Old 11-08-2021, 12:05 PM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,219
Default v6.40+dev1108 - November 8 2021

v6.40+dev1108 - November 8 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: media item lanes
  • + CAF: add comment in source properties dialog if file was passed off to video decoder
  • + CAF: display channel layout tag in media source properties
  • + CAF: display metadata in source properties dialog even if file was passed off to video decoder
  • + CAF: faster metadata reading for media explorer
  • + Media item notes: individual items retain their notes window positions
  • + Metadata: rename "Title" category to "General"
  • + ReaScript: allow using MIDIEditor_GetSetting_str() to query event details from the MIDI list editor
  • + Render: support embedding WAVFORMAT_EXTENSIBLE and CAF channel layout tags in render metadata
  • + Render: support embedding and displaying ASWG metadata
  • + Theme: Default theme image fixes resulting from volume label change
  • + WAV: display WAVFORMAT_EXTENSIBLE channel mask in media source properties
  • # Media item lanes: more Embass fixups
  • # ReaScript: Track/TakeFX_AddByName allow incorrect full paths to VSTs, etc
  • # ReaScript: include full path to VSTs in GetNamedConfigParm("fx_ident")
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 01:15 PM   #2
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 01:48 PM   #3
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 02:18 PM   #4
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 04:00 PM   #5
mtk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 85
Default

it's still crashing since v6.40+dev:





Looks like the bg image (tcp_idxbg, tcp_idxbg_sel) is changing ratio *2 or /2.

The same on the following setups:
- macos mojave with retina (macbook pro 15)
- macos bigsur mac mini m1 with external 4k screen (retina pixel density)
mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 04:18 PM   #6
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 05:46 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtk View Post
it's still crashing since v6.40+dev:





Looks like the bg image (tcp_idxbg, tcp_idxbg_sel) is changing ratio *2 or /2.

The same on the following setups:
- macos mojave with retina (macbook pro 15)
- macos bigsur mac mini m1 with external 4k screen (retina pixel density)
what theme is that?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 06:07 PM   #8
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 2,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Embass View Post
FWIW, if you drag the RE selection down a track then up, they move but the (top selected) item jumps to the top lane, whichever lane you try to select.
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 06:27 PM   #9
mtk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
what theme is that?
It's my own theme, I haven't published it yet ..there are still some small things I'm working on.

I can share it with you ofc.

Everything was fine in a previous reaper releases.
mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 06:41 PM   #10
mtk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 85
Default

[deleted mtk theme screenshots]

Last edited by mtk; 11-08-2021 at 07:01 PM.
mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 06:44 PM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtk View Post
It's my own theme
Whatever problem you are seeing, does it exist with the default theme?

Also, would you mind removing or resizing the very large screenshot? Thanks.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 06:59 PM   #12
mtk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Whatever problem you are seeing, does it exist with the default theme?

Also, would you mind removing or resizing the very large screenshot? Thanks.

Big screenshots are automatically scaled if you switch to forum theme v5. It's strange that they are not scaled in other themes.

I can delete it, ofc.


Default theme uses different images which in this case doesn't show the problem. Also, min. track height in default theme is different, and as you can see on the attached gif the bug shows up when track height is changed to minimum (21px in my case).

I worked for several months on my own theme and I would like to stay with it. It worked properly until v.6.4+dev. So the question is if anything related to themes has changed recently? I don't see anything about it in the changelog.
mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 07:57 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtk View Post
It's my own theme, I haven't published it yet ..there are still some small things I'm working on.

I can share it with you ofc.

Everything was fine in a previous reaper releases.
Can you email a copy to support at cockos dot com with a link to this post? Thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 09:10 PM   #14
mtk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Can you email a copy to support at cockos dot com with a link to this post? Thanks!
Ok, I found the problem.

I made images (tcp_idxbg and tcp_idxbg_sel) long time ago back in that time they were not displayed correctly until purple lines were covering slightly more area (+2px, 23px in total height, and my min. track height is 21px).

It worked well up to v.6.39+dev

After updating to v6.4+dev suddenly these images were scaled automatically when track height was smaller than 23px. So I checked images again, fixed purple lines to the correct size (21px in total height), and now it works correctly.

Something must have changed in a meantime since I created these images (in versions before 6.39) and recently in v6.4.

Anyway, thank you very much for your interest and willingness to help. I really appreciate it. Fortunately, I found the solution myself and the problem was on my side - my apologies for the confusion and creating unnecessary issue.
mtk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 01:31 AM   #15
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 974
Default

Quote:
+ Metadata: rename "Title" category to "General"
is the rating coming after all?


Joking apart
I don't find "General" as metadata
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 01:49 AM   #16
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.40+dev1108 - November 8 2021
  • + Metadata: rename "Title" category to "General"
Any good reason why?

