Old 02-25-2020, 03:47 PM   #1
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default bfut custom scripts / questions etc.

This thread is for everything that doesn't belong in my other threads.
Also an attempt to reduce the number of my threads going off simultaneously.

Last edited by tufb; 02-25-2020 at 03:53 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 03:53 PM   #2
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Hi! those are some useful scripts thanks! I 'd like to ask would it be possible to replace take under mouse instead of the whole item? That would be useful for comping.
Let me know, if that's what you have in mind. Cheers

bfut_Replace active take under mouse cursor with selected item active take.lua (Version 0.1)



Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Yes exactly this but without the annoying pop up dialog Your script works great so far ! Really useful for comping and not only Huge thanks !

Now came up another idea for comping that could be also very useful: a similar script to SWS/FNG: Rotate selected media items positions and lengths but for takes and not for the whole item that would exchange the take sources without replacing them.

Again, thanks a lot for your interest and work!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
(...) It could very useful for comping because when we split an item while comping in order to choose a part of the take, if we want to change its position, we have to move the whole item, while with this action we could just exchange the take positions without overwriting one of the takes as the other script.
Very rough draft:

bfut_Rotate selected items active takes (Version 0.1)

Note1: If you're working with grouped items, you'll have to toggle OFF "Options > Item grouping enabled"
Note2: I've only tested superficially, so far.
Note3: Untested for various flavors of locked items.

Cheers

Last edited by tufb; 02-29-2020 at 02:23 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 02:13 AM   #3
PelF
Human being with feelings
 
PelF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 100
Default

Thank you for your script.
Would it be possible to modify a script to work like this?

PelF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2020, 09:17 AM   #4
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

Hi PelF, thanks for your feedback. Hope you're not affected by the pandemic! This is a reversed version of the rotation script. Once again, a very rough functional draft:

bfut_Rotate selected items active takes (reverse) (version 0.1)
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 03:12 PM   #5
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

New:

bfut_Extract loop section under mouse cursor to new item
@version 1.0
@about
HOW TO USE:
1) Hover mouse over looped media item.
2) Run the script.

Features: takes into account take playrate and take start position offset

As requested by forum user, justcosmic1.


Updated:

bfut_Split looped item into separate items
@version 1.2
@about
HOW TO USE:
1) Select media item(s).
2) Run the script.
@changelog
+ obey take source start offset

Initial version released in early 2018.

Features: ignores locked items, takes into account take playrate and take start position offset


Installation
Directly from https://github.com/bfut/ReaScripts or
Copy and paste this URL in Extensions > ReaPack > Import repositories:
Code:
https://github.com/bfut/ReaScripts/raw/master/index.xml
Then install in Extensions > ReaPack > Browse packages.

Last edited by tufb; 07-03-2020 at 03:32 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 02:58 AM   #6
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 826
Default

Wow going to try now those looping scripts, thanks a lot!

Edit: they are working very good so far

Last edited by Vagelis; 07-02-2020 at 03:04 AM.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 08:03 PM   #7
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tufb View Post
New:

bfut_Extract loop section under mouse cursor to new item
@version 1.0
@about
HOW TO USE:
1) Hover mouse over looped media item.
2) Run the script.

Features: takes into account take playrate and take start position offset

Per request by forum user, justcosmic1.


Updated:

bfut_Split looped item into separate items
@version 1.2
@about
HOW TO USE:
1) Select media item(s).
2) Run the script.
@changelog
+ obey take source start offset

Initial version from early 2018.

Features: ignores locked items, takes into account take playrate and take start position offset


Installation
Directly from https://github.com/bfut/ReaScripts or
Copy and paste this URL in Extensions > ReaPack > Import repositories:
Code:
https://github.com/bfut/ReaScripts/raw/master/index.xml
Couldn't resist trying this before I went to bed!
It's fantastic - I love it!
Can I be cheacky and ask for a version that retains pooling for MIDI data!?

