Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2018, 06:40 AM   #1
doctorsleem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: TX
Posts: 5
Default Project setting for preserve pitch when changing rate (DONE)

Please add a project setting or default preference that allows us to choose whether imported media items have "Preserve pitch when changing rate" set to true or false.

As a sound designer, I almost always want this toggled to off. Sound designers often record at high sample rates so we can pitch our sounds way down for cool creative effects.

There are some tricks to sorta emulate this, for example there is an action to flip that toggle (Item Properties: Clear take preserve pitch), but none of them are perfect. That dang toggle always defaults to true for imported items. It always... defaults... to true... <falls to knees>

Being able to toggle this sucker to false in project settings so that it could be saved as part of a project template would be bliss. BLISS I tells ya!

Thank you!

Last edited by doctorsleem; 03-13-2018 at 06:51 AM.
doctorsleem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 09:45 AM   #2
SFLaValle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Seconded. And I know many others who would like this feature as well!
SFLaValle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 09:52 AM   #3
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorsleem View Post
Sound designers often record at high sample rates so we can pitch our sounds way down for cool creative effects.
didn't know this! : / so higher sample rates gives better resolution and so pitching this way sounds more natural? is there a name for this technique?
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2018, 09:56 AM   #4
leebanyard
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, this is something that I personally have wanted for a very long time, and as aforementioned there are workarounds but nothing that really does the job.
leebanyard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 12:20 PM   #5
schapps
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 15
Default

+1. I would really love to have this option. I think it would go perfectly in the Project Settings window.
schapps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2018, 02:27 PM   #6
munkleby
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 26
Default

Yes yes yes! Please give us this option!
munkleby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 10:26 AM   #7
Juan Uribe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Default

I wanted this option from the first day I started learning Reaper. It's an absolute must for every sound designer out there, and useful to have as an option for pretty much everyone that uses Reaper. This question comes up regularly in forums and chats and the answer is sadly always, no there's no option to do that. Please!
Juan Uribe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2018, 12:49 PM   #8
thatjoethom
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Default

I'd absolutely love to have this option. Would save so much time.
thatjoethom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 05:29 PM   #9
JackMenhorn
Human being with feelings
 
JackMenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: NC
Posts: 9
Default Yes.

I agree. I would like this setting
__________________
-Jack
www.jackmenhorn.com
JackMenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2018, 06:39 PM   #10
aaronbrownsound
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 7
Default Agreed

Opening every file and changing this gets old and I agree this would be very useful.
aaronbrownsound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2018, 08:45 AM   #11
hzandbits
Human being with feelings
 
hzandbits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Aarhus, Denmark
Posts: 16
Default

Uhm, yes let's have this, pretty please!
hzandbits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 09:35 AM   #12
Travesty
Human being with feelings
 
Travesty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 650
Default

Yes please, working in game audio post, I have to change this constantly.
Travesty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2018, 04:26 PM   #13
Sonorityscape
Human being with feelings
 
Sonorityscape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 53
Default

I've been trying to experiment with pitching down high-sample audio files to explore the coolness that people talk about, however when I compare the same audio file recorded at a lower sample rate I hear no difference. To clarify it's the same source recorded separately at two different sample rates. Could someone please explain if this is the reason why I'm facing this problem?
Sonorityscape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 09:31 AM   #14
Soundwizard
Human being with feelings
 
Soundwizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Default

I agree this is quite important for work in game audio and would love the option.
Soundwizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 04:33 AM   #15
bladlus
Human being with feelings
 
bladlus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oslo
Posts: 29
Default

Yes, please!
bladlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 05:15 PM   #16
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,039
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonorityscape View Post
I've been trying to experiment with pitching down high-sample audio files to explore the coolness that people talk about, however when I compare the same audio file recorded at a lower sample rate I hear no difference. To clarify it's the same source recorded separately at two different sample rates. Could someone please explain if this is the reason why I'm facing this problem?
First of all we're talking about changing pitch by changing playback rate. Like, actual varispeed which really does work basically the same as slowing down a tape or vinyl record so that it is both slower and lower. It might make some difference using the resynthesis methods also, but that's not the point here.

Second, it very much depends on the source sound. If the sound you're sampling doesn't produce any harmonics above 22K, the only difference you'll hear is in the noise and maybe the "air" in the recording. Metallic things like cymbals and some machines will show much more difference than like an electric guitar through an amplifier which is already band limited to below 10K and can only get darker as you slow it down.

Third, it obviously also depends on the gear between the source and the recorder too. A dynamic mic isn't likely to get all the way to 20K to begin with. Some condensers can.
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 01:13 AM   #17
Hope86
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Salò, Bs IT
Posts: 5
Default

Yes, please we need it!
__________________
A composer is a guy who goes around forcing his will on unsuspecting air molecules, often with the assistance of unsuspecting musicians. F.Zappa
Hope86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 02:50 AM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,458
Default

Coming soon, it seems.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.