Old 10-08-2017, 02:09 PM   #1
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default Project Zoom Out Limits

Could we have a project zoom out limit in the project settings for a start and end time/bar/timecode of the project? It happens too often that you zoom out and all the items are on the left side of the arrange view. A project limit could offer a maximum zoom out range.

Last edited by Gass n Klang; 11-11-2017 at 05:02 AM.
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 11:21 AM   #2
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

nobody interested in this?
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 11:24 AM   #3
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,581
Default

Apparently.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 11:26 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

I don't think it needs a limit, I think zoom should work better by default. There are some mouse modifiers that help but don't really solve in full.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 11:27 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,581
Default

If I need to zoom out fully to the whole project, I use a dedicated action for that ("View: Zoom out project")... it didn't fail me so far.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 11:52 AM   #6
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
If I need to zoom out fully to the whole project, I use a dedicated action for that ("View: Zoom out project")... it didn't fail me so far.
Just zooming general is kludgey, will demo later if time permits. For one it shouldn't zoom out to 5000 measures ever mostly sorta kinda.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 04:40 PM   #7
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

Project limit in the project settings doesn't have any disadvantage vor anybody but let's you zoom out to the full project length very quickly using the mouse wheel. So why wouldn't it be good?
Counterquestion: Why would you want to zoom out more than the length of your project? If your project gets longer than expected, you just could adapt the project limit...
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:31 AM   #8
ivan.lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 408
Default

I use the action to zoom to entire project, it's a single, one-shot command so in theory nothing could be faster.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
Counterquestion: Why would you want to zoom out more than the length of your project?
For example, I like to reveal a lot of blank space at the end to drag files onto it to sort later. Sometimes I would zoom out beyond the project length and drag unused parts there. Yes, I could manipulate "project limit" whenever I need that but for me that would be a hindrance.
ivan.lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:44 AM   #9
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

then you're probably using keyscommands for zooming in general. The mousewheel zoom guys like me could just scroll down and had the whole project.
I really can't comprehend how one could be against that feature. There could be an infinity project length as standard for example...
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 02:45 AM   #10
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,581
Default

I also use mousewheel (two of them, vertical and horizontal) for scrolling and zooming. But if I need to zoom to the whole project, I just press Page Down and there I am.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 04:05 AM   #11
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,885
Default

Here is the example of the FR usefulness:

vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 07:18 AM   #12
ivan.lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
There could be an infinity project length as standard for example...
This could work for me.
ivan.lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 07:20 AM   #13
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Here is the example of the FR usefulness:
Exactly, it's not about wanting to zoom 'to' the entire project, it's when zooming using any method, it shouldn't zoom out to thousands and thousands of measures wide.

Quote:
So why wouldn't it be good?
There shouldn't be a special setting to keep this from happening. Too late now, but that was my point. I'd prefer it to be project end + N percent by default, that is configurable if needed or default to the current project end time + some wiggle room. I'm never going to need to see what is at measure 45000 in a song that only has 200 I can assure you.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage

Last edited by karbomusic; 11-01-2017 at 07:27 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2017, 09:34 AM   #14
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

alright then we all fight for the same thing. Devs, it's up to you now
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 03:21 PM   #15
rstockm
Human being with feelings
 
rstockm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 68
Default

It gets worse if you use a trackpad with multitouch zoom enabled (which makes perfect sense on a MacBook). Several times a day, it goes like this:



ans yes, I have the action "zoom out to project" but the proper way would be to give us a preference option to limit the zooming out to the project limits. This feels just - broken.
rstockm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2017, 07:11 PM   #16
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rstockm View Post
This feels just - broken.
exactly...
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 03:43 AM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,267
Default

You have the limit project length to options in the advanced project settings, it can be a start. It don't prevent scrolling outside, but it allows zoom out to be less intensive.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 03:46 AM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,581
Default