Anyway - thank you again - stuff like this just absolutely transforms the Reaper UI experience and workflow!
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 12:31 AM   #8
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

You're welcome. Reaper optionally creates MIDI source data pools at copy only, and never at split. This may require a Feature Request.

Right now, you can replace an extracted section with the original looped item, using bfut_Replace item under mouse cursor with selected item.lua. For multiple such operations, consider my Copy and replace selected items scripts.

Pooling must be toggled ON.



1) The looped item (take start offset = 0)
2) After applying bfut_Extract loop section under mouse cursor to new item.lua
3) After applying bfut_Replace item under mouse cursor with selected item.lua, with pooling toggled ON

Last edited by tufb; 07-03-2020 at 05:35 AM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 08:22 AM   #9
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

So if I make a custom action containing those 2 scripts it should amount to what I was requesting?

I'm guessing that approach must be under the hood of X-Raym's script which slices all loops in a selected looped item to pooled MIDI (he also has one that does to non pooled).

In any case I'll try making a custom action from those 2 scripts and see what happens and report back
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 09:20 AM   #10
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

Not sure, I think the step-by-step from above would work.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 06:02 PM   #11
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

I've given the above a try - but so far without success.
maybe something small I'm not getting quite right.

I also thought maybe there could be something in X-Raym's script that could be combined with yours (his splits all loops out to separate pooled items)
however his is in eel not lua and upon looking at them in code it's definitely over my head

Anyway I will first see if there's anything in the above steps that I am not executing properly.
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 07:11 PM   #12
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

OK So I think I am getting an idea of what I need to do to get it to work:
Toggling on pool MIDI
Then your extract looped item script
Then select the previous item to the left of mouse cursor
Then your replace item under mouse cursor with selected item
Then the same, but with the item to the right of mouse cursor (next item)

So I was able to kind of manually simulate this.
I saw an action (Alt+V) which pastes pooled data regardless of prefernces - but it pastes at play or edit cursor and same length of the copied item so it's not that useful - just wish it were possible to see inside the script to see how they did that "regadless of preferences setting"bit!

Meanwhile I see how a request to devs for "keep items pooled when splitting"
would be a way cleaner way to do things! So I have put that request in and I'll update you if I hear anything back.

Last edited by justcosmic1; 07-06-2020 at 07:53 PM.
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 01:04 PM   #13
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

That would be awesome, if that FR was implemented at some point. Have fun, and would love hear back if you find any issues.

edit:

I found a much easier workaround:

1) Make sure that the looped item is in some MIDI pool




2) Then apply bfut_Extract loop section under mouse cursor to new item.lua. Done.


Last edited by tufb; 07-07-2020 at 02:33 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 03:26 PM   #14
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

I found another thread requesting the same feature and added my request to that: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....93#post2315393

So clearly this is maybe a request that is coming of age...

regarding your simpler work around; how does that keep the section to the right of the extracted loop pooled ? Or does having it pooled to another item leave all parts pooled ?
And wouldn't you need to add script steps to temporarily make a copy of the original somewhere(?)before the extract script is executed ? (and then steps to delete the additional bit).
I guess to make the whole process fully contained, a script step to toggle on "pool MIDI items..." in preferences would be good.
I am going to investigate the later as someone kindly made a script for me for another check box in preferences (show track controls on armed tracks) which I have on a toolbar button; and the idea was that I might be able to adapt this for other preferences that don't appear already in the actions list.
Will update you if any progress with any of the above...

