Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2024, 03:29 PM   #1001
SilverBrin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3
Default A libcurl function was given a bad argument (43):

When syncing or adding reapack repositories I'm getting
" A libcurl function was given a bad argument (43):" errors.

551 errors while resyncing and errors when adding a new repository as well.
SilverBrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2024, 03:47 AM   #1002
Tapio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
If you can't think of any recent changes on your computer or network: try disabling "Verify the authenticity of SSL/TLS certificates" in ReaPack > Manage repositories > Options > Network settings.
No change on my end. This worked. I guess some certificate change on the remote end?
Tapio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2024, 10:30 AM   #1003
eniscakar
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBrin View Post
When syncing or adding reapack repositories I'm getting
" A libcurl function was given a bad argument (43):" errors.

551 errors while resyncing and errors when adding a new repository as well.
same problem any solutions?
eniscakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2024, 11:35 PM   #1004
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,439
Default

coincidence her

debian bookworm 64 , reapack will kill a running REAPER while loading repositories,

took a fresh reaoer, got the reapack, while installing the reaper vanishes.

i little deeper investigation showed that it shoots reaper when loading the xraym repo.
__________________
ds drums tedious REAPER stufflistenLV2Search in Forumwalk
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2024, 11:49 PM   #1005
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
debian bookworm 64 , reapack will kill a running REAPER while loading repositories,
Is ReaPack up-to-date (1.2.4.4 or newer)? If so, please send a backtrace of the moment when it crashed.

Code:
$ gdb -ex run reaper

(gdb) thread apply all backtrace
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 12:09 AM   #1006
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1,439
Default

i made a newly test

a fresh installation that points to an alternative folder (using my beloved -cfgfile option ) run the reapack without any hassle , as usual

same machine running a fresh REAPER in the original folder ~/.config/REAPER with a fresh load an aned reapack...so , bamm , as described

yes , all is up to date (except for me )

i run your gdb ... command not found ..

Got to get this installed First. and i have installed it.

i made my REAPER in ./config empty , deleted all but the licence file and run REAPER.

quit REAPER , and put the reapack...so into the userpluginsfolder.

run reaper with the gdb

gdb -ex run reaper

REAPER starts and shows the reapack selection. all normal.

i entered the 'thread apply all backtrace' in the shell where the gdb run.

in REAPER i kicked the ok button and clicked the browse bitton in reapack and REAPER quits.

and here is the content of the shellwindow with gdb

Code:
$ gdb -ex run reaper
GNU gdb (Debian 13.1-3) 13.1
Copyright (C) 2023 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.
Type "show copying" and "show warranty" for details.
This GDB was configured as "x86_64-linux-gnu".
Type "show configuration" for configuration details.
For bug reporting instructions, please see:
<https://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/bugs/>.
Find the GDB manual and other documentation resources online at:
    <http://www.gnu.org/software/gdb/documentation/>.

For help, type "help".
Type "apropos word" to search for commands related to "word"...
Reading symbols from reaper...
(No debugging symbols found in reaper)
Starting program: /usr/local/bin/reaper 
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libthread_db.so.1".
lv2: /usr/lib/lv2/sfizz.lv2/ http://sfztools.github.io/sfizz - patch specified with unsupported type http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/atom#String
lv2: /usr/lib/lv2/sfizz.lv2/ http://sfztools.github.io/sfizz-multi - patch specified with unsupported type http://lv2plug.in/ns/ext/atom#String
[New Thread 0x7ffff47ff6c0 (LWP 5219)]
[Thread 0x7ffff47ff6c0 (LWP 5219) exited]
[New Thread 0x7ffff47ff6c0 (LWP 5225)]
jack: created client
jack: non-realtime threads
LC_NUMERIC / LANG is set to 'de_DE.UTF-8', overriding LC_NUMERIC environment to POSIX
[New Thread 0x7fffddfff6c0 (LWP 5226)]
[New Thread 0x7fffdae026c0 (LWP 5227)]
jack: activated client
[New Thread 0x7fffda6016c0 (LWP 5231)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd9e006c0 (LWP 5232)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd95ff6c0 (LWP 5233)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd8dfe6c0 (LWP 5234)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd3fff6c0 (LWP 5235)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd37fe6c0 (LWP 5236)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd2ffd6c0 (LWP 5237)]
thread apply all backtrace
[New Thread 0x7fffdcfd86c0 (LWP 5238)]
[New Thread 0x7fffdc7d76c0 (LWP 5239)]
[New Thread 0x7fffdbfd66c0 (LWP 5240)]
[New Thread 0x7fffdb7d56c0 (LWP 5241)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd27fc6c0 (LWP 5242)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd1ffb6c0 (LWP 5243)]
[Thread 0x7fffd27fc6c0 (LWP 5242) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd1ffb6c0 (LWP 5243) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffdb7d56c0 (LWP 5241) exited]
[New Thread 0x7fffdb7d56c0 (LWP 5244)]
[New Thread 0x7fffd1ffb6c0 (LWP 5245)]
[Thread 0x7fffdb7d56c0 (LWP 5244) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd1ffb6c0 (LWP 5245) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffdbfd66c0 (LWP 5240) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffdc7d76c0 (LWP 5239) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffdcfd86c0 (LWP 5238) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd2ffd6c0 (LWP 5237) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd37fe6c0 (LWP 5236) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd3fff6c0 (LWP 5235) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd8dfe6c0 (LWP 5234) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd95ff6c0 (LWP 5233) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffd9e006c0 (LWP 5232) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffda6016c0 (LWP 5231) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffddfff6c0 (LWP 5226) exited]
[Thread 0x7ffff47ff6c0 (LWP 5225) exited]
[Thread 0x7ffff7e7b040 (LWP 5216) exited]
[Thread 0x7fffdae026c0 (LWP 5227) exited]
[New process 5216]