(...and why not rather ADD the "General" category?)
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 02:41 AM   #17
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default CAF

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
[*]+ CAF: add comment in source properties dialog if file was passed off to video decoder
[*]+ CAF: display channel layout tag in media source properties
[*]+ CAF: display metadata in source properties dialog even if file was passed off to video decoder
[*]+ CAF: faster metadata reading for media explorer
Thanks for these improvements.

However Reaper still doesn't display all metadata which should be included in the .caf file. It shows "Genre", however not "BPM" or "Key"..

And also, .caf files open the video item source properties dialog with options like "Ignore audio" and other settings which make little sense for audio items. I understand that such files are decoded by the video decoder and thus Reaper expects them to be video files. But if you devs could tell Reaper that when a ""video file"" has the extension .caf it should still be opened with the normal source properties dialog, it would probably make more sense.

Here 2 screenshots of the source properties for the same file (the first one I sent you some days ago). The first screenshot is the original .caf version opened by Reaper, the second one has been converted to .wav by Myriad converter and then opened in Reaper. It would be nice if Reaper was able to display the .caf file the same way as the .wav file, with the audio source properties dialog and including all the metadata (which obviously should be displayed in the MX aswell):

ORIGINAL CAF FILE


CONVERTED TO WAV FILE


Also, you can see in the following screenshot, that the .caf file opens with some silence at the start which the wav file doesn't. If it was possible to remove the silence at the start it would be great:

CAF FILE WITH SILENCE AT START
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 03:32 AM   #18
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 06:03 AM   #19
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
However Reaper still doesn't display all metadata which should be included in the .caf file. It shows "Genre", however not "BPM" or "Key"
The additional metadata appears to be encoded in an opaquely labeled part of the file. Do you know where exactly this file came from? If it was generated by Apple with no further processing we could try to parse that extra info.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 07:15 AM   #20
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The additional metadata appears to be encoded in an opaquely labeled part of the file. Do you know where exactly this file came from? If it was generated by Apple with no further processing we could try to parse that extra info.
The .wav file, which displays the additional metadata in Reaper, is a converted version of Apple's original .caf file. The conversion has been done several months ago by the audio file conversion app Myriad (by Zynaptiq) iirc.

In order to hopefully give you more information, I tried to open the .caf file again in Myriad and redo the conversion, checking if I have enabled any special setting. However the app has become unreliable since Zynaptiq acquired it and currently it just won't open. I have contacted their support and hopefully they can help me to open Myriad and see how the conversion from caf to wav works and if they have any special options for metadata.

However I am pretty sure that the original, Apple-generated, .caf file has to have that metadata embedded somewhere. This is how the original .caf file shows up in Logic's "Media Explorer":


I hope that you can find out something or that I can come back to you with more info about how Myriad was able to extract the metadata. It would be pretty nice if you could find a way to have Reaper also display this "additional" metadata.

Do you think it would be helpful for you to find something out if I sent you the converted .wav file? If so, please let me know and I will send you an email.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 07:18 AM   #21
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,831
Default

We're able to parse the extra metadata, the question was more about whether the extra metadata is in a common or typical format. The next build will support reading it, anyway.

For the record the opaque identifier is UUID 29819273-b5bf-4aef-b78d-62d1ef90bb2c.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 07:20 AM   #22
lexaproductions
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,130
Default

Since 6.39, there are some oddities that appeared in my theme. Here's one:


The "selection" background png seems to be half-scaled and I don't know why and how to fix it.
lexaproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 07:27 AM   #23
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
We're able to parse the extra metadata, the question was more about whether the extra metadata is in a common or typical format. The next build will support reading it, anyway.

For the record the opaque identifier is UUID 29819273-b5bf-4aef-b78d-62d1ef90bb2c.
Sorry that I can't give any helpful info about the metadata format. But amazing that you were already able to figure it out and support reading it!
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2021, 08:14 AM   #24
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 03:03 AM   #25
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 4,986
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Since 6.39, there are some oddities that appeared in my theme. Here's one:


The "selection" background png seems to be half-scaled and I don't know why and how to fix it.
Please post the theme and details of your screen scaling.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2021, 05:24 AM   #26
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaproductions View Post
Since 6.39, there are some oddities that appeared in my theme. Here's one:


The "selection" background png seems to be half-scaled and I don't know why and how to fix it.
Including a link to your theme would be a good first step. In 6.39 there were some changes relating to the pink/yellow margin lines and DPI-scaling, perhaps your image does something funky... if your pink line areas exceed the area of the destination, it will no longer apply scaling to them (that’s probably it)… but i would be happy to take a look if not.

Last edited by Justin; 11-10-2021 at 05:50 AM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.