Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

View Poll Results: Would you USE the 'Link' sync function if implemented?
Yes, I would use it 36 81.82%
No, I wouldn't use it 6 13.64%
Fish (I don't care) 2 4.55%
Voters: 44. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2017, 08:36 AM   #1
Psinet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Default Ableton Link time-syncing feature request.

Ableton Link is a feature that by now probably requires no further introduction to anyone.

While attempts at making standards for syncing audio PC's have come and gone, Ableton Link is here to stay - simply because it works. It is now the ultimate 'must have' feature for new music apps.

On the PC, Propellerheads Reason 9.1 now supports the Link feature alongside Serato and Cycling 74 Max. It seems pretty much anything on iOS supports it or soon will be.

The PROBLEM with Link (especially on PC) is that not enough are supporting it. Therefore people are making their own solutions:

http://cdm.link/2016/01/a-new-app-br...link-and-midi/

I am not sure what kind of licensing Ableton are wanting (can't be too bad with such tiny companies doing it), but the introduction of this new feature to Reaper would be STANDOUT.

Due to the needs of collaborating with other artists, Link has truly become a must-have for me. So many artists are using Ableton (I don't). Being able to time-sync with them easily, means that I can now use Reaper only as a rewire slave - whereas I want it for master timing! As a long time user of Reaper, I actually bought a proper license before making this request - so I didn't feel too bad. But....

.....can we get any feedback from Cockos on any plans they have on this? Do they do that?

Or maybe input from other devs?

*Link is a UDP protocol that uses the multicast group 224.76.78.75 (last 3 octets spell "LNK" in ASCII), port 20808. Link clients join + leave the multicast group via IGMP. /thanks Nean

Resources:
http://ableton.github.io/link/
https://www.ableton.com/en/manual/li...on-and-rewire/
https://github.com/westhom/AbletonLinkProtocol
https://github.com/Ableton/link

Ableton Link network dump:
Attached Files
File Type: zip ableton-link-dump.zip (62.0 KB, 42 views)

Last edited by Psinet; 01-14-2017 at 10:54 AM.
Psinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 08:36 AM   #2
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...t=ableton+link

The developers replied in that thread, but never said they will implement it, and asked for some network dumps, which were posted, but no reply on if they have any interest.
It is starting to get a a bit annoying now with Reaper falling behind other hosts on standards, took an age to get VST3 and it is still a bit iffy support, we still have no ARA, and who knows if we will ever get Link support, all a bit sad really.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2017, 11:05 AM   #3
Psinet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
It is starting to get a a bit annoying now with Reaper falling behind other hosts on standards, took an age to get VST3 and it is still a bit iffy support, we still have no ARA, and who knows if we will ever get Link support, all a bit sad really.
I must agree, although I have found the VST3 support quite good so far. Up until a week or so ago I was convinced that Reaper was not just the future - but the here-and-now. I have a lot of Nuendo/Cubase experience and I was impressed. So I slapped down for a license. A week later and I am stunned that ARA has not been given a nod in the 4 years it has been out - and despite the pseudo-positive note from admins last year, Link support seems like it will not be coming in time for my partner and I (duo) and a new project at the door. Maybe not for another year, huh?

I updated the original post with extra information from the last thread and added a poll. Should be interesting if enough see it.

Maybe we can harass them into submission? It seems there are many thousands desperately looking for a Link-enabled DAW on PC, right here and now. Come to the party Cockos!

Last edited by Psinet; 01-14-2017 at 11:22 AM.
Psinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2017, 03:45 PM   #4
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

Dont ever think that something will be added next year or such, Reaper developers don't work like that, if they are not using Ableton Link, it is very unlikely to ever happen.
And there is no harass in to submission here, Reaper has the longest running FRs of any host, People moaned for years about Automation items, the developers never even acknowledged them, so forget it, Link wont happen in Reaper, ARA wont happen in Reaper.
If it does, then you will be surprised
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 03:58 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
Reaper has the longest running FRs of any host
Are you sure?
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 04:31 PM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpunk_w View Post
People moaned for years about Automation items, the developers never even acknowledged them, so forget it
EEEEEERP! Wroooong.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 04:37 PM   #7
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,786
Default

new sig for someone there!?

or


gpunk is FAKE NEWS

giggle
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 06:24 PM   #8
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote out of context much ?

