Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 12:16 PM   #1
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,398
Default Localization: i8n-test -- post issues with localizing here

There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:

http://landoleet.org/i8n/


In this thread, please discuss any issues you find when creating a localization, i.e. if you find that setting certain strings do not work, or if you have ideas to speed the process up.

There is a separate thread for posts about bugs in this version of REAPER vs the normal version(s), please post those sort of bugs there and not here.

Notes:
  • At this time only REAPER itself and the MIDI editor are localizable, we will be doing more in the future to improve this.
  • Many of the dialog resources will not have room for longer translations -- we apologize for this and will be improving that in the future, before a general release without any doubt.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:01 PM   #2
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

0MG! R34p3r l33t!

You sirs are so nuts, I love you
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:36 PM   #3
Vincent Sermonne
Human being with feelings
 
Vincent Sermonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marseille France
Posts: 5,054
Default

Great !!!! Thx !!
__________________
Vincent
http://www.tchackpoum.fr
Vincent Sermonne is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:56 PM   #4
SoulOne82
Human being with feelings
 
SoulOne82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illville - Germany
Posts: 796
Default

S*U*P*A*D*U*P*A*F*U*N*K*Y*F*R*E*S*H
__________________
Wood side panels, custom knobs, parts & upgrades for Maschine and the MPC range | Website | Soundcloud
Quote:
Originally Posted by strunkdts View Post
MIDI will outlive humanity.
SoulOne82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
axel_ef
Human being with feelings
 
axel_ef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erfurt
Posts: 596
Default

First I had problems with "German Umlauts", after setting to Unicode UTF-8, no BOM all is ok.
axel_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:32 PM   #6
Juca
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Itajaí - Santa Catarina - Brasil
Posts: 401
Default

From the link:
"Note: to test, grab a langpack file from landoleet."
I not saw any langpack at landoleet. Where I get the langpacks?
Greetins.
Juca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:36 PM   #7
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

I just finished the version for the planet Vulcan and fellow member Mr Data.



But seriously, holy workhorse Batman! That's a task. We're going to need a good strategy and tools to collab with this.

EDIT: Juca, language packs are the *.txt files over there. A the moment there's english, lower case, upper case and leet.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:37 PM   #8
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,459
Default

You guys are crazy - mantaining localizations, especially at the pace on which REAPER is updated, is a huge task! Of course you expect enormous help from the community, or do you now have under control a perfect developer cloning technology?

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:46 PM   #9
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,180
Default

Great !

French is not the more concise language, but we're gonna find out the best translation !
__________________
Listen and download my music on https://benest.bandcamp.com/
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:36 PM   #10
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benf View Post
Great !

French is not the more concise language, but we're gonna find out the best translation !
How many of those seven verb tenses will we be using?

(giggle)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:49 PM   #11
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,369
Default

commendable!!!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 12:25 AM   #12
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 93
Default

My biggest issue with i8n is this one (reported 4 years ago):

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=8122
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 11:26 AM   #13
Feusté
Human being with feelings
 
Feusté's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Colombes,France
Posts: 1,680
Default

Just great news
Feusté is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2011, 01:56 PM   #14
axel_ef
Human being with feelings
 
axel_ef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erfurt
Posts: 596
Default

can this (pink) not be translated?

I have translated it, but it does not work.



axel_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:49 AM   #15
benf
Human being with feelings
 
benf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: France
Posts: 2,180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
How many of those seven verb tenses will we be using?

(giggle)
Don't understand your joke. Can you explain, please ?
__________________
Listen and download my music on https://benest.bandcamp.com/
benf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 01:11 PM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by axel_ef View Post
can this (pink) not be translated?

I have translated it, but it does not work.
Will be fixed for the next i8n build, thanks for pointing it out!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:14 PM   #17
btonebeatz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 3
Default Better GUI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:

http://landoleet.org/i8n/


In this thread, please discuss any issues you find when creating a localization, i.e. if you find that setting certain strings do not work, or if you have ideas to speed the process up.

There is a separate thread for posts about bugs in this version of REAPER vs the normal version(s), please post those sort of bugs there and not here.

