Old 05-20-2017, 11:03 PM   #801
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Appreciate the feedback
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 07:43 AM   #802
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
That pretty much sums it up LOL

Well apart from dealing with stereo media its all done and dusted and being tested unmercifully ;-)

Sometimes I even impress myself LOL
You ARE VERY impressive Mike... extra whiskey for you mate!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 11:17 PM   #803
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
You ARE VERY impressive Mike... extra whiskey for you mate!
LOL - no encouragement needed
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2017, 11:18 PM   #804
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

PTX export is really coming along - lots of testing happening and a few things to finalise and then we start on the stereo version of PTX. Pretty much now know what has to be done so hopefully shouldn't be too painful ;-)
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 01:23 AM   #805
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 241
Default

So when we take an abelton live session file and reload it in Reaper via AAT,
does reaper use it's own time stretch and re sampling algo on the audio files ?

I was told by a friend that Abelton uses SOXR engine for audio and re sampling, which causes serious loss in audio quality.
That's why my Abelton suite license is eating dust.
If reaper does use its own algo to resample instead of using a pre rendered version of audio from abelton,, then I can do most of my loop work in abelton and then just AA translate the project file and continue further work and render via reaper engine.

I am not even sure if i am making any sense, if you can help clear this cloud , i would be highly obliged

cheers
zook
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 05:57 AM   #806
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Essentially all we do is take whatever settings are being used in Ableton and then using math we do the the conversion to RPP.

There are no stretching or any other algorithms or plugins used by AAT we just provide the math for Reaper to do whatever it needs to do to achieve the same end in RPP - if that even makes any sense.

If you want/need a test conversion just sing out and in that way you can be sure of what you are getting.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 07:44 AM   #807
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Essentially all we do is take whatever settings are being used in Ableton and then using math we do the the conversion to RPP.

There are no stretching or any other algorithms or plugins used by AAT we just provide the math for Reaper to do whatever it needs to do to achieve the same end in RPP - if that even makes any sense.

If you want/need a test conversion just sing out and in that way you can be sure of what you are getting.
Thank you for the response.
I think i got the answer
cheers
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2017, 08:17 AM   #808
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Just created our first stereo PTX !!

And BTW mono PTX still works too LOL
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 04:58 AM   #809
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

It's done!
Spitting stereo PTXs out like chips.
No animals were destroyed in the process, however, I can't say the same for the brain cells.
Heap of testing to be done but for now I'm taking a break from this Avid madness.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 02:00 PM   #810
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,421
Default

cong rats... I feel sorry for the whiskey bottle but happy for you

brain cells are over rated anyway
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2017, 04:51 PM   #811
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Thanks hopi
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:30 AM   #812
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,727
Default

The instances of Protools 12 sessions coming in has dramatically increased. All of them produce "Runtime Error 6 Overflow" errors.

So far I've been able to fix this by saving a new version with Protools 11.3.1 and then converting that one.

This all with AATranslator 6.2.00.

Is a version available yet that can handle these funny Protools 12 sessions directly ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:43 AM   #813
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Strangely enough we haven't been sitting idle ;-)
We are pushing to get our next release out asap. This next release sorts out that and many other issues as well as providing S1 and PTX export capability (no more splitting stereo files when going to ProTools). There is also a heap more added functionality and improvements (too many to name now).
The sheer complexity of the release has required a herculean testing effort. That and the 6 months of daily PTX analysis and coding has added to the delay.

However, the short answer is - yes.

As always, you and any other AAT user who encounters a problem should contact me directly and promptly for either a pre-release fix or to bring an issue to our attention so that we can deal with it.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 02:54 AM   #814
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,810
Default

Fantastic news Runaway, many thx !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 04:29 AM   #815
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,727
Default

Sah!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runaway View Post
Strangely enough we haven't been sitting idle ;-)
We are pushing to get our next release out asap. This next release sorts out that and many other issues as well as providing S1 and PTX export capability (no more splitting stereo files when going to ProTools). There is also a heap more added functionality and improvements (too many to name now).
The sheer complexity of the release has required a herculean testing effort. That and the 6 months of daily PTX analysis and coding has added to the delay.

However, the short answer is - yes.

As always, you and any other AAT user who encounters a problem should contact me directly and promptly for either a pre-release fix or to bring an issue to our attention so that we can deal with it.
Yes sah! I understand sah!
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2017, 05:17 AM   #816
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Sah!

