Old 04-29-2021, 08:09 AM   #1
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,883
Default v6.28+dev0429 - April 29 2021

v6.28+dev0429 - April 29 2021

* Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
* Includes feature branch: custom metadata columns in Media Explorer
* Includes feature branch: razor envelope editing
* Includes feature branch: EEL2 x86_64/SSE
* Includes feature branch: VST3 bridging
* Includes feature branch: ReaSurroundPan
* Includes feature branch: media item lanes
+ MIDI editor: add custom note order/visiblity mode (ctrl+drag note key in named notes view)
+ MIDI editor: import/export of note names includes custom-view ordering information if set
+ Media explorer: fix re-sorting randomized file list after running action to set file as favorite [p=2437642]
+ Notation editor: fix key snapping on first beat of local key signature change [t=221385]
+ Razor edit: fix media item display after pasting razor edit area and zooming [t=252759]
+ Razor edit: skip hidden envelope lanes when marquee-creating razor edit areas with "move envelope points with razor edits" disabled
+ Spectral edits: fix issue with playback starting after item loop [t=252747]
+ Spectral edits: improve performance with large numbers of spectral edits
# Razor edit: display tooltip when editing envelopes

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 08:33 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
* Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
Nice, thank you!

First thoughts:
- could it maybe auto-scroll when dragging to upper/lower boundary?


- I can drag a note row below (0), intended?


- When having reordered note rows, switching to Piano roll view and back to named notes view, reordering seems lost, isn't that a bit dangerous perhaps (risk of losing the reordering when not being careful...)?
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 08:37 AM   #3
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 1,163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
+ MIDI editor: add custom note order/visiblity mode (ctrl+drag note key in named notes view)

+ MIDI editor: import/export of note names includes custom-view ordering information if set
Thanks for these! I'm not at the computer right now, but I'll take a close look at the custom note order thing...

And thanks, particularly, for the fix! I had noticed it but didn't get to report it...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 09:00 AM   #4
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
+ MIDI editor: add custom note order/visiblity mode (ctrl+drag note key in named notes view)
+ MIDI editor: import/export of note names includes custom-view ordering information if set
EDIT:
Wow I have just found out that this does not only move names but actually allows to re-order the triggers themselves along with the names :O That's even way better than I thought! Of course my previously written suggestions don't apply in this case but I will leave them below to not cause confusion with disappearing posts.

----------------

Neat addition I usually don't use the drum map mode because I (and maybe others too) find it easier to play the right keys when I see the named keyboard on screen.

So would you consider supporting this also in piano roll mode?

And related to this maybe give an option to remove the "C2" "C3" "C4" etc markings so they don't interfere with note names?

(if feeling fancy maybe you also might want to add a mode which labels all keys instead of just the C octaves but that would be more of a separate FR than related to this pre-release).

Last edited by Phazma; 04-29-2021 at 10:20 AM.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 09:38 AM   #5
Trogdor
Human being with feelings
 
Trogdor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Niagara
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
v6.28+dev0429 - April 29 2021

* Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
+ MIDI editor: add custom note order/visiblity mode (ctrl+drag note key in named notes view)
+ MIDI editor: import/export of note names includes custom-view ordering information if set

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
This is exciting for me if this is implemented well. Would be so much nicer for mapping drums. Some drum software is such a pain in the ass to remap so that the order of the drums make sense for programming. When it comes to programming drums, I really don't care about the notes, It would be nice to change the out note to correspond to the map setup in the drum program.
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 09:49 AM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post

- I can drag a note row below (0), intended?
Why not? You have same number of notes all the time, but the order is different. Makes sense?
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:01 AM   #7
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
# Razor edit: display tooltip when editing envelopes
Looks like it works only for negative shifting.

vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:02 AM   #8
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Why not? You have same number of notes all the time, but the order is different. Makes sense?
Ah right, so we can have e.g. also this, makes sense, thanks.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:09 AM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 12,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Looks like it works only for negative shifting.
For a regular edit (not tilt), what gets displayed is the change in the middle of the razor edit area.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:30 AM   #10
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
For a regular edit (not tilt), what gets displayed is the change in the middle of the razor edit area.
Yes, sorry. For one selected envelope it works as expected.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:31 AM   #11
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
* Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
AAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!! I just did a bunch of remapping for some drum VSTs because this feature didn't exist!!!!

Thanks for this.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 10:35 AM   #12
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,522
Default

+ Razor edit: skip hidden envelope lanes when marquee-creating razor edit areas with "move envelope points with razor edits" disabled

Thanks for considering,even though i don’t get any different results unless i’m doing something wrong, when i paste with or without the action on, i still see the hidden envelopes.