Notes:
  • At this time only REAPER itself and the MIDI editor are localizable, we will be doing more in the future to improve this.
  • Many of the dialog resources will not have room for longer translations -- we apologize for this and will be improving that in the future, before a general release without any doubt.
If Reaper had at better Gui for its effect I would really be happy, but for now I am over Protools and all the other pocket emptying DAW's
__________________
btonebeatz
btonebeatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 12:23 AM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by btonebeatz View Post
If Reaper had at better Gui for its effect I would really be happy, but for now I am over Protools and all the other pocket emptying DAW's
Magnificent second post that's totally unrelated to the thread it's posted to.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 03:39 AM   #19
SEA
Human being with feelings
 
SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 2,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:
What exactly is this and how much of a leap forward would this be for the current version of Reaper?

Thanks!
SEA
__________________
JamieSEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 04:53 AM   #20
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,260
Default

SEA - a localized version of Reaper allows translating properties, menus, and whatnot in Reaper, to any language (provided there's a language file for that language). It's not much of a leap, but it will make Reaper multilingual, which is a nice thing, right?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 05:56 PM   #21
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,517
Default

I'm very willing to start the French translation. But before starting, I need assistance (proof-reading and sharing of the workload of the translation itself). Who's in ze Frenchy team?

Last edited by krahosk; 12-10-2011 at 06:03 PM.
krahosk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:50 PM   #22
Raja
Human being with feelings
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:

http://landoleet.org/i8n/


In this thread, please discuss any issues you find when creating a localization, i.e. if you find that setting certain strings do not work, or if you have ideas to speed the process up.

There is a separate thread for posts about bugs in this version of REAPER vs the normal version(s), please post those sort of bugs there and not here.

Notes:
  • At this time only REAPER itself and the MIDI editor are localizable, we will be doing more in the future to improve this.
  • Many of the dialog resources will not have room for longer translations -- we apologize for this and will be improving that in the future, before a general release without any doubt.
what is an i8n???? please explain....
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:28 AM   #23
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
what is an i8n???? please explain....
Probably a "compression" of the more proper "i18n" term.

Look here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interna...d_localization

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:48 AM   #24
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benf View Post
Don't understand your joke. Can you explain, please ?
In french there are seven tenses of verbs. In english three that are in common use.

One of the biggest problems for an english speaker learning most foreign languages.
Well that and we don't randomly assign masculine and feminine gender to inanimate objects....

(et meme si je ne parle pas courrament, j'ai un peu de francais)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:57 AM   #25
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,260
Default

Eheheh, tenses, cases...

Croatian, for example, has seven declination cases (nominative, genitive, dative, accusative, vocative, locative, instrumental). But it also has seven tenses (present, perfect, future I, future II, aorist, imperfect, plusquamperfect), the latter three being rather stylistically marked and even archaic.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 03:51 AM   #26
adXok
Human being with feelings
 
adXok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 921
Default

Thank you, Justin!
I will start to translate it in Bulgarian (my native).
At least I will try.

Great thanks!

P.S. In the present v.4.13 of Reaper I still see the RaePitch - Èlastique - word not rendering properly (it is like: йlastique). Maybe so far Reaper does not support UTF-8... or maybe it has something to do with my Windows Language and Regional Properties set to Non-Unicode programs to match Bulgarian (cause the letter й is a Bulgarian one instead of the french È).

Last edited by adXok; 12-11-2011 at 03:58 AM.
adXok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 05:57 AM   #27
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Eheheh, tenses, cases...
Right. In Finnish we have 15 noun cases and 5 tenses. Real fun can be had with case markings integrated into root words which will also change according to case AND possible postpositions too, instead of having fixed words with prepositions. One reason why many translators fail even with simple Finnish.

Basically this means that most of the Finnish translations will have to be done line by line, quite a job and as far as I see, not quite possible with current i8n arrangement. For what it's worth, I tried to translate the l33t file few days ago just to see how it works, but due to basic language differences, possible string problems, odd marks etc. are almost moot while the basic text itself won't quite translate right.

