Old 04-24-2022, 02:07 AM   #1
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,195
Default v6.55 - April 23 2022

v6.55 - April 23 2022
  • + Accessibility: fix toolbar accessibility quirks
  • + Accessibility: improve MSAA get_accFocus behavior for media explorer toolbar and envelope window
  • + ARA: support older versions of Melodyne [t=265683]
  • + Audio Units: fix UI issue with some plug-ins (6.54 regression) [p=2549829]
  • + DDP: allow enabling dither when rendering [t=265581]
  • + DDP: improve help text [t=244730]
  • + FX: add oversampling indicator to floating FX windows
  • + FX: clarify labels of oversampling settings [t=265642]
  • + FX: option to hide FX chain window until FX are added (6.54 addition) is ignored if the Add-FX window is already visible [t=265693]
  • + Media items: allow copying, selecting locked items (6.54 regression)
  • + Metadata: list only WAVEEXT metadata tags under common scheme / channel configuration [p=2549344]
  • + Razor edits: fix moving envelope areas across tracks that do not contain a matching FX parameter or send envelope [t=265671]
  • + Recording: fix MIDI overdub recording potentially being affected by the next recording pass [t=252884]
  • + Render: support HTML render statistics chart without internet connection
  • + Render: automatically resize render statistics chart to fit browser window
  • + Render: display LRA range in HTML render statistics chart
  • + Render: display rectified peaks for reference in HTML render statistics chart
  • + Render: graph maximum rather than average loudness per pixel in HTML render statistics chart
  • + Render: rename render window "stats" button to "stats/charts"
  • + Theme: fix TCP/MCP text colors for classic themes [t=265636]
  • + Undo: fix undo points when adding tracks via new (in 6.54) drag-to-top-of-track option [p=2550309]
  • + Undo: fix undo points generated by actions that move media items to/from hidden tracks [p=2550492]
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Instagram: @mabian_art - Twitter:: @MabianArt
Music: https://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - https://www.facebook.com/errepici
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2022, 05:15 AM   #2
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,726
Default

Thanks for DDP fixes and enhancements
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2022, 11:00 AM   #3
BethHarmon
Human being with feelings
 
BethHarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: 0x4d2e8b0
Posts: 1,062
Default

The browser render statistics are a thing of beauty. Wow.
BethHarmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2022, 01:42 PM   #4
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,739
Default

Thanks devs! I missed 6.54, got to catch up!
IXix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 09:47 AM   #5
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

I updated from 6.47 and it seems that "Hide buttons when take lane height is less than X pixels" not working in this release? Or have I missed any changes?
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 09:51 AM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kr3eM View Post
I updated from 6.47 and it seems that "Hide buttons when take lane height is less than X pixels" not working in this release? Or have I missed any changes?
Seems to be working as expected here. What specifically is not behaving as you expect?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 09:56 AM   #7
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Seems to be working as expected here. What specifically is not behaving as you expect?

I just realized i didn't mention it is in the context when having "Draw labels above the item rather than within the item"

...I think? I use to have the buttons dissappear when going under 38px and then the name of the item would instead be drawn over the item... now this does not work.

Do I Make any sense?
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 10:06 AM   #8
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

I had a old portable v6.40 on hand and looked there...

In Preferences/Appearance/Media
"Draw labels above the item, rather..."

under it there's an extra option

"Except when the media item height is less than the label height"

...that's not showing in v6.55 ...has that been removed?
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 10:10 AM   #9
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Not quite following, sorry! Here is what I see with "draw labels above the item" enabled (default) and "media item buttons: no fx" enabled (not default, but ensures there are per-take buttons to display). Below a certain height, the per-take buttons are not displayed.

schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 10:16 AM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kr3eM View Post
I had a old portable v6.40 on hand and looked there...

In Preferences/Appearance/Media
"Draw labels above the item, rather..."

under it there's an extra option

"Except when the media item height is less than the label height"

...that's not showing in v6.55 ...has that been removed?

Yes, that additional configuration option was removed. Labels above items are now automatically hidden when the item height is less than the label height, because there were previously combinations of settings that could result in very tiny items with full-sized labels.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 10:26 AM   #11
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Yes, that additional configuration option was removed. Labels above items are now automatically hidden when the item height is less than the label height, because there were previously combinations of settings that could result in very tiny items with full-sized labels.
Okay...so I can't have this behaviour any longer? That is where my minized tracks will show no buttons and write the label in the item while my normal sized+ tracks will show the buttons and the label above the item?

I made the arrows after reading your last post...but still...I already made them so...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ItemLabel_640_.jpg (134.9 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg ItemLabel_655_.jpg (118.9 KB, 39 views)
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 10:38 AM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Ah, I see. Our goal in reducing the number of options was to avoid situations where the settings could interact in undesirable ways, but it might be possible for us to restore that behavior as automatic, if the item is too small to show labels above the item but the take is tall enough to display labels within the item.

.. if we did enable that behavior, it would be easy to have combinations of settings where the display is changing frequently as the item changes height, like this, which is maybe not ideal but maybe ok?


