Old 06-18-2020, 07:45 AM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,004
Default v6.12+dev0618 - June 18 2020

v6.12+dev0618 - June 18 2020
  • + Actions: fix pasting envelope points at mouse position
  • + Linux: fix spawn new instance of REAPER action
  • + Windows: improve alt key menu activation behavior when alt-tabbing from REAPER and back
  • # Area selection: automatically add tracks when moving media item area selections
  • # Area selection: fix copying multiple areas of a single media item [p=2305800]
  • # Area selection: fix left-click mouse modifiers to split, delete, and move area selections
  • # Area selection: fix ripple editing with automation items [p=2305811]
  • # Area selection: fix trim-behind when editing area selection edges and non-aligned area selections exist [p=2305552]
  • # Area selection: fix trimming automation items after edit [p=2305667]
  • # Area selection: ignore MIDI and empty media items when stretching with ripple editing enabled
  • # Area selection: recalculate auto-stretch at tempo changes when editing [p=2305654]
  • # System: fix incorrect disk-write failure warning on Windows [t=238415]
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 08:29 AM   #2
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default

Wow... you guys are lightning fast
Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 08:44 AM   #3
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default

Media lane envelope still not respond : https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...6&postcount=38

Bug or operation desired by the devs?

Same for trimming : https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...3&postcount=13

Expected dev behavior? Bug? or it's not on the agenda yet?

I allow myself to ask because I am precisely working on a big project and I force myself to use the AS to find the bugs and it is sometimes difficult to know if it is a bug or a wanted behavior

Thanks
Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 09:28 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,955
Default

Envelopes in the media lane should be affected by area selections only when "move envelope points with media items" is enabled.

At present, the always-trim-behind, no-crossfade editing behavior is intentional. This is not set in stone, though, there's plenty of time to collect feedback on this.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 09:52 AM   #5
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default

Imho, consistency is everything.

In media lane, envelope move depend on an option

For items, the options don't count.

It's confusing.
Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:02 AM   #6
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

Time stretching of area selection does not working on midi items
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:05 AM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Time stretching of area selection does not working on midi items
That is by design. You can't add stretch markers to midi items either.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:11 AM   #8
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That is by design. You can't add stretch markers to midi items either.
What is the idea? The time stretching of midi items works (with alt key), why shouldn't it work with area selction?
In addition, in the previous +dev update, this already worked.
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:12 AM   #9
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
At present, the always-trim-behind, no-crossfade editing behavior is intentional. This is not set in stone, though, there's plenty of time to collect feedback on this.
Isn't it better to have WYSIWYG design?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:15 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
What is the idea? The time stretching of midi items works (with alt key), why shouldn't it work with area selction?

What should happen to the MIDI item here?

schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:19 AM   #11
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What should happen to the MIDI item here?

Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:22 AM   #12
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
[*]+ Linux: fix spawn new instance of REAPER action
Didn't even know this handy action existed.
Is there any downside in having 2 Reaper apps open for copying/moving around stuff between different projects instead of using 2 project tabs?
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:22 AM   #13
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

In general, you will have to sacrifice something here, and in this case, the midi lock looks extremely strange (IMHO)
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:23 AM   #14
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
Agreed!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:24 AM   #15
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
In general, you will have to sacrifice something here, and in this case, the midi lock looks extremely strange (IMHO)
For me, too. You feel like you enabled something and don't know how to disable it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:24 AM   #16
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

Or add a second type of stretching to make it work as intended now.
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:24 AM   #17
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
^^This
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:35 AM   #18
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
Sounds good
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:44 AM   #19
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

For example, if you draw a tempo envelope, what happens with midi items? The notes are stretching but inside the item. In fact, there is already an option
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:53 AM   #20
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 237
Default

For some unknown reason, I would prefer the option of splitting items This is similar to deleting or moving items with area selection. However, here you can definitely make more than one option.
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:54 AM   #21
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
Agree. That would be my expectation as well. Keep it simple and intuitive.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:56 AM   #22
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
make sense

I agree

edit : for both MIDI and audio. Stretch markers don't have to be create for audio
Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:15 AM   #23
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default COpy paste don't produce new track



Here in example, from project tab to another but same problem in single project
Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:15 AM   #24
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
Thx !
Exactly, count me in plz for this wishful behaviour !
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:16 AM   #25
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default MIDI source weirdness

Hard to describe by words here but the midi source is going crazy when AS is moving to another tempo

Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:38 AM   #26
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 10,218
Default X fade wierdo

Reno.thestraws is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:40 AM   #27
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 841
Default

Any plans to incorporate dragging multiple env. segments over multible tracks and/or lanes with the help of AS?

