Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2021, 06:54 PM   #1
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,670
Default v6.42+dev1120 - November 20 2021

v6.42+dev1120 - November 20 2021

* Includes feature branch: media explorer toolbar
* Includes feature branch: media item fixed lanes
* Includes feature branch: JSFX internals overhaul/cleanup/modernization
* Includes feature branch: r8brain free samplerate conversion mode
* Includes feature branch: Windows very long pathname support
* Includes feature branch: media explorer crossfades
* Includes feature branch: recording files wildcard support
* Includes feature branch: video render/convert normalization
* Includes feature branch: media item notes improvements
* Includes feature branch: .caf media format support
* Includes feature branch: ASWG metadata support
+ Media Explorer: move "insert media", "auto-play", "start on bar" controls to default toolbar
+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
+ Menus/Toolbars: replace Save/Close buttons with OK/Cancel
+ Metadata: support displaying and embedding BEXT version 2 metadata
+ Render: add option to automatically write peak/loudness statistics into rendered file metadata
+ Scrub: improve samplerate conversion quality, other behaviors
+ VST: hide and allow re-scan of shell-plugin instances which previously failed to scan
# Metadata: fix embedding ASWG in .flac files

This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2021, 07:13 PM   #2
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 963
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
v6.42+dev1120 - November 20 2021


+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
+ Menus/Toolbars: replace Save/Close buttons with OK/Cancel


This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.
Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
Amazing! Thank you!

Now I have not found a way to remove it - it could be an additional option, for example. When using the right-click menu and selecting "Position toolbar - Floating", I got a crash. The option "Position toolbar - Close toolbar" closes Media Explorer completely, but not only the toolbar.
cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2021, 07:59 PM   #3
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 3,926
Default

If Media Explorer is open and docked on start up then,.. my toolbar at top is not seen and if I then run the action "Toolbar: Show/hide toolbar docker" REAPER crashes. Or crashes if I right click on media explorer toolbar to open its context menu and select "Open toolbar" > "Media Explorer toolbar".

Win10 x64
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2021, 11:50 PM   #4
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2021, 11:57 PM   #5
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,820
Default

Could we have an option/checkbox for ME so that time strech is kept when dragging audio files to plugin samplers? Something like render /glue the file automatically when inserting into plugins.

Related with this and alternetively : drag from project to samplers doesnt work on osx still and for doing this kind of thing we need to:
1) drag to project
2) glue/render each sample
3) open file from finder
4) drag from finder to sampler

It is too much work to be used regularly
__________________
🙏🏻
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 12:14 AM   #6
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 12:24 AM   #7
Chimpscookie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
If Media Explorer is open and docked on start up then,.. my toolbar at top is not seen and if I then run the action "Toolbar: Show/hide toolbar docker" REAPER crashes. Or crashes if I right click on media explorer toolbar to open its context menu and select "Open toolbar" > "Media Explorer toolbar".
Crashing mine as well.
Chimpscookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 12:50 AM   #8
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 01:21 AM   #9
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 01:44 AM   #10
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:07 AM   #11
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media Explorer: move "insert media", "auto-play", "start on bar" controls to default toolbar
Moving autoplay and start-on-bar buttons to the top of the window is questionable because the whole playback interface happens at the very bottom.

The MIDI editor toolbar is left-aligned. Wouldn't it be good to left-aligh also here?

These two questions are actually for a UX designer.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:42 AM   #12
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media Explorer: move "insert media", "auto-play", "start on bar" controls to default toolbar
+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
How can I close this toolbar? Doing 'Right Click > Position toolbar > Close toolbar' just closes the MX but on reopening the MX the toolbar is still there.

I don't need TB buttons for MX actions and this is just taking valuable screen estate. I hope I am not stuck with this from now on...

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Menus/Toolbars: replace Save/Close buttons with OK/Cancel
Great, this is definitely better.