Program terminated with signal SIGKILL, Killed.
The program no longer exists.
(gdb) thread apply all backtrace
(gdb)
weird enough, and more expectaed, the -cfgfile version shoots itself into the haze as well reapack kick the browse button, like the normal version.


and it is may not reapack sensitive..

REAPER goes away when scanning for nex fx too .. no reapack installed , just pure reaper
__________________
ds drums tedious REAPER stufflistenLV2Search in Forumwalk

Last edited by bobobo; 02-24-2024 at 05:16 AM.
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 09:57 AM   #1007
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
Code:
Program terminated with signal SIGKILL, Killed.
[...]
and it is may not reapack sensitive... REAPER goes away when scanning for nex fx too .. no reapack installed , just pure reaper
The great news is SIGKILL is not a crash, the bad news is something ordered the reaper process to immediately stop.

Anything could send it that order (eg. killall -9 reaper), but is there ample available memory prior to the spurious exits (ReaPack's & nex fx)?

It could be Linux's out-of-memory killer stepping in to prevent RAM exhaustion. Or systemd's more aggressive version of it. If that's the case something should be logged when the event happens (journalctl -ef).
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 10:24 AM   #1008
inthevoid
Human being with feelings
 
inthevoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2022
Location: London
Posts: 533
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eniscakar View Post
same problem any solutions?
I had this a while back - restarting my computer / Reaper fixed it.
__________________
ReaPack Scripts
inthevoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 10:35 AM   #1009
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,689
Default

I have some JSFX that access .jsfx-inc files (in different folders) and in some cases text files (in REAPER\Data\DarkStar).

How would I get those into ReaPack, so that the installation is idiot-proof?

Why is a GitHub needed? It looks like quite a bit of work to understand / maintain it. Is that to where all the files are uploaded?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 10:45 AM   #1010
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I have some JSFX that access .jsfx-inc files (in different folders) and in some cases text files (in REAPER\Data\DarkStar).

How would I get those into ReaPack, so that the installation is idiot-proof?




Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Why is a GitHub needed? It looks like quite a bit of work to understand / maintain it. Is that to where all the files are uploaded?
The ReaTeam repositories are hosted on GitHub, so a GitHub account is required to upload to them.

For other repositories GitHub is not needed, it's just really convenient so I guess that's why almost everyone uses it to host their repositories.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 11:38 AM   #1011
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,689
Default

Thank you, I am understanding slowly.

I should have provided an example; so here goes:

The JSFX is: REAPER\Effects\DarkStar\monitors/MIDI_Monitor_DS
It imports 1 library file, from REAPER\Effects\DarkStar/zz_libraries/DS_library.jsfx-inc
and accesses two files in:
REAPER\Effects\DarkStar/zz_libraries/colours_04_DS.png
REAPER\Effects\DarkStar/zz_info_pages/MIDI_monitor_DS_Help.png

From your screenshots, I gather that I upload the JSFX as the package, and the others as hosted files and specify the relative install path for each one. So far, so good?

