Old 04-19-2018, 11:28 AM   #1
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 531
Default v5.80pre1 - April 19 2018

v5.80pre1 - April 19 2018
  • + Glue: fix creating small items when glueing items that begin/end on partial sample boundaries [t=205783]
  • + Keyboard: add option to allow the space key to be used for navigation in various windows [t=205757]
  • + Localization: improve MIDI consolidate error messages [p=1979031]
  • + ReaXcomp: improve text field behavior when automating parameters [t=205735]
  • # Localization: add csurf names, more complete langpack generation
  • # MIDI editor: allow adjusting scroll when changing arrange selection and linked [p=1979046]
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:12 PM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triode View Post
  • # MIDI editor: allow adjusting scroll when changing arrange selection and linked [p=1979046]
<3 <3 <3
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:27 PM   #3
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,744
Default

+ Glue: fix creating small items when glueing items that begin/end on partial sample boundaries [t=205783]

thanks!

Also, It seems now that if you have the midi editor docked under the arrange page and then close the midi editor. The arrange page no longer jumps to the top so thanks for this.

Although, it does seem to to scroll up a bit so that the item you were just in is just off the bottom of the screen. Better though than all the way to the top!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:43 PM   #4
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
# MIDI editor: allow adjusting scroll when changing arrange selection and linked [p=1979046]
When I click on an item, sometimes, window editor doesn't scroll.

Bug ?


Last edited by ovnis; 04-19-2018 at 12:54 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:46 PM   #5
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,314
Default

Quote:
+ Keyboard: add option to allow the space key to be used for navigation in various windows [t=205757]
Is it possible to use keyboard shortcuts when envelope window, routing window and FX chain window are opened ? Actualy, we can't do nothing with shortcuts. But, yes, the space barre works pretty well !
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:54 PM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
When I click on an item, sometimes, window editor doesn't scroll.

Bug ?

Hm, probably. It should also scroll then. It works when marquee selecting.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:55 PM   #7
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Is it possible to use keyboard shortcuts when envelope window, routing window and FX chain window are opened ? Actualy, we can't do nothing with shortcuts. But, yes, the space barre works pretty well !
It would be awesome that our main shortcuts be always the master rather than obeying floating windows yes!

Thanks Justin, just read this morning on this original thread about the spacebar and couple hours later... fixed.. thanks!
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:58 PM   #8
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

from 17b: the action "open item in built in editor" behaves differently when triggered by mouse modifier vs by action.

it behaves as expected via mouse modifier.

when triggered by action, it opens the wrong item in focus. see gif, it opens the first track with a midi item instead of the track whose item was clicked/entered.



the other issue i posted in 17b is still there as well but i'm getting the memo that that's not the focus of this cycle
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:59 PM   #9
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

from 17b: the action "open item in built in editor" behaves differently when triggered by mouse modifier vs by action.

when triggered by action, it opens the wrong midi item.
it behaves as expected via mouse modifier.

when triggered by action, it opens the wrong item in focus. see gif, it opens the first track with a midi item instead of the track whose item was clicked/entered.



the other issue i posted in 17b is still there as well but i'm getting the memo that that's not the focus of this cycle
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 01:17 PM   #10
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 839
Default

Seeing keyboard adjustments being made...
I was wondering if the standard keys for screensets (F7-F12 I guess) could be passed through in the FX Browser. I have it docked so whenever I want to change the screenset and the FX Browser has the focus, nothing happens.
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 01:48 PM   #11
fladd
Human being with feelings
 
fladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 940
Default

What's the difference between items starting with a + and items starting with a # in the changelog?
__________________
www.fladd.de/sound
fladd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 01:58 PM   #12
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,536
Default

Passthrough for any key assigned in the window sets window would be awesome.
I use 1-5 for window sets and Plugin windows block them.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 01:59 PM   #13
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fladd View Post
What's the difference between items starting with a + and items starting with a # in the changelog?
+ is new entry, # is a modification/update of an already existing entry from before, I think.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 02:55 PM   #14
tusitala
Human being with feelings
 
tusitala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 353
Default

Hi guys,

I have the impression that all the improvements on the focus inside the midi editors have completely disappeared.

Here's my usual test project result:




hope this helps.

Thanks
-t
__________________
MacOS 10.14.6
UA Apollo Twin
tusitala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 03:19 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
When I click on an item, sometimes, window editor doesn't scroll.

Bug ?

Which selection/focus linking options do you have set?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 03:25 PM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
from 17b: the action "open item in built in editor" behaves differently when triggered by mouse modifier vs by action.

it behaves as expected via mouse modifier.

when triggered by action, it opens the wrong item in focus. see gif, it opens the first track with a midi item instead of the track whose item was clicked/entered.
This is an instance where descriptions might be better than a .gif.

You are saying "If you run the open MIDI editor action with a single item selected, and the option to 'open all project MIDI' is set, then the first item (by track) is focused rather than the selected item". Fixing that...

Quote:
the other issue i posted in 17b is still there as well but i'm getting the memo that that's not the focus of this cycle
If you're going to say something here you should be more specific otherwise this comment will be effectively ignored.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 03:34 PM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tusitala View Post
I have the impression that all the improvements on the focus inside the midi editors have completely disappeared.

