Old 01-21-2017, 05:54 AM   #1
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,586
Default Tempo Markers confusing ...

Dear Reapers,

I am confused about using Tempo Markers.
The behaviour of Items, set to timebase "beats (position,length,rate)
, when having more than 1 Tempo Marker in Ruler, is not understandable for me.

Situation:

- 1 long audio item, set to timebase "beats (position,length,rate).
- This audio item is 125 bpm.
- Tempo Marker set to 125 bpm, at the start of Project. Fine: the audio item plays perfectly on grid.
- I create a new Tempo Marker, somewhere at the middle of the audio item, set to 110 BPM.

Now i would assume that only the part of the audio item, on the right of the 110 BPM Tempo Marker, would be stretched, to become 110 BPM in tempo.

But noooooo ; also the part on the left side of the 110 BPM Marker, gets stretched to 110 BPM.

Total illogical behaviour if you ask me ..
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 07:08 AM   #2
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 702
Default

Hi

I don't know it's a bug or not.
I created 120bpm marker at the start and another at measure 3 30bpm.
it automatically creates a ramp envelope so it messes up everything.

__________________
Outboarder Scripts
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 07:14 AM   #3
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,586
Default

Right mouse click on the tempo envelope line.
Then: Envelope Defaults > envelope point shape > square.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 07:17 AM   #4
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 702
Default

my default is square but it creates linear.

__________________
Outboarder Scripts

Last edited by Outboarder; 01-21-2017 at 07:28 AM.
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 10:50 AM   #5
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outboarder View Post
my default is square but it creates linear.

Untick gradualy transition option when making time sign.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 11:29 AM   #6
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 702
Default

@vanhaze sorry for thread hijack.

@strachupl Thanks that fixed the issue. how can I disable it permanently. every time I make tempo marker in new project it keeps back (checked), annoying.
__________________
Outboarder Scripts
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 12:35 PM   #7
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,586
Default

No sweat mate :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 12:36 PM   #8
strachupl
Human being with feelings
 
strachupl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Outboarder View Post
@vanhaze sorry for thread hijack.

@strachupl Thanks that fixed the issue. how can I disable it permanently. every time I make tempo marker in new project it keeps back (checked), annoying.
For me in new project once set works in later tempo changes
@edit Maybe when you can make one Time signature on project start and untick it, then save project as template and set in options to always start with this template project.



Quote:
Dear Reapers,

I am confused about using Tempo Markers.
The behaviour of Items, set to timebase "beats (position,length,rate)
, when having more than 1 Tempo Marker in Ruler, is not understandable for me.

Situation:

- 1 long audio item, set to timebase "beats (position,length,rate).
- This audio item is 125 bpm.
- Tempo Marker set to 125 bpm, at the start of Project. Fine: the audio item plays perfectly on grid.
- I create a new Tempo Marker, somewhere at the middle of the audio item, set to 110 BPM.

Now i would assume that only the part of the audio item, on the right of the 110 BPM Tempo Marker, would be stretched, to become 110 BPM in tempo.

But noooooo ; also the part on the left side of the 110 BPM Marker, gets stretched to 110 BPM.

Total illogical behaviour if you ask me ..
All I know is that you can split item/s and then insert tempo change...

Last edited by strachupl; 01-21-2017 at 01:07 PM.
strachupl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2017, 02:20 PM   #9
wolfgang18
Human being with feelings
 
wolfgang18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 18
Default

Hi all,

I'm having the same problem as described. All my tempo markers are set without gradually transition tempo but still the left side of the item moved with the tempo change. However sometimes it doesn't but I didn't get the trick why not - what's the difference in those items. So, there must be a way to define those tempo markers to work correctly on the right side of them...
Anybody who can help?`
Thanks!
wolfgang18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2017, 12:08 AM   #10
wolfgang18
Human being with feelings
 
wolfgang18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 18
Default

OK - after another research I found some valuable information here
http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.ph...ation_with_SWS
(ch. Split selected items at tempo markers)

Looks like reaper isn't able to have more than one tempo setting for the length of an item. so it should be split at tempo changes. As this is currently already obsolete - it is enough to add a stretch marker at the item's position.
There is even an SWS option (which I couldn't find in the menu honestly) to do this automatically "when inserting tempo markers with SWS actions". Hmm. I didn't find an action as well to create (not to replace a project marker) a tempo marker on its own with SWS.
Do I miss something.

Finally I wish, that such stretch markers would be placed automatically on items by REAPER when using tempo markers. Everything else that moves the item content before the marker should be considered as a bug.

Last edited by wolfgang18; 12-19-2017 at 01:21 AM.
wolfgang18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2017, 08:23 AM   #11
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 854
Default

Hi,
Wolfgang..
Investigate and time base. I believe that will help.

Edit..and I gotta learn to read better..sorry
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2017, 09:34 AM   #12
Jason Lyon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 617
Default re Gradual Transitions

This is a great feature to have available and one I've been using a lot since I recently found it, but I feel that working with it could be more intuitive.

I might ponder some kind of script called "createaccelorrit", which could perhaps convert the selected envelope point to start the gradual transition, then give you the option to snap back to the original tempo (by finding the next point and sticking another one just after it with the initial value). Crudely represented, the envelope result would be a change from
_.-._ to _./:_ (for an accel)

Incidentally, accels and rits (that's an abbreviation, because I don't want to stir up stuff recently seen on another thread) are used more often than you'd think, even in rigidly to-the-bpm music. A common approach is a very subtle (possibly only psychologically detectable) accel as a section gets more exciting, then a snap back to the base tempo.

Add to that a dash of event humanisation (again very subtle) and the music starts to feel much more emotionally coherent and natural.

I've found the trick with these approaches is to dial them up until you can obviously actually hear them, them pull back just enough that you feel the effect, rather than hear the changes.

Of course, in some styles you may want it to sound tight to the tempo...
Jason Lyon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.