Old 03-11-2022, 12:02 PM   #1
STOP
Human being with feelings
 
STOP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Québec
Posts: 387
Default v6.51+dev0311 - March 11 2022

v6.51+dev0311 - March 11 2022
  • * Includes feature branch: media explorer pitch detection
  • * Includes feature branch: media explorer user-defined tags
  • * Includes feature branch: improved peak building
  • * Includes feature branch: FX chain oversampling
  • * Includes feature branch: media item fixed lanes
  • + Media explorer: improve keyboard accessibility of toolbar on Windows
  • # Import: improve preview display somewhat
  • # Media item lanes: move lane header controls back to TCP area
  • # Media item lanes: respect preference to align TCP controls when fixed lane header controls are displayed
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
STOP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2022, 01:18 PM   #2
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 3,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STOP View Post
[*] * Includes feature branch: media explorer user-defined tags
Don't know the purpose of this.
Is it possible to modify that box so we can add columns that permits to modify existing Metadata tags like ID3:APIC_FILE (title image) or ID3_TEXT (lyricist)... ?
__________________
Ma Zique
Mes Partoches
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2022, 03:26 PM   #3
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,918
Default

With lane numbers visible on TCP, i think it would look better if the space below numbers had the same color with the right side of TCP, and if it was thinner horizontally like so:

Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2022, 04:03 PM   #4
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

Quote:
# Media item lanes: move lane header controls back to TCP area
An option would be great (header controls in the TCP area or out).
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2022, 05:24 PM   #5
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,422
Default

Thanks for fixing the issue with the ghosted item preview not being time-stretched. The accuracy of placing items is much better

When dragging an item to the timeline there can still be a discrepancy between the cursor and snapping where the ghosted item shows it being placed beside the existing item, but if the cursor accidentally overlaps it asks to replace. Not a huge deal, just pointing it out in case it wasn't intended.



When choosing overlap in the dialog the items are placed beside each other with no overlap based on the snapping so it seems a bit quirky.
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=184239
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 Pro 64-bit, Reaper 6(x64), AMD 3950x, Aorus X570 Master, 64GB DDR4 3600, PowerColor Red Devil 5700XT, EVO 970 2TB, 10TB HD, Define R6

Last edited by PitchSlap; 03-11-2022 at 05:36 PM.
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2022, 08:17 PM   #6
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Pink Wool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1,035
Default

What @PitchSlap said about items "colliding" + 1!
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 12:24 AM   #7
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 613
Default

Bumping this to make sure it's seen:

There's a keyboard regression in the +dev version versus 6.51 on macOS.

* new project
* new track
* open FX window
* add FX dialog
* navigate to a plugin (with mouse or keyboard)
* press return

in 6.51 and earlier, this would instantiate the plugin. In this dev version, it does not.

Maybe related to this in v6.51+dev0307?
Quote:
[*] + macOS: improve return-key behavior with third-party plug-in text entry fields
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 05:13 AM   #8
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,242
Default

The media lane tabs make more sense in the TCP, but my graphical gripes:

1. The track icon (if used) is between the main controls and the tab - I think the track icon should be on the outermost edge. On R/H TCP display, the tabs are way across on the far side.

2. The tabs IMHO are screaming to be buttons.

__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com

Last edited by bolgwrad; 03-12-2022 at 05:16 AM. Reason: img flub
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 06:05 AM   #9
Valle
Human being with feelings
 
Valle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 758
Default LUFS-I and LUFS-M swapped columns?

(Re: dry render/calculate statistics)

AAAARGH!

When did the columns for LUFS-I and LUFS-M swap?

I just now realized. But for how long have I read "M" instead of "I"?

(When exported to browser, it looks like before. That is, "I" is the last column. But in the render dialog, "M" is the last.)
__________________
FR (2011): Optional per item dB Scale @ [showthread.php?t=80944]
.
Valenzia Vision
Valle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 06:10 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,392
Default

Prior to +dev0304, only one LUFS calculation would be displayed in the render output window, preferentially LUFS-I. +dev0304 added an option to not display RMS in the render results window. If that option is enabled, the slot where RMS was previously displayed instead might display LUFS-M depending on what statistics are actually being calculated.

We can change this so the order is always the same as in the browser view, even if the specific displayed columns are different.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 06:28 AM   #11
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,242
Default

With the default 6 theme; obv the icon can't go on the outermost edge.

__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 08:26 AM   #12
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
The media lane tabs make more sense in the TCP
Why?
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 09:17 AM   #13
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

When lanes tabs are inside TCP, it's less space for plug-ins slots, AUX or plug-ins controls. Less space for TCP buttons. When media lane tabs are outside TCP it doesn't eat usefull space and it's more easy to know what is the number of the fixed lane (because tabs are closer lanes).

