Old 12-24-2022, 08:02 AM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,338
Default v6.73 - December 24 2022

v6.73 - December 24 2022
  • + Actions window: fix synonym search matching at end of string (e.g. colour$)
  • + Actions window: searching matches various accented characters against their non-accented equivalents [t=272828]
  • + Actions window: refresh after script or plug-in action added
  • + Audio devices: fix input/output audio channel aliasing when only removing highest I/O [t=273424]
  • + Click source: fix hang on invalid tempo entry [t=271451]
  • + Grouping: fix items on the same track being treated as grouped for edge edits [p=2625098]
  • + Grouping: improve grouped edge editing behaviors [t=273993]
  • + Grouping: improve some corner case behaviors when track media/razor edit groups are used in addition to automatically grouping selected tracks
  • + Grouping: respect FIPM position when applying track edit grouping to edge edits [p=2625897]
  • + IDEs: improve international keyboard support on Windows
  • + Linux: fix support for {} and other keys in various text fields [t=273412]
  • + macOS: fix support for {} and other keys in various text fields
  • + Master VU: fix setting red threshold dB [t=270710]
  • + Media explorer: avoid temporary freeze when accidentally doing a tiny drag from file list or playback preview area
  • + Media explorer: faster searching of exact words
  • + Media explorer: searching matches various accented characters against their non-accented equivalents
  • + Media items: improve display performance when media items have many take markers outside the visible bounds of the item [t=273948]
  • + Peak building: fix 6.72 regression where peaks would fail to complete building for some media [t=273919]
  • + Razor edits: fix deleting areas on master track envelopes with ripple-all-tracks enabled [p=2625216]
  • + Razor edits: fix grouped preview on FIPM tracks
  • + Razor edits: fix pasting envelope areas to master track
  • + ReaControlMIDI: label "GP Slider 1" as "CC 16+48 (GP 1)", etc [t=274048]
  • + ReaScript: add MEDIA_EDIT_LEAD/MEDIA_EDIT_FOLLOW to documentation for GetSetTrackGroupMembership, etc
  • + ReaScript: improve gfx.getchar() international keyboard support
  • + Render: improve speed of writing outfile.render_stats.html when rendering many regions at once [t=273917]
  • + Routing: improve display of parent send channel dropdowns
  • + Split items: when creating fade-in/fade-out, limit generated fade length to 25% of arrange view width

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode

Last edited by Dstruct; 12-24-2022 at 09:54 AM.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 08:06 AM   #2
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
+ Routing: improve display of parent send channel dropdowns
Why parent track number and name were removed?
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 01:02 PM   #3
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
v6.73 - December 24 2022[*]+ ReaScript: improve gfx.getchar() international keyboard support[/list]
Works great for € but the @-symbol still returns two values with german keyboard. AltGr+Q is the keyboard-combination...

Edit:
AltGr+2 for ²
AltGr+3 for ³
AltGr++ for ~
AltGr+| for |
AltGr+M for µ
AltGr+\ for \
AltGr+7 for {
AltGr+8 for [
AltGr+9 for ]
AltGr+0 for }

have the same issues. But it looks like you found the right path for fixing these.
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...

Last edited by Meo-Ada Mespotine; 12-24-2022 at 01:33 PM.
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 03:57 PM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Why parent track number and name were removed?
To make it clear:

vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 05:22 PM   #5
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,675
Default

There was a post about it recently, but can't find it now. Anyway, your 6.72 picture shows the problem it had, text not showing fully, so it's just confusing. Here in 6.72 I saw only Parent send (track Parent channels:. In 6.73 I see Parent send channels from/to: just like in your example pic, which at least to me is clearer.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 05:45 PM   #6
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,113
Default

But I think, that seeing the Parent track number (at least) or better also its name is quite important if the folder depth is deeper and not just simple use case where the one child track is sending to one folder tracks which is directly above so it is easy to keep track - that is not case in large project with lot of track in deep folder sructure.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 05:50 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
Works great for € but the @-symbol still returns two values with german keyboard. AltGr+Q is the keyboard-combination...

Edit:
AltGr+2 for ²
AltGr+3 for ³
AltGr++ for ~
AltGr+| for |
AltGr+M for µ
AltGr+\ for \
AltGr+7 for {
AltGr+8 for [
AltGr+9 for ]
AltGr+0 for }

have the same issues. But it looks like you found the right path for fixing these.
(edit: fixing!)

