Old 01-11-2023, 11:27 AM   #1
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 379
Default v6.73+dev0111a - January 11 2023

v6.73+dev0111a - January 11 2023
  • * Includes feature branch: fixed lane comping
  • * Includes feature branch: shortcut import/export improvements and multiple main keyboard sections
  • * Includes feature branch: improve samplerate change behavior when loading projects
  • * Includes feature branch: VST3 re-map of parameter IDs due to restartComponent
  • * Includes feature branch: AU parameter list change notification support
  • * Includes feature branch: MIDI editor screenset improvements
  • * Includes feature branch: routing matrix/track wiring input activity indicators
  • * Includes feature branch: preview item selection for grouped tracks
  • * Includes feature branch: VST3 per-channel silence reporting compatibility option
  • * Includes feature branch: better .RfxChain media explorer and clipboard integration
  • * Includes feature branch: ReaReaRea timestretch mode
  • * Includes feature branch: GR metering as embedded UI for third-party VSTs
  • * Includes feature branch: JSFX new features and EEL2 preprocessor
  • * Includes feature branch: render dialog statistics display improvements
  • * Includes feature branch: media item fixed lanes
  • + Media explorer: fix action to open file in explorer with certain paths [t=274502]
  • + Media item lanes: display lane names in a resizable area near the TCP lane buttons
  • + Media item lanes: support reordering fixed lanes by dragging lane buttons up/down
  • + Media items: always account for media item label drawn above item when calculating vertical offset for overlapping items [?t=272679]
  • # Media item lanes: fix behavior when editing comp areas quickly [p=2633886]
  • # Media item lanes: revert support for active lane name edit control in TCP
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 11:44 AM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,211
Default

Love the naming and ability to expand the area (grab to the left guys)

Good stuff!

Found a bug with grouped track editing.

If both tracks are leader and follower (and have say two lanes both with 5 equal length full items on them) and you then comp into a new empty lane. If you create say a two bar comp area on one of the tracks. That track will create a two bar item on the comp lane but the other linked track only creates a one bar item (even though the comp area shows correct).

Actually no matter how big you make the comp area it's always one bar when the grid is on and it's much smaller with the grid off.

I can do a video if it's not easily reproducible?
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.

Last edited by musicbynumbers; 01-11-2023 at 12:03 PM.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 12:06 PM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,825
Default

I think it is in pre-release


but something have change with Alt key,


I cant type
Code:
~
ALT+2 with my french keyboard in the IDE. It just do a Windows (v10 x64) error sound.


Thanks!
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 12:35 PM   #4
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

[*]+ Media item lanes: support reordering fixed lanes by dragging lane buttons up/down

Great!

[*]# Media item lanes: fix behavior when editing comp areas quickly [p=2633886]

Fixed, thanks!
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 12:47 PM   #5
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Love the naming and ability to expand the area (grab to the left guys)
Yeah that's very nice and I was thinking there could be placed a few buttons maybe in the future? Like comp/edit, +/- to delete or add, Rec, etc..

Also i think the indication is not very nice when we drag a lane, maybe better if the empty area of a lane could change color as we drag it. And since lanes have no line to look separated, i would like to have a small horizontal line bellow each number as an indication, especially helpful with many lanes.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 01:04 PM   #6
benmiller
Human being with feelings
 
benmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 324
Default

bug:
On Media Edit grouped track. Reordering the lanes on a track effectively reorders the lanes in the gouped tracks but not the names and not the "yello comp indicator" dosen't move along in in the grouped tracks
benmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 01:08 PM   #7
benmiller
Human being with feelings
 
benmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 324
Default

very nice that the lane names are visible and that they are grouped across grouped tracks. But the lane number disappeard. I that intentional? I find it still nice to have a numbering, especially when the lanes aren't named, and sometimes you might not want to bother renaming.
benmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 01:09 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
I think it is in pre-release


but something have change with Alt key,


I cant type
Code:
~
ALT+2 with my french keyboard in the IDE. It just do a Windows (v10 x64) error sound.


