Old 03-18-2011, 05:09 PM   #1
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,026
Default Grid Lines and somehow improving visibility

http://screencast.com/t/bphghsH5

Wanted to get some discussion on this. I think there could be a better way to display the Grid lines.
__________________
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 05:23 PM   #2
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Here's how I solved it for myself at least, I'll release this stuff one day maybe but you sort of have to completely switch over to my grid actions and never use the built in grid stuff again, they don't play nicely together so it's not really a great thing to let out for public use...

http://www.adamwathan.com/reaper/r4gridtoolbar2.swf
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:40 PM   #3
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Here's how I solved it for myself at least, I'll release this stuff one day maybe but you sort of have to completely switch over to my grid actions and never use the built in grid stuff again, they don't play nicely together so it's not really a great thing to let out for public use...

http://www.adamwathan.com/reaper/r4gridtoolbar2.swf
These actions need to be native in REAPER 4 period. Way too valuable not to have these, as changing grid values is pretty standard in music creation and editing. What a workflow boost these would give!!

Well done Adam!

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:52 PM   #4
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
... you sort of have to completely switch over to my grid actions and never use the built in grid stuff again, they don't play nicely together so it's not really a great thing to let out for public use..
I'd say get it out there anyways with a disclaimer. Those of us who would use this wouldn't use the built in grid stuff. You gotta feel a wee bit of pain and remorse watching Amberience edit his drums above. Not that I'm trying to make ya feel bad. LOL! Help your fellow REAPER bros out.

That said, Adam's actions need to be native to REAPER 4.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 10:36 PM   #5
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,283
Default

so Adam.. what exactly are you saying about 'they don't play nicely'...

are yours actions that can be added to the action list? and if so, can they later be removed is not wanted? Just how bad is this '...play nicely' situation?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:27 PM   #6
Aeio
Human being with feelings
 
Aeio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 33
Default

Looks great, Adam! Would love to try this out.
Aeio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 11:39 PM   #7
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
it's not really a great thing to let out for public use...

[

in case there are children on this forum, I will refrain from swearing in response to this


link:http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=75688
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 12:13 AM   #8
strinxx
Human being with feelings
 
strinxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 286
Default What???

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
it's not really a great thing to let out for public use...

http://www.adamwathan.com/reaper/r4gridtoolbar2.swf
This IS really really cool!!

strinxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 01:03 AM   #9
Eyes
Human being with feelings
 
Eyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Here's how I solved it for myself at least, I'll release this stuff one day maybe but you sort of have to completely switch over to my grid actions and never use the built in grid stuff again, they don't play nicely together so it's not really a great thing to let out for public use...

http://www.adamwathan.com/reaper/r4gridtoolbar2.swf
Awesome setup mate.

Having dropdowns for display/snap similar to PT would be nice (with a triplet button beside them to save having too many options).
Eyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 02:43 AM   #10
mattfaulkner
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 193
Default

Excellent work on that grid toolbar, WANT!
mattfaulkner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 03:26 AM   #11
rhythmtech
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 497
Default

a grid crosshair ala cubase would be a lovely addition too :-)
__________________
Producer | Engineer
Previous credits include:
BP Fallon, Emma Lou & The Agenda, The Hot Sprockets, Leaders Of Men, Travis Oaks
rhythmtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 04:38 AM   #12
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shan View Post
I'd say get it out there anyways with a disclaimer. Those of us who would use this wouldn't use the built in grid stuff. You gotta feel a wee bit of pain and remorse watching Amberience edit his drums above. Not that I'm trying to make ya feel bad. LOL! Help your fellow REAPER bros out.

That said, Adam's actions need to be native to REAPER 4.

Shane
LOL.

I'd be willing to at least checkout your stuff Adam if you'll share - maybe I can carve it up into my own unique workflow.. ?
__________________
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 05:10 AM   #13
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
so Adam.. what exactly are you saying about 'they don't play nicely'...

are yours actions that can be added to the action list? and if so, can they later be removed is not wanted? Just how bad is this '...play nicely' situation?
It's not too bad but it isn't bulletproof or very clean.

Like if you use my toolbar actions to set the grid to 8th notes, the 8th note button will light up (unlike using the native actions). But now if you open the Snap Settings window and change the grid to whole notes, my button will still stay lit up. It can't communicate with the snap settings dialog, the buttons only interact properly with each other. If you click one of my buttons again after doing that all is well though.

Same deal with the triplet and dotted toggles, their state won't react to changes to the grid that are made anywhere else in the program, but it's easy to reset all of it by going and clicking any of my buttons.

It's just very ugly and hacked together for it to work that way though, despite working perfectly when used on it's own.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 03:10 AM   #14
Bink
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 76
Default Use MIDI for grid?

I hadn't thought about it before, but is there a reason that you couldn't just set up a looped midi track with all of the divisions you need, colored as you need? You could even have a few different takes of the same track with different divisions for different needs. Set it up once and reuse in any/all projects.

Bink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 04:16 AM   #15
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Okay my grid stuff has been added to the SWS source code so it'll be in the next build for you guys to play with.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 08:36 AM   #16
lawrs
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 941
Default

fooking sweet. Thanks Adam.
lawrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:18 PM   #17
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Okay my grid stuff has been added to the SWS source code so it'll be in the next build for you guys to play with.
Good stuff. I'll check it out.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:37 PM   #18
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,280
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Okay my grid stuff has been added to the SWS source code so it'll be in the next build for you guys to play with.
thanks Adam some genuine altruism seems to be coming from you! I might even start believing in it! lol
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:21 PM   #19
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,283
Default thanks Adam

thanks Adam... that don't sound too terrible and since it's such a good concept, who knows, perhaps it will get developed further.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:08 AM   #20
joaobgb
Human being with feelings
 
joaobgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lisboa
Posts: 224
Default

Thanks Adam, great stuff and with the new toolbar icons, just beautiful and pratical.
joaobgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2011, 09:29 AM   #21
Amazed
Human being with feelings
 
Amazed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Perth, W.A.
Posts: 1,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Okay my grid stuff has been added to the SWS source code so it'll be in the next build for you guys to play with.
Nice work. Thanks for that.
Amazed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 09:48 PM   #22
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 3,610
Default

awesome, glad i discovered this! any chance of adding 2 and 4 measures to the list? i use those a lot...

or i guess i should ask sws at this point?

but how come dotted doesn't line up with the grid? the bar lines don't line up with the numbers i mean.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 06-04-2011 at 09:57 PM.
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.