Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2023, 03:53 AM   #41
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeedTheCat View Post
I guess collapsing could also be allowed when multiple lanes are soloed, but switching just wouldn't affect solo state.
If all lanes are soloed how to know in which lane to collapse? I think it works nice as it is now, but maybe it would be nice too if could remember the previous state before collapsing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
You can shift-click or right-click the lane expand button to collapse/expand lanes.
I know but collapsing is something used more often than expanding, previously it felt pretty nice to collapse with a single click without using a modifier for such a basic feature.
Whether using the menu to switch from small to big lanes feels ok and I think we're not going to switch these behaviors that often after being defined.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 03:54 AM   #42
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

We have "turn off comping". Can we have "turn on comping", too to comp to the last selected selected comp lane?
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 03:56 AM   #43
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,435
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
I know but collapsing is something used more often than expanding
Yes
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 03:57 AM   #44
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
Don't know if I'm the only one but I don't wanna use small lanes at all. With just a handful of takes you cannot see anything anyway. So I'd like to have a toggle: "show only one lane - big lanes".
I also don't think I'll use it much. Afaict it's only useful for tracks with multiple soloed lanes where "show only one lane" doesn't work. Otherwise "show only one lane" is always preferable, no?

Maybe if we allowed "show only one lane" on layer tracks (e.g. it would collapse to the last soloed lane), we wouldn't need small lanes at all.
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update UtilityLil ChordboxGridbox/Adaptive gridMX TunerRS5K LinkMIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 03:58 AM   #45
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
We have "turn off comping". Can we have "turn on comping", too to comp to the last selected selected comp lane?
Maybes this helps but you can double click on the lane button or choose comp into this lane.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:00 AM   #46
smandrap
Human being with feelings
 
smandrap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Right here
Posts: 1,086
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
This is intended I think and it's there for a long time. This is because when collapsing we can switch lanes from the arrows and listen one what a time, since it's collapsed. Except if you mean to remember the previous state?
Remembering the previous state would be nice for a start, but I feel this behavior is counterintuitive: if I Play all lanes (for layering) and then I click "show only one lane" why would the layering disappear?

In my opinion collapsing should be a visual thing only. When collapsed we should still be able to select lanes with the arrows, but if multiple lanes are playing and the lanes are collapsed, some sort of visual indicator is needed.

Don't know if I explained myself correctly (bad English sorry), but in the end I'd like to be able to layer stuff, play all lanes, and collapse the lanes to see just one of them.
smandrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:05 AM   #47
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,435
Default

Problem with new collapse behavior is we are forced to used them all the time. If you want to zoom then you need big state but then minimum track size is big, but if you use small then you need to toggle other state to zoom. Unnecessary steps.
Also changing state while in some XY zoom level toggles different zoom level so everything jumps everywhere




pre9 had nicest behavior here

Last edited by Sexan; 08-27-2023 at 04:19 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:08 AM   #48
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FeedTheCat View Post
I also don't think I'll use it much. Afaict it's only useful for tracks with multiple soloed lanes where "show only one lane" doesn't work. Otherwise "show only one lane" is always preferable, no?

Maybe if we allowed "show only one lane" on layer tracks (e.g. it would collapse to the last soloed lane), we wouldn't need small lanes at all.
yes right. When working with layers I don't think that small lanes are helpful. Perhaps we need them cause one lane won't work but I think small lanes isn't ideal for anything. If you stack multiple kick sounds for example, you normally want to work with the whole "package" for copy / paste usage. With small lanes even that is fiddly
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:09 AM   #49
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Maybes this helps but you can double click on the lane button or choose comp into this lane.
yeah sure, I think it's just a better workflow if you could click the same button (or even via action) to toggle between these two states.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:14 AM   #50
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
yes right. When working with layers I don't think that small lanes are helpful. Perhaps we need them cause one lane won't work but I think small lanes isn't ideal for anything. If you stack multiple kick sounds for example, you normally want to work with the whole "package" for copy / paste usage. With small lanes even that is fiddly
I'd love to keep them please, I still find small lanes useful and since it's an option it wouldn't harm anyone right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
yeah sure, I think it's just a better workflow if you could click the same button (or even via action) to toggle between these two states.
This button is a toggle, if you double click it turns comping off, doing the same after it turns comping on.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:16 AM   #51
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
This button is a toggle, if you double click it turns comping off, doing the same after it turns comping on.
good to know thanks Thought that works just via rightclick atm (where "turn comping off" is greyed out instead of showing "turn comping on")
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:18 AM   #52
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
Yes, less horizontal space is very welcome!
When we work on little screens, TCP lenght is very important and if the width of the tcp is too large it can become really annoying.