It would be very nice if we had an option to disable the hidden envelopes even with the action on , so we could move or paste envelopes on media too without moving the hidden envelopes. Also please consider to create selections separately on media and envelope lanes when the move points with re is on. This would allow us to work separately with envelopes on media and envelope lanes.
Vagelis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 11:53 AM   #13
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 2,719
Default

There are so many feature-branches currently in development, it can only mean, we are closing in to Reaper 7, right?

In regards of MIDI editor note reordering, what does this feature exactly?
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper
Bugreports&Docs notes please do here:https://github.com/Ultraschall/ultra...-reaper/issues - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 12:09 PM   #14
denmla
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 104
Default

Theese 2 still not working for Shift modifier while (at the same time) working for Ctrl modifier:




Any hope?
denmla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 12:11 PM   #15
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
There are so many feature-branches currently in development, it can only mean, we are closing in to Reaper 7, right?

In regards of MIDI editor note reordering, what does this feature exactly?
not before we will have a dedicated per track routings in the "routing matrix" window
where you can quickly connect effects in parallel and see the whole picture of the effects routings + modulators and everything
__________________
FR: FX-Container --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 01:03 PM   #16
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,925
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
+ Notation editor: fix key snapping on first beat of local key signature change [t=221385]
Works well so far. Thanks!
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 01:05 PM   #17
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
In regards of MIDI editor note reordering, what does this feature exactly?
What it does is seen in my gif in 2nd post, here one typical use case:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....321#post387321
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 01:08 PM   #18
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
There are so many feature-branches currently in development, it can only mean, we are closing in to Reaper 7, right?
No, they're specifically adding a lot of new features as a slap in the face to people who said "why should I renew my license for Version 6 when you suddenly didn't add a bunch of new features from 5.99 to 6.00?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
In regards of MIDI editor note reordering, what does this feature exactly?
Consider what a MIDI drum map normally looks like. Look up GM MIDI drum mapping as one example, and compare that to what EZdrummer (etc.) use. If all a person uses is GM drums, "stock" MIDI note order might be ok. With anything additional: to add more kit piece articulations (hihat open variations, snare rim/edge/center, etc.) you don't have room in adjacent MIDI notes for those articulations; they need to be further away from the default "basic" articulations. When programming or editing the drums, to change articulations, you need to scroll up and down to see the various articulations for each kit piece. It's really messy.

As a workaround, a person can use a JS plugin that re-maps the MIDI notes, but this has its own limits/frustrations.

Re-ordering the notes in the MIDI editor is something that's been part of Cubase as long as I can remember, and something I missed in Reaper.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 01:53 PM   #19
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,168
Default

This version totally hangs on loading my monitoring FX.

It's cool that now after shutting it down and restarting it there's a new dialog box with the option to load the monitoring fx chain offline.

Here's a dump saved after restarting with offline monitoring FX chain and while trying to bring RealPhones (1.6) back online:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Mwt...ew?usp=sharing

Windows 10 Pro x64 version.

In the meanwhile, I'll update RealPhones to the brand new 1.7 and check what happens.

I hope that helps,
Mario
__________________
Instagram: @mabian_art - Twitter:: @MabianArt
Music: https://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - https://www.facebook.com/errepici
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 02:01 PM   #20
Trogdor
Human being with feelings
 
Trogdor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Niagara
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Consider what a MIDI drum map normally looks like. Look up GM MIDI drum mapping as one example, and compare that to what EZdrummer (etc.) use. If all a person uses is GM drums, "stock" MIDI note order might be ok. With anything additional: to add more kit piece articulations (hihat open variations, snare rim/edge/center, etc.) you don't have room in adjacent MIDI notes for those articulations; they need to be further away from the default "basic" articulations. When programming or editing the drums, to change articulations, you need to scroll up and down to see the various articulations for each kit piece. It's really messy.

As a workaround, a person can use a JS plugin that re-maps the MIDI notes, but this has its own limits/frustrations.

Re-ordering the notes in the MIDI editor is something that's been part of Cubase as long as I can remember, and something I missed in Reaper.
Tell me about it. I didn't want to go to Cubase just to do drum programming. I prefer to do it all on the grid. Having everything together by moving them in a drag/drop fashion and saving them is a godsend in workflow. Otherwise you are stuck using the sometimes crappy drum mapping alterations of other software which are not intuitive like BFD3 for instance. I had to cut and paste and move everything around.Then after all that is done have to rename everything in the Reaper drum map. Huge PITA.

