Old 03-24-2022, 02:29 PM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,812
Default v6.52+dev0324 - March 24 2022

v6.52+dev0324 - March 24 2022
  • * Includes feature branch: display options for recent projects list
  • * Includes feature branch: update ARA to version 2.1
  • * Includes feature branch: insert new track when importing media via mouse drag-drop
  • * Includes feature branch: embedding images in ogg, opus files when rendering or converting
  • * Includes feature branch: render loudness graphing
  • * Includes feature branch: media explorer user-defined tags
  • * Includes feature branch: FX chain oversampling
  • * Includes feature branch: media item fixed lanes
  • + Audio Units: call AudioUnitUninitialize() when unloading
  • + Freeze: fix freezing multiple tracks with non-overlapping media items and certain render preferences [p=2540145]
  • + MIDI editor: fix behavior when drawing notes and humanize window is open [p=2540147]
  • + MIDI inline editor: add some missing actions that have default key bindings [t=263976]
  • + Peaks: fix spectrogram calculation 6.52 regression [t=264583]
  • + Peaks: improve quality of zoomed-out spectrogram display
  • + Recording: fix note-ons sent during count-in (6.49 regression) [p=2540157]
  • # Media item lanes: add actions to play only previous/next lane
  • # Media item lanes: don't select items in lane when double-clicking lane play button
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 02:49 PM   #2
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,350
Default

Quote:
  • + Audio Units: call AudioUnitUninitialize() when unloading
Fix confirmed.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 03:08 PM   #3
vsgrt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.52+dev0324 - March 24 2022[*]+ Recording: fix note-ons sent during count-in (6.49 regression)
Yesss. Thank you so much.
vsgrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 03:13 PM   #4
tohubohu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: france
Posts: 757
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.52+dev0324 - March 24 2022[*]+ MIDI inline editor: add some missing actions that have default key bindings [t=263976]
another bug in midi inline editor

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=253772
tohubohu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 03:36 PM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 11,212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.52+dev0324 - March 24 2022[*]+ MIDI editor: fix behavior when drawing notes and humanize window is open [p=2540147]
The reported note length resetting seems fixed, thanks, but now it seems to reset velocity when the humanize window is open (this is with a fresh portable +dev0324 install, regular MIDI editor).

nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 04:01 PM   #6
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 11,212
Default

Btw. while on inline editor, an old one:
Why can't I run MIDI Inline editor actions ?.

Not a regression, but mentioning, while testing above, I just run into it again (below licecap is with this +dev version, fresh portable install).
But as said in the thread, it's erratic, sometimes it happens, sometimes not.
Not sure how to exactly reproduce.


Last edited by nofish; 03-24-2022 at 04:06 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 04:39 PM   #7
TobyAM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 103
Default

+ Peaks: fix spectrogram calculation 6.52 regression [t=264583]
+ Peaks: improve quality of zoomed-out spectrogram display

This is beautiful now! Also seems much more smooth and responsive zooming in and out now.

+ Freeze: fix freezing multiple tracks with non-overlapping media items and certain render preferences [p=2540145]

This fix is great! I love being able to freeze multiple tracks again with the added bonus of the spectrograms reappearing almost instantly.
TobyAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 07:42 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
The reported note length resetting seems fixed, thanks, but now it seems to reset velocity when the humanize window is open (this is with a fresh portable +dev0324 install, regular MIDI editor).

Hah thanks, fixing!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 08:16 PM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Not a regression, but mentioning, while testing above, I just run into it again (below licecap is with this +dev version, fresh portable install).
But as said in the thread, it's erratic, sometimes it happens, sometimes not.
Not sure how to exactly reproduce.

Fixing, thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2022, 11:53 PM   #10
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Pink Wool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 1,033
Default

# Media item lanes: add actions to play only previous/next lane
# Media item lanes: don't select items in lane when double-clicking lane play button

Thank you!
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 05:50 AM   #11
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,209
Default

Quote:
+ Notation editor: allow user-provided chords (from .ReaScale files) to override default chord names [p=2534376]
Quote:
+ Notation editor: don't show track/measure settings menu on left-click [t=238093]
+ Notation editor: treat click on measure start area as a click on the first beat of the measure, even if there is a key signature or time signature change
Should I consider these feature enhancements done as they are?
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 07:49 AM   #12
JRTaylorMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.52+dev0324 - March 24 2022
  • # Media item lanes: add actions to play only previous/next lane
Excellent! Thank you!
JRTaylorMusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 08:42 AM   #13
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,497
Default

Something's funny now with the freeze function. Here's a GIF so you can see it:

https://u.pcloud.link/publink/show?c...0wkP5bJ0rgvacX

Please activate "Offset overlapping media items vertically" so you can see the result. You have to:

1) Freeze a track
2) Unlock the item
3) Do any kind of edit on that item
4) Unfreeze the track

I think REAPER is trying to keep the edit but instead it duplicates everything on the track.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 09:29 AM   #14
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,375
Default

Some things definitely get weird if you try to unfreeze a track after unlocking and editing it, but I don't think that's new behavior, is it?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 10:38 AM   #15
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Some things definitely get weird if you try to unfreeze a track after unlocking and editing it, but I don't think that's new behavior, is it?
Yes, it is a new behavior or at least I didn't notice it until recently because I always freeze my tracks and keep the items unlocked to edit things further down the line if the client asks for a revision so I would've noticed it before. Let me track down the version where it started.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 10:47 AM   #16
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,497
Default

I tried different versions but stopped at 6.43 because that's the first version with a universal installer. All versions do that but I can tell you that REAPER didn't do that at all, it just discarded all edits like in fact the prompt says.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 10:51 AM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
I tried different versions but stopped at 6.43 because that's the first version with a universal installer. All versions do that but I can tell you that REAPER didn't do that at all, it just discarded all edits like in fact the prompt says.
It has (for a long time) tried to transform the underlying media for simple edits e.g. moving the item in time, but I guess it probably shouldn't if you've done bigger edits like splits.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 11:54 AM   #18
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
It has (for a long time) tried to transform the underlying media for simple edits e.g. moving the item in time, but I guess it probably shouldn't if you've done bigger edits like splits.
Exactly, maybe I just haven't done that in a long time because I always try to unfreeze the track first to prevent things like this. Anyways, thanks Justin, I think that would be the best solution indeed: discard all edits.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 01:13 PM   #19
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Exactly, maybe I just haven't done that in a long time because I always try to unfreeze the track first to prevent things like this. Anyways, thanks Justin, I think that would be the best solution indeed: discard all edits.
Better yet is to ask the user what they want to do, I think
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 01:31 PM   #20
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

Numbers are not well aligned:

ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 02:51 PM   #21
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

"set as favorite" inside Media explorer doesn't work on my computer.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 02:58 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,375
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
"set as favorite" inside Media explorer doesn't work on my computer.
Seems to work as expected here. Note that only media files (not .RPPs, images, etc) can be favorited.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 03:41 PM   #23
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Better yet is to ask the user what they want to do, I think
Of course!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 05:30 PM   #24
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,455
Default

ISsue reaper652+dev0323_x64-install with but not with reaper652_x64-install.exe:
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2022, 06:12 PM   #25
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,375
Default

OK, got it, fixing, thanks.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.