Old 12-27-2021, 05:59 PM   #1
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,870
Default v6.43+dev1227 - December 27 2021

v6.43+dev1227 - December 27 2021
  • * Includes feature branch: render internals simplification/cleanup
  • * Includes feature branch: user-defined action overhaul
  • * Includes feature branch: media item normalization
  • * Includes feature branch: media explorer toolbar
  • * Includes feature branch: media item fixed lanes
  • * Includes feature branch: JSFX internals overhaul/cleanup/modernization
  • * Includes feature branch: Windows very long pathname support
  • + Super8: fix recording glitches that could occur during looped project-synchronized playback [t=261147]
  • + macOS: add per-theme option to not use themed windows when in dark-mode (enabled by default theme)
  • + macOS: live FX multiprocessing threads join the CoreAudio workgroup if available
  • + macOS: use THREAD_TIME_CONSTRAINT_POLICY for Live FX multiprocessing threads on Big Sur and later
  • # ReaScript: remove higher-level NormalizeItems(), add lower-level NormalizeItem() to calculate the normalization adjustment for a single media source
  • # macOS: automatically limit live FX multiprocessing threads to workgroup size
  • # macOS: tweak arm64 worker thread synchronization timings
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 06:30 PM   #2
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,484
Default

These improvements for macOS sound interesting. Let's see how it goes for a few days.

Is there something specific you'd want us to test?
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 06:32 PM   #3
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
# ReaScript: remove higher-level NormalizeItems(), add lower-level NormalizeItem() to calculate the normalization adjustment for a single media source
Perfect, thank you!
FeedTheCat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 07:03 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
These improvements for macOS sound interesting. Let's see how it goes for a few days.

Is there something specific you'd want us to test?
In this build, overall low-latency performance under light/medium/heavy loads on M1 macs
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 07:11 PM   #5
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
In this build, overall low-latency performance under light/medium/heavy loads on M1 macs
Low-latency when recording or just low-latency in general? Right now I'm not recording but mixing a few songs so I can see how it goes for a few days with a smaller buffer size (I always use 2048 but I can make it 512 and see how it goes).
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 07:19 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Low-latency when recording or just low-latency in general? Right now I'm not recording but mixing a few songs so I can see how it goes for a few days with a smaller buffer size (I always use 2048 but I can make it 512 and see how it goes).
Normal uses is good, whatever you're up to now... Can try even lower latencies (128? 32?) too.

It will make less of a difference if everything is being anticipative-FX processed
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 07:28 PM   #7
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,484
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Normal uses is good, whatever you're up to now... Can try even lower latencies (128? 32?) too.

It will make less of a difference if everything is being anticipative-FX processed
Ok, I'll give it a go for a few days with different latencies. Thanks, Justin.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2021, 08:03 PM   #8
nvk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 73
Default

Thanks for adding the dark-mode theme option. Everything is back to normal for me.
nvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 05:57 AM   #9
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Belgium
Posts: 849
Default

Can you check this please?
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=261213

I think there is an issue with an API, not retrieving data WAVEXT, ASWG, CAFINFO
__________________
Bart R.
Reaper: always the last version.
O.S.: Windows 11
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 06:28 AM   #10
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nvk View Post
Thanks for adding the dark-mode theme option. Everything is back to normal for me.
Where do I find this setting?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 06:49 AM   #11
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,046
Default

So far so VERY good with the M1 RT performance Justin, thank you so much!

I have a really hard time provoking dropouts now, it almost seems immune to (almost) everything I can possible do with the computer at the same time as recording or rendering real time. Things that I would never do during recording anyway.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 09:01 AM   #12
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
v6.43+dev1227 - December 27 2021
  • + macOS: add per-theme option to not use themed windows when in dark-mode (enabled by default theme)
Thanks for adding this setting, however the option text is the opposite of the result, should be "[ ] Use window theming on macOS dark mode".
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 09:04 AM   #13
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Where do I find this setting?
'no-dark-mode-windows' is a macOS per theme setting, can be checked from the Tweaker > filter for "dark mode". By default the function is ON. For the reaperthemes Default 5 and 6 it has been set to OFF (col_nodarkmodemiscwnd=1).

Last edited by PhelixK; 12-28-2021 at 09:21 AM.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 09:23 AM   #14
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelixK View Post
Thanks for adding this setting, however the option text is the opposite of the result, should be "[ ] Use window theming on macOS dark mode".
Agree.

And, can you get the Xs in the checkboxes visible in dark mode also?

__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 09:34 AM   #15
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Agree.

And, can you get the Xs in the checkboxes visible in dark mode also?
yes it's visible here, must be something about the OS, I'm still on Intel/Mojave.
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 09:43 AM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhelixK View Post
Thanks for adding this setting, however the option text is the opposite of the result, should be "[ ] Use window theming on macOS dark mode".
To be clear, "window theming" means the theme settings for the misc windows (if checked, it defaults to the OS colors in dark mode)
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 09:44 AM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Agree.

And, can you get the Xs in the checkboxes visible in dark mode also?

Is it checked? Hmm there should be a right bracket too, maybe it's some sizing issue
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 10:03 AM   #18
PhelixK
Human being with feelings
 
PhelixK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 674
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
To be clear, "window theming" means the theme settings for the misc windows (if checked, it defaults to the OS colors in dark mode)
ah sorry, then "Do not use .." is correct))
PhelixK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 10:34 AM   #19
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Is it checked? Hmm there should be a right bracket too, maybe it's some sizing issue
Yes, it pretty much looks the same when unchecked also.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 11:35 AM   #20
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,214
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Yes, it pretty much looks the same when unchecked also.
Ahh, if you disable prefs/general/advanced "larger listview margins on big sur" it will fix (but fixing this on our end too).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 11:53 AM   #21
gapalil001
Human being with feelings
 
gapalil001's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 430
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
v6.43+dev1227 - December 27 2021[*]+ macOS: add per-theme option to not use themed windows when in dark-mode (enabled by default theme)
interesting thing. but i would prefer to have individual custom colour sets for dark and bright modes (or extra colours for dark mode) in theme tweak/configuration window. not all things and elements are fits theme design when this feature is enabled. according to this idea, would be great to experiment with track background colours for OS dark mode - when dark mode are enabled, Whole arrange view becoming darker
gapalil001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 12:30 PM   #22
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Ahh, if you disable prefs/general/advanced "larger listview margins on big sur" it will fix (but fixing this on our end too).
Ahh that is correct yes!
And thanks.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 01:05 PM   #23
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 634
Default

Sorry for the dumb question between the lines: whats up with the separate ARM installer missing since 6.43 on the download page? When I open and install the Universal dmg file there is only the normal Reaper.app but this of course won't update the Reaper-ARM.app. I am confused. The M1 is my first Mac. Please forgive the offtopic.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 01:14 PM   #24
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,142
Default

You can run the universal binary REAPER.app on an ARM mac. By default it will run as an ARM application, but in "get info" you can set a preference to open the Intel binary via Rosetta. It's also fine to install REAPER.app alongside an older REAPER-ARM.app, or delete the old one.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2021, 02:05 PM   #25
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 634
Default

Thank you for that perfect clear answer!
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.