Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 12:16 PM   #1
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,483
Default Localization: i8n-test -- post issues with localizing here

There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:

http://landoleet.org/i8n/


In this thread, please discuss any issues you find when creating a localization, i.e. if you find that setting certain strings do not work, or if you have ideas to speed the process up.

There is a separate thread for posts about bugs in this version of REAPER vs the normal version(s), please post those sort of bugs there and not here.

Notes:
  • At this time only REAPER itself and the MIDI editor are localizable, we will be doing more in the future to improve this.
  • Many of the dialog resources will not have room for longer translations -- we apologize for this and will be improving that in the future, before a general release without any doubt.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:01 PM   #2
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,172
Default

0MG! R34p3r l33t!

You sirs are so nuts, I love you
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:36 PM   #3
Vincent Sermonne
Human being with feelings
 
Vincent Sermonne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Marseille France
Posts: 6,004
Default

Great !!!! Thx !!
__________________
Vincent
ReaperDrummer
http://www.tchackpoum.fr
Vincent Sermonne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 02:56 PM   #4
SoulOne82
Human being with feelings
 
SoulOne82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Illville - Germany
Posts: 940
Default

S*U*P*A*D*U*P*A*F*U*N*K*Y*F*R*E*S*H
SoulOne82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:06 PM   #5
axel_ef
Human being with feelings
 
axel_ef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Erfurt
Posts: 596
Default

First I had problems with "German Umlauts", after setting to Unicode UTF-8, no BOM all is ok.
axel_ef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:32 PM   #6
Juca
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Itajaí - Santa Catarina - Brasil
Posts: 421
Default

From the link:
"Note: to test, grab a langpack file from landoleet."
I not saw any langpack at landoleet. Where I get the langpacks?
Greetins.
Juca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:36 PM   #7
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,172
Default

I just finished the version for the planet Vulcan and fellow member Mr Data.



But seriously, holy workhorse Batman! That's a task. We're going to need a good strategy and tools to collab with this.

EDIT: Juca, language packs are the *.txt files over there. A the moment there's english, lower case, upper case and leet.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:14 PM   #8
btonebeatz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: California
Posts: 3
Default Better GUI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:

http://landoleet.org/i8n/


In this thread, please discuss any issues you find when creating a localization, i.e. if you find that setting certain strings do not work, or if you have ideas to speed the process up.

There is a separate thread for posts about bugs in this version of REAPER vs the normal version(s), please post those sort of bugs there and not here.

Notes:
  • At this time only REAPER itself and the MIDI editor are localizable, we will be doing more in the future to improve this.
  • Many of the dialog resources will not have room for longer translations -- we apologize for this and will be improving that in the future, before a general release without any doubt.
If Reaper had at better Gui for its effect I would really be happy, but for now I am over Protools and all the other pocket emptying DAW's
__________________
btonebeatz
btonebeatz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 12:23 AM   #9
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by btonebeatz View Post
If Reaper had at better Gui for its effect I would really be happy, but for now I am over Protools and all the other pocket emptying DAW's
Magnificent second post that's totally unrelated to the thread it's posted to.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 03:39 AM   #10
SEA
Human being with feelings
 
SEA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: By The Sea
Posts: 2,138
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:
What exactly is this and how much of a leap forward would this be for the current version of Reaper?

Thanks!
SEA
__________________
JamieSEA

http://www.facebook.com/jamieseamusic
SEA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 04:53 AM   #11
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,474
Default

SEA - a localized version of Reaper allows translating properties, menus, and whatnot in Reaper, to any language (provided there's a language file for that language). It's not much of a leap, but it will make Reaper multilingual, which is a nice thing, right?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:52 PM   #12
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
I'm very willing to start the French translation. But before starting, I need assistance (proof-reading and sharing of the workload of the translation itself). Who's in ze Frenchy team?
Count me in the Frenchy Team, I'm in.
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 10:50 PM   #13
Raja
Human being with feelings
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is a build of REAPER with initial, experimental localization features, available here:

http://landoleet.org/i8n/


In this thread, please discuss any issues you find when creating a localization, i.e. if you find that setting certain strings do not work, or if you have ideas to speed the process up.

