Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2021, 07:39 AM   #1
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default Identify chords on editor grid - how to edit chord names?

EDIT v6.52

Some of custom names functionality was implemented in v6.52. You can rename chords as long as the root stays the same.
But it is still impossible to rename the default C6 to Am. One solution would be to use the pitch marked as 1 in the reascales file as as a chord root. I actually don't understand why there have to be numbers 1,3,5 and not just 0s and 1s in the current implementation.

Also the accidentals are still not considered. So if you have written chord E♯, it is identified as F.

Here's the refreshed list:
Amin → Am OK
Adim7 → A7 or A⁷ OK
Cmin6 → A7 or Am7♭5 or Am⁷♭5 NOT POSSIBLE
Aaug → A+ OK
C# → C♯ OK

----------------------------------------------------------------------
ORIGINAL POST:

Hello, I wonder if there is a way to change the chord names that are used by function "Identify chords on editor grid" in notation.

Some examples of what I would change:

Amin → Am
Adim7 → A7 or A⁷
Cmin6 → A7 or Am7♭5 or Am⁷♭5
Aaug → A+
C# → C♯

Last edited by bFooz; 03-29-2022 at 01:24 AM.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 05:29 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,398
Default

Hm, we could do this, but I'd like to get a few more opinions on whether there's any value in retaining the plain-text notation.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 06:46 AM   #3
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Hm, we could do this, but I'd like to get a few more opinions on whether there's any value in retaining the plain-text notation.
Thanks for the reply. But I did not understand. You mean to retain plain text notation generally or just for chords? And if not to retain it, do you mean you would make chord symbols as a specific type of notation?
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 06:47 AM   #4
tohubohu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: france
Posts: 777
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Hello, I wonder if there is a way to change the chord names that are used by function "Identify chords on editor grid" in notation.

Some examples of what I would change:

Amin → Am
Adim7 → A7 or A⁷
Cmin6 → A7 or Am7♭5 or Am⁷♭5
Aaug → A+
C# → C♯
hello
I don't think we should change Cmin6 → A7
Cmin6 → Cm6 is the right name
Cm6 is a 'reversal' of A7. we can't replace it. (I don't know if the word 'reversal' is the right word in English)
tohubohu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 06:49 AM   #5
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tohubohu View Post
hello
I don't think we should change Cmin6 → A7
Cmin6 → Cm6 is the right name
Cm6 is a reversal of A7. we can't replace it
Yes, but they are equally important. How would you differentiate between them? Reversal = inversion.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 06:50 AM   #6
Chris Heinen
Human being with feelings
 
Chris Heinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default

It would be helpful to me if there were a clear text file that could be edited that I could use to tweak the spelling of Reaper chords (similar to the way users can tweak and define custom scales). The "Identify chords on editor grid" action is very helpful and works effectively for me. After using it, I go back to tweak chord spellings such as "Amin" back to "Am".

For "extra credit" it would be helpful if the system could take into account the *KEY* of the chord in play at that moment in time, so that, for example when playing in the key of F, a Bb chord is spelled as such and not A#, or when playing in the key of G, an A# chord is spelled as such, and not Bb.

Also the grand staff (bass/treble) collection of notes in play for a given chord at a point in time should be used (not just the bass staff, or just the treble staff.

For reference, here is a list of common chord spellings (not exhaustive) being used by another music app that seems to cover a lot of the bases...

https://www.pgmusic.com/manuals/bbw2...htm#chord-list

Thanks for considering working on this...
__________________
"If music be the food of love, play on." - William Shakespeare
Chris Heinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 06:52 AM   #7
tohubohu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: france
Posts: 777
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
Yes, but they are equally important. How would you differentiate between them? Reversal = inversion.
depending on the bass....

in French "renversement"
tohubohu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 06:54 AM   #8
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Heinen View Post
It would be helpful to me if there were a clear text file that could be edited that I could use to tweak the spelling of Reaper chords (similar to the way users can tweak and define custom scales). The "Identify chords on editor grid" action is very helpful and works effectively for me. After using it, I go back to tweak chord spellings such as "Amin" back to "Am".