"Dont ever think that something will be added next year or such, Reaper developers don't work like that, if they are not using Ableton Link, it is very unlikely to ever happen.
And there is no harass in to submission here, Reaper has the longest running FRs of any host, People moaned for years about Automation items, the developers never even acknowledged them, so forget it, Link wont happen in Reaper, ARA wont happen in Reaper.
If it does, then you will be surprised"

Fake news FFS ??
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2017, 07:11 PM   #9
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: uk
Posts: 3,786
Default

jokin squire..

ham up the villainy role whilst you can, they are cooler.
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2017, 08:58 PM   #10
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
jokin squire..

ham up the villainy role whilst you can, they are cooler.
WTF are you talking about ?
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 03:29 PM   #11
DruMunkey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 225
Default Bottom line, is Link coming to Reaper or not?

Sooo., to get shit back on track... Is Reaper going to get Link any time soon?
DruMunkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 03:09 PM   #12
nean
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 36
Default

thanks Psinet for followup and creating a poll !

+1 for Link support, because it seems to be the only sync mechanism that practically works withouts jitter,....




cheers,
nean
nean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2017, 09:16 AM   #13
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

To be fair it isn't the only sync protocol that works without Jitter and is very much working in the same way as Cockos very own Ninjam (very large loock ahead syncing)

But it is the sync protocol that has caught on, it will happen in Reaper eventually when they get chance, it probably wont be Ableton Link but more likely "Hey this sees Ableton Link signals, and does this"
Which is probably what we really wanted anyway.
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2017, 10:07 AM   #14
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,994
Default

Ahem!

https://forum.audiob.us/discussion/1...live-situation

Maybe not quite as ready-for-the-big-time as you think?

Wasn`t it you talking recently about not getting the latest greatest until a considerable time after the bugs have been worked out? (grin)
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2017, 05:39 PM   #15
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

Me, what you mean ??

By the way, that guy was trying to use WIFI, that is a mega nono, Link works over LAN too
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 01:39 AM   #16
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,994
Default

OK ya got me curious - are you using Link? Is it really all that it is cracked up to be?

I have to confess that my own little dabbles in inter-computer connectivity have not been all that, so I AM interested, but not if it means using Live, which I tried and just could not get on with.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 09:13 AM   #17
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
OK ya got me curious - are you using Link? Is it really all that it is cracked up to be?

I have to confess that my own little dabbles in inter-computer connectivity have not been all that, so I AM interested, but not if it means using Live, which I tried and just could not get on with.
It has nothing to do with Live, i do not own or use live.

As for is it all its cracked out to be, lets be clear about this, it works like ninjam, it is in sync but there is no play or stop sync, users trigger start stop and they will always start next bar (to be fair this is perfect)

I have had three people each with two ipads each (6) two people with Android tablets, one with a windows machine and two more with hardware synths and drum machines synced via MIDI using a link to MIDI app on an iphone, over WIFI at home and there was never a dropped beat or out of sync moment, for hours lol

So yeah, its the effing daddy for that stuff lol
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 09:47 AM   #18
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,994
Default

Fascinating!

Sadly you have more local techie friends than I do - I was thinking more along the lines of doing stuff remotely with friends in other locations.

Most of the old fart musos I associate with dont even own a smart phone, let alone tablet!
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 11:27 PM   #19
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,143
Default

You are better off using ninjamm then, it works perfectly and is built in to reaper
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 12:42 AM   #20
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,994
Default

Is Ninjam still alive? Thought it had sorta disappeared.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 11:33 AM   #21
torchlord
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 46
Default I would like to second this

I would like to have this feature implemented in Reaper, so that I can try to connect my SoundBrenner Pulse vibrating Metronome watches to reaper, and sync them two the projects I have.

If I can get the Ableton Link working with a AdHoc network setup I should be able to do it?

https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/ar...e-and-iOS-apps

I think it be wise for Reaper to get this included.

SoundBrenner Pulse....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgSsapQrzXc
torchlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 11:49 AM   #22
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torchlord View Post
You should ask SoundBrenner to make "Daw Tools" available cross-platform which allows it to be used with Reaper without any changes in Reaper code if memory serves? I have 5 SoundBrenner Pulses which is why I'm mentioning and will be asking them myself as well. If you are on Mac, I'd think you could potentially use it with Reaper out of the box using Daw Tools?

