Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2018, 03:16 AM   #1
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default TBProAudio releases dpMeter3 - Free Digital Precision Meter Plugin including Loudness

TBProAudio releases dpMeter 3, a precise digital audio multi channel meter
including RMS, EBUR128 and TruePeak measurement. It is the successor of the very popular dpMeter2 and adds free GUI resizing and preset management.



Features:
  • click-free 64-bit internal processing
  • 2 measurement modes: RMS/EBU R128
  • multi channel metering: 2-6 RMS channels, 2.0 stereo, 4.0, 4.1 and 5.1 surround
  • RMS: integrated, momentary, peak/true peak, Crest
  • EBU R128: integrated, momentary, short term, true pack and loudness range
  • true peak measurement based on ITU 1770
  • ITU1170/A/B/C/M-weighting filter
  • continuous/synced measurement
  • record metering results as automation data
  • large and accurate live meters
  • adjustable pre-gain
  • manual loudness/peak/TP match with given reference level
  • loudness offset mode
  • Preset management
  • GUI resizing

System Requirements:
  • Windows XP or newer
  • Mac OS X 10.5 or newer
  • Win: 32/64 Bit VST, 32/64 Bit VST3, 32 Bit RTAS, 32/64 Bit AAX
  • OS X: 32/64 Bit VST, 32/64 Bit VST3, 32/64 Bit AU, 32 Bit RTAS, 32/64 Bit AAX
  • Tested with: Cockos Reaper, Steinberg Cubase/Nuendo/Wavelab 6/7/8/9, FL Studio 12.x, PT10/12/2018

Price: free
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio

Last edited by TBProAudio; 09-20-2018 at 10:29 PM.
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 04:58 AM   #2
Reaperto
Human being with feelings
 
Reaperto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 464
Default

These are good news! Many thanks.
__________________
ReaLoaded!
Reaperto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 09:48 AM   #3
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,599
Default

Ongoing respect and gratitude ... TBProAudio !! Treasure chest of tools.
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 09:53 AM   #4
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 325
Default

Thank you for this excellent update!

In the future, please make sure that the links you post include "https://". Without it, Google Chrome defaults to "http://" and that fails DNS resolution.
__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; PreSonus AudioBox 44VSL
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; Guitar Pro 7; Gig Performer 3
PreSonus FaderPort; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 10:18 AM   #5
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaartian View Post
Thank you for this excellent update!

In the future, please make sure that the links you post include "https://". Without it, Google Chrome defaults to "http://" and that fails DNS resolution.

Ahh, thank you for the hint!
Changed!
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2018, 10:26 AM   #6
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,270
Default

It's too good to be free.


Thanks for another great plugin TBProAudio.
__________________
You can only Reverse, Switch, Invert or Flip POLARITY, not "PHASE".
JHughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 12:51 AM   #7
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 18,048
Default

I love that you are the Unsung Hero of plugin development.

Good tools that quietly go about doing "what it says on the tin" with no fuss and clean clear GUI.

I dont recall ever thinking "how glamourous" about what your plugs do, but they are incredibly useful and just WORK.

Kudos.
__________________
Why can`t we just all get along? Because the moneyed elite dont want us to.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 03:55 AM   #8
lachinhan
Human being with feelings
 
lachinhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Can Tho - Viet Nam
Posts: 77
Default Many thanks

Thank you for the great Plugin.
__________________
NK Recording Studio
Email: lachinhan@gmail.com or admin@thuamninhkieu.com
Website:nkpro.top
lachinhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2018, 03:01 AM   #9
DynamicK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 217
Default

Thanks for the update
DynamicK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:43 AM   #10
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Update to V1.2.1:

- Text blurring fixed
- Resize range change to 50% up top 400%
- Reset GUI scale with mouse click
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio

Last edited by TBProAudio; 07-14-2018 at 11:03 PM.
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2018, 06:43 PM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,708
Default

thanks for all you do!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 10:31 PM   #12
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Update to V1.2.3:
- Reset: always update GUI
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio

Last edited by TBProAudio; 08-13-2018 at 10:51 PM.
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 08:31 AM   #13
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,599
Default

Always cool to see your useful and thoughtful Updates !
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 10:50 AM   #14
Jorgen
Human being with feelings
 
Jorgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 5,039
Default

Thanks. I've been using it too, very handy.
Jorgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2018, 03:20 AM   #15
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Update 1.2.4:
- GUI: flickering during resize reduced
- GUI: small fixes
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2018, 12:30 PM   #16
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,325
Default

Thank you !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 11:34 AM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

On the website there is a screenshot showing a "PILR" value, called PiLR in the manual. Is it PLR (Peak to Loudness Ratio) ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 11:18 PM   #18
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
On the website there is a screenshot showing a "PILR" value, called PiLR in the manual. Is it PLR (Peak to Loudness Ratio) ?
Yes, in RMS mode it shows the Peak to (Integrated) Loudness Ratio. Also called Crest factor.