For "extra credit" it would be helpful if the system could take into account the *KEY* of the chord in play at that moment in time, so that, for example when playing in the key of F, a Bb chord is spelled as such and not A#, or when playing in the key of G, an A# chord is spelled as such, and not Bb.

Also the grand staff (bass/treble) collection of notes in play for a given chord at a point in time should be used (not just the bass staff, or just the treble staff.

For reference, here is a list of common chord spellings (not exhaustive) being used by another music app that seems to cover a lot of the bases...

https://www.pgmusic.com/manuals/bbw2...htm#chord-list

Thanks for considering working on this...
If we go into this deeper, also user-set accidentals in notation should be considered. And also the bass note. If the bass note was considered, then the differentiation of Am7♭5 and Cm6 would be easy.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2022, 07:38 AM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,398
Default

I believe the identify chords action will consider any chords the user has loaded as a .ReaScale file. To load a .ReaScale file, in the piano roll view, enable key snap, then click the scale type (like "major") and click "load". There is a sample .ReaScale file in the REAPER resource folder, Data subdirectory, which is the location that action should open by default.

So you could define chords there and name them however you want, although I'm not sure if unicode strings will be read/displayed properly. I'm also not sure without testing it if the option in that dropdown to hide default scales/chords will apply to the identify chords action as well.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2022, 06:43 AM   #10
Chris Heinen
Human being with feelings
 
Chris Heinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks for the info on this. I didn't notice that this could be set up. Next week when I have time I'll experiment...
__________________
"If music be the food of love, play on." - William Shakespeare
Chris Heinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 08:05 AM   #11
Chris Heinen
Human being with feelings
 
Chris Heinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 60
Default

Hmmm - not getting useful results here experimenting with modifying a .reascale file. It seems to be 'working as designed'... It alters what appears in the menu in the MIDI editor, but then when running the action to "Identify chords on editor grid" it just changes the key signature and adds/removes accidentals to existing notes instead of affecting the spelling of a chord...

before
https://imgur.com/HlqlCuX

after
https://imgur.com/hvtVtRR

.reascale file
https://imgur.com/E2oPwla
__________________
"If music be the food of love, play on." - William Shakespeare
Chris Heinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2022, 08:51 AM   #12
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

Here it works to a small extent. Some chord's names can be changed/set bud some cannot. I was able to set "m7♭5" with
Code:
1 "m7♭5"    100300500070
but could change "min" to "m" with
Code:
1 "m"	100300050000
And it cannot do inversions? And the integer naming of pitches is not suitable for notation since it does not distinguish accidentals.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2022, 02:07 AM   #13
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 792
Default

Can someone explain that in more detail.
A custom .ReaScale file is not loaded automatically?(Being able to do that would be good)
I have to do this via "key snap" Load.
Actually, I don't want a key snap at all, can I switch it off again?

The two things would have to be changed for me.
Cm instead of Cmin and Am instead of C6
Thanks
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2022, 02:23 AM   #14
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

No need to keep key snap on. The chord detection just looks into the same file you have loaded. I've posted into the pre-rel thread, I expect this to be made a bit more polished. Maybe wait a bit.

For Cm, you use this:
Code:
1 "m"		100300050000
Am still cannot be made from the current implementation. If the suggestion in my post over there will be implemented, it will be possible. The last reascript file is loaded automatically at startup.

Last edited by bFooz; 03-08-2022 at 02:29 AM.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2022, 03:44 PM   #15
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 792
Default

Somehow doesn't work for me.
Can you send me your reascale file?
Thanks
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2022, 02:57 AM   #16
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonetti View Post
Somehow doesn't work for me.
Can you send me your reascale file?
Thanks
Download it here. https://drive.google.com/file/d/12Fq...ew?usp=sharing
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2022, 03:12 PM   #17
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 792
Default

Thanks
Now it works, had to restart reaper again.
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2022, 01:24 AM   #18
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,211
Default

With the v6.52, some of the renaming functionality was implemented. But the problematic C6 still cannot be renamed to Am. See the original post.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.