Let's say I wish to upload another JSX which also uses the DS_library.jsfx-inc and colours_04_DS.png files. How do I reference them when I upload the second FX?

And, finally (for now) it looks like I do not have to go to GitHub myself (other than create the account), but where is the ReaPack repository linked to the GitHub Account (User name, password, and 2FA?)?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 12:22 PM   #1012
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
From your screenshots, I gather that I upload the JSFX as the package, and the others as hosted files and specify the relative install path for each one. So far, so good?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Let's say I wish to upload another JSX which also uses the DS_library.jsfx-inc and colours_04_DS.png files. How do I reference them when I upload the second FX?
It's easier to simply upload a copy of all required files along with each JSFX.

Each package must install its own unique copy of those files so that users may safely install/update/downgrade/etc each one separately.

It doesn't need to be also unique copies on the repository, it's just simpler to keep storage:install 1:1. If you really want to though, you can have multiple packages refer to the same stored filenames. That's OK as long as the install filenames are different.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
I should have provided an example; so here goes:

The JSFX is: REAPER\Effects\DarkStar\monitors/MIDI_Monitor_DS
It imports 1 library file, from REAPER\Effects\DarkStar/zz_libraries/DS_library.jsfx-inc
and accesses two files in:
REAPER\Effects\DarkStar/zz_libraries/colours_04_DS.png
REAPER\Effects\DarkStar/zz_info_pages/MIDI_monitor_DS_Help.png
  • DS_MIDI Monitor.jsfx: main package file with the JSFX code
  • DS_library.jsfx-inc: add as a "Hosted file" with that name in the "Storage filename" field.
  • Same thing for the PNG files. Set the storage filename to eg. "zz_info_pages/MIDI_monitor_DS_Help.png" to have a subdirectory.
That results in the following hierarchy on install:

Code:
ReaTeam JSFX/
└── Monitoring/
    ├── DS_MIDI Monitor/
    │   ├── DS_library.jsfx-inc
    │   ├── zz_info_pages/
    │   │   └── MIDI_monitor_DS_Help.png
    │   └── zz_libraries/
    │       └── colours_04_DS.png
    └── DS_MIDI Monitor.jsfx
If you have files that should go in the Data directory, set that in the "Resource type" field.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
And, finally (for now) it looks like I do not have to go to GitHub myself (other than create the account), but where is the ReaPack repository linked to the GitHub Account (User name, password, and 2FA?)?
Clicking on the "Create pull request" button uses the GitHub API to authenticate you and perform the git operations to ReaTeam/JSFX on your behalf. The first time GitHub shows a page asking whether to allow reapack.com access. There's also the "Login via GitHub" button at the top to do the authentication step earlier.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2024, 06:13 AM   #1013
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 19,689
Default

Got it; thank you for the clear explanation. I am sure that it will help others too.

Given that each package is self-contained I may rethink my use of separate, common, folders for the library code and images.

PS I could not find "Monitoring" in the Category drop-down list. If it helps, my own JS FX here are organised into
Code:
MIDI Controllers
MIDI Editors
MIDI Monitors
MIDI Routers
MIDI Tools
And, how would I remove a package from ReaPack?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 10:32 PM   #1014
Trankonia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 18
Default Does ReaPack work with the current version of Reaper?

I tried to install ReaPack on Windows 10 Reaper 7.14 and placed the download into the described subdirectory, restarted Reaper and nothing happened. I did not get a New menu called Extensions. I checked the Actions list and the menu customizer but saw nothing related to ReaPack.

Please Advise.

Thanks in advance!
Trankonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 10:40 PM   #1015
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Does the bitness match REAPER's? Download reaper_reapack-x64.dll for REAPER 64-bit or reaper_reapack-x86.dll for REAPER 32-bit. (No harm in downloading both: REAPER will load the one that matches.)

The filename must also not be changed: REAPER only loads files in the UserPlugins folder that begin with "reaper_".
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2024, 10:56 PM   #1016
Trankonia
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2024
Posts: 18
Default Solved, Pilot Error Thanks for the quick response

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Does the bitness match REAPER's? Download reaper_reapack-x64.dll for REAPER 64-bit or reaper_reapack-x86.dll for REAPER 32-bit. (No harm in downloading both: REAPER will load the one that matches.)

