Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2017, 12:29 AM   #1
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default MIDI Editor: Zoom to content does not zoom vertically

Back in a days (Reaper 4) action 40466 (Midi editor: Zoom to content) zoomed both horizontally and vertically. Now it only zooms horizontally. Please, fix it.

EDIT: unwanted behaviour enables only when controller lane is lower than the bottom octave (which is pretty much always with MIDI Editor switched to fullscreen on HD monitor).

Last edited by dr_After; 04-28-2017 at 04:07 AM.
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 01:16 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,806
Default

For me, that Action works correct: zooms in both horizontally and vertically.

OSX 10.12.4
Reaper 5.50pre5, 64bit.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 06:38 AM   #3
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
For me, that Action works correct: zooms in both horizontally and vertically.

OSX 10.12.4
Reaper 5.50pre5, 64bit.
I don't know how it works on OSX, on Windows 10, x64 definitely it does not zoom in vertically. Even worse - when content is zoomed vertically correctly, the action zooms it out vertically so that all octaves are visible (even when there is no content on them).
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 06:41 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,557
Default

Action works fine here on W10 x64.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 09:50 AM   #5
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Action works fine here on W10 x64.
Hmm, I admire your work here on forum, so i triple checked this one. My "zoom to content" action after execution gives me this:

1. open Reper
2. make new item
3. draw some notes
4. zoom to content

http://www.evermotion.org/files/uplo...itled_crop.jpg

As you can see, there are many empty lanes above and beneath midi notes. That was NOT the case earlier. I would predict that it shgould work like this:

http://www.evermotion.org/files/upload/asaa.jpg

:/
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 10:22 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,557
Default

Yeah, sorry but that doesn't happen over here at all. If I draw a few notes really close together (like 3 semitones range), I get very big zoomed in blobs. If I spread notes apart (when drawing them at a pretty zoomed in level) several octaves, I get zoomed out view and tiny notes. As should be.


My suggestion: try a fresh portable install of Reaper and see if it does the same thing. If it works as it should, something got borked in your config somehow.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:24 AM   #7
noise_construct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
My suggestion: try a fresh portable install of Reaper and see if it does the same thing. If it works as it should, something got borked in your config somehow.
My old install with heavy configurations and tweaks had the same issue as OP, I'm currently rebuilding from the ground up and Zoom to content works as it should.

There is some (unrelated) setting that causes the faulty behaviour, if Zoom to Content breaks again while I progress, I'll report here.
noise_construct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:36 PM   #8
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default

I get this (unwanted) behaviour of the whole octave range zoomed out on all three Reaper instances - two on different computers and freshly installed portable version.
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2017, 11:57 PM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,557
Default

Weird. :/

It works just as it should here...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 04:06 AM   #10
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Weird. :/

It works just as it should here...
I pinned it down! The action works properly only when controller lane is high enough to cover keyboard on the left. If controller lane is smaller, action does not zoom vertically properly.
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:12 AM   #11
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,557
Default

How do you mean "cover keyboard on the left"? It's always covering the keyboard on the left, by some amount.


Either way, I dropped the height of the controllers lane all the way down (it cannot be seen), the action still works here.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:16 AM   #12
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default

Maybe this will explain my issue:

http://www.evermotion.org/files/upload/zoom.jpg
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:18 AM   #13
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,557
Default

Hmm. Nope, still works here even if I unzoom the MIDI editor completely out (so that I get ants instead of notes)!


EDIT: OK, I think I got it now. It's very, very sporadic. Sometimes it works even at the zoom level you showed, sometimes it doesn't.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2017, 05:23 AM   #14
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 568
Default

And here comes the GIF - when controller lane is higher, zoom works, when it is smaller you can see only a small "jump" - that was "zoom to content":

http://www.evermotion.org/files/upload/lice1.gif
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 02:28 AM   #15
mehmethan
Human being with feelings
 
mehmethan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_After View Post
And here comes the GIF - when controller lane is higher, zoom works, when it is smaller you can see only a small "jump" - that was "zoom to content":

http://www.evermotion.org/files/upload/lice1.gif
Same here. +1
mehmethan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 09:51 AM   #16
buddhajuke
Human being with feelings
 
buddhajuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 218
Default

Same Here. +1
buddhajuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.