Last edited by ovnis; 03-12-2022 at 09:24 AM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 09:26 AM   #14
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Why?
I think i prefer too how the numbers were previously visible on track.
Some other idea is to show the lanes in a folder like this.
So what happens here is that when fixed lanes is on, the item on track is moved to the first lane below with the lane adder visible too. On main track it's visible the sum of all items from lanes with a faint color


Last edited by Vagelis; 03-12-2022 at 09:32 AM.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 10:03 AM   #15
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,079
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
So what happens here is that when fixed lanes is on, the item on track is moved to the first lane below with the lane adder visible too. On main track it's visible the sum of all items from lanes with a faint color
Two problems with that approach.
1. It takes away from the idea of having fixed item lanes within an individual track.
2. Visually it looks (and behaves) like folder tracks do. Add some real folder tracks and you'll get a confusing mix of the two.

---
Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
With the default 6 theme; obv the icon can't go on the outermost edge.
I don't think track icons should go to the outer edge in any theme, where fixed item lanes are used. To me track icons serve the function of being visual indicators of the track contents. In contrast, the fixed item lane controls are tied to the features of the individual lanes, so should be as they already are, as close to them as possible.

Unfortunately these ideals fall apart anyway, if TCP is shown on the right side of arrange. But that is another issue for another day, I reckon.

Last edited by xpander; 03-12-2022 at 10:23 AM.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 10:05 AM   #16
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 613
Default

Looks like the latest dev version isn't notarized (needs a right-click -> manual Open... or xattr removal to run).
sockmonkey72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 10:21 AM   #17
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Two problems with that approach.
1. It takes away from the idea of having separate take lanes within an individual track.
2. Visually it looks (and behaves) like folder tracks do. Add some real folder tracks and you'll get a confusing mix of the two.
1. But they 're still attached to each track separately, they 're just shown inside a folder.

2.I don't think this could be a problem if the color of the lanes is different than track color. Also each lane doesn't have all TCP controls to be confused with tracks in a folder, they will have a number as indicator.

It can have many advantages too though. Like it would be possible to change the size of each lane individually to work cleaner or focus better on the lane you want.

Easily hide the folder lanes and move or edit all items as you want from the main track.

It could be useful later for comping too, for example we could start comping on lanes, and then edit the comping parts from the sum on main track.

No need to take space from other TCP elements.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 10:27 AM   #18
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,079
Default

You are describing features which are already there with folder tracks. So what would be the benefit of fixed item lanes for you then?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 10:37 AM   #19
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
You are describing features which are already there with folder tracks. So what would be the benefit of fixed item lanes for you then?
But folder lanes will not have the same features with folder tracks but the same features with existing media lanes.
The next feature i'm waiting for to be added to fixed lanes is comping. I mentioned above some advantages about this when will be implemented.
Track folder behavior is very different and can be used to group tracks and send fx to all of them and other things than what lanes are meant to be used for.
Folder lanes will still have the same behavior with the existing one, with the lane add area below to add or remove lanes.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 10:59 AM   #20
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,079
Default

Well, for the take comping I can surely see the benefit of having a "master" track where the selected parts would be displayed. Then again, fixed lane tracks can already be put into folders to get the visual aspect.

Last edited by xpander; 03-12-2022 at 11:13 AM.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 11:40 AM   #21
tohubohu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: france
Posts: 773
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
I think i prefer too how the numbers were previously visible on track.
+ 1000
tohubohu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 11:44 AM   #22
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Why?
If you look at my second (default theme) graphic, where I've put lane buttons next to the track solo/mute buttons, there's tons of space for lane mute/solo/routing - even lane routing something like the plugin routing pinout, for example. It looks neat, while tabs don't match anything.

I do like the lane tabs as status flags, but not to have a whole set of lane controls in a submenu.
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 11:53 AM   #23
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,615
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STOP View Post
v6.51+dev0311 - March 11 2022[*]# Import: improve preview display somewhat
Current implementation of dragging-to-new-track and the in-between visual works and looks great, thank u devs.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 12:31 PM   #24
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolgwrad View Post
If you look at my second (default theme) graphic, where I've put lane buttons next to the track solo/mute buttons, there's tons of space for lane mute/solo/routing - even lane routing something like the plugin routing pinout, for example. It looks neat, while tabs don't match anything.

I do like the lane tabs as status flags, but not to have a whole set of lane controls in a submenu.
With lane tabs inside TCP, in lots of cases/theme, we lost space for lots of elements.

But I don't understand why you don't like when lane tabs are outside TCP. Tabs controls can be outstide the TCP without a submenu... And it can have more space than tabs inside TCP.

Last edited by ovnis; 03-12-2022 at 12:44 PM.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 12:54 PM   #25
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockmonkey72 View Post
Bumping this to make sure it's seen:

There's a keyboard regression in the +dev version versus 6.51 on macOS.

* new project
* new track
* open FX window
* add FX dialog
* navigate to a plugin (with mouse or keyboard)
* press return

in 6.51 and earlier, this would instantiate the plugin. In this dev version, it does not.

Maybe related to this in v6.51+dev0307?
Thanks, fixing!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2022, 04:08 PM   #26
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
With lane tabs inside TCP, in lots of cases/theme, we lost space for lots of elements.

But I don't understand why you don't like when lane tabs are outside TCP. Tabs controls can be outstide the TCP without a submenu... And it can have more space than tabs inside TCP.
I don't mind lane tabs outside TCP. Will discuss in lane forum in future.
__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.