Thanks!
For other apps to write ~ you need to do altgr+2 followed by a space, right? That's how it should be in the IDE now, too.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 01:30 PM   #9
benmiller
Human being with feelings
 
benmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 324
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
A bug? See pic

Windows 7/64
what's the bug? that all lanes are playing? that's a feature, right clic on the yellow lane buttons to decide which one is playing or not.
benmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 01:48 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
A bug? See pic

Windows 7/64
We removed the lane numbers because it's confusing now that you can reorder lanes. You can name them though, double-click anywhere around the button.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 01:58 PM   #11
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,825
Default

Quote:
For other apps to write ~ you need to do altgr+2 followed by a space, right? That's how it should be in the IDE now, too.
Weird I just retested (again) on this pre and it seems to works as expected. Maybe I add a focus issue... not sure.



For infos, various characters works to insert a single ~ (but not the letter which can have it on top loke ã or ñ).

ALTGR+2+2 insert ~~
All this seems working now.


False alert!


Anyway, I learned something on the way, as you just teach me that ALTGR+2+space insert a single ~, and that I can do ALTGR+2+= to do the Lua operator ~=... if you know many times I use ALTGR+2+2 to insert ~~ and then backspace... 👀
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 02:03 PM   #12
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 536
Default

@schwa. Thanks for the clarification.
It was a scare after installation.
__________________
Together we're more!! - Reaper+SWS [pt-BR] - Windows/Mac/Linux Downloads here
Donate, if you wish

Last edited by Edison; 01-11-2023 at 02:46 PM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 02:45 PM   #13
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse in Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,991
Default

Belter of an update chaps. I wonder if it might save space/be tidier to center the button under the lane name, but no bother. Could be tricky in lane vertical stretches perhaps.

__________________
www.sachetsofrelish.com

Last edited by bolgwrad; 01-11-2023 at 02:50 PM. Reason: .jpg, under
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 02:56 PM   #14
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post

Anyway, I learned something on the way, as you just teach me that ALTGR+2+space insert a single ~, and that I can do ALTGR+2+= to do the Lua operator ~=... if you know many times I use ALTGR+2+2 to insert ~~ and then backspace... 👀
Me too! But I am using ` key for that.
~
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 03:59 PM   #15
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 234
Default

multitrack comping is broken

IrishRover79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 04:08 PM   #16
IrishRover79
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Hampshire, England
Posts: 234
Default

multitrack comping - issue with reordering lanes and lane names

IrishRover79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 05:31 PM   #17
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,975
Default

The gray vertical line can lose sync with the lane order change
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 05:56 PM   #18
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,171
Default

I'm trying to assign arrange view / right drag to Create fixed lane comp area but it doesn't work and the context menu for the ruler/arrange are appears on mouse up at the end of the drag.

Happens in dev0111 also
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 06:16 PM   #19
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triode View Post
I'm trying to assign arrange view / right drag to Create fixed lane comp area but it doesn't work and the context menu for the ruler/arrange are appears on mouse up at the end of the drag.
Is comping mode on? First needs to be activated from the lane header menu, right click on a circle and choose comp into.., then the modifier should work.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 06:45 PM   #20
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Is comping mode on? First needs to be activated from the lane header menu, right click on a circle and choose comp into.., then the modifier should work.
Aha yes thanks that works now.

Is comping meant to work with grouped tracks yet? I'm getting this:

__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 06:47 PM   #21
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Triode View Post
Aha yes thanks that works now.

Is comping meant to work with grouped tracks yet?
That's a bug that has now been reported 3 times in this thread
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 06:56 PM   #22
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
That's a bug that has now been reported 3 times in this thread
Together we're a useless but keen mob
Where's Embass?
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 08:50 PM   #23
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur McArthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 744
Default

Left click behaviour feels much better in this pre, thanks Schwa!

