Old 12-06-2017, 07:06 AM   #1
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 571
Default -----

-----

Last edited by Veto; 05-18-2018 at 08:22 AM.
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:01 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,728
Default

With a lot of help in the forum thread you mentioned, I did a rather large project with fft_real() - including a spectrum analyzer view - and it does work as expected.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:40 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,964
Default

I'm pretty sure you're getting different values with some offsets because the FFT buffer crosses the 65536 boundary (per the documentation you quoted).

Try adding this line immediately above the loop() that prints the results:

Code:
((in_buf/65536)|0) != (((in_buf+fft_size*(real?1:2) - 1)/65536)|0) ? gfx_printf("would give bad results\n") :
(that will print an error message rather than results if in_buf crosses a boundary)

Last edited by Justin; 12-06-2017 at 04:53 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 09:12 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,203
Default

really quite nice Veto... thanks
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 12:52 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks again everybody, in the end my gfxanalyzer mod shaped up nicely

Looks perfect !

Any chance you provide it via ReaPack (please including a decent "About" section) ?

Thanks a lot !
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:19 AM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,663
Default

Interesting ! This is an ambitious project !

--
It could have been nice to have a toggle for having tracks colors instead of predetermined one but it's not possible via JSFX to get track color...

... but what is possible to add JSFX sliders for INT colors of each tracks, and altered this with a script (scripts can set FX values), like "Set Veto's freq analyser JSFX color to their track receive" (I assume you put the analyses on a dedicated analyzing group). :P

--

More complex but very useful would be to have a Slope settings, like there is on Voxengo Span.


As you can see the GFX version looks more 'bassy' than the voxengo one. (in fact it is pretty harsh electric guitar signal, Span slope gives me a more accurate (to what I hear) analyses by showing this bump in the highs.

--
Thanks for your work !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 04:45 AM   #7
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,738
Default

I agree with X-Raym to be able to customize the colors
Slope would be nice too.
Very cool Veto!
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 06:44 AM   #8
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Is "Slope" identical to tilting the spectrum (I'm sorry I don't have Span here)? If so, it wouldn't be hard but I kind of find it a bit odd, because all amplitude values wouldn't match then. Let me think about this.
Yes.
A common setting (which I also use) is a slope of 3dB/octave so that pink noise shows flat.
Span uses 4.5dB/octave as default.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=111819

Nice work on the analyzer btw.

Last edited by nofish; 12-10-2017 at 07:14 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 07:18 AM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,663
Default

@Veto

Quote:
The colors are hard-coded
You can keep this mod, it make sense, especially if you master groups tracks that are not colored, but a toggle allowing custom colors would be nice :P Companion scripts to set this colors from selected tracks or palette or whatever could be made with access to color sliders.

Quote:
but would result in lesser contrast in any case.
User problem. We can think about a master Saturation slider but this is really low priority I think. Personally, I only use vibrant colors already.
There is some situations where we don't want contrast (like if yo master several tracks from a drum kit against another instrument, you may want all your drums tracks to have same colors).

Quote:
That depends on the FFT settings. You used a window size of 1024 (set by default).
Indeed, my GFX analyser and Span FFT didn't match but that didn't change the FR :P

Having slope may not be "accurate" but allow to have something that matches more "how we feel the sound".
In this Linkin Park song, I find bass is nicely balanced with medium and heigh. Span slope at 4.5 shows a curve globally flat. If I set it to 0, then I get the same results as the GFX analyser: a bump in bass display.



Here is with Sines at various octave from a 440hz (I just see you made a track template, I can remake the gif is needed):

In this case, it does make sense to have slope at 0, but in mixing context, I think slope at 4.5 (or custom) is more useful.

From Span manual:
Quote:
Note that by default SPAN uses 4.5 dB per octave
slope for the spectrum display
which makes it look considerably “elevated” towards the higher frequencies in
comparison to most other spectrum analyzers available on the market.
This setting
can be changed in the “Spectrum Mode Editor” window
Note than SPAN is free and cross platform is you want to test Great plugin, really smooth display! But I'm really curious what a JSFX version can do At least being able to have 16 channel (or even more by modding) is really interesting :P

Thanks again for your consideration

Last edited by X-Raym; 12-10-2017 at 07:26 AM. Reason: Added Image
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:16 AM   #10
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,738
Default

this is pink noise generator jsfx routed to it. the average should look horizontal line. This would be very useful.
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 09:55 AM   #11
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,945
Default

Nice!

Slope sounds good. Other things span has that I have found useful are zoom feature and +- cents by the note number.

But doing great regardless.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 03:31 PM   #12
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heda View Post
this is pink noise generator jsfx routed to it. the average should look horizontal line. This would be very useful.
Yep. I sometimes use pink noise to adapt equalization to a room/Loudspeaker by sending the microphone signal to SPAN and set the slope so that pink noise is an horizontal line.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 01:11 AM   #13
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks again everybody, in the end my gfxanalyzer mod shaped up nicely

Very, very cool!! Thanks a lot!