Last edited by schwa; 04-25-2022 at 10:46 AM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 10:54 AM   #13
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Ah, I see. Our goal in reducing the number of options was to avoid situations where the settings could interact in undesirable ways, but it might be possible for us to restore that behavior as automatic, if the item is too small to show labels above the item but the take is tall enough to display labels within the item.
Well I'm not a fan of automatic behaviours in general but what exactly would decide when the item is too small to show labels above? If the answer is "Hide buttons when take height is less than X pixels" would trigger the label to be displayed within item, then I have no objections.
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 11:01 AM   #14
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

The behavior would use the same "hide labels when the media item height is less than Y pixels" setting. If the setting is enabled to draw the label above the item, there is less room to draw the item, so if the item height *would be* less than Y pixels when drawing the label above the item, don't draw the label above the item, in which case there's more room to draw the item, so its height may now be greater than Y pixels, in which case the label can be drawn within the item.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 11:14 AM   #15
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

Edit: didn't see you post....

Well I'll have to get back to you on this one since my brain is totally nonfunctional as I needed to eat like 2 hours ago...because now I can read your answer but my brain doesnt tell me what it all means ..
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 12:35 PM   #16
lorenzo.gavanna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 4
Default Rendering meters shows L and R at the same level

Hi everyone! Thank you for your hard work! I tried with standard and portable version with 6.55 update and I'm facing this graphic issue.
Repaer Version 6.55 (standard and portable)
PC Machine Windows 10 machine (can't check on mac)
no script running
Issue: the meter in the rendering window shows the same level for Left and Right channel even if one of them is completely set to 0 and/or they are different. Sending you screenshots showing the issue that, in any case, is not affecting the final result (mp3 or wav no change).
Thank you again. Since 6.54 everything was showing properly.
Hope it's clear enough.
Attached Images
File Type: png lrissue1.png (77.4 KB, 40 views)
File Type: png lrissue2.png (111.9 KB, 37 views)
File Type: png lrissue3.png (110.6 KB, 33 views)
lorenzo.gavanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 12:38 PM   #17
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lorenzo.gavanna View Post
Hi everyone! Thank you for your hard work! I tried with standard and portable version with 6.55 update and I'm facing this graphic issue.
Repaer Version 6.55 (standard and portable)
PC Machine Windows 10 machine (can't check on mac)
no script running
Issue: the meter in the rendering window shows the same level for Left and Right channel even if one of them is completely set to 0 and/or they are different. Sending you screenshots showing the issue that, in any case, is not affecting the final result (mp3 or wav no change).
Thank you again. Since 6.54 everything was showing properly.
Hope it's clear enough.
We will be releasing an update to fix this shortly! (Note that only the meters themselves are affected, not the rendered file itself)
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 12:39 PM   #18
lorenzo.gavanna
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
We will be releasing an update to fix this shortly! (Note that only the meters themselves are affected, not the rendered file itself)
Yes excactly as I wrote the problem is only graphic!! Thank you again!!!
lorenzo.gavanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2022, 02:33 PM   #19
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The behavior would use the same "hide labels when the media item height is less than Y pixels" setting. If the setting is enabled to draw the label above the item, there is less room to draw the item, so if the item height *would be* less than Y pixels when drawing the label above the item, don't draw the label above the item, in which case there's more room to draw the item, so its height may now be greater than Y pixels, in which case the label can be drawn within the item.
So after some food and ritalin refill brain says that should work for me...brain been wrong before but brain says trust sock puppets as brain is right as rain soooo....looking forward to it.
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2022, 12:14 PM   #20
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 6,910
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BethHarmon View Post
The browser render statistics are a thing of beauty. Wow.
Truly!
Thanks, devs.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 01:56 PM   #21
Ligero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Hi (first post)

Until 6.53 I saw media items (and its waveforms) spreading over the entire space of a minimized track, but from 6.54 onwards they slimmed down to the point of being indistinguishable from each other. Excuse me if it's something obvious, but I have read the .54, .55 and .56 posts and I couldn't find and answer.

Thank you very much.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 653.jpg (27.8 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg 655.jpg (30.4 KB, 43 views)
Ligero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 02:07 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

I think you have something very small set for preferences/appearance/media/hide labels when the media item height is less than [] pixels. The default is 28.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 02:47 PM   #23
Ligero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I think you have something very small set for preferences/appearance/media/hide labels when the media item height is less than [] pixels. The default is 28.
Hi, preferences are, as far as I can see, the same in all versions; at least I haven't changed anything, at all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 653 media.jpg (84.8 KB, 34 views)
File Type: jpg 656 media.jpg (84.4 KB, 33 views)
Ligero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2022, 03:23 PM   #24
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ligero View Post
Hi, preferences are, as far as I can see, the same in all versions; at least I haven't changed anything, at all.
This maybe has something to do with interaction with FIPM which it looks like you are using. Could you possibly trim a project down to just one track that demonstrates the behavior and share the .rpp? (no need to attach media or anything else.)
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2022, 12:07 PM   #25
Ligero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
This maybe has something to do with interaction with FIPM which it looks like you are using. Could you possibly trim a project down to just one track that demonstrates the behavior and share the .rpp? (no need to attach media or anything else.)
Hi, I made two one-track projects, one with 6.53 and one with 6.56. Regardless of which version they were created with, the two projects are displayed correctly (for me) in 6.53 and incorrectly in 6.56.

Hope that helps, thank you.
Attached Files
File Type: rpp test 6-53.rpp (6.6 KB, 22 views)
File Type: rpp test 6-56.rpp (5.5 KB, 13 views)
Ligero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2022, 12:58 PM   #26
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 13,390
Default

Ah, thanks. This was never really handled consistently, but we should be able to improve it!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2022, 02:17 PM   #27
Ligero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Ah, thanks. This was never really handled consistently, but we should be able to improve it!
Oh no, thanks to you. As I'm accustomed to the old view I'll stay for now in 6.53 for practical reasons, but Reaper is indeed wonderful.
Ligero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.