On a side note, how do you like the Pulse? I love it, works best attached to my shin bone. We are now using all five at band practice which was the primary reason I bought them and that use doesn't require a DAW - though I'd like to use with a DAW down the road.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage

Last edited by karbomusic; 07-06-2017 at 01:11 PM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 07:26 AM   #23
torchlord
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 46
Default I contacted them, and this is what I got

Julian Vogels (Soundbrenner)
December 31, 2016, 19:00 HKT

Hi Jeff,

yes, you can use Ableton Live on Windows and sync everything up using Ableton Link.
Here's some more information:
https://www.ableton.com/en/link/
https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/ar...e-and-iOS-apps

Hi Jeff,

Ableton Link was made Open Source recently, so theoretically, any DAW could include it. So far I have only seen it in some Native Instruments software (e.g., Reaktor 6) and in Reason 9.1 they included it as well.
Here's the open source code base: https://github.com/Ableton/link
And some more information: https://www.ableton.com/en/blog/link...-desktop-apps/

The only reason this move is necessary is because they said that windows Bluetooth LE is needed in order to make the connections to the watch, and that Windows implementation is pretty wholeful, or bad, otherwise you need Ableton link, and adhoc. I posted something windows I forget where to ask for them to fix this Bluetooth LE in windows.

Hi Jeff,

thanks for getting back to us and for your suggestion about Windows 10 Bluetooth MIDI. We're in the process of building MIDI into our iOS app. The Android development will take a bit more time.

The iPhone supports MIDI over BLE so you could then very easily sync your Soundbrenner Pulse units to any MIDI Clock signal from your favourite DAW.

I can't yet give you a estimated time of arrival, but we already have a functioning prototype. It is very likely that it will be included in a speedy update to The Metronome by Soundbrenner on iOS.

Building a version of the Soundbrenner DAW Tools on Windows is something we tried in the past, and we even had someone working on that for over a month, but he then came to the conclusion that we should wait for some improvements on Windows' side. However, as Saba said, we're reevaluating the Windows situation regularly.

Best,

I found this bit. Bluetooth midi is in a slow roll out for windows 10 anniversary addition. So hopefully it comes soon. It seems once this gets fixed in windows, then Soundbrennor can make a app for windows to make the watch work.

http://www.musicradar.com/news/tech/...dows-10-642798

Last edited by torchlord; 07-09-2017 at 07:47 AM.
torchlord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2017, 08:07 AM   #24
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torchlord View Post
I found this bit. Bluetooth midi is in a slow roll out for windows 10 anniversary addition. So hopefully it comes soon. It seems once this gets fixed in windows, then Soundbrennor can make a app for windows to make the watch work.

http://www.musicradar.com/news/tech/...dows-10-642798
Thanks a million for checking on this. I still need to send my request as well. I'm functioning fine currently as I just use a Samsung Galaxy with the Pulse software to sync us up for band rehearsal.

I could theoretically, record the intial drum tracks in reaper to the SB click, without those being connected and align after the fact but would really like the ability to let any player in the band use SBP when they do their tracks if they wish.

Thanks again, I'll try to get my two cents out to them by tomorrow. I'll check out the OSS stuff too.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 07:50 AM   #25
nosucherror
Human being with feelings
 
nosucherror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: London, Perfidious Albion
Posts: 43
Default

Bitwig 2.2 is implementing Ableton Link:
https://www.bitwig.com/en/17/bitwig-studio-2_2.html
That means Linux support too!
I would love to see REAPER doing this.
__________________
Ubuntu Studio 16.04 | M-Audio Fast Track Ultra & M-Audio Delta 1010 | AMD FX-8320 | 16Gib RAM
nosucherror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2017, 03:26 PM   #26
naythinjuromeh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 78
Default

Please add this feature
naythinjuromeh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 08:16 AM   #27
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 86
Default +1

+1 please add
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2017, 09:48 AM   #28
digitalfix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 84
Default

I'd love this! Bitwig's just added it so to have it running with Bitwig would be a real joy.
digitalfix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 10:30 AM   #29
yayajohn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

+1 Abelton Link with iPad apps esp.
yayajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2017, 03:17 AM   #30
nean
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 36
Default

+1 please add
nean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2017, 09:09 PM   #31
J Riley Hill
Human being with feelings
 
J Riley Hill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Default

I would use. My favorite thing about it, is the no fuss "jamming" across different computers/devices/daws thing.
J Riley Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.