/M
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 03:15 PM   #28
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,915
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Didn't even know this handy action existed.
Is there any downside in having 2 Reaper apps open for copying/moving around stuff between different projects instead of using 2 project tabs?
Depends on the audio driver, but in JACK mode it should be OK?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 03:15 PM   #29
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ulna, Florida
Posts: 2,390
Default



if i make an area selection on part of an AI and ctrl-drag to copy it elsewhere, the copied AI gets copied incorrectly. it looks like the copied version tries to be as long as the original, and just fills that space with automation at the last known point.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 03:23 PM   #30
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ulna, Florida
Posts: 2,390
Default

z
Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What should happen to the MIDI item here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
Split the item and stretch its end
Also with audio, because if there are markers there, they should all move, not one at the end.
we can't split midi items willy nilly, because that also splits notes under AS edge and will extra, unwanted noteons.

if REAPER could allow noteends to extend outside of item bounds (dangle), we could split midi items without slicing notes in half unwantedly.

refer to https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=229887
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 03:34 PM   #31
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
if i make an area selection on part of an AI and ctrl-drag to copy it elsewhere, the copied AI gets copied incorrectly. it looks like the copied version tries to be as long as the original, and just fills that space with automation at the last known point.
Hmm, I can't reproduce that.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 03:50 PM   #32
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 709
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
z



we can't split midi items willy nilly, because that also splits notes under AS edge and will extra, unwanted noteons.

if REAPER could allow noteends to extend outside of item bounds (dangle), we could split midi items without slicing notes in half unwantedly.

refer to https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=229887
I would agree with welcoming the dangle ^^^
Let us hang out our notes

Since it's up to us to make area selections on the items we need stretching I think it's ok to make splits for stretching midi items if note splitting is avoinded
__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 04:13 PM   #33
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 709
Default

When drag-copying an area selection that includes blank space I think the visual representation of that blank space should be drawn when hovering before the mouse is released to show us what will happen.

I do support the behaviour that blank space is created when copying and pasting with area selections. After all if we don't want to move the dark matter we can always select items and copy-paste the old school way. I just think we should see what will happen while dragging.


__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 04:30 PM   #34
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 709
Default

Creating an AS by dragging sometimes adds to the selection rather than creating a new one (seems to happen after making an AS on a lower track).
Edit: This happens on my system with both the "Create AS" or "Create AS ignoring snap" mouse modifiers


__________________
Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxdrums.co.uk
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 05:01 PM   #35
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ulna, Florida
Posts: 2,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Hmm, I can't reproduce that.
demo project with licecap sent to the support email
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 06:22 PM   #36
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triode View Post
When drag-copying an area selection that includes blank space I think the visual representation of that blank space should be drawn when hovering before the mouse is released to show us what will happen.

I do support the behaviour that blank space is created when copying and pasting with area selections. After all if we don't want to move the dark matter we can always select items and copy-paste the old school way. I just think we should see what will happen while dragging.


Still think it should show the blank space if "Trim Content Behind Media Items" is on, and not otherwise. Seems to follow the logic of the current behaviour, no?
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 07:03 PM   #37
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,875
Default

That is why imo making a ghost first would be so handy and clean. Original selection stays in place , and a mock-up of the future help us until we finally drop
__________________
i had to come back !
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:26 PM   #38
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
At present, the always-trim-behind, no-crossfade editing behavior is intentional. This is not set in stone, though, there's plenty of time to collect feedback on this.
I already commented on this in an earlier thread, but I'm gonna chime in again (and will probably continue to do so in future threads). I really think the trim behind and auto-crossfade options should apply to area selections. It feels really inconsistent and counter-intuitive that these options would have no effect when using area selection, especially when the envelope follow option, which is sort of in the same wheelhouse as trim behind does apply to area selections. It's also a little bit of a workflow drag. Area selection as it stands is nice, but it's kind of limited in use. There's still a lot of operations that could hypothetically be done with area that currently require the use of time and item selection instead. Ideally I'd like to be able to do as much as possible with just area selection, and that includes being able to make edits with auto crossfades and trim behind turned off.
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:29 PM   #39
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 448
Default

This bug from before is still present:
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Snapping when creating area selections isn't working for me. I can snap the edge of the selection to grid lines, but not to items edges, markers or the cursor.
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 11:03 PM   #40
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 713
Default A.S Relative Snap?

An area selection that is drawn off grid still snaps to the grid at it's start once moved, even with relative snap enabled. It should retain it's relative grid position when relative snap is enabled IMO.

I'm sure this was working correctly in an older build? I remember it being one of the first things I tested, because marquee+time selection has the same relative snap issue and it's always bugged me, so I was excited to see that an off grid A.S actually retains it's relative position and doesn't just 're-snap' to the grid on moving.

Am I remembering incorrectly?
Joe90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.