Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2008, 12:50 AM   #1
Bevosss
Human being with feelings
 
Bevosss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Propaganda Now! 100% verified propaganda right here...
Posts: 8,323
Default Wait until end of Measure/Item/Marker etc before Next Action

These actions would open up a whole new range of macros, ie Ableton Live like loop recording for one use, probably many others once we get our thinking caps on.


'Wait until end of measure/item/marker before next action'

would cover a lot of what we want. If Cockos want to really soup it up, then:


Wait until end of measure before next action

Wait until end of item before next action

Wait until next item start before next action


Wait until end of region before next action

Wait until next marker before next action

Wait until marker number X before next action (configurable)


Wait until next Tempo Marker before next action

Wait until next Time Signature Change before next action


Wait until end of song before next action

Wait until next Cue Point before next action
Bevosss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 05:28 AM   #2
slops
Human being with feelings
 
slops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 619
Default

+ 11111111111111

please....let this happen..........!!!!!!!
slops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:14 AM   #3
daexpert
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 562
Default

Big +1 from me. I like to record lots of loops and this would be very useful for that.
daexpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:24 AM   #4
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,513
Default

Assuming those actions were added, could you give me a scenario where they'd be used... step by step. I'm trying to grasp the concept.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 09:02 AM   #5
fab
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 300
Default

++1

- wait until next beat before next action

@lawrence: looping, e.g. muting or start/stop recording quantized to beat/measure/marker

fab
fab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 11:59 PM   #6
caleb
Human being with feelings
 
caleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 635
Default

I have something to add to this one. Wait until end of time selection.

I've made some custom actions that will select the region between two markers and put the cursor at the start of the time selection. When I have REAPER playing with loop selected you can be jumping to all sorts of places to play.

That along with other actions like changing snapshots with different mute/solo sections etc... and you've turned REAPER in a live composition environment.

The only thing that's missing is the syncing up of the jumps.

So this meta action would be awesome as listed - but even handier for me if it syncs at the end of the time selection as well as the other items there.

Anyway - just my little input into the discussion.

Regards
Caleb
__________________
Happiness is the hidden behind the obvious.
caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 04:42 PM   #7
caleb
Human being with feelings
 
caleb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 635
Default

Hope noone minds a bit of a bump for this one.

REAPER - the live music maker just waiting to happen.

Regards
Caleb
__________________
Happiness is the hidden behind the obvious.
caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2008, 12:58 AM   #8
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default YES ! (as I also FR'd)

That is very similar to the idea I submitted in a FR called "Reason for live application".

We need a way to have Reaper play whatever section of a song, smoothly and at the touch of a midi message.

Wow, that sounds great !
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2008, 01:13 PM   #9
daexpert
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 562
Default

Another quick bump
daexpert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2008, 12:47 AM   #10
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default Reaper goes live

that would be so cool ...

I just can't wait having guys looking at my live rig and asking about this strange soft ;-)

++1
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2010, 12:40 PM   #11
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bevosss View Post
'Wait until end of measure/item/marker before next action'

would cover a lot of what we want. If Cockos want to really soup it up, then:


Wait until end of measure before next action

Wait until end of item before next action

Wait until next item start before next action


Wait until end of region before next action

Wait until next marker before next action

Wait until marker number X before next action (configurable)


Wait until next Tempo Marker before next action

Wait until next Time Signature Change before next action


Wait until end of song before next action

Wait until next Cue Point before next action
Some really great ideas here I hadn't thought of before.

I wonder how hard would it be to do these things through an extension?
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 64-bit, Reaper 5(x64), Core i7-5700HQ, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX 960M, SSD
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 01:11 AM   #12
bharath
Human being with feelings
 
bharath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bangalore, India
Posts: 130
Default +1

I totally need this! Reaper does everything I want to! Even used it on stage as a light VSTi host. But the one thing that I'm currently lacking is the ability to work with tempo synced material. There is simply no work around for this. I used Abelton Live on stage for a while, Rewired into REAPER. But this is waaaay too painful.

So, Justin, Schwa, or any other mods reading this, please put this into v4! Along with global quantize!
__________________
Minim Sound Labs
www.minimsoundlabs.com
www.facebook.com/minimsoundlabs
bharath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.