At least with this (though I have not tried it yet)I should be able to just move the notes(drums) where I want them that make sense for me (snares together/hi-hats together/etc.) Then in theory I should have to change the drum map of BFD or any drum program at all and I can just rename them in Reaper.
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 02:05 PM   #21
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,944
Default

It works ok for me so far. I had to find how to do it, and how to save it. But no problems at all. Re-ordering is so much faster than even creating custom mapping in a JS too.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 02:07 PM   #22
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
v6.28+dev0429 - April 29 2021

* Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
Maybe it is a step toward articulation maps? We lost it and now we'll discover it again.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 02:11 PM   #23
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,123
Default

cool.

if i re-order notes, then hide unused/unnamed note rows, and finally run the action "View: Show all note rows," it resets the note order to default. i'd love to be able to recall the changed order.

----

i'm not sure how this new re-order feature should function with "open all MIDI in project" enabled. right now, re-ordered note rows persist across tracks. it doesn't feel right to have an RS5K track with a bunch of re-organized notes, close the editor, and then open a MIDI item on a bass vsti track to see the notes in non-chromatic order.
__________________
|‾‾‾----__⌈‾ 🚫

Last edited by mccrabney; 04-29-2021 at 02:17 PM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 02:26 PM   #24
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
This version totally hangs on loading my monitoring FX.

It's cool that now after shutting it down and restarting it there's a new dialog box with the option to load the monitoring fx chain offline.

Here's a dump saved after restarting with offline monitoring FX chain and while trying to bring RealPhones (1.6) back online:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Mwt...ew?usp=sharing

Windows 10 Pro x64 version.

In the meanwhile, I'll update RealPhones to the brand new 1.7 and check what happens.

I hope that helps,
Mario
Same with RealPhones 1.7...

EDIT: the VST2 plugin loads ok. The issue only happens with the VST3 version.


- Mario
__________________
Instagram: @mabian_art - Twitter:: @MabianArt
Music: https://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - https://www.facebook.com/errepici
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:19 PM   #25
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
- could it maybe auto-scroll when dragging to upper/lower boundary?
This is an absolute must have for this sort of workflow, otherwise it is just painful. Don't include this feature if you don't want to make it auto-scroll...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:21 PM   #26
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,474
Default

Also, I would like to point out again that the Alt focuses menu bar while mousewheeling situation is not sorted out completely (or at all, apparently).


I have my mousewheel assigned to "View: Scroll vertically (MIDI CC relative/mousewheel)", and Alt+mousewheel to "View: Zoom vertically (MIDI CC relative/mousewheel)".

When using my Alt+mousewheel assignment, on Alt key up after I've done the wheelie, it still focuses the menu bar. It shouldn't, in this scenario.

Also, let's say I remove my Alt+mousewheel assignment, in this case if just doing regular mousewheel to scroll vertically, as soon as I press Alt, it doesn't continue to scroll vertically, just freezes in place. Why?


(For additional info, I have "Allow keyboard commands even when mouse-editing" enabled. But it makes zero difference if I disable it!)
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:21 PM   #27
Trogdor
Human being with feelings
 
Trogdor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Niagara
Posts: 121
Default

Yes, the scroll is important for sure.
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 03:25 PM   #28
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,474
Default

Feature request regarding note hide/show: In the context menu when we Ctrl+click a note row, please add an option to show all hidden notes, too (bringing us back to default state). Also an option to reset note order would be nice. Add actions for both, too.

Brilliant feature, finally will be able to have proper drum maps!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 04:33 PM   #29
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
i'm not sure how this new re-order feature should function with "open all MIDI in project" enabled. right now, re-ordered note rows persist across tracks. it doesn't feel right to have an RS5K track with a bunch of re-organized notes, close the editor, and then open a MIDI item on a bass vsti track to see the notes in non-chromatic order.
Good point.
Maybe it could be toggleable on a per track basis?
(I'm wondering if someone would (additionally) want it toggleableable on a per item basis. For me on per track basis would certainly do.)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 04:34 PM   #30
DeathByGuitar
Human being with feelings
 
DeathByGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
v6.28+dev0429 - April 29 2021

* Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
This is HUGE for drum programming!!!
DeathByGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 04:36 PM   #31
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Good point.
Maybe it could be toggleable on a per track basis?
(I'm wondering if someone would (additionally) want it toggleableable on a per item basis. For me on per track basis would certainly do.)
Indeed. This needs to be adjustable.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 04:59 PM   #32
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 10,883
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Indeed. This needs to be adjustable.
Agreed, but then what if showing items of multiple tracks (say from a drum track with reordered note rows and a bass track) at once in the same MIDI editor? :P (edit: should it show reordered or chromatic in this case? Maybe base it on the currently active item track's origin?)

