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.