Leave the choice to users to adjust the size of media item lanes section as they want (and not as you wish by imposing a minimum thickness). They are not morons incapable of doing things well.

You trust them to set the TCP width like they want so why not give them the freedom to adjust the size of media item lanes TCP as they want?!

Many of us are already asking for this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
Don't know if I'm the only one but I don't wanna use small lanes at all. With just a handful of takes you cannot see anything anyway. So I'd like to have a toggle: "show only one lane - big lanes". Nevertheless I like the new position of the button as you can toggle without moving the mouse.
I only use small lanes and I zoom if I want to see them better. When we have lots of tracks (and/or a little screen), if the hight of media item lanes TCP (with media items lanes) is too high it can be very hard to navigate.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:20 AM   #53
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

inconsistency: with edit-grouped tracks, the new triangle changes small/big lanes for all tracks, but shift clicking it just changes one instead of all group tracks to "show only one lane"
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:22 AM   #54
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
good to know thanks Thought that works just via rightclick atm (where "turn comping off" is greyed out instead of showing "turn comping on")
It doesn't work with double click as I mentioned? If so what's your default left click modifier in "Fixed lane header button" context?
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:22 AM   #55
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
Leave the choice to users to adjust the size of media item lanes section as they want (and not as you wish by imposing a minimum thickness). They are not morons incapable of doing things well.
I just meant it's very welcome to save space.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:24 AM   #56
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
I just meant it's very welcome to save space.
Yes I know. I was just supporting your point.
ovnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:25 AM   #57
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
[*]+ Scroll: change preference for 'vertical scroll step' to 'vertical scroll maximum step', because different control devices may scroll at different resolutions/speeds
[*]+ Zoom/scroll: consistently support small control device moves, such as from a trackpad or trackball
I first got excited when I read these but OMG please revert whatever you have done or make it optional as it got way worse! Vertical scroll got way more stepped when zoomed in, even setting a scroll step as low as 10% doesn't help anymore which it did before to some degree. When zoomed out it still scrolls very slowly as before. It seems like you have done the opposite of what was needed and made the steps bigger when zoomed in while keeping them small when zoomed out instead of the other way around making the steps smaller when zoomed in and bigger when zoomed out.

I wish people using non-stepped control devices could have a scroll that looks as high-res as hand scroll. Or maybe an action that allows to map hand scroll to mousewheel/MIDI CC? But if not, at least return it to how it was before.

Is it clear what I am trying to say? Would it help if I provide some screen recordings? I bet you don't have a Macbook or Apple trackpad/mouse to test these behaviors? I'd be very happy to help test this and get it right but it's a bit hard for me to explain what I am seeing and how exactly it should change.

EDIT:

It's also noticable at 10% scroll step size that macOS inertial scrolling (the behavior that is enabled when unchecking the throttle mouse-events checkboxes) isn't supported properly. The scrolling does accelerate but only up to a certain point and then remains at a fixed pace for a few seconds and then decelerates again. It should acellerate more and after reaching the maximum start decelerating in a more linear manner.

Last edited by Phazma; 08-27-2023 at 04:32 AM.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:26 AM   #58
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
It doesn't work with double click as I mentioned? If so what's your default left click modifier in "Fixed lane header button" context?
it does work as you say. As I didn't know before, I did it via context menu. I thought it just would be nice to have the toggle option there, too. Atm you just can turn comping off via context menu. But well, doubleclick is great, so thanks for that hint!
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:29 AM   #59
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Is it clear what I am trying to say? Would it help if I provide some screen recordings? I bet you don't have a Macbook or Apple trackpad/mouse to test these behaviors? I'd be very happy to help test this and get it right but it's a bit hard for me to explain what I am seeing and how exactly it should change.
yes. I wished, the scroll behaviour was just like it is in finder, chrome or anything else.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:30 AM   #60
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
it does work as you say. As I didn't know before, I did it via context menu. I thought it just would be nice to have the toggle option there, too. Atm you just can turn comping off via context menu. But well, doubleclick is great, so thanks for that hint!
Ah ok now I got it, instead of turning comping off from the menu you could use comp into this lane for the same behavior, then toggle only comp into this lane for on/off.
But I think it's faster with double click, cheers
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:32 AM   #61
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
I only use small lanes and I zoom if I want to see them better. When we have lots of tracks (and/or a little screen), if the hight of media item lanes TCP (with media items lanes) is too high it can be very hard to navigate.
As we now thankfully have a two-way setting for folder tracks (which I set to normal - hidden) I'd love to have the same for lanes. I'd love to automatically have each lane at the previous track height so items don't get bigger or smaller in comparison to their "show only one lane" size.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:46 AM   #62
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 2,588
Default

Quote:
Includes feature branch: optionally hide collapsed tracks within a folder
Since this is in developement, a FR: an option to link TCP folder/children visibility with MCP.

