Old 02-09-2024, 05:44 AM   #1
playtimer
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 266
Default v7.10 - February 9 2024

v7.10 - February 9 2024

  • + Accessibility: improve state indicators for routing window mute/polarity/mono/MIDI buttons
  • + API: fix accessing metronome, master track state via projectconfig_var_getoffs/projectconfig_var_addr
  • + API: support get_config_var(__fx_loadstate_ctx) for VST/CLAP use, see C++ header documentation
  • + Automation: add project setting to smooth abrupt changes (square envelope points, sharp edits) on volume/pan/width envelopes
  • + Automation: use new project setting, if enabled, for envelope smoothing for mute envelopes
  • + Automation: improve smoothness when looping automation items with sine or parameteric LFO
  • + CLAP: add per-plugin option to disable offsetting automation by PDC [t=287191]
  • + CLAP: properly restore saved UI size of resizable plug-ins [t=286523]
  • + Configuration export: support saving/restoring Media Explorer metadata caches (including metadata not yet written to media files) [t=287160]
  • + Default 6.0 theme: add retina meter mute/unsolo/dim images [t=286642]
  • + Envelope manager: add dockable envelope manager to complement track/take envelope window
  • + Envelope manager: support editing all selected tracks, selected active takes
  • + Envelope window: redesign window using a listview to list envelopes/parameters/etc
  • + Envelope window: add combobox for filtering active envelopes, last touched FX parameters, etc
  • + Envelope window: filter now supports matching Arm, Visible, Active, UI, Mod, Learn
  • + Envelope window: support setting modulation for take FX
  • + FX browser: when assigning shortcuts and alt-main section enabled, use alt-main section [t=288018]
  • + Lanes: action to duplicate items to new lane does not set new lane playing [p=2754987]
  • + Lanes: add actions to explicitly make all lanes big/small
  • + Lanes: add actions to explicitly show one/all lanes
  • + Lanes: preference to add whole recording when auto-punch recording into a fixed lane track applies regardless of whether comping is enabled
  • + Lanes: preference to allow mouse edits in comping lane to expand media items in source lanes is enabled by default for users who have not previously edited the preference (or related preferences)
  • + Lanes: track setting to record into first available lane does what it says, even if there is an earlier recording below the new recording
  • + Lanes: add option (via Options menu or action) for razor edits on small fixed lane tracks to affect all lanes
  • + macOS: fix Sonoma listview checkbox issue
  • + Media explorer: fix control overlap when window is very small [p=2756979]
  • + Media explorer: fix displaying out-of-tune indicator when pitch detection is enabled
  • + Media explorer: handle active search properly when renaming file [t=286683]
  • + Media explorer: improve tempo display when previewing MIDI
  • + Media explorer: rename copy/paste actions as 'Copy selected files' and 'Paste files' for clarity
  • + Meters: improve mute/unsolo indicators on retina displays with various legacy themes
  • + MIDI: allow uppercase CC in MIDI reset configuration preference [t=258837]
  • + MIDI: display length as both quarter notes and estimated seconds
  • + MIDI: display metadata in source media properties dialog
  • + MIDI: fix inserting multitrack MIDI onto existing tracks
  • + MIDI: improve displayed length of .mid files in Media Explorer
  • + MIDI: in source properties dialog, fix transpose setting being applied as output channel when channel filter is also applied
  • + MIDI: prevent hanging notes when editing channel filter in media source properties dialog
  • + MIDI: fix overlapping notes being corrected during humanization when 'automatically correct overlapping notes' is disabled [t=288033]
  • + Mouse modifiers: fix restoring state after using ripple edit mouse modifier [t=286003]
  • + Pan law: set default for new projects/tracks to hybrid taper [p=2753690]
  • + Parameter modulation windows: add topmost pin for modulation windows
  • + Parameter modulation windows: use modal window preference for initial position
  • + Preferences: remove misleading 'ms' label on default media item fade-in/fade-out
  • + Razor edit: fix deleting tiny media items [t=287852]
  • + ReaScript: add Menu_GetHash(), to determine if a menu/toolbar has been customized, or if the default menu/toolbar changed after the current menu/toolbar was customized
  • + ReaScript: get_config_var_string() can now be used to query project state in addition to global state
  • + ReaScript: improve behavior when removing selection via arrow keys
  • + ReaScript: improve performance of MIDI_GetRecentInputEvent() [p=2745361]
  • + Region manager: support setting tracks to render as mono, stereo, or multichannel [t=271185]
  • + Regions: add actions to set loop points to current, previous, or next region
  • + Render: support displaying loudness chart after calculating track/item/media loudness via dry run render
  • + Render: fix project name display when writing render statistics to file [t=287807]
  • + Snap: add checkbox in snap settings to snap media item edges to source media start/end [t=192498]
  • + Synonyms: improve handling of NOT ( list ) [p=2750549]
  • + Tempo/Time signature marker: when adding or editing time signature, automatically reset metronome pattern if there is a previous time signature change in the project with the same numerator [t=287422]
  • + Tracks: refresh TCP after actions to select or unselect all tracks [t=287651]
  • + VST: default paths on new installs use system environment variables rather than absolute paths
  • + VST: report prefetch state (for anticipative FX and pre-buffering) to FX
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Reaper 6|Cubase 12 Pro|Studio One 6 Pro|UA Apollo/Apollo X/UAD Quad PCie x2|Adam A5x & Adam Sub7|IK iLoud Micro|Faderport 8|Presonus Atom|Nektar Panorama P6|Nektar Aura|Focusrite ISA One|ART Pro VLA II|Townsend Labs Sphere L22|Neumann & Rode mics