Here's a question: should changes in items that have been comped be propagated to the comp lane? E.g: You comp a part of an item, and then change the pitch of the item, should it propagate the change up to the comp automatically?
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2023, 10:56 PM   #24
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 923
Default

Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 02:27 AM   #25
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
[*]# Media item lanes: fix behavior when editing comp areas quickly [p=2633886]

Fixed, thanks!
Unfortunately the bug is still here, I think it's more obvious when the items have different length and it might be also relative to the size of the selection.

Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 02:36 AM   #26
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Is this the expected behavior when comping midi items? Auto-group and change to a random color each time there's a selection above?

Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 02:44 AM   #27
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Couldn't this be "dangerous" to lose an edit?

Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 03:18 AM   #28
pentecost
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 90
Default

some nice, some nits, some unexpected behavior:
  • Mouse behavior for swiping feels very good.
  • Activation of separate lanes/comps is really intuitive and powerful.
  • By convention, Shift+click feels like it should allow for continuous multi-select of buttons by picking start and end. Ctrl+click works as expected for multi-select per button.
  • Idk if it's new or I missed it, but the Alt+mousedown lane solo is a wonderful treat. Honestly though, I found it on accident expecting Alt+click to delete lane. Maybe there's good reason, but this modifier usage doesn't feel very "default Reaper" IMO.
  • Renaming lanes is a great change! Small bug?
    1. Create track template with no items from multi-lane track with custom names.
    2. Insert track from template, then drag and drop an item into a lane, leaving some named lane(s) underneath.
    3. When you go to drag and drop a second item, the initial number of lanes will persist, but any lane names below the first item will be gone. Lane count truncates to last occupied lane after the second item drops.
pentecost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 04:06 AM   #29
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 04:19 AM   #30
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Could the indication of the comping lane change also the color in the circle to stand out better from the rest? Or maybe with a text ("comp")?
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 04:29 AM   #31
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 3,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Anyway, I learned something on the way, as you just teach me that ALTGR+2+space insert a single ~, and that I can do ALTGR+2+= to do the Lua operator ~=... if you know many times I use ALTGR+2+2 to insert ~~ and then backspace... 👀
I got the problem here with v6.73 (not pre), and it doesn't work even if I try to type '=' after I made ALTGR+2 (I only obtain '='). I didn't try with space yet.
__________________
Ma Zique
Mes Partoches
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 04:32 AM   #32
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,897
Default



I was going to ask about how to unlock comp region edges from one another (once they stick to each other, you can't unstick them), but then this happened.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 05:04 AM   #33
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Could the indication of the comping lane change also the color in the circle to stand out better from the rest? Or maybe with a text ("comp")?
It stands out pretty clearly in the default theme! I see you have customized the comp area fill color.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 07:04 AM   #34
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It stands out pretty clearly in the default theme! I see you have customized the comp area fill color.
Right! Now i saw it in default theme config and looks better but i like also how the fill looks in comp areas, could they be separated maybe?

Btw i think it would be nice too to have an option and set how bright are going to be the items in comp areas.
This implementation looked very nice, maybe less bright so the comping lane stands out a bit more. https://imgur.com/a/trTOs7M
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 07:05 AM   #35
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sockmonkey72 View Post


I was going to ask about how to unlock comp region edges from one another (once they stick to each other, you can't unstick them), but then this happened.
OK, watching this 100 times, I think I understand what's going on, which returns me to my first question -- how can I unstick those comp regions, because I didn't want to extend the region I wasn't editing.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2023, 07:20 AM   #36
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Black Forest
Posts: 5,032
Default

I agree, that felt wrong to me from the beginning.It's definitely a great feature, but maybe it should be assigned to a different modifier?

Let's say you have a breathing noise right in between those two parts.
You would try to separate it by getting closer to the edge, and boom, it sticks.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you like or use my scripts, please support the Ukraine: Ukraine Crisis Relief Fund | DirectRelief | Save The Children | Razom
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.