Old 06-12-2008, 05:36 AM   #1
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default Toggle ALL keystrokes to plugins

Most of the time I don't want any key commands to go to any plugins.
While some keys don't go to the plugins (F1, F3, Space, etc.) other keys always go to the active plugins windows (F2, keyboard numbers, etc.).
I have a lot of customized key commands which only do work after I made Reaper's main window the active window which is really annoying as the original idea of these key commands is to speed up the workflow. Now I always have to pick up the mouse to click into the main window before I can execute those key commands.

AN ALTERNATIVE would be to have a keyboard assignable action to make the main window the active window which would help already a lot on this behalf.

Thanx a lot for concideration.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Bumpydumpy
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 05:01 AM   #3
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

I'll bump this one. This is important to my workflow.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 09:58 AM   #4
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Jetze nomma!
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 02:03 PM   #5
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Yes,

51 views and we're getting closer ...

... to a reaction.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 02:12 AM   #6
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

New day, new bump!
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 03:15 AM   #7
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

can i somehow turn the keystroke forwarding off? i don't need keystrokes on my plugins and it's annoying - always having to click the arrange window.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 03:30 AM   #8
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Till View Post
can i somehow turn the keystroke forwarding off? i don't need keystrokes on my plugins and it's annoying - always having to click the arrange window.
THIS is exactly my wish. Are you paraphrazing or wasn't I clear with what I want?

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 03:36 AM   #9
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

i guess i didn't read properly, we're on the same page.

requested this a while ago, too

http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21327
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 06:49 AM   #10
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Ah yes.

This is such a workflow slowdowner. Is it that hard to fix? Please ...

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 01:00 PM   #11
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

99 views for good workflow! Yeah ...
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 06:54 AM   #12
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

OK, I'll try again ...
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:13 AM   #13
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Whassup guys? I know you want it too!

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 02:34 AM   #14
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shogger View Post
This is such a workflow slowdowner. Is it that hard to fix? Please ...
a hard thing to fix? to fix? wrong word, man! they have to 'unbreak' it. it used to work just fine until someone complained that the keyboard shortcuts weren't going to his VSTi.

EVERY time something new made it into REAPER or some behavior was changed, we got an option - except this time, great!

and everyone else in the world probably has no idea what we're talking about...
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 07:02 AM   #15
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Ah,

was it that Kontakt input prob?? Could we then please have a checkbox for the old behaviour, please? This is very important to me.
Thanx a lot.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 03:29 AM   #16
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

i don't remember what it was, but someone was complaining. we should have told him to shove it, because now we have 1 happy person that probably doesn't even use REAPER anymore because he's a douche and 2 persons that are unhappy.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 06:54 AM   #17
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

Not having to keep hittng arrange window to hit play when Plug-in window open

+1111111111111 pretty please?


Guido
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:25 AM   #18
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Yes,

now we're talking.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 09:38 AM   #19
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

IMHO transport key strokes are paramount and should work regardless of which window has has focus.

oh and if you are required to enter a space to perform a search in your sampler's database... the alt+space could be used for that.

.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 03:07 PM   #20
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

If there would be a key commandable toggle option strange workarounds like Alt+Space or focus changing mouse clicks wouldn't be needed.
Just toggle all keycommands TO the plugin or AWAY from the plugin.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 01:57 PM   #21
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Thanx for the cool 2.302pre! With all these cool additions I have hope for this feature request.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 06:12 AM   #22
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Time for a bump!
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2008, 03:36 PM   #23
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Please give us a key command to toggle ALL keyboard inputs to the plugins or away from the plugins.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 08:48 AM   #24
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

go shogger...go shogger...go shogger...he chants
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2008, 11:29 AM   #25
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Thanx Guido,

so this is my evening bump then.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 04:09 AM   #26
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

i was away for a couple of days, but i'm back and bumping!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 10:27 AM   #27
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Shogger, I hacked this up for you quick:



Drop https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/47152/reaper_keyignore.dll in your REAPER\Plugins dir. Bind keys of your choice to the action(s). There may be subtle side effects when in ignore mode, user beware. Mode persists across reaper sessions/projects.

Please don't take this as validation for bumping your thread an obnoxious number of times.