If you intend improving Menu/Toolbar editing workflow, you might want to check out these suggestions. Currently it is a bit clumsy tbh (IMO).
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:42 AM   #13
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:48 AM   #14
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
1) drag to project
2) glue/render each sample
3) open file from finder
4) drag from finder to sampler

It is too much work to be used regularly
Agree. +1 for arrange->plugin drag on osx.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:57 AM   #15
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media Explorer: move "insert media", "auto-play", "start on bar" controls to default toolbar
Wasn't too sure about auto-play when I first read it, but come to think of it, I really like the idea to move all toggle controls to the toolbar. Great stuff!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
Really cool! What I don't like about it is that the toolbar is so far away from the rest of the controls (which is even more with MX docked to the side). Would be awesome to have an option to dock it at the bottom of the MX. I've had it there for quite some time now (also had it at the top) and it feels a lot better imo.
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update UtilityLil ChordboxGridbox/Adaptive gridMX TunerRS5K LinkMIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi
FeedTheCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 04:04 AM   #16
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
PitchSlap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,795
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media Explorer: move "insert media", "auto-play", "start on bar" controls to default toolbar
+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
I like the idea of a customizable toolbar for accessing other settings, but really don't like having the standard settings moved there.

It's more cumbersome as the main controls are now in different locations (autoplay/start on bar naturally belong with the transport controls), and just looks plain weird for anyone not ready to take the plunge to make the toolbar really worth using.

If the toolbar was integrated in the space beside the transport controls it would be more ergonomic IMO, but might be problematic depending on the theme/dock size.
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 Pro 64-bit, Reaper 6(x64), AMD 3950x, Aorus X570 Master, 64GB DDR4 3600, PowerColor Red Devil 5700XT, EVO 970 2TB, 10TB HD, Define R6

Last edited by PitchSlap; 11-21-2021 at 04:12 AM.
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 04:35 AM   #17
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 920
Default

Because the Media Explorer is in the dev cycle anyway:
It would be great if we could get the possibility to type in the volume. This request was already made when the media item settings window got this feature. Thanks
Zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 06:25 AM   #18
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,186
Default

We recently got renaming files in the media explorer.
But if you rename the project file that's currently open, it duplicates the project and renames the duplicate.
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 09:06 AM   #19
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,013
Default

Just reposting, in the last thread it got buried in comments, but I think there might be a BUG in reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, 'F_FREEMODE_Y' ) and F_FREEMODE_H
------------------------
Repost:
Testing GetMediaItemInfo for getting lanes info. But It is just returning 0 to me ???

Code
Code:
function print(val)
  reaper.ShowConsoleMsg("\n"..tostring(val))    
end

local item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0, 0)
local y = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, 'F_FREEMODE_Y' )
local h = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, 'F_FREEMODE_H' )
print('y   '..y)
print('h   '..h)
Hope I didn't screw up in very basic script xD. Have been some months since I don't script and I miss it

Update: If using more than 2 lanes I get 14660154687488.0 as a result for y and h. Strange....

Last edited by daniellumertz; 11-21-2021 at 09:17 AM.
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 09:49 AM   #20
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,034
Default

Is there a way to improve how the Media Explorer tempo match/playrate/vol/pan section collapses when made narrow? I like to keep the Mx window docked on the left but you can get weird things like this when it's made narrow. I'd think that could be collapsed down to 2 rows versus 3.


Last edited by Funkybot; 09-28-2022 at 11:55 AM.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 09:54 AM   #21
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Moving autoplay and start-on-bar buttons to the top of the window is questionable because the whole playback interface happens at the very bottom.
I agree with this. These two settings feel very related to the MX transport controls. I understand why they make sense on the MX toolbar, since they're basically preferences, but in practical usage, I don't think it's an improvement to have them further away from the transport controls.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 09:59 AM   #22
Funkybot
Human being with feelings
 
Funkybot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Joisey
Posts: 6,034
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Scrub: improve samplerate conversion quality, other behaviors
Would it be possible to get distinct "scrub forward" and "scrub backwards" actions?