I gather Hungarian translators will face same issues also.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:18 AM   #28
Raja
Human being with feelings
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Default k

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
Probably a "compression" of the more proper "i18n" term.

Look here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interna...d_localization

- Mario
i read this link, do it means i will get reaper in my mother tongue?? do it supports indian language??? how can i install reaper in indian language?? will you provide me some help bro???
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:22 AM   #29
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,260
Default

First you'll have to translate it to your language.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:27 AM   #30
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
i read this link, do it means i will get reaper in my mother tongue?? do it supports indian language??? how can i install reaper in indian language??
What it means is that once you or somebody else kind enough has translated the language pack file (eg "leet.txt") to one of the Indian languages, it will then be available in that language to everybody else too. So far only available with the experimental Reaper build.

Link to the language pack files and instructions was already on top;
http://landoleet.org/i8n/


edit: promptly beaten by EvilDragon...
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:35 AM   #31
Raja
Human being with feelings
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Default hmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
First you'll have to translate it to your language.
can i change the letters and fonts too???
i just now read that help in development page. can it be translated to Hindi or Tamil like its as shown there???
if i do , will reaper team accept it and release it to rest of indian and Tamil users???
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 07:30 AM   #32
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,999
Default

Wouldn't it be better to point people to "english.txt" as template for translations? "leet.txt" is funny and crazy and all, but a tad inconvenient for the task, I figure .
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 08:18 AM   #33
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 3,872
Default

Maybe so but then again, at least for me it was so much easier to see what I had already translated when using the leet text. This considering that there had to be some English words in the translation also.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 11:58 AM   #34
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Wouldn't it be better to point people to "english.txt" as template for translations? "leet.txt" is funny and crazy and all, but a tad inconvenient for the task, I figure .
..but it's not in English, it's in US English, which is different

Rubs hands together and looks how to change the all if about two words that need changing...



>.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:11 PM   #35
neilerua
Human being with feelings
 
neilerua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dans des inter-mondes paysagers
Posts: 1,476
Default

I've started some translations in french, and the lack of room is THE problem (in the dialog box) . It makes the task very hard and tedious ! Sometimes it's simply impossible in French ... I'm using abbreviations but i'm not satisfied with.

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...8&postcount=46

Is there a workaround to reload the traduction without reopening Reaper at each time ? It will make the things easier...

Thanks for your work! The french users are eager to have a complete french version... but it's a huge labour...
neilerua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 01:44 PM   #36
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,100
Default

I'm also doing it for Spanish and text size is a problem indeed. I guess Cockos will figure something out.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:49 PM   #37
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,100
Default

I found a problem here:



None of those entries with key bindings are working.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 03:49 PM   #38
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Evan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,518
Default

Could there be a way to do the translations in a collaborative process? Something like a wiki but with registered editors only. It's a big task for one person.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:52 PM   #39
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
I'm very willing to start the French translation. But before starting, I need assistance (proof-reading and sharing of the workload of the translation itself). Who's in ze Frenchy team?
Count me in the Frenchy Team, I'm in.
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 08:04 PM   #40
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilerua View Post
I've started some translations in french, and the lack of room is THE problem (in the dialog box) . It makes the task very hard and tedious ! Sometimes it's simply impossible in French ... I'm using abbreviations but i'm not satisfied with.

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...8&postcount=46

Is there a workaround to reload the traduction without reopening Reaper at each time ? It will make the things easier...

Thanks for your work! The french users are eager to have a complete french version... but it's a huge labour...
Bon travail mec! Tres bon debut but I think we need to be careful on using too much long sentences and also there are some typical Technical words/Terms that I find need to stay in english even though we are translating it in french etc.. etc.. because we ALL know these TERMS and are worldwide used & applied in English.

In french we need to really be careful. Sometimes I find (although I speak french, write etc.. fluently) that sometimes DAW translation are a bit messier and when two people get together and you 1 was working in english DAW or the other on a french (same DAW of course), they can get consuded because there are Main Terms that gets translated and loose all their value or meaning.

Just my two cents and maybe a reason WHY I never use my DAW or anything on related to Software in FRENCH.

Count me to revise and to help make this perfect If needed me.
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.