Last edited by sws; 06-23-2008 at 02:54 PM. Reason: updated action name screenshot
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 12:46 PM   #28
synth
Human being with feelings
 
synth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Synthopia
Posts: 1,729
Default

Here's a +1 for bringing the old behavior back as an option
synth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 02:04 PM   #29
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
Shogger, I hacked this up for you quick:



Drop https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/47152/reaper_keyignore.dll in your REAPER\Plugins dir. Bind keys of your choice to the action(s). There may be subtle side effects when in ignore mode, user beware. Mode persists across reaper sessions/projects.
Thanx a lot for your effort, man! Much appreciated. Unfortunately it doesn't work here. Dropped it into C:\Programme\Reaper\Plugins then assigned a key command and it doesn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
Please don't take this as validation for bumping your thread an obnoxious number of times.
Not sure if I understood that part correctly.

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 02:51 PM   #30
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Oops, the toggle command was busted. Redownload here https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/47210/reaper_keyignore.dll.

I added a menu option too:
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 03:54 PM   #31
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

WOOOAHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

Man, thank you so much!!! This made my day! I can't tell you how many mouse clicks this will save me and therefor time. This is so cool! This is such an incredible workflow booster for me.

Thanx a lot. Very, very nice of you!

All the best, Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 04:04 PM   #32
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Hehe,

OK, I don't wanna whine and I'm extremely thankful for what you did for me. But the toggle feature doesn't toggle. It switches form Reaper to sub-window but not back. The other two actions do work, toggling would be a bit more elegant.

Thanx again for all your great help, Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 08:13 PM   #33
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Hmmm, it seems to work fine here. Maybe it's because once you're in "reaper" mode, your key that you bound is being sent to the plugin?

Try binding to a key that's always passed through to Reaper. (Not sure exactly what those are, though. Ctrl-??, alt-?)
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2008, 10:39 PM   #34
Guido
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 674
Default

Hi,

Thanks SWS...will try it ASAP.

Guido
Guido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 02:24 AM   #35
shogger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
Hmmm, it seems to work fine here. Maybe it's because once you're in "reaper" mode, your key that you bound is being sent to the plugin?

Try binding to a key that's always passed through to Reaper. (Not sure exactly what those are, though. Ctrl-??, alt-?)
Thanx for checking this!

Yes, that works. It's not the best solution but it works correctly this way. I've got it on F12 now which works flawlessly.
Thanx again for that great workflow enhancer. That helps me a lot!

Shogger
shogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 03:14 AM   #36
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

whoa, magic! thanks, man!

how did you do that? seriously, how does it work?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2008, 08:07 AM   #37
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Till View Post
how did you do that? seriously, how does it work?
Not magic I stumbled upon this "feature" while working on the Markerlist, here's the bug report.

With the extension API you can intercept every keystroke, and, if you want, force REAPER to treat it as a keyboard shortcut. This DLL just lets you toggle it on and off.
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 04:31 AM   #38
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

ok, so after having used it for some time, i have noticed, that having all keystrokes passed down all the time is not ideal, although you provided a good preliminary solution, SWS, and thank you for that, i still think this should be handled by REAPER itself.

text input fields in FX require manual switching, renaming Tracks doesn't work without switching, so it's not the solution of all problems.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 07:32 AM   #39
sws
Code Monkey
 
sws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 847
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sws View Post
There may be subtle side effects when in ignore mode, user beware.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Till View Post
ok, so after having used it for some time, i have noticed, that having all keystrokes passed down all the time is not ideal
Yeah, I figured there would be problems... Sorry!
sws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 08:24 AM   #40
Till
Human being with feelings
 
Till's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany's California
Posts: 1,541
Default

ah, don't beat yourself up, sws, it's a miracle you came along in the first place

this is so ridiculous, it used to be just fine!

come on, shogger, put on your conservative pants, our demonstration is back up!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 / 2 GB / WinXP Pro SP2 / EMU 0404 USB

"Recording is God's way of telling you that you suck." - Bob Brozman

My Jesusonic FX - Xenakios' Extension

REAPER FR Tracker - what is that?

The "How Stuff works in REAPER": video blog
Till is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.