Yes sah! I understand sah!
LOL - I have just sent a link to the latest beta - let me know how it goes
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 08:47 PM   #817
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

It has been almost 18 months since our last release so you might be forgiven for thinking we had abandoned AATranslator but this was not the case.

Just prior to our planned release late last year we discovered that our PTF session files would no longer open correctly in ProTools versions 12.3 and later.

This was not a good thing and we knew that we had not changed anything so either Avid had introduced a bug or maybe it was something deliberate who knows?
Either way we had to do something.

We could spend months trying to come up with a work around or bite the bullet and invest the time and resources to work on the PTX format.
We knew this would take many months and we knew there was no guarantee of success.


Well it did take much longer than we had anticipated but the results speak for themselves and we really do have to thank Avid for the motivation.


While exporting stereo files to ProTools version 10 or later may not be of interest to everyone we did manage to work on a huge number of other things including Presonus Song support, improved PTX & AAF reading and the ability to add all output to a zip file.

There is a lot more added than what is listed but here is what we have listed….

* AAF Export: Fixed bug which could cause an invalid AAF to be created
* AAF Export: Option to convert to 24bit now optional
* AAF Export: Option to reference stereo media files – PT won’t import stereo but MC & Nuendo will
* AAF Import: Fixed issue with Media Composer AAFs regarding volume curves
* AAF Import: Fixed issue with Media Symphony AAFs regarding pan curves
* AAF Import: Fixed issue with Pyramix AAFs where some tracks were not being converted
* AAF Import: Now delete extracted split mono files from embedded Avid MC AAFs which are converted to stereo when internal MC AAF stereo track flag is set.
* ADL Export: Fixed issue with minus offset values
* ADL Import: Added support for Dalet multitrack sessions
* AES31/ADL Export: If audio from an embedded OMF or AAF needs to be converted to a BWF wav then the superfluous extracted audio will now be deleted
* ALS Export: Fixed issue with extended ascii characters in marker names
* ARG Import: Fixed a number of import issues and added support for clips with multiple 'cuts'
* Auria PRJ Import: Now updated to reflect v1.6 (Auria Pro)
* Capture Export: Fixed error in clip values due to insufficient decimal places used in calculations
* Capture Export: Fixed issues with some filenames which could cause a corrupt file
* Capture Import: Fixed a number of issues with capture files from Macs
* Cubase XML Export: Fixed issues with some clip/region names which could cause a corrupt file
* EDL Import: Fixed issue with CMX3600 EDLs where track volume automation was ignored
* FCP XML Export: Poly wav files no longer required to be split
* NHSX Import: Fixed a number of clip placement errors
* NHSX Import: Improved handling of Hindenburg session files
* Nuendo XML Export: Fixed issues with some clip/region names which could cause a corrupt file
* OMF Export: Fixed bug which could cause an invalid OMF to be created
* OMF Import: Media extracted from an 'embedded' OMF will be deleted when successfully converting to an 'embedded' AAF
* PTF export: Umlauts in marker names converted when importing VIP session
* PTF Import: Fixed session offset error where timecode is 23.976
* PTF Import: Now cater for PTFs created by PT 12.3 and later
* PTX Export: Now support writing ProTools 10 and later session format
* PTX Import: Added support for v12.7 'idiosyncrasies'
* PTX Import: Fixed clip gain envelope error
* PTX Import: Fixed session offset error where timecode is 23.976
* PTX Import: Read audio channel used in poly channel media files and written when exporting to RPP
* Pyramix XML Import: Added v10 changes to read video details
* RPP Export: BPM now read from RPP Template (if used) when importing AAF or OMF
* RPP Export: Fixed html characters in filenames
* RPP Export: Now correctly writes Flac & OGG details
* RPP Export: Removed Null characters from track names
* RPP Import: Fix for when a clip's audio start time causes the clip to loop
* RPP Import: Fixed issue causing overflow error where fades are present and non-english OS
* SESX Export: Fixed issues with keyframes showing scientific notation
* SESX Export: Fixed Show/Hide unused tracks
* SESX Import: Updated to reflect changes in the sesx format in regards to track volume, mute, pan automation
* SESX Import: Updated to reflect changes in the sesx format in regards to Markers
* SESX Import: Updated to reflect changes in the sesx format in regards to track volume
* Song Export: Now support writing Presonus Studio One session format
* Song Import: Now support reading Presonus Studio One session format
* Tracktion Export: Fixed Overflow error when creating large Tracktion session files
* Added import/export scripts for Vegas version 14
* Added option to send all output (session file & media) to a zip file
* Can now convert to 24bit or 16bit for most formats
* Fixed error converting M2T or MP3 to BWF when converting to AES31, OpenTL, OMF, SAW or FCP XML and the 'overwrite' option was not selected
* Modified 'location' folder list control to allow for manipulation via keyboard arrows
* Can now drag ‘n’ drop folders into both the ‘Look for Source Media’ and ‘Send Output to’ locations

