Old 08-09-2021, 02:25 PM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,685
Default v6.34+dev0809 - August 9 2021

v6.34+dev0809 - August 9 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor note reordering
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • + FX: add clear option to FX pin mapping dialog
  • + ReaSurroundPan: when LFE channel is selected, allow changing input faders to gain, but disable the channel text edit box
  • + Render: display up to 512 vu meters, limited to the screen height
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2021, 02:39 PM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,685
Default

+ FX: add clear option to FX pin mapping dialog

Thanks! Love the extra bits to only clear ins or outs!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2021, 11:17 PM   #3
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 836
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.34+dev0809 - August 9 2021[*]+ Render: display up to 512 vu meters, limited to the screen height
Ah Ah! When you decide to do something it's not halfway!

Between this 512 channels expansion and the discussions about Dolby Atmos, does that mean that the 64 channels bus limit will be overrided soon?
jm duchenne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 12:13 AM   #4
souk21
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 51
Default

> Render: display up to 512 vu meters, limited to the screen height

Nice addition, thank you! Would it be doable to make it scrollable as well?
souk21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 03:13 AM   #5
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 498
Default

Description:
Items in lanes are not correctly moved/copied from one track to another track when using Razor edits

Steps:
1) Distribute items in lanes on track so that the first 1+ lanes are empty
2) Select these items in lanes with Razor edits
3) Move or copy selected items to another empty track with active fixed item lanes option



Expected Result:
All items in lanes should be in the correct order, either with the preservation of the first empty lanes, or without empty lanes

a) https://stash.reaper.fm/42567/2021-08-10_124108.png

b) https://stash.reaper.fm/42568/2021-08-10_124118.png

Actual Result:
Items in lanes from the previous track are mixed in one lane on another track

Last edited by Yanick; 08-10-2021 at 03:47 AM.
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 03:23 AM   #6
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 498
Default

Also, if there are more than 1 lane between items in lanes, then when you move items here and there, the number of intermediate lanes is reduced by 1 lane

Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 04:04 AM   #7
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 498
Default

Also API FR - add the ability to use the parameter for item lanes numbers in the SetMediaItemInfo_Value or GetMediaItemInfo_Value functions (for example). I use a script to create an item by double-clicking on the track and the CreateNewMIDIItemInProj function creates a new item in the last lane from all lanes. Although one more function will be needed there to find the item lane number under the mouse cursor

Last edited by Yanick; 08-10-2021 at 04:17 AM.
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 04:08 AM   #8
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 748
Default

Ok, so can someone tell me the purpose of lanes and how it differs from free item positioning?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 04:13 AM   #9
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 498
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
Ok, so can someone tell me the purpose of lanes and how it differs from free item positioning?
There are similarities, but the truth is in the very name "free". Unlike "free item positioning", the "item lanes" option fixes items in certain lanes, thereby making it easier to move with the mouse without disturbing the items appearance. Personally, I think that the free item positioning option is practically useless and inconvenient in most cases.

Last edited by Yanick; 08-10-2021 at 04:23 AM.
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 07:52 AM   #10
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 748
Default

Thanks, the Free of Free Item Positioning is a bit odd I suppose
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 08:47 AM   #11
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,012
Default

If you want to fade items into each other, you can only do
that with "Free Item Positioning" - right?
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 09:15 AM   #12
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
If you want to fade items into each other, you can only do
that with "Free Item Positioning" - right?
What I tend to do now is to have auto crossfade always on and used fixed lanes so that items I want to crossfade I keep on the same lane and items I don't, I'll keep on separate lanes. That works best for me I think.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 09:29 AM   #13
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
... use fixed lanes so that items I want to crossfade I keep on the same lane and items I don't, I'll keep on separate lanes. That works best for me I think.
Yes, but you might have a much better graphic visualization
when you are in FIP mode and you can partially slide the
items on top of each other?
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 11:21 AM   #14
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Yes, but you might have a much better graphic visualization
when you are in FIP mode and you can partially slide the
items on top of each other?
I've got it set up so visually. Items on the same lane that crossfade actually don't overlap but don't have a vertical gap either and then items on the next lane have a few pixels of a vertical gap. I find this quite clear to see which is which. Especially as the overlapping items are well.. overlapping

I still use FIPM for very complicated fx stuff for sound design but leaning more towards separate lanes for everything now. Especially if these lanes get a mute/solo button near their numbers.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 11:52 AM   #15
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.34+dev0809 - August 9 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers
I've got it set up so visually. Items on the same lane that crossfade actually don't overlap ...
Yes, I understand.

What I like so much about FIP-mode is that I can see and assess
the overlapping area precisely for both items that overlap -
graphically. And that is only possible in FIP mode.

I hope that with the new track lanes in Reaper, one of the
advantages of Reaper (FIPM) will not be lost just because
you want to adapt the handling to that of other DAWs.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2021, 12:47 PM   #16
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,685
Default

Well I still use fipm too and wouldn't want to see it gone.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.