Last edited by playtimer; 02-09-2024 at 10:09 AM.
playtimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 08:20 AM   #2
Valle
Human being with feelings
 
Valle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
  • + VST: report prefetch state (for anticipative FX and pre-buffering) to FX
I was SO hoping this had something to do with the Sonible Smart:EQ4 issue ... But no
__________________
Valenzia Vision
Valle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 08:39 AM   #3
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valle View Post
I was SO hoping this had something to do with the Sonible Smart:EQ4 issue ... But no
Yeah, it's constantly crashing reaper on my end too and unusable. Maybe its reaper but I suspect it's Sonible.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 09:01 AM   #4
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 6,010
Default

Is there anything to make a 2k video play fine in reaper (Mac m1) which plays them fine elsewhere?
Tried all the experimental options and using VLC 3.

Head scratcher.
__________________
JS Super8 Looper Template & intro | BCF2000 uber info Thread | Who killed the Lounge?
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 10:46 AM   #5
fakemaxwell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
Is there anything to make a 2k video play fine in reaper (Mac m1) which plays them fine elsewhere?
Tried all the experimental options and using VLC 3.

Head scratcher.
Convert to a noncompressed format like Apple Prores or DNxHD
fakemaxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 11:24 AM   #6
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 6,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fakemaxwell View Post
Convert to a noncompressed format like Apple Prores or DNxHD
Taa.
I did a downrate to 720 to edit then rendered the original source but it would be nice to avoid rerendering steps when it plays no probs outside of reaper.
__________________
JS Super8 Looper Template & intro | BCF2000 uber info Thread | Who killed the Lounge?
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 11:29 AM   #7
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

I just found a critical issue with the new envelope window for tracks. if i click learn for a plugin param the window disappears and I'm unable to do anything in reaper, all mouse and keyboard input make the mac alert sound.

This is Mac Sonoma M1

I tried restarting
doesn't happen in main envelope manager
doesn't happen with other MIDI learn windows

https://youtu.be/EMx5F6UMGFQ
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 11:32 AM   #8
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenK-msx View Post
Is there anything to make a 2k video play fine in reaper (Mac m1) which plays them fine elsewhere?
Tried all the experimental options and using VLC 3.