Why? I use CSI and it can't access the "MIDI CC relative/absolute only" actions because CSI requires access to the MIDI ports. Having separate scrub actions would allow for scrubbing via the jogwheel in CSI.
Funkybot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 10:00 AM   #23
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
I agree with this. These two settings feel very related to the MX transport controls. I understand why they make sense on the MX toolbar, since they're basically preferences, but in practical usage, I don't think it's an improvement to have them further away from the transport controls.
But having the embedded toolbar is very good thing. I remember this was the original idea when the "Media Explorer Toolbar" was introduced few months ago.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 10:42 AM   #24
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkybot View Post
Is there a way to improve how the Media Explorer tempo match/playrate/vol/pan section collapses when made narrow? I like to keep the Mx window docked on the left but you can get weird things like this when it's made narrow. I'd think that could be collapsed down to 2 rows versus 3.
Yes, I can think of several ways how this section could be improved UI/UX-wise when narrow.

But something like this shouldn't be all too complicated to do (I guess) and would already be much better:

Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 11:13 AM   #25
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Yes, I can think of several ways how this section could be improved UI/UX-wise when narrow.

But something like this shouldn't be all too complicated to do (I guess) and would already be much better:

The fader can be stretched all the way.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 11:28 AM   #26
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Actually when the media window is wide, the volume knob can be not very well placed because it is separated from other controls. It would be nice if it's near the other knobs.


ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 12:00 PM   #27
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
The fader can be stretched all the way.
Agree.

I just tried to keep the suggestion as simple as possible to favor at least some kind of implementation. What you suggest would look better and make use of empty space by becoming fader range, but would need dynamic resizing of the fader to work well at all MX widths by anchoring both its right and left edge. Not sure if that would be just something trivial to implement or take some more work.

Personally I would prefer having the fader at the bottom near the transport buttons and 'Auto play' + 'Start on bar' at the top where the fader is in my mockup. Perhaps that way there could also be a preference to hide the two options if they are displayed on the Media explorer toolbar which would reduce the size of that area in favor of showing a bit more file list. Again, not sure how much work that would be and perhaps some people would argue that they prefer having the two options to the right of the transport buttons.

Last edited by Phazma; 11-21-2021 at 12:10 PM.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 12:09 PM   #28
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,875
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Actually when the media window is wide, the volume knob can be not very well placed because it is separated from other controls. It would be nice if it's near the other knobs.
Personally I think it would be best if it auto extended based on the available space. But yes, having it always bound at the left rather than the right would also already be an improvement.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 01:21 PM   #29
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
v6.42+dev1120 - November 20 2021
+ Media Explorer: move "insert media", "auto-play", "start on bar" controls to default toolbar
+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
I think it will be fine if the embedded MX toolbar gets a handle to adjust height and button rows, like other TBs. Furthermore, an option to hide it inside the MX UI.

I also use the MX docked on the left and mostly narrow.
IF I choose to have the toolbar visible, I prefer to see all my buttons at once, in as many rows it takes. This seems not possible with the embedded one.

When MX is docked now, it’s still possible to tab-dock another MX toolbar above or below (the latter I’ve been using lately because it's closer to preview/drag area), but, then the TB will show twice since the embedded one can’t be hidden.


* an overlap occurs at certain width (same with default theme). macOS / Retina:

PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 01:25 PM   #30
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 889
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Actually when the media window is wide, the volume knob can be not very well placed because it is separated from other controls. It would be nice if it's near the other knobs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Personally I think it would be best if it auto extended based on the available space. But yes, having it always bound at the left rather than the right would also already be an improvement.
yes agree, bound to the left, but the volume stretching must be limited somehow, e.g. 1/3 or half of the free space, or it can look odd, I think.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:57 PM   #31
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Bug with this new version:

My left vertical bar (main toolbar) has vanished.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 03:14 PM   #32
AZpercussion
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Moscow / Tbilisi
Posts: 916
Default

In addition to all above I don't guess, that it's efficient space use.
For those, who want much buttons, there could be an additional switchable toolbar.