And it would be great if the whole height status in the TCP was mirrored in MCP. E.g. the collapsed children would make MCP tracks similarly collapsed, the same with hiding, with normal and small.
bFooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 04:47 AM   #63
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
yes. I wished, the scroll behaviour was just like it is in finder, chrome or anything else.
Exactly. I am trying to explain it, show it, promote it, bring it to the dev's awareness etc. since years, but for some reason this keeps being ignored or not done correctly and I don't get how most macOS apps (not only by Apple) work like this as if it was the most normal thing and Reaper just doesn't. If this was something that required much testing and was so complicated to get right, way less apps would have it.

They implemented one significant improvement though some years ago, which made scrolling at least bearable. If you haven't already, go to Settings > General > Advanced UI/system tweaks and UNCHECK the three "Throttle mouse-events" boxes at the bottom. It's not yet finder-grade scrolling but much better than with those boxes checked.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 05:14 AM   #64
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Could we PLEASE have an improvement or an option with the modifier behavior move items with areas and adjacent area edges?

Could the most bottom items have priority instead of comping empty gaps? Like each time there's an empty gap without items, to pick the most bottom item for comping.
The behavior would be tremendously improved since now it's so difficult to manage this. Here's an idea:



It would be SOOOO useful if empty selections could be filled with the most bottom items...

Last edited by Vagelis; 08-27-2023 at 05:21 AM.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 05:38 AM   #65
souk21
Human being with feelings
 
souk21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Vertical scroll got way more stepped when zoomed in
Strange, I'm using mac+trackpad (with throttle off) and here scrolling over arrange feels similar to before.
On the other hand, scrolling over TCP/scrollbars is smoother with this version; in previous version the steps were huge (100% of track height AFAICT)

So yep, here scrolling over arrange is not worse than before, and scrolling over TCP/scrollbars is better; so for me it's a win

But I agree that the steps are still too big; the feel is not great.
souk21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 05:50 AM   #66
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Also comping the most bottom items with the modifier I mentioned previously, brings solution for comp areas to be restored, since even if it's passing through others to another location it will still be audible:
(Guessing that the adjacent comp area edges should follow the most bottom items)



This solves the biggest issues, we won't have to worry again about breaking comps or comp empty gaps, the whole workflow would be improved a lot! It's still the only thing I'm missing that's not there yet, IMHO.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 06:06 AM   #67
splitting_ears
Human being with feelings
 
splitting_ears's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Saint-Étienne, France
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
v7.0pre12 - August 26 2023
  • + Scroll: change preference for 'vertical scroll step' to 'vertical scroll maximum step', because different control devices may scroll at different resolutions/speeds
  • + Zoom/scroll: consistently support small control device moves, such as from a trackpad or trackball
The "vertical scroll maximum step" parameter doesn't seem to support values <10%. Nice improvement though!
__________________
Cyril
Website
splitting_ears is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 06:14 AM   #68
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
+ Scroll: change preference for 'vertical scroll step' to 'vertical scroll maximum step', because different control devices may scroll at different resolutions/speeds
Hmmm, could "Vertical scroll maximum step" maybe allow numbers over 100%? Then we could script ourselves a solution that adjusts the scroll step based on how many tracks are visible. With a scroll step over 100% it would be possible to make scrolling faster when tracks/lanes are at minimum height.

__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update UtilityLil ChordboxGridbox/Adaptive gridMX TunerRS5K LinkMIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 06:49 AM   #69
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Would be nice if the lane names could be longer than 2 characters.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 07:12 AM   #70
FeedTheCat
Human being with feelings
 
FeedTheCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Berlin
Posts: 2,074
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gass n Klang View Post
Would be nice if the lane names could be longer than 2 characters.
__________________
Featured scripts: REAPER Update UtilityLil ChordboxGridbox/Adaptive gridMX TunerRS5K LinkMIDI Editor Magic Donate💝: PayPal|ko-fi
FeedTheCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 07:15 AM   #71
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

It would be nice too if we could hide lanes and restore them from the header menu. Especially helpful when working with many comp lanes to save space or work with one at a time, or to hide finished edits or comps that we don't want to edit or comp with the rest.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 07:42 AM   #72
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 6,578
Default

Regarding raw-rendering:
How do I get/set the "Write .rsrc.txt sidecar file"-checkbox via API?