The filename must also not be changed: REAPER only loads files in the UserPlugins folder that begin with "reaper_".
I think I downloaded the wrong file. I re-installed and it worked fine. Thanks!
Trankonia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 02:27 PM   #1017
luthervanboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Default Struggling to install ReaPack

Trying to install macOS ARM-64bit version to an M3 macbook running Sonoma 14.4.1 but running into:

"reaper_reapack-arm64.dylib" was blocked from use because it is not from an identified developer.

When choosing 'open anyway' I get a pop up stating:

"reaper_reapack-arm64.dylib" can't be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software. This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information.

Any ideas here? Thanks in advance!

Last edited by luthervanboss; 04-16-2024 at 02:39 PM.
luthervanboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 08:15 PM   #1018
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Click on "Allow Anyway" in System Preferences > Security & Privacy after launching REAPER once for ReaPack to load when installed for the first time.

https://youtu.be/Uu7AE98x-AM?t=201
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 03:50 AM   #1019
PunPun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBrin View Post
When syncing or adding reapack repositories I'm getting
" A libcurl function was given a bad argument (43):" errors.

551 errors while resyncing and errors when adding a new repository as well.
Same problem here on Portable REAPER 7.14 on Mac M1. The app name is also changed ("REAPER" to "REAPER_EDIT")
It's working without any issue while using my main Reaper in the Applications folder tho.
Any idea ?

Thanks !
PunPun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 01:30 PM   #1020
wearehappy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 40
Default Easy package creation

Thanks for the fantastic ReaPack!
I was playing with my first ReaPack repo on GitHub and have achieved initial sucess via writing everything by hand.

However, I don't believe this is the right way of developing and maintaining a package. There must be an accelerated package creation procedure with some code-gen tricks for the metadata, correct?

I looked around on the ReaPack website and found the Package Editor page showing me a web form for submitting custom scripts to ReaTeam/Scripts repo.

https://reapack.com/upload/reascript

But this seems to be tied into that specific repo without the capability of generating the index.xml offline.

I expect to use a friendly UI to generate all the boilerplate whenever I CRUD my packages.

Although it's not very difficult to write my own code-gen for that purpose, I guess similar tools must exist now that so many standard packages are out there around the world. So I'd rather learn to use the standard tools.

So my question is: Where are they?

Please help. Thanks a lot!

Last edited by wearehappy; 04-17-2024 at 01:36 PM.
wearehappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 05:59 PM   #1021
wearehappy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wearehappy View Post
Thanks for the fantastic ReaPack!
I was playing with my first ReaPack repo on GitHub and have achieved initial sucess via writing everything by hand.

However, I don't believe this is the right way of developing and maintaining a package. There must be an accelerated package creation procedure with some code-gen tricks for the metadata, correct?

I looked around on the ReaPack website and found the Package Editor page showing me a web form for submitting custom scripts to ReaTeam/Scripts repo.

https://reapack.com/upload/reascript

But this seems to be tied into that specific repo without the capability of generating the index.xml offline.

I expect to use a friendly UI to generate all the boilerplate whenever I CRUD my packages.

Although it's not very difficult to write my own code-gen for that purpose, I guess similar tools must exist now that so many standard packages are out there around the world. So I'd rather learn to use the standard tools.

So my question is: Where are they?

Please help. Thanks a lot!
I think I've found the answer myself:

The code-gen tool:
https://github.com/cfillion/reapack-index

The companion template:
https://github.com/cfillion/reapack-repository-template
wearehappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2024, 02:07 PM   #1022
luthervanboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Click on "Allow Anyway" in System Preferences > Security & Privacy after launching REAPER once for ReaPack to load when installed for the first time.

https://youtu.be/Uu7AE98x-AM?t=201
I click "Allow Anyway" and get the attached popup
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2024-04-30 at 22.06.26.png (189.3 KB, 131 views)
luthervanboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 11:23 AM   #1023
McNumplet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: British Columbia Canada
Posts: 12
Default Not all ReaScript Plugins visable/available

Hi all,

Another issue I have is that although I eventually installed ReaPack etc. and am able to download plugins, not all of them are visible or available.

For instance, I can only see 29 of the Tukan plugins. Why?

Is it because I am still running reaper 6?
McNumplet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2024, 05:40 AM   #1024
fourdogslong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 654
Default

Does reapack update itself when I synchronize packages?
fourdogslong is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2024, 06:44 AM   #1025
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourdogslong View Post
Does reapack update itself when I synchronize packages?
Yes.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2024, 10:05 AM   #1026
fourdogslong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Yes.
Thanks, one less thing to worry about
fourdogslong is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.