Last edited by justcosmic1; 07-07-2020 at 03:37 PM.
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 05:39 PM   #15
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default A dirty hack custo action as per my last post

Custom: Extract_Pooled_Item_from_Looped_Item

"Script: amagalma_Toggle Select all tracks, items or envelope points under mouse (smart select all).eel
Item: Select item under mouse cursor
Edit: Copy items
Track: Insert new track
Item: Paste items/tracks, creating pooled (ghost) MIDI items and automation items regardless of preferences/Media/MIDI and preferences/Media/Automation settings
Item navigation: Select and move to item in previous track
Script: bfut_Extract loop section under mouse cursor to new item.lua
Item navigation: Select and move to item in next track
Item properties: Unlock
Track: Remove tracks"

[Consolidate undo points checked (I found out about that the hard way)]


It's a very dirty hack indeed;lots of steps, creates another track to paste pooled MIDI to (using the Alt+V command that isn't dependent on the preferences setting!)
Then get's to the central function; i.e. your script ; and then the clean up! - unlocks the pasted item (in case it's locked as I often lock stuff to avoid accidentally moving horizontally)...and removes the newly created track and item.

Dirty as heck, but seems to work robustly so far...so it will do until we get the newly requested functionality.
Very well spotted on your behalf about creating another pooled item...yet again the impossible becomes possible in Reaper.

Huge thanks again!
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 01:27 AM   #16
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

Here's a custom version of my lua script that results in the same as what you described above. Let me know how it works.

bfut_Extract loop section under mouse cursor to new item (always pool MIDI) (Version 0.1)

Out of interest, are you working (semi-)professionally in the music industry?
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 01:59 PM   #17
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

That's great, I'll give it a try and let you know it works as expected or if there are any issues.

Re your questions; I have been on and off over the years yes.
Currently been going through a regrouping phase and hence spending some time getting my audio tools set up for the best work flow and sound possible.

If I had another life time I'd love to program - but I realise that is sometimes better left to specialists...but I like the conceptual design side; in fact I designed a patchbay solution within Filemaker pro when I was designing and installing studio wiring some years back...something I would love at some day to talk to a serious programmer about.

Anyway I'll be cross-fading into a recording phase shortly I hope!

How about your self ?
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 02:46 PM   #18
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default Works a treat!

Just tried it - works better than my hack!
With my hack you see the flicker of the new track being created and then deleted...and there's a split second delay for the whole thing...

Your script is near instantaeous with no visible flicker...very clean.
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 03:48 PM   #19
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

You're welcome, thank you for the feedback. My script does just the same by means of the API. Perhaps slightly safer, and will likely remain in the custom folder.

Re career: I kinda sensed that, good luck! As for myself, music has been a lifelong passion, which inevitably led to Reaper and scripting. All strictly as a hobby. That said, this scripting has been a useful skill.

Last edited by tufb; 07-13-2020 at 12:19 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 04:54 PM   #20
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

Interesting and diverse skill set you have clearly.
We must definitely keep in touch.

Re keeping the script in the "custom folder" I'm not sure I fully understand.
But maybe it's because it's not the idea way of doing things (due to the lack of pool at split ability at present) - but I was thinking it worked well enough and as I had previously posted about this functionality on the RUG (FB) I was thinking it would be nice to share back some of the helpful scripts I've come accross or that people have generously created in response to requests.

In any case let me know your thoughts
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 02:00 AM   #21
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

The custom version will not be part of my ReaPack repo (which I update from time to time), and has to be downloaded manually from the link above. Cheers
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 12:22 PM   #22
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

New custom script:

bfut_Split looped item into separate items (always pool MIDI) (manual download only)

Features:
* support time signature markers
* always pool MIDI items after split

HOW TO USE:
1) Select media item(s).
2) Run the script.



Last edited by tufb; 07-10-2020 at 12:29 PM.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 04:12 PM   #23
justcosmic1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 64
Default

Hey bfut,

I just though I should point out that the graphic in your post above makes it look as if it splits all the loops (like X-Raym's script); rather than just the looped section the mouse is hovering over...

I presume you haven't changed the functionality...

In any case I am really enjoying using this now - the drag to loop feature is WAY more useful with this added functionality.
justcosmic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 06:40 PM   #24
tufb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justcosmic1 View Post
I just though I should point out that the graphic in your post above makes it look as if it splits all the loops
Well, it does.

This is an update of a script of mine to support time sig markers.
tufb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.