Indeed it does! Neat find, X-Raym!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 04:02 AM   #19
Eddy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 126
Default

limiting the project length would have the disadvantage of preventing cut and pasting a whole lot of material past the project length setting

I use the zoom to project that Evil Dragon mentioned, the project setting X-Raym mentioned disables or renders buggy my mousewheel for zooming
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 09:34 AM   #20
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
nobody interested in this?
Not for zooming. But I find that I have to add blank items at the end to hear the full reverb of the last bits of audio. So I'd rather have a limit in terms of bars/seconds for the audio rathern than the zooming.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 09:38 AM   #21
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
limiting the project length would have the disadvantage of preventing cut and pasting a whole lot of material past the project length setting
Not true, it only affects recording/playback.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 09:42 AM   #22
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masi View Post
But I find that I have to add blank items at the end to hear the full reverb of the last bits of audio.
Masi
Set the option to include a tail.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 10:22 AM   #23
ejanejarr
Human being with feelings
 
ejanejarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 44
Default

+1, I like Reaper zooming (a lot, actually). And I have a "Zoom out to project" shortcut, but I'd rather be able to do that with a simple mousewhel movement. This is a good idea.
ejanejarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 10:46 AM   #24
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,994
Default

Adding a +1 to SOMETHING that gets zooming under better control than the existing setup.

I have learned to live with it, but in terms of detailed MIDI editing it is a total PITA.

X-raym - Thanks for that tip. Yet another setting I had completely overlooked!
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 01:25 PM   #25
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Set the option to include a tail.
Is there also an option als for playback? I know that I can set a tail for rendering, but the playback stops abruptly which annoys me.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 01:48 PM   #26
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masi View Post
Is there also an option als for playback? I know that I can set a tail for rendering, but the playback stops abruptly which annoys me.

Masi
I thought you could at the item level and I was hoping that would do it but I could be wrong. Will try to check when I can.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 02:39 PM   #27
rstockm
Human being with feelings
 
rstockm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
You have the limit project length to options in the advanced project settings, it can be a start. It don't prevent scrolling outside, but it allows zoom out to be less intensive.
Interesting find. But I have to enter a specific value for each project - it would be way better to have the option "set limit always to actual projects length".
rstockm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 02:41 PM   #28
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,581
Default

Yeah but such thing is never going to be precise enough, say if you have long reverb tails happening after the last item end...


You can also set this to a certain value, then save a project template, then use that template as a startup project that is always used, so at least you reduce the amount of zoom out Reaper uses. Easy to change the value if the project needs a longer time.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 03:55 PM   #29
rstockm
Human being with feelings
 
rstockm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Yeah but such thing is never going to be precise enough, say if you have long reverb tails happening after the last item end...
You can also set this to a certain value, then save a project template, then use that template as a startup project that is always used, so at least you reduce the amount of zoom out Reaper uses. Easy to change the value if the project needs a longer time.
Well, my usecase for REAPER (and that of ca. 1.500 other folks in Germany) is: podcasting. You never know how long a show will become, so a template is not an option (end reverb or precision is not an issue).

(If you're interested: this is my project "Ultraschall" http://ultraschall.fm (sorry, German only))
rstockm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 02:35 AM   #30
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

for all guys that don't like the idea: This could be an optional setting!
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 04:13 AM   #31
ivan.lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 408
Default

I'd like to clarify. The original request was for "a maximum zoom out range", not a media/recording/playback time limit. Let's not mix the two.

We could specifically ask for an option to limit zoom to, say, the last item's end + 5% (or any other value). Which would not affect recording or dragging items past that point. IMO, "zoom limit" is more correct than "project limit" in this context.
ivan.lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 04:18 AM   #32
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan.lt View Post
IMO, "zoom limit" is more correct than "project limit" in this context.
@Gass n Klang, so please rename the thread.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 05:01 AM   #33
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Detmold - Germany
Posts: 351
Default

thanks! I renamed it.
Gass n Klang is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.