Here's my usual test project result:
If you can, instead describe this as "step 1) set options to x/y/z. 2) create MIDI item, ... step X: switch to this view. Expected behavior: X, actual behavior: Y". Watching the video I have no idea what's going on.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 04:49 PM   #18
tusitala
Human being with feelings
 
tusitala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 353
Default

Hi Justin, thanks for your reply.
Sure. It’s the same test project with the same actions I used to help and report behaviours during the previous pre release cycle.
I didn’t think the video would be unclear, sorry about that...

Cursor is at bar 65, I just select the items, open the midi editor with a shortcut, switch to notation editor, then back to piano roll, then select the tracks in the track list. That’s it, I thought it would be pretty self explanatory.

the expected behaviour would be:

- to see the cursor
- to see the notes inside the items i selected
- to see a time range that revolves around the cursor position

The video shows of course the actual behaviour, which is:

- i don’t see notes,
- i don’t see the cursor
- the time range is far from even being close to the cursor
- selecting from the track list has no effect whatsoever

I’ve posted the options in an older post and never changed them:
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...6&postcount=20


Thanks
__________________
MacOS 10.14.6
UA Apollo Twin

Last edited by tusitala; 04-19-2018 at 11:49 PM.
tusitala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 04:54 PM   #19
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,314
Default

ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 05:05 PM   #20
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
The selection linking to active editor only works in the "one MIDI editor per project" mode at the moment (which is why those options are grayed).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 05:36 PM   #21
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Twiddy, Alabama
Posts: 1,959
Default

aha! i think i found the source of the bad behavior

using these settings:



double clicking midi items to select/open them results in the previously selected item being re-selected. watch as my selection follows my mouse as it double clicks other midi items:



this is why i have been having a problem with midi items becoming unselected from within the midi editor, and thereby inactive and un-editable.

from another angle: watch as i double click each midi item in sequence and see how the selection trails by 1. it seems to select a split second after i double click the next midi item.



my mouse modifier is default for double click
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 05:38 PM   #22
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,768
Default

Quote:
v5.79pre13 - April 12 2018
# MIDI: restore sorting CC before note events [p=1978021]
This pre still puts CCs after notes at the same position.

cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 06:17 PM   #23
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,314
Default

Justin, thx for the explanation.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 07:58 PM   #24
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

1. Nice. Opening with Project Sync is not auto zooming.

2. I seem to be able to maintain a core "visible only" workflow with the settings below. It will be nice to have some more control (actions, etc) over making things editable/visible on demand, but this is an improvement in my book for a basic setup. (Need to test more, certainly, especially switching the pref actions)

Code:
One editor per PROJECT
Behavior for "open..." [open all selected items]

[ ] Make secondary items editable when opened from arrange
[x] Avoid automatically setting MIDI items from other tracks editable

[ ] Active item follow selection changes in arrange
[ ] Selection linked to visibility
[ ] Selection linked to editability

Last edited by FnA; 04-19-2018 at 08:06 PM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 08:29 PM   #25
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
(Need to test more, certainly, especially switching the pref actions)
Yeah, switching to this (and doing some stuff) and back to settings in previous post puts it in a state where you can't predict reliably if items will open as visible or editable.

Code:
One editor per PROJECT
Behavior for "open..." [open all selected items]

[x] Make secondary items editable when opened from arrange
[x] Avoid automatically setting MIDI items from other tracks editable

[ ] Active item follow selection changes in arrange
[ ] Selection linked to visibility
[ ] Selection linked to editability
---------------------------------------
edit:
I don't want these ON at all I believe:
Code:
[ ] Active item follow selection changes in arrange
[ ] Selection linked to visibility
[ ] Selection linked to editability
I want to click/select in arrange freely without losing Ed/Vis states in MIDI Editor, and double click to switch item in MIDI Editor without causing selection change in arrange. Maybe the linked actions might be useful in conjunction with some additional actions (select all visible items, etc) in the future, but right now they don't fit anything for me. (Edit 3- possible exception of toggling the third of those temporarily. Maybe. Not yet.)

With those settings in mind, both the top settings in this post and
Code:
[ ] Make secondary items editable when opened from arrange
[ ] Avoid automatically setting MIDI items from other tracks editable
seem unpredictable.

The following seems more solid from arrange double click than either of those two, but still can't return to settings in my first post in this thread (which is the one I like the most).
Code:
[x] Make secondary items editable when opened from arrange
[ ] Avoid automatically setting MIDI items from other tracks editable
I'm not talking about zoom at all, just Editability/Visibility.

-----------------
Edit 2:
Exploring
Code:
[x] selection linked to editabilty
And seeing the reselection behavior McCrabney reports. Also, the item which was formerly active may be left as E/V that doesn't correspond to what was desired based on arrange item selection before double click. A lot of times, can get it to a sensible result with additional performance of open action or something...

Finding
Code:
[x] Make secondary items editable when opened from arrange
[ ] Avoid automatically setting MIDI items from other tracks editable
Need to be opposing each other, like shown or reverse, rather than both the same. Indecipherable chaos otherwise.

--------------
edit 4:
Can't change these options back and forth, at least back to functionality of post #24. Reaper needs to be shut down, after resetting to those options, and restarted to get rid of lingering unwanted editability which will appear when switching items.

Checked with pre2 as well.
--------------
edit 5:
Pre3 seems to have had a positive effect on these matters.

Last edited by FnA; 04-21-2018 at 01:05 PM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.