Head scratcher.
H.264 or HEVC?
Project frame rate matches source video?

I use VLC3 as only decoder option and it works great with 2k and 4k H.264 mp4 and mkv files.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 11:36 AM   #9
dom64
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Posts: 457
Default

Anyone else getting this when running the installer?
* edit: it worked after restarting Windows... never needed to do that before.



Last edited by dom64; 02-09-2024 at 11:42 AM.
dom64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 12:05 PM   #10
Daodan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,178
Default 7.10 trim items razor bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by playtimer View Post
v7.10 - February 9 2024
  • + Razor edit: fix deleting tiny media items [t=287852]
I think this fix broke something:


"Item: Trim items to selected area" now remove previous items.
Daodan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 12:15 PM   #11
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan View Post
/IMG]

"Item: Trim items to selected area" now remove previous items.
Fixing, thanks for the report.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 12:23 PM   #12
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,900
Default




The drawing of the points on the window (which is great feature) feels a bit slow when click and drag
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 12:25 PM   #13
sockmonkey72
Human being with feelings
 
sockmonkey72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Berlin
Posts: 1,957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
I just found a critical issue with the new envelope window for tracks. if i click learn for a plugin param the window disappears and I'm unable to do anything in reaper, all mouse and keyboard input make the mac alert sound.

This is Mac Sonoma M1

I tried restarting
doesn't happen in main envelope manager
doesn't happen with other MIDI learn windows

https://youtu.be/EMx5F6UMGFQ
Confirmed on Ventura 13.6.4 (M2). It looks like a small modal dialog is popping up, immediately being hidden, and blocking the interface.
__________________
ReaPack Repository: right-click and copy index URL
sockmonkey72 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 03:05 PM   #14
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
I just found a critical issue with the new envelope window for tracks. if i click learn for a plugin param the window disappears and I'm unable to do anything in reaper, all mouse and keyboard input make the mac alert sound.

This is Mac Sonoma M1

I tried restarting
doesn't happen in main envelope manager
doesn't happen with other MIDI learn windows

https://youtu.be/EMx5F6UMGFQ

Thanks, fixing! as a workaround disable the auto-closing of the envelope window
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 03:21 PM   #15
BenK-msx
Human being with feelings
 
BenK-msx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Whales, UK
Posts: 6,010
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
H.264 or HEVC?
Project frame rate matches source video?

I use VLC3 as only decoder option and it works great with 2k and 4k H.264 mp4 and mkv files.

Will check the frame rate thing.
It was uhd footage from a new Samsung phone, perhaps with high bitrate.
Won't muddy up this thread further, but seeing you use an m1 is somewhat reassuring.. ta.
__________________
JS Super8 Looper Template & intro | BCF2000 uber info Thread | Who killed the Lounge?
BenK-msx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 03:29 PM   #16
Daodan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Fixing, thanks for the report.
Thanks.
I don't know if this is related to the previous bug, but anyway, here's what's going on
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Razor BUG.rpp (428.9 KB, 19 views)
Daodan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 06:14 PM   #17
Greedy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: A mile high
Posts: 736
Default

Similar issue - the install went fine, but upon reopening Reaper couldn't locate any of my plugins. Restarting my computer seems to have made everything ok. No big deal, but can't recall that has ever happened before. Windows 11


Quote:
Originally Posted by dom64 View Post
Anyone else getting this when running the installer?
* edit: it worked after restarting Windows... never needed to do that before.


