Old 12-07-2019, 04:04 AM   #1
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default Faint peaks in the MIDI editor...?

It would be great to be able to have faint peaks in the MIDI editor. I'm thinking like, I select an audio item while the MIDI editor is open, and I get faint peaks drawn in the MIDI editor, just like I can now have for a folder. And optional, of course.

This would be very helpful when aligning MIDI events to the audio.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 04:42 AM   #2
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 502
Default

+1 from me
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 05:36 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,369
Default

Currently we can do this:
https://forum.cockos.com/attachment....1&d=1335470869

Putting ME in a docker, setting opacity of docker less than 100%, sync timebase to arrange view)

(I know, not the same as this FR, just maybe a workaround for now.)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 03:31 PM   #4
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Currently we can do this:
https://forum.cockos.com/attachment....1&d=1335470869

Putting ME in a docker, setting opacity of docker less than 100%, sync timebase to arrange view)

(I know, not the same as this FR, just maybe a workaround for now.)
Yeah, that's a nice workaround.

But as you say, it is not the same. I would want to keep the ME docked at the bottom of the arrange view. But for now, I'll have to do with this. Thanks.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 06:32 AM   #5
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dundle, Louisiana
Posts: 2,204
Default

+1 but i'd prefer to be able to select a track and use its peaks (or cumulative ghost peaks like in buss tracks)
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° colored tracks/items: optionally respect "selected track/item" theme color
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 11:59 AM   #6
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
+1 but i'd prefer to be able to select a track and use its peaks (or cumulative ghost peaks like in buss tracks)
Yes, that was exactly my idea. Faint peaks are drawn representing all currently selected audio tracks, just like what can be drawn for folder tracks. Maybe I was unclear on that.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2019, 12:19 AM   #7
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Currently we can do this:
https://forum.cockos.com/attachment....1&d=1335470869

Putting ME in a docker, setting opacity of docker less than 100%, sync timebase to arrange view)

(I know, not the same as this FR, just maybe a workaround for now.)
Yeah, this looked like a good idea. Unfortunately it doesn't really work, unless you manage to adjust all of the MIDI events in one sitting. Reaper doesn't save the position of the floating docker so the overlay on the audio does not stay the same between sessions.

I realize this now, having adjusted two thirds of the MIDI events in two settings, now when open up to do the last third of them, I realize that if I move the docker to align the first third of the items to the audio, the second third does not align, and the other way around.

Reaper does not open the project in the exact same state that it was saved. The ME comes up closed, the visible audio item is not the one that was visible when the project was saved, and opening the ME opens it in the docker attached to the main window. Even the opacity of the docker is not saved. All of those settings I expected to be restored to what they were when the project was last saved, but not so.

So... devs, please give us faint peaks in the ME.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 02:09 PM   #8
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default

Here is a workaround I just stumbled on by accident. I don't know why I did not think of this earlier...

Put the audio that you want to align the midi to on a track that is a child track of the track where the midi item is. If "Draw faint peaks in folder tracks" is turned on, you now have faint peaks under the midi item. Now open the inline midi editor (default E), and now you have faint audio peaks over which you can manually align your midi events.

This works quite nicely, actually!
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 03:23 AM   #9
Odys
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Here is a workaround I just stumbled on by accident. I don't know why I did not think of this earlier...

Put the audio that you want to align the midi to on a track that is a child track of the track where the midi item is. If "Draw faint peaks in folder tracks" is turned on, you now have faint peaks under the midi item. Now open the inline midi editor (default E), and now you have faint audio peaks over which you can manually align your midi events.

This works quite nicely, actually!
I LOVE YOU SO MUCH !!!
Odys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 11:14 AM   #10
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odys View Post
I LOVE YOU SO MUCH !!!
Now, now... you make me blush
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.