Last edited by Justin; 12-24-2022 at 06:15 PM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 05:53 PM   #8
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
But I think, that seeing the Parent track number (at least) or better also its name is quite important if the folder depth is deeper and not just simple use case where the one child track is sending to one folder tracks which is directly above so it is easy to keep track - that is not case in large project with lot of track in deep folder sructure.
Of course, but the earlier partial text made no sense, so had no real value in there. That whole part would need a redesign if people really want to always see who is the parent.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 06:04 PM   #9
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,113
Default

^^^^ It seems that the "track number" was presented clearly and visibly though, wasn't it?
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2022, 06:14 PM   #10
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,675
Default

In Vitalkers image track 1 something apparently. Like I said, in my PC the whole line read Parent send (track Parent channels:
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2022, 01:54 AM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 15,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
(edit: fixing!)
Seemingly this not only affects gfx.getchar().

When I last checked there also were issues with standard keyboard GUI shortcuts for actions when using the German keyboard layout.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2022, 02:31 AM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
There was a post about it recently, but can't find it now. Anyway, your 6.72 picture shows the problem it had, text not showing fully, so it's just confusing. Here in 6.72 I saw only Parent send (track Parent channels:. In 6.73 I see Parent send channels from/to: just like in your example pic, which at least to me is clearer.
Yeah, but why it was removed? It could be solved another way. For example, like this:


vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2022, 02:35 AM   #13
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,338
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
^^^^ It seems that the "track number" was presented clearly and visibly though, wasn't it?
No, for some versions it was truncated: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=272647

It started when this window have been redesigned to have two boxes instead of one.

Actually I think parent track number and name could be shown in the title like:
Routing for track 2 "Track 2 name", Parent track 1 "Parent track naame"


Last edited by vitalker; 12-25-2022 at 02:43 AM.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2022, 12:51 PM   #14
brtkstn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2022
Posts: 17
Default

I fully agree with you guys - we need to know which track is a parent one (with name and number). I think that Vitalker has a good idea of redesign that routing window.
brtkstn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2022, 04:55 PM   #15
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,661
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Seemingly this not only affects gfx.getchar().

When I last checked there also were issues with standard keyboard GUI shortcuts for actions when using the German keyboard layout.

-Michael
You mean some of the keys in the num-block?
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2022, 07:32 PM   #16
fmL
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Yeah, but why it was removed? It could be solved another way. For example, like this:


yes agreed. +1
__________________
❑❑❑
fmL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2022, 12:10 AM   #17
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 15,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
You mean some of the keys in the num-block?
No, standard assignments of keys with prints of > < , ; , : - _ # ' + + ~ apostrophs, ...
(did not check them individually right now)
BTW.: I do not use a translation in Reaper but the standard English GUI

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2023, 03:31 PM   #18
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
No, standard assignments of keys with prints of > < , ; , : - _ # ' + + ~ apostrophs, ...
(did not check them individually right now)
BTW.: I do not use a translation in Reaper but the standard English GUI

-Michael
If you manually re-bind them do they work?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 05:32 AM   #19
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 15,066
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
If you manually re-bind them do they work?
I just tried [~] (Tilda), which by default is Menu->View->Zoom->Toggle track zoom to maximum Height.

The menu of course does work as expected. #
Tilda is the key-combination [AltGr] (= right of [spacebar]) and [*+~] ( = upper left of [Return]) on the German keyboard.

When I do [~] in Reaper, I get a error chime.


Now trying to reassign the action:

Toggle track to maximum Height is Command ID 40113
A visible Tilda character appears in the shortcut Window when I) select it.
I can delete it
I can assign [ctrl][shift][B]
This works.

I assign [AltGr][~}
It shows "Ctrl+Alt++"
It works !


Obviously the default keymap does not correcly respect oddities of the German keymap.


Hey I can easily fix such issues myself



Trying "Toggle track zoom to minimum Height"
Originally a "back quote" which on the German keyboard is not available as a single "Character" but is done as [shift][`'] followed by a [space].

More funny behavior:

[shift][`'] results in a error chime.
ignoring that and hitting space in fact does the correct action.



[!] does work as expected


[@] (Minimize all tracks) results in an error chime
[@] is [AltGr][Q@]
can be fixed in the same way as Tilda to be "Ctrl+Alt+Q"


square brackets can also be fixed by redefining to Ctrl+Alt+8 and Ctrl+Alt+9
curly brackets by redefining to Ctrl+Alt+7 and Ctrl+Alt+0


Did not detect more right now...



-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 01-05-2023 at 05:58 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.