Last edited by nofish; 04-29-2021 at 05:08 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 05:23 PM   #33
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,056
Default

There's already a setting called "Note Name Actions Apply to Selected Channel Only." Would it make sense to wrap up the note name order to that already existing setting? Or at least create a new "Note order applies to selected channel only" setting there?

Last edited by Funkybot; 04-29-2021 at 05:37 PM.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 05:32 PM   #34
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,056
Default

I'd consider this a bug. Or at least, a very non-intuitive design. Deleting the MIDI item resets the MIDI note order.

Preferences: MIDI Editor One Per Project

1. Load up your favorite drum software
2. Create a single MIDI item
3. Double click the item to open in the editor
4. Reorder your MIDI notes your liking
5. Delete your MIDI item
6. Create a new MIDI item

Result: original note order is restored.

Expected Result: Note order should be per track. Or at least, not tied to the item.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 05:36 PM   #35
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Agreed, but then what if showing items of multiple tracks (say from a drum track with reordered note rows and a bass track) at once in the same MIDI editor? :P (edit: should it show reordered or chromatic in this case? Maybe base it on the currently active item track's origin?)
I think the only options would be: 1) origin track order, or 2) if you're viewing multiple items across tracks with different note orders, you get chromatic order only. If you want to see the custom order, only open that item/track.

I honestly think chromatic only makes the most sense if two channels have different note orders.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 06:03 PM   #36
n997
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 424
Default

Quote:
+ MIDI editor: add custom note order/visiblity mode (ctrl+drag note key in named notes view)
As said by others, looks very promising for better workflows with drum mappings - thanks!

+1 to MIDI editor note reordering being per-track.



Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
what if showing items of multiple tracks (say from a drum track with reordered note rows and a bass track) at once in the same MIDI editor? :P (edit: should it show reordered or chromatic in this case? Maybe base it on the currently active item track's origin?)
In "One MIDI editor per project" view (which I always use) I'd expect notes to be shown in custom order, also when viewing multiple items across tracks.

Whether to show chromatic or reordered key rows on the left, would indeed depend on which track is target for MIDI note input (as shown in MIDI Editor's Track List via "arrow curving down" icon). Unless I'm forgetting something, that selector works one-track-at-a-time, so it would be appropriate for this.

Having the key order shown on the left change according to "target for MIDI note input" would also serve as useful extra indicator of which track is current target for MIDI input.
n997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 06:28 PM   #37
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
This is an absolute must have for this sort of workflow, otherwise it is just painful. Don't include this feature if you don't want to make it auto-scroll...
I disagree. It's very valuable without autoscroll, and if that's what "makes or breaks" this, I vote +infinity over you.

But it would be nice if it also auto-scrolled.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 07:11 PM   #38
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 763
Default

Just wanted to pop in and say thank you so much for the razor edit envelope editing options. They are wonderfully intuitive. Great implementation.

Keep up the good work!
Joe90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 09:19 PM   #39
Trogdor
Human being with feelings
 
Trogdor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Niagara
Posts: 121
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n997 View Post
As said by others, looks very promising for better workflows with drum mappings - thanks!

+1 to MIDI editor note reordering being per-track.





In "One MIDI editor per project" view (which I always use) I'd expect notes to be shown in custom order, also when viewing multiple items across tracks.

Whether to show chromatic or reordered key rows on the left, would indeed depend on which track is target for MIDI note input (as shown in MIDI Editor's Track List via "arrow curving down" icon). Unless I'm forgetting something, that selector works one-track-at-a-time, so it would be appropriate for this.

Having the key order shown on the left change according to "target for MIDI note input" would also serve as useful extra indicator of which track is current target for MIDI input.
I think I agree with what you are saying. I sometimes use 2 different drum programs so for example I may use the kick and snare from both programs but the rest of the stuff from only one. When I'm editing between the 2 I like to sometimes have a punchier snare and kick on some hits.

I'm curious how this would work with the 2 if the mappings are different from each other. It would be nice if both midi instruments could be on the same midi item where I could set which note is triggering which VST Drum programs instrument of choice.
Trogdor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2021, 11:18 PM   #40
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,811
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Also, I would like to point out again that the Alt focuses menu bar while mousewheeling situation is not sorted out completely (or at all, apparently).
Use Bug reports forum. (as you suggest to others)
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.