Formula: PILR = Peak - RMS Int;


Please to note that Peak level is used, not TruePeak.
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 03:24 AM   #19
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

Quote:
Formula: PILR = Peak - RMS Int;


According to Dynameter VST video, the formaulas for PLR is



PLR = Max Peak - Integerated Loudness


How come such difference (youuse Peak, and RMS int) ? is there different kind of PLR ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 07:45 AM   #20
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
According to Dynameter VST video, the formaulas for PLR is



PLR = Max Peak - Integerated Loudness


How come such difference (youuse Peak, and RMS int) ? is there different kind of PLR ?

Right, sorry for not being precise:-(


PiLR: Peak to Integrated Loudness Ratio = max peak minus IL (implemented in dpMeter3)
PsLR: Peak to Shorttem Loudness Ratio = max peak minus SL (e.g. dpmeterXT)


Which difference do you mean? To which meter do you compare?
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 12:20 PM   #21
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

Oh thanks of,
this is pretty technical stuff so clear definitions is necessary for me to understand :P


So I think PiLR isn't the common way to call it, it is called PLR in Dynameter and PLR in YouLean Loudness Meter. (but maybe it is this plugin who don't use the right term ?) (same for PSR vs PsLR).

That was confused me in a first place, but I get it now :P

--
I wasn't talking about difference in plugin but about difference in definition.


Though, I compare Youlean Loudness Meter 2 and dpMeterXT which both proposed intersting special feature (PSR graph for YouLean Loudness Meter2, automation data output for dpMeterXT), but the basic reports are completly different (with initial preset). Here is a demo:




How would you make them display the same numbers ? Did I miss a setting somewhere ?

(not: I only use the demo version of dpMeterXT).
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 01:59 PM   #22
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,599
Default

Following and learning here is USA as well !
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 11:41 PM   #23
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Oh thanks of,
this is pretty technical stuff so clear definitions is necessary for me to understand :P


So I think PiLR isn't the common way to call it, it is called PLR in Dynameter and PLR in YouLean Loudness Meter. (but maybe it is this plugin who don't use the right term ?) (same for PSR vs PsLR).

That was confused me in a first place, but I get it now :P

--
I wasn't talking about difference in plugin but about difference in definition.


Though, I compare Youlean Loudness Meter 2 and dpMeterXT which both proposed intersting special feature (PSR graph for YouLean Loudness Meter2, automation data output for dpMeterXT), but the basic reports are completly different (with initial preset). Here is a demo:


How would you make them display the same numbers ? Did I miss a setting somewhere ?

(not: I only use the demo version of dpMeterXT).
OK, i got the point. I will change PiLR to PSR (dpmeter3/dpMeterXT) and PsLR to PSR (dpMeterXT), just to be consistent with the other meters:-)
Please to note that dpMeterXT will get a PLR/PSR graph and density map in the next release.

So for your different values: YLM starts in EBU mode, so you need to select the preset nr. 3 (EBU R128 LUFS +27) in dpMeterXT. And activate DAW sync.

Now you should get the same values...
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 01:07 AM   #24
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

Quote:
OK, i got the point. I will change PiLR to PSR (dpmeter3/dpMeterXT) and PsLR to PSR (dpMeterXT), just to be consistent with the other meters:-)
Oh thanks this will help avoid confusion But I guess you meant PLR for PiLR :P



I don't see where PsLR (PSR) is in dpMeterXT, it is not even in the Out parameters list (but PLR is here):

EDIT: ok I found a setting in Options->LM2 for PLR Mode which can be set to PsLR. (and LRA mode can be set to PiLR).





  • Can we really consider PLR is a mode of Loudness Range ? Or is it just a way to say "Display PLR where LRA is usually displayed" ? I thought it was different concept (sure both analyses Dynamic with Loudness Unit, but as far as I understood, Loudness Range = LA, and just PLR is another concept).
  • Also,according to first screenshot, I suppose that the PSR value is then under the OUT: PLR parameter (for automation data ?) :S If yes, it adds a bit of confusion.

Quote:
Please to note that dpMeterXT will get a PLR/PSR graph and density map in the next release.
That sounds interesting ! Any screenshot to share to tease us ? :P



--
Another question: if PiLR is Peak to Integrated Loudness Radio, why is it accessible in RMS mode of dpMeter 3 and not in the EBU mode ?


I noticed that in v2, the PiLR of RMS mode was in fact labeled Crest factor, which I think is the right parameter to calculate for RMS.




EDIT: I confirmed, I checked parameter names and this PiLR is "RMS:Crest" in parameter names. :S

--
I hope you don't mind all these questions I'm brainstorming with Youlean and dpMeter. Both have great features to propose (and a lot of technical things to handles) :P



Thanks for your support !

