Old 07-18-2022, 11:05 AM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,971
Default v6.64+dev0718 - July 18 2022

v6.64+dev0718 - July 18 2022
  • * Includes feature branch: track media/razor edit grouping
  • * Includes feature branch: pan law/function improvements
  • * Includes feature branch: improve experimental silent-track CPU reduction option to include FX tail length
  • * Includes feature branch: media item fixed lanes
  • * Includes feature branch: internal pin management overhaul for future extension
  • + Actions: deselect unaffected items when running action to split items [p=2578578]
  • + Automation items: fix behavior of action to split items without changing selection
  • + Grouping: various razor edit behaviors apply to hidden grouped tracks
  • + Project bay: add FX menu item to toggle auto bypass
  • # Pan: rename sin/cos taper to sine taper (just as descriptive and a little less odd sounding)
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 11:13 AM   #2
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,189
Default

Quote:
v6.64+dev0718 - July 18 2022
  • + Actions: deselect unaffected items when running action to split items [p=2578578]
It's great, thank you.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 11:26 AM   #3
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Schwa, if your wife did not tell you today I will... I love you!
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 11:41 AM   #4
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Maybe just a bit of tweak here:


Even the right items are in the group some are left unselected (just highlighted) unable to modify them

EDIT: One more scenario


It IS in group just not selected but highlighted

Maybe just select right side of the split as new leader ? (do not know how its working under the hood)

Last edited by Sexan; 07-18-2022 at 12:15 PM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 12:27 PM   #5
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Hidden tracks editing work great now! And thank you for toggle all groups on/off visual fix
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 12:35 PM   #6
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Split razor (shift + S) and then delete or cut leaves little tails:


EDIT: If you select that region again after split and then delete/cut it fine. So just if you immediately delete/cut after splitting this happens
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 01:04 PM   #7
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Not sure how to present this but something cursed is happening when some tracks have envelope and you move stuff:

This is recorded in 60fps, but the actual thing flickers like crazy (you cannot even see whats happening from the flickering).

It only happens if tracks are grouped. If all groups are off then no flickering at all (normal movement)

Envelope data is only on track 1 and 4

Grouping setup (3 groups all set as leader):


EDIT: Minimal project for reproduction attached

Select item on track 3 and move it down
Attached Files
File Type: rpp minimal_4_schwa.rpp (7.5 KB, 43 views)

Last edited by Sexan; 07-18-2022 at 01:14 PM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2022, 11:29 PM   #8
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,516
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
[*]+ Project bay: add FX menu item to toggle auto bypass
Thanks so much!
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 Pro 64-bit, Reaper 6(x64), AMD 3950x, Aorus X570 Master, 64GB DDR4 3600, PowerColor Red Devil 5700XT, EVO 970 2TB, 10TB HD, Define R6
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 02:07 AM   #9
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

found this by accident:

"Item: Crossfade items within time selection" on envelopes
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 02:17 AM   #10
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default



EDIT: Selections are "wrong" when lane numbers mismatch between tracks, there are many scenarios (don't wanna post every)

(Its transferring lanes coordinates rather than calculating new ones)

Last edited by Sexan; 07-19-2022 at 02:37 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 02:26 AM   #11
AZpercussion
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 661
Default

+ Actions: deselect unaffected items when running action to split items

Agreed with Sexan that selection should stay accordingly action name.

I wrote in one of previous dev threads:
If action split and select right, then items ended left of split point should be deselected.
If action split and select left, then items started right of split point should be deselected.

Such items could be concidered as forgotten after previous actions.
But not all unaffected items.
It's apparently more common use case. And it's closer to the current behavior existed for years.


Also I found some bugs:

1. Regular grouping breaks auto grouping.



2. There is some randomness in regular grouped items while I select them by mouse.

__________________
My smart contextual split script: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=259751
AZpercussion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 04:16 AM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 14,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Not sure how to present this but something cursed is happening when some tracks have envelope and you move stuff:
This is caused by preferences/editing behavior/envelope display/automatically show affected envelopes when moving media items across tracks, and is actually not a new bug, but we will try to fix it.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 04:35 AM   #13
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
This is caused by preferences/editing behavior/envelope display/automatically show affected envelopes when moving media items across tracks, and is actually not a new bug, but we will try to fix it.
Hm... never seen it before in any reaper version (flicker) and I move things with automation all the time.
Maybe it just more pronounced with groups...

BTW its a bit weird it only happens when you move item on specific track. In project I've attached it only happens when you move item on track 3, but if you move item on track 1 or 2 everything is normal (also if grouping is disabled its also normal)
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 05:04 AM   #14
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 14,012
Default

If you open the same project in any other version of REAPER (going back to when that preference was introduced) the behavior will be the same if you do the same edit (manually selecting the items). The issue occurs when the track under the mouse changes because the envelope is auto-displayed.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2022, 06:48 AM   #15
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 3,372
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
...the behavior will be the same if you do the same edit (manually selecting the items). The issue occurs when the track under the mouse changes because the envelope is auto-displayed.
Oh yeah! Sorry never been in this situation before so I never encountered it
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2022, 05:00 AM   #16
PitchSlap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 3,516
Default

+ Project bay: add FX menu item to toggle auto bypass

When a plugin is grouped as "multiple instances", when right-clicking to show the individual tracks it would be nice to be able to right-click on the track names to set auto-bypass per-track.

If a plugin is on 10 tracks and they are grouped in the project bay someone may not want to turn auto-bypass on for all. With this implemented it would be easy to either turn on for all grouped instances and then unselect for specific tracks or vice-versa.
__________________
FRs: v5 Media Explorer Requests, Global Quantization, Session View
Win10 Pro 64-bit, Reaper 6(x64), AMD 3950x, Aorus X570 Master, 64GB DDR4 3600, PowerColor Red Devil 5700XT, EVO 970 2TB, 10TB HD, Define R6
PitchSlap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.