Greedy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2024, 06:41 PM   #18
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daodan View Post
Thanks.
I don't know if this is related to the previous bug, but anyway, here's what's going on
Same bug yes. This should be fixed in the 7.11rc1 build which was just posted.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2024, 04:51 AM   #19
jimmydeluxe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Posts: 98
Default

So many great items, but I this:

+ Lanes: track setting to record into first available lane does what it says, even if there is an earlier recording below the new recording

is fantastic
__________________
2022 mac studio M1 Max 32gb ram/Ventura
jimmydeluxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2024, 06:59 AM   #20
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,891
Default

Thanks devs! New envelope management is great!
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2024, 10:06 AM   #21
MartinTL
Human being with feelings
 
MartinTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Location: Norway
Posts: 140
Default

Love the new Envelope manager / window, great improvement! A few comments:

1. Sometimes when I press the «trim»-button on a track to close the Envelope window, it closes and immediately re-opens (seems like a bug).

2. I use «A» to open the Envelope Manager, but I can’t toggle it (open/close) because opening it targets a menu. Could there be a setting til turn this off?

3. When I use the Envelope manager and set it to «selected tracks», could this setting be stored also for when I press the trim-button on a track? If I press the trim-button on a track, it jumps to e.g. «track 1», and it doesn’t change if I select a different track.

Kind regards
Martin
MartinTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2024, 09:28 PM   #22
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

video tutorial of new features

https://youtu.be/_uV7C8M3RGE

__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2024, 04:04 AM   #23
johane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 28
Default

The new envelope window is such an ace development! Just wondering if it can be docked? I can't find an obvious way to do this but maybe I'm missing something?
johane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2024, 04:28 AM   #24
Spookye
Human being with feelings
 
Spookye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Torino, Italia
Posts: 747
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johane View Post
The new envelope window is such an ace development! Just wondering if it can be docked? I can't find an obvious way to do this but maybe I'm missing something?
...watch the video linked by @EpicSound above.....at minute 2.40..
__________________
Cupboard Home Studio YT
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCm8...X1912MA260ELzg

Last edited by Spookye; 02-11-2024 at 04:42 AM.
Spookye is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2024, 11:52 AM   #25
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johane View Post
The new envelope window is such an ace development! Just wondering if it can be docked? I can't find an obvious way to do this but maybe I'm missing something?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spookye View Post
...watch the video linked by @EpicSound above.....at minute 2.40..
Envelope Window no, Envelope Manager yes. At a glance they look the same but the manager is for whole project and shows the currently selected track.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2024, 01:50 PM   #26
johane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spookye View Post
...watch the video linked by @EpicSound above.....at minute 2.40..
Ace, thank you!
johane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2024, 01:51 PM   #27
johane
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
Envelope Window no, Envelope Manager yes. At a glance they look the same but the manager is for whole project and shows the currently selected track.
Double ace! Thanks!
johane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2024, 04:59 AM   #28
parapentep70
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dom64 View Post
Anyone else getting this when running the installer?
* edit: it worked after restarting Windows... never needed to do that before.


Now that you mention:

Yes, this happens to me. And I know it is recent. The reason is that in the last few versions, when I close Reaper for some reason there is a REAPER process still running in the background. I must then kill this process in Windows manager, then (once Reaper is no longer running in the background) I can install the new version.

This started happening to me like 3 or 4 versions ago.

I did not mention anything because I do some unorthodox practices (like leaving open Reaper sessions for days while the mechanical HDDs that contain Kontakt samples are allowed to stop if not used for 1 hour). But it is true the ghost Reaper process after closing never happened before to me with the same configuration. And because the solution is very simple: Kill the process with the task manager.
parapentep70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2024, 08:58 AM   #29
fourdogslong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 486
Default

That new envelope manager is pretty nice, thanks.
fourdogslong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2024, 12:48 PM   #30
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 351
Default

Kind of paranoid that the 7.11 update isn't posted in this forum yet
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2024, 02:45 PM   #31
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hexSPA View Post
Kind of paranoid that the 7.11 update isn't posted in this forum yet
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=288222
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2024, 01:20 PM   #32
hexSPA
Human being with feelings
 
hexSPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Like, SoCal...
Posts: 351
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
There it is! Thank you.
hexSPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.