It doesn't seem to be part of the renderstring, configvars or reaper.ini...
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper - Donate, if you wish

On vacation for the time being...
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 07:48 AM   #73
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,811
Default

__________________
🙏🏻

Last edited by deeb; 08-27-2023 at 07:57 AM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 08:18 AM   #74
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by souk21 View Post
Strange, I'm using mac+trackpad (with throttle off) and here scrolling over arrange feels similar to before.
On the other hand, scrolling over TCP/scrollbars is smoother with this version; in previous version the steps were huge (100% of track height AFAICT)

So yep, here scrolling over arrange is not worse than before, and scrolling over TCP/scrollbars is better; so for me it's a win

But I agree that the steps are still too big; the feel is not great.
The difference in scrolling the arrange is most visible at a small step size like 10%. Here videos to compare the two at 10% step size:

This version (v7.0pre12): https://vimeo.com/858387608

Previous version (v7.0pre11): https://vimeo.com/858387312

I should mention that I am scrolling with a custom action that includes two 0.5x modifier actions before the actual scrolling action.

As you can see, in pre11 the scrolling looks pretty good already at this specific zoom size (albeit it takes me pretty strong swipes to scroll a not so large distance).
When zooming the tracks smaller than the size in the video, the scrolling gets slower and at minimum size it is painfully slow, making the 10% value unusable.
When zooming the tracks bigger than the size in the video, the scrolling gets more choppy and when increasing the scroll step size to a value higher than 10% it gets worse.

Pre12 doesn't improve and of these negative sides and instead makes the pretty good scrolling that pre11 had with 10% at the track size in my video worse.

The number of pixels that each scroll step scrolls should not increase with the zoom level.
This would allow, for the same amount of physical scrolling, to scroll more tracks when zoomed out and fewer tracks when zoomed in, always keeping the same perceived resolution.
Phazma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 09:04 AM   #75
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
Regarding raw-rendering:
How do I get/set the "Write .rsrc.txt sidecar file"-checkbox via API?

It doesn't seem to be part of the renderstring, configvars or reaper.ini...

hah oops, it's not saved correctly, fixing
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 09:05 AM   #76
nepenthe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 459
Default

+ FX: add menu item to move selected FX to container

Woo! Thanks devs
nepenthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 09:16 AM   #77
souk21
Human being with feelings
 
souk21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 452
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
I should mention that I am scrolling with a custom action that includes two 0.5x modifier actions before the actual scrolling action.
I tried this with pre11 and pre12, and get the same behavior difference.

But I would argue that pre11 behavior is not ideal either:
Scrolling's kinda smooth when you're zoomed in, but it slows down to a crawl when you zoom out.
Pretty annoying trade-off, to be honest.

I think the real issue is:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
The number of pixels that each scroll step scrolls should not increase with the zoom level.
This would allow, for the same amount of physical scrolling, to scroll more tracks when zoomed out and fewer tracks when zoomed in, always keeping the same perceived resolution.
Agreed! When I scroll I think in terms of how many pixels/screen space I want to move; not really in terms of track count or % of track height
souk21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 09:43 AM   #78
Gass n Klang
Human being with feelings
 
Gass n Klang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Cologne
Posts: 1,631
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by souk21 View Post
Scrolling's kinda smooth when you're zoomed in, but it slows down to a crawl when you zoom out.
Pretty annoying trade-off, to be honest.
yep, that's why track size shouldn't matter. There should be some kind of acceleration as it is in every other program. Best would be to just do the same the OS does so scrolling does exactly feel like browsing the web. I think that's the best way to satisfy everybody's expectations.
__________________
https://juliusgass.de
Gass n Klang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 10:04 AM   #79
AZpercussion
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Moscow / Tbilisi
Posts: 903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Could the most bottom items have priority instead of comping empty gaps?
Gaps are necessary for speech comping.
AZpercussion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2023, 10:08 AM   #80
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Vagelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 3,753
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZpercussion View Post
Gaps are necessary for speech comping.
There are so many ways to create gaps now, you can remove areas or use the modifier which moves the items with comp areas that does this, what I'm asking is a lot more useful and important for me than having gaps while re-arranging, explained this so many times extensively and it wouldn't harm any other wokrflow. (Talking about editing sources and not items in the comp lane)
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.