With regards to Span - I had always the feeling that it shows something to me that wasn't really helpful..

I mean...how can you get used to a curve when you always have to adjust the slope/tilt to make it show different signal levels every time?
Is it really useful to adjust something to show you what you wanna see instead of adjust the sound to make the given analyzer show what is "real"?

Would something like iZotope's Balance Control or Hofa IQ-Analyzer or anything simliar really be of good reference help it you don't know what the analyzer is currently showing because you always have to check and adjust the slope for that special task that you're observing?

I personally need one Reference to which I can get used to where I see directly if my sound curve is within the ballpark or not..

Thanks again Veto for that great mod!!

For me that greatest feature you may want to take into account is the ability to load and save reference curves and maybe to show a weighted curve in addition to the peaks like the great IQ-Analyzer does with its Energy Curve :-)

Last edited by skippertag; 12-11-2017 at 01:27 AM.
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 07:25 AM   #14
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skippertag View Post
how can you get used to a curve when you always have to adjust the slope/tilt to make it show different signal levels every time?
While I think that slope is important, at least two slope setting (flat and "pink noise") should be available by direct buttons.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 02:38 PM   #15
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

Many thanks Veto!!
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 04:05 PM   #16
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,738
Default

Thank you Veto.
It's perfect
and wonderful
__________________
HeDaScripts for REAPER | VIP Donations
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2017, 05:32 PM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,663
Default

Oh yes, Reapack release, awesome ! Thanks !

Here is a screenshot of v0.2



I can see indeed it missed the vertical scale and also that there is now up to 40hz bandwith (not sure if that is necessary in most cases ?).

The script to set color from tracks, but maybe a button to reset colors right on the window can be nice too.

Compared to SPAN, the X-axis scale seems to be different:

The 20-70hz scale seems a bit compressed in the JSFX. How come ?

Very good work anyway :P Having such plugin as JSFX allows to bring a lot of customization possibility !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 01:31 AM   #18
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,728
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Oh yes, Reapack release, awesome ! Thanks !
+1 !!!
-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 07:13 AM   #19
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks guys.
You're right Michael, I really should look into Reapack.
It should be included into Reaper installer.
Nice plug-in! Thank you for the good job!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 11:54 AM   #20
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,728
Default

As already stated I would appreciate buttons to set the slope to zero and to pink noise compensation (I don't remember the value for that)

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2017, 03:32 PM   #21
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 430
Default

This is great, thanks!

Excuse my ignorance, but how do I set it up as shown above - with inputs from other tracks?

Thanks

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 07:55 AM   #22
RCJacH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 118
Default

Hey this is a great one!
As a feature request, is it possible to implement RMS (or some sort of averaging) and peak hold?
RCJacH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2017, 08:28 PM   #23
RCJacH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Beijing, China
Posts: 118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks RCJacH! Maybe I'm misunderstanding but setting integration time averages over time.
Just out of interest, what would RMS make different for you compared to that?

Freeze/hold is on the list (Skippertag would like to have it too I think) only need to find a little time.
Oh, I'm sorry, I didn't see that integration time setting. That is indeed what I meant.
RCJacH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 12:40 AM   #24
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Thanks RCJacH! Maybe I'm misunderstanding but setting integration time averages over time.
Just out of interest, what would RMS make different for you compared to that?

Freeze/hold is on the list (Skippertag would like to have it too I think) only need to find a little time.
and when you somehow find even a little more time it would be soooooooo cool to save and load reference curves (although I know this is gonna be a problem because of the different timing options..)

Anyhow...thanks again and a very merry christmas time to you and y'all
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 10:01 AM   #25
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,703
Default

Very impressive!
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 10:41 AM   #26
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 619
Default

I do not see Veto_gfxanalyzer in Reapack with the repository added. I only see Set colors of focused Veto_gfxanalyzer to tracks sending on channels 1-16

Should that be the case?
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:46 AM   #27
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 619
Default

I just added a section for this awesome script on my Reaper Scripts Showcase page

http://admiralbumblebee.com/ReaperSc...lyzer---thread

Thanks!
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 03:32 PM   #28
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Oy vey, no it shouldn't. I see you are on OSX, it shows up on linux and on my neighbors windows.

Anybody else on OSX can't see the effect in ReaPack?
Anyways I just posted a question in the ReaPack thread.
It might also be of interest which OS version you do have.

Thanks for the feedback btw Robert!

EDIT:
Strange issue, fwiw it works on cfillion's mac.
I don't see it in Windows either. I made sure I have the latest reapack.

Is there anything specific I should be looking for here? I am searching by package, sorting by author... nothing.

edit: AH! It's "Multi Channel Spectrum Analyzer" under "Cockos/Vento".

That totally evaded my searches. Everything is ok!
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:03 AM   #29
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

I just recognize something that may not be intended...

currently the floating gfx window is just behind my browser screen where I'm typing now..

what happens is, that the cursor (who is of course active in the firefox browser) is also active on the floating gfx window in reaper although it is not active as I'm typing in Firefox. That is of course only happening when the cursor comes into the range of the opened floating window.