We have already started working on our next release which should include support for reading native Premiere Pro session files and a heap of other things.
While it may seem that converting from one format to another should be a simple thing it isn’t and while we do our best to cover every complex scenario under very difficult circumstances sometimes we either miss something or we have not encountered such a scenario or there are circumstances beyond our control.

Do not hesitate to contact us should you have any conversion issues and while we may not be able to cover everyone’s need we will certainly do our best.

While there are too many to name individually, we would like to thank the many users and beta testers for their persistence and patience inhelping us improve AATranslator.

We started rolling out v6.3 a couple of hours ago so over the next few hours all registered users should be emailed a download link to the update.

While this update, like all our past updates, is free to registered users we certainly don't discourage generous donations
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 11:52 PM   #818
bcslaam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 68
Default

Fantastic! Good work guys.
bcslaam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 02:27 AM   #819
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Thanks mate
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2017, 06:29 PM   #820
jeremiahmoore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Hi all -

New here, so hopefully this is the appropriate place to pose this issue and question.


TL;DR:

- Reaper project with multiple-sample-rate media
- Need to move to ProTools 48K session, with AATranslator. (works great, except media not at 48k plays off-speed)
- How to pre-flight the project in Reaper so all media is converted to conform to 48K, in-place on the timeline?


Some attempts:

Convert SR in place: ??
- find somehow a section with media <>48K. Select.
- "Render Items as New Take"
- "Crop to Active Take"

Issues?
- How to "detect" and navigate to any non-48k media in project? (It's all interspersed)
- "render" appears to commit any processing, but I'm not clear which processing this might refer to.
- might it be fine to do same process to entire timeline?

Also tried:
- Attempted a "save copy in, with media" but not seeing any way to set sample rate for output.

Have not yet tried (will it work?)
- SRC'ing the source audiofiles, and seeing if I can get project to link to these instead of originals. FFMPEG script proposed by Mike (of AAT fame) pasted below.


Thanks for any suggestions or help.


-jeremiah


PS - A bit of background:

I'm mainly a Pro Tools person, and in the process of learning Reaper. I have a radio doc to mix in Pro Tools (have to mix there, we're talking 20,000 hours experience vs about 10 hours with Reaper)

The doc is cut in Reaper w/ media at multiple sample rates.

I've done a test transfer with AAT and so far so good, except for off-speed clips in cases where media is not 48k.


FFMPEG script
for conversion in-place to 48K (watch that you work on a backup of the files)
Batch (.bat) File example (you will have to edit the paths to audiofiles and ffmpeg) (presumably portable to shell script on mac)
=========================
for %%f in ("h:\vb\aatranslate\*.wav") do (
echo %%f
c:\ffmpeg\ffmpeg -y -i %%f -ar 48000 %%f
)

Last edited by jeremiahmoore; 11-10-2017 at 06:56 PM. Reason: added ffmpeg script
jeremiahmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:49 AM   #821
The Byre
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 619
Default

Render - Source (box top left) stems (selected tracks) as WAV files and 'spot-on-import' in PT as normal.

Set sample rate, etc. as required.
The Byre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:19 AM   #822
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Currently working on a sample rate conversion option but we have to make sure it also works when we are splitting or recombining files and under all sorts of other circumstances.
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 01:39 AM   #823
jeremiahmoore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Byre View Post
Render - Source (box top left) stems (selected tracks) as WAV files and 'spot-on-import' in PT as normal.

Set sample rate, etc. as required.
Yes, I'm afraid what we're after is to preserve the edited clips, fades etc.

A Sample-Rate-Conversion feature in AAT would be ideal, glad it's in the pipeline.

in the meantime, the following appears to be working:
- Make a selection, "Render Items as New Take"
- "Crop to Active Take"

This has the effect of creating new media at project sample-rate with same clips / edits / fades etc, which is precisely what I want to do.


-jeremiah
jeremiahmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:40 PM   #824
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,306
Default

Sample rate conversion code has been added and is currently being tested
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.