AZpercussion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 03:29 PM   #33
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,754
Default

+ VST: hide and allow re-scan of shell-plugin instances which previously failed to scan

Am I right in thinking this is possibly aimed at the Waves shell system? (which is notorious for being somewhat sloppy) Hope so.
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 04:34 PM   #34
Win Conway
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,826
Default

If we can get multiple toolbars that would be amazing, then we could replicate the Maschine tag toolbars.
Use the first toolbar category tags to open the second toolbar with types tags based on toolbar 1s tag choice.
Those types navigate to particular folders.
Been waiting for a way to do this for a long time now in Reaper, hoping this is a step towards that

PS the more we can move tickboxes to themer designed icons the better in my book, great work
__________________
Stop posting huge images, smaller images or thumbnail, it's not rocket science!
Win Conway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 04:46 PM   #35
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Mouse modifier for the media explorer would be great.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 04:52 PM   #36
Win Conway
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,826
Default

I think I would even go as far as move the entire transport to the toolbar.
This will make vertical MX usage way slicker and tidier.
__________________
Stop posting huge images, smaller images or thumbnail, it's not rocket science!
Win Conway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 04:58 PM   #37
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Win Conway View Post
I think I would even go as far as move the entire transport to the toolbar.
This will make vertical MX usage way slicker and tidier.
+1000
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 05:28 PM   #38
yellowmix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 54
Default

Something in dev1120 is causing "SWS/BR: Exclusive toggle contextual toolbar under mouse cursor, preset X" to crash immediately.

It requires that there be a target under the mouse cursor that causes a toolbar to show up. That is, if no toolbar is associated with what's under the mouse cursor there is no problem. It crashes before any toolbar is seen.

May have something to do with Media Explorer toolbar being added.

The Contextual Toolbar editor runs just fine.
yellowmix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2021, 02:06 AM   #39
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 11,818
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
+ Media Explorer: support customizable embedded toolbar
Sounds great. I've taken a look around but have not yet found a way to show that toolbar in the media explorer. Could someone please share how that's done ?

Quote:
+ Metadata: support displaying and embedding BEXT version 2 metadata
Cool. This is the first time I'm seeing this exists, and the documenation has been around for 10 years. I had no idea there was already a way to store loudness meta data in WAV files already.

Quote:
+ Render: add option to automatically write peak/loudness statistics into rendered file metadata
There's my meat and potato. Could prove very useful for anyone using the LUFS loudness measurements(i.e.everyone but Netflix here in Germany). Thanks for supporting this.


Quote:
+ Scrub: improve samplerate conversion quality, other behaviors
Always good to get fixes here. It's not quite there yet in terms of usability. To demonstrate for yourself, just try to scrub to the start of a bassdrum as close as you can. I could nail this to within less than a millisecond in Protools with its mouse scrubber. The fact is that not even expensive hardware controllers like Blackmagic Designs edit unit for audio work does this as well as old PT did, but it's a lot closer than Reaper is with its seemingly minimum amount of audio scrubbed. Can't stop on a dime that one. :P
__________________
Using Latch Preview (Video) - Faderport 16 setup for CSI 1.1 , CSI 3.10
Website
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2021, 09:47 AM   #40
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by airon View Post
Always good to get fixes here. It's not quite there yet in terms of usability. To demonstrate for yourself, just try to scrub to the start of a bassdrum as close as you can. I could nail this to within less than a millisecond in Protools
The fixes are just resampling quality improvements.

As far as your request, I'm not sure I fully understand what your issue is. Are the ballistics too high (too slow to stop)?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.