Doesn't that waste resources and I'm afraid that I might change things that I'm not willing to change actually while typing in firefox ..

Would you mind checking that Veto? :-)
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 02:08 PM   #30
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
There are no means in JSFX to check if a effect or Reaper is focused or not.


The loss should be negligible. On my (quite underpowered) system it's not even measurable (below 0.01%).


That won't happen. If not focused or covered by another window the JS only tracks mouse cursor x- and y-position, never mouse clicks, drags or keyboard events


Possible workarounds I could do (but would rather not to):
  • disable graphic processing when transport is stopped/paused:
    impractical because there are situations where one would use it on stop/pause too (i.e. input monitoring)
  • disable graphic processing if any of the active inputs are below a threshold x after some time t:
    I'd like to avoid that because if t is too small it would cause flicker with standard usage and if it's too big it would confuse users ("why the readout was visible a second ago and now it is not?")

If this still bothers you (I honestly can't see why though) you'd need to switch to edit mode in the analyzer (click the surface) before you switch to other windows.
Hey thank you for your fast response...it's not bothering at all... it just flipped to my eyes today and I thought "man, that's not the case with other windows applications :-)
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 02:30 PM   #31
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

You're most welcome, but I (We) are the ones to thank YOU! :-)
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2018, 02:02 AM   #32
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,202
Default

Oh man, magnificent work, Veto!

Regarding the Slope: I noticed that while higher pitched tones from the tone generator are now shown as louder in gfxanalyzer, Voxengo SPAN shows them as flat.
So pink noise is flat on both, tones flat in SPAN but sloped in gfxanalyzer!

I couldn't wrap my head around this until now: I had a 1/6th octave smoothing enabled in SPAN.

I modified the original gfxanalyzer to reduce graph opacity at high frequencies (FFT size dependent ;o) to see more precisely what's going on within the
big yellow blob instead of being blinded by it... But smoothing at the analysator level would solve these both issues!



I recently dipped my toes into modifying JS plugins without previous coding experience beyond Excel, so I don't have the slightest idea how one would go about this.
I think Smoothing would be a marvellous addition to the Veto Analyzer!
__________________
- MacBook Pro 15" Late '13, latest OSX, latest 32bit Reaper (Registered)
- Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000), Behringer FCA610
- Focal Alpha 65, Focal CMS 40, Focal Spirit Professional
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 07:37 AM   #33
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 339
Default

Looks like the Reapack Repo is gone now.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 04:49 AM   #34
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
olilarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 1,088
Default

where can i find this script?
__________________
VirtualCZ | pMix | Endless Series | WDL-OL | Linkedin | Facebook
Available for Audio Dev tuition via Skype (IPlug/JUCE/C++)
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 02:30 AM   #35
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,609
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olilarkin View Post
where can i find this script?
Do you mean script or jsfx? If jsfx, I'll try to find it and will post here.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 02:03 AM   #36
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olilarkin View Post
where can i find this script?
It's not a script - it's a jsfx
Attached Files
File Type: rar Veto_gfxanalyzer.rar (6.4 KB, 16 views)
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 03:22 AM   #37
olilarkin
Human being with feelings
 
olilarkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Huddersfield, UK
Posts: 1,088
Default

thanks!
__________________
VirtualCZ | pMix | Endless Series | WDL-OL | Linkedin | Facebook
Available for Audio Dev tuition via Skype (IPlug/JUCE/C++)
olilarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 01:01 PM   #38
skippertag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by olilarkin View Post
thanks!
you're welcome
skippertag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 09:33 AM   #39
sai'ke
Human being with feelings
 
sai'ke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Germoney
Posts: 73
Default

Ah, hm, I just noticed this thread. I worked on something pretty similar for my needs not so long ago. I've uploaded it in case anyone is interested:
Repo: https://github.com/JoepVanlier/JSFX
Reapack: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Jo...ster/index.xml

There's also a lua script that automatically links all your top level tracks to the analyzer. I mostly use it for the last steps when I'm putting a track together.
sai'ke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2018, 05:42 PM   #40
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 1,420
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sai'ke View Post
Ah, hm, I just noticed this thread. I worked on something pretty similar for my needs not so long ago. I've uploaded it in case anyone is interested:
Repo: https://github.com/JoepVanlier/JSFX
Reapack: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Jo...ster/index.xml

There's also a lua script that automatically links all your top level tracks to the analyzer. I mostly use it for the last steps when I'm putting a track together.
Thanks!

I see the buttons for the "channels" can "solo" the view of a particular channel. That's a nice touch, and so is the smoothing.

I was initially confused by the "16 channels" of the plugin thinking it meant channels 1+2 (3+4 etc.) of the plugin were representing stereo audio input pairs. I realized later each "channel" 1-16 of the plugin must be a L/R sum of audio input channels. (So you can feed it 16 stereo pairs of audio inputs.)

Oh also I realized if I right-click on the channel number it makes it "bold" but it doesn't seem to affect whether the channel is displayed or soloed. Is there a function that happens when right-clicking the channel number?
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.