There is a separate thread for posts about bugs in this version of REAPER vs the normal version(s), please post those sort of bugs there and not here.

Notes:
  • At this time only REAPER itself and the MIDI editor are localizable, we will be doing more in the future to improve this.
  • Many of the dialog resources will not have room for longer translations -- we apologize for this and will be improving that in the future, before a general release without any doubt.
what is an i8n???? please explain....
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 02:28 AM   #14
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
what is an i8n???? please explain....
Probably a "compression" of the more proper "i18n" term.

Look here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interna...d_localization

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:18 AM   #15
Raja
Human being with feelings
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Default k

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
Probably a "compression" of the more proper "i18n" term.

Look here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Interna...d_localization

- Mario
i read this link, do it means i will get reaper in my mother tongue?? do it supports indian language??? how can i install reaper in indian language?? will you provide me some help bro???
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:22 AM   #16
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,474
Default

First you'll have to translate it to your language.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:35 AM   #17
Raja
Human being with feelings
 
Raja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 23
Default hmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
First you'll have to translate it to your language.
can i change the letters and fonts too???
i just now read that help in development page. can it be translated to Hindi or Tamil like its as shown there???
if i do , will reaper team accept it and release it to rest of indian and Tamil users???
Raja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:27 AM   #18
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raja View Post
i read this link, do it means i will get reaper in my mother tongue?? do it supports indian language??? how can i install reaper in indian language??
What it means is that once you or somebody else kind enough has translated the language pack file (eg "leet.txt") to one of the Indian languages, it will then be available in that language to everybody else too. So far only available with the experimental Reaper build.

Link to the language pack files and instructions was already on top;
http://landoleet.org/i8n/


edit: promptly beaten by EvilDragon...
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 12:33 PM   #19
ecl
Human being with feelings
 
ecl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 400
Default Some lines in MAC/PC

Hello friends, I have been working with the new template (9Feb2015), but still have a problem that I think it´s already mentioned in this Thread but I cant find the answer.

The thing is that some lines that are translated in the .txt, are OK for the PC version but not in MAC

Does anybody know how to solve this?

I attach two images in which the same Langpack is used so you can see what I´m talking about.

Thanks a lot ¡¡¡
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Solo Mute.jpg (68.3 KB, 287 views)
File Type: jpg Diálogo FX 2.jpg (63.5 KB, 273 views)
ecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 03:39 AM   #20
ecl
Human being with feelings
 
ecl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 400
Default Can Somebody Help me please ?

Can Somebody Help me please ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ecl View Post
Hello friends, I have been working with the new template (9Feb2015), but still have a problem that I think it´s already mentioned in this Thread but I cant find the answer.

The thing is that some lines that are translated in the .txt, are OK for the PC version but not in MAC

Does anybody know how to solve this?

I attach two images in which the same Langpack is used so you can see what I´m talking about.

Thanks a lot ¡¡¡


Attached Images
File Type: jpg Solo Mute.jpg (63.5 KB, 286 views)

Last edited by ecl; 03-11-2015 at 02:47 AM. Reason: Inserting Images
ecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 10:22 AM   #21
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

A new template langpack is available (on lol/i8n): template_2015-03-23.ReaperLangPack.

It contains new strings, etc but it mainly allows you fixing OSX menu issues like:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecl View Post

A bit more work, but the various context menus as well as the main REAPER menu should translate fine on OSX now...
Well, let us know if not!
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 01:33 AM   #22
ecl
Human being with feelings
 
ecl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dea-man View Post
* B
8 C-45

One One Two Two

Boogie Woogie Avenue
Has this something to be with what I posted ??? Is any king of code to copy for solving the tranlation problem ?

Thanks
ecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 04:22 AM   #23
dimitris_T
Human being with feelings
 
dimitris_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 89
Default Greek translation

I will try to start a Greek translation.
If anyone else from Greece here, please let me know.
dimitris_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.