Last edited by X-Raym; 09-16-2018 at 02:14 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 07:21 AM   #25
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
...
Thank you for your valuable feedback:

dpMeter3: you are right: Max Peak minus RMS Integrated is called Crest, so next version will show "Crest".

dpMeter3 in EBU mode shows only values defined in ITU/EBU spec. PLR/PSR are not defined there. May i will such values in the future.

dpMeterXT: i´m going to consolidate PLR/PSR stuff including graphs and density map.
Currently either PLR (PiLR) or PSR (PsLR) is calculated, displayed and exported/Out:PLR, all under the hood of PLR. LRA Mode determines what is showed in big letters and what in small letters. PLR mode seits either PLR or PSR. But I will change this to make it clear.

BTW: Here is a screen shot of the PSR graph (work in progress):



Yes: RLA and PLR are different concept, but both have the same target: dynamics!

__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 11:53 AM   #26
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

Quote:
BTW: Here is a screen shot of the PSR graph (work in progress):

Cool !


For the moment it is just flat color, I find it very nice when the compression is also encoded with color, like in Dynameter or Youlean, (red => compressed, green => not compressed, for eg). Our eyes are very sensitive to that :P
Just a suggestion,


Thx again for your support !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 12:06 PM   #27
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,599
Default

You guys are 'Synergy' personified !
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 12:14 PM   #28
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

I also saw some bugs when graph is redraw in sync mode,


Watch this untill the end, you will see, a very strange phenomenon where graph is erased little by little even if play is off. The fact that there is several layers of graph is also wrong.





Quote:
Originally Posted by sostenuto
You guys are 'Synergy' personified !
Well, TBProAudio is the one doing the hard work there :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 10:54 PM   #29
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
I also saw some bugs when graph is redraw in sync mode,

Watch this untill the end, you will see, a very strange phenomenon where graph is erased little by little even if play is off. The fact that there is several layers of graph is also wrong.
Thank you. We will fix it:-)
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 05:57 AM   #30
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Update:


__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 06:06 AM   #31
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

Wow ! That was fast !


I like how much clear it is to read it


(I suppose color would be adjustable in the settings for even more contrast :P)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 06:10 AM   #32
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
(I suppose color would be adjustable in the settings for even more contrast :P)

I hope :-) Thank you.
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 10:26 PM   #33
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Update to 1.2.5:
- GUI: mouse control logic adjusted, please refer to the manual
- GUI: VST2 resize optimization
- Reset: extra parameter, automatable, activated by 0 -> 1
- PLR/Crest: reverted label PiLR to Crest (Peak - RMS Integrated)
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 01:27 AM   #34
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 271
Default

interesting, in dpMeter 2 Reset worked like this:
reaper.TrackFX_SetParam(tr, i, 27, 1)
reaper.TrackFX_SetParam(tr, i, 27, 0)

in dpMeter 3 it requires some amount of time between changing from one value to another, if time period is very small, it doesn't not always work. It's a bug or by design?
Not a big problem, just asking)

Last edited by doppelganger; 09-21-2018 at 02:28 AM.
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 02:56 AM   #35
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,331
Default

Thx for the crest label ! :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 03:14 AM   #36
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
interesting, in dpMeter 2 Reset worked like this:
reaper.TrackFX_SetParam(tr, i, 27, 1)
reaper.TrackFX_SetParam(tr, i, 27, 0)

in dpMeter 3 it requires some amount of time between changing from one value to another, if time period is very small, it doesn't not always work. It's a bug or by design?
Not a big problem, just asking)

No, it works 0 -> 1, at least here on my system :-)
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 03:30 AM   #37
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 271
Default

@TBProAudio
thank you very much for that feature. best plugin in this kind! )
doppelganger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 11:22 AM   #38
batcat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 29
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBProAudio View Post
Update to V1.2.1:

- Text blurring fixed
Thank you for a fantastic free plugin!
Having both Lufs, RMS and time saving volume matching features in one plugin is great.
dpMeter2 has sharp text.
Unfortunately the text is blurred in all versions of dpMeter3 that I've tried (both 32 & 64bit vst).
I use win 7, latest Reaper.
batcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 11:23 PM   #39
TBProAudio
Human being with feelings
 
TBProAudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by batcat View Post
Unfortunately the text is blurred in all versions of dpMeter3 that I've tried (both 32 & 64bit vst).
I use win 7, latest Reaper.
Hmm, maybe you could provide a screen shot?

BTW: 1.3.0 is the latest
__________________
www.tb-software.com/TBProAudio

Last edited by TBProAudio; 11-08-2018 at 11:28 PM.
TBProAudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 07:56 AM   #40
sostenuto
Human being with feelings
 
sostenuto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St George, UT _ USA
Posts: 2,599
Default

Crystal clear & sharp here; v 1.3.0 _ Win10 Pro-latest version, Reaper v5.9.1, 1920 x 1200 dual monitors.

THX for all !
sostenuto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.