Old 08-05-2019, 06:30 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,450
Default v5.981+dev0805 - August 5 2019

v5.981+dev0805 - August 5 2019
+ AIFF: support reading FP files encoded with incorrect bits/sample field
+ Media explorer: faster item navigation via arrow keys with large databases
+ Windows: improve appearance of various ReaPlugs when resizing
+ Windows: improve appearance of various windows during resize
+ Windows: improve docker appearance during resize
# meters: fix overdrawing midi indicators

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 07:34 PM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

re: the windows resizing flicker improvements; don't expect a total elimination of flicker/artifacts when resizing things, but it should be quite a bit better...
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 08:04 PM   #3
nightscope
Human being with feelings
 
nightscope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
# meters: fix overdrawing midi indicators
yay

ns
nightscope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2019, 08:11 PM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
re: the windows resizing flicker improvements; don't expect a total elimination of flicker/artifacts when resizing things, but it should be quite a bit better...
Resizing CC lanes in the MIDI editor is unfortunately the same, as before.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 02:28 AM   #5
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,119
Default

Quote:
Notation: better handling for custom accidentals in key signatures that are enharmonic to C major https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=222761
The above feature was fixed for 5981 release and works fine there but similar problem was introduced in following dev versions.
Here is the test rpp: https://drive.google.com/open?id=16B...-oMfSmNePlDwnA

Open both items in one editor.
BUG - The note cannot be set to G#.

May be related to this bug https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....31#post2151731
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 03:24 AM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,060
Default

About resizing and dock,


we still have the undesired vertical scroll arrangement issue when resizing docked or switch between several docked elements.

(tested on win 10 x64)


https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=220630

as resizing docked elements is a very common action, it is a bug I face often, which is problematic in big projects.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 04:43 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Gerbage, Tennessee
Posts: 2,025
Default

getting weird black boxes in TCP, can't track down the cause. maybe multiple envelopes in the media lane? the black boxes moves on track resize

__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 04:49 AM   #8
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 131
Default

Midi editor no flickering.But flickering on media explorer and fx browser now.
nappies is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 04:49 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
getting weird black boxes in TCP, can't track down the cause. maybe multiple envelopes in the media lane? the black boxes moves on track resize

Is that the stock default 4.0 theme? what layout? Edit: nevermind, I think I have this fixed anyway

Last edited by Justin; 08-06-2019 at 09:09 AM.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 05:46 AM   #10
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,060
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin
don't expect a total elimination of flicker
Though at some point it would be very nice It will look solid and be very cumfy for the eyes :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 06:03 AM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Though at some point it would be very nice It will look solid and be very cumfy for the eyes :P
May I suggest linux?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 06:25 AM   #12
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
May I suggest linux?
No.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 08:35 AM   #13
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
May I suggest linux?
Oh I'm so onboard with this especially with the AMD processor benchmarks obliterating windows 10. As soon as someone can figure out how to get UAD and iLok to work on linux I'm switching.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 09:27 AM   #14
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,476
Default

iLok probably never, since it's a low-level system driver. You cannot WINE that I don't think. Not to mention the market share for Linux in audio is so small, it isn't worth developing for it from perspective of many bigger companies.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:16 AM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

Sorry, bad joke.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:17 AM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Resizing CC lanes in the MIDI editor is unfortunately the same, as before.
Hmm can't reproduce any significant flickering, anyway -- want to make a video of your screen (using a phone or whatever if necessary), and also include a bunch of system info?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:24 AM   #17
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,948
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm can't reproduce any significant flickering, anyway -- want to make a video of your screen (using a phone or whatever if necessary), and also include a bunch of system info?
Your wish is my command :P

Video:
https://nextcloud.stephanroemer.net/...dPPzLSqTbt4LQ3


System Specs:

Windows 10 x64, i9-9900X, Radeon RX460 (2GB)

Screens:
1x 3440x1440
1x 2560 x 1440
1x 1920 x 1080 (touch screen)
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 10:32 AM   #18
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ Windows: improve appearance of various windows during resize
+ Windows: improve docker appearance during resize
Dang, this is awesome! Looks much better now!
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 11:16 AM   #19
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,345
Default

I'm getting some odd midi meter visuals.

Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 11:17 AM   #20
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 749
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
May I suggest linux?
Already there I think if you were able to manage a built-in system to bridge Windows VSTs (something a little more user friendly than LinVST) you would see a LOT more people switch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
iLok probably never, since it's a low-level system driver. You cannot WINE that I don't think.
Actually, the ilok manager does work in Wine but you can only authorize via cloud or hard disk. You still would need to bridge the plugin though and I wouldn't really trust disk based authorization.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 11:37 AM   #21
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,723
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
I think if you were able to manage a built-in system to bridge Windows VSTs (something a little more user friendly than LinVST) you would see a LOT more people switch.
While opening probably the largest can of worms Costco can provide.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 11:48 AM   #22
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 749
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
While opening probably the largest can of worms Costco can provide.
Yup, didn't say that would be easy. But LinVST works well. It's just not the easiest to manage, especially re-bridging everything when a new version comes out, etc. But it can be done.

A big thank you to osxmidi as well!
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 01:12 PM   #23
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 267
Default

My contextual toolbar that should open when my mouse is over tracks is not opening.
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 02:22 PM   #24
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,345
Default

The latest update also broke the script

Script: Mouse_position_dependant_actions.eel
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 02:35 PM   #25
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,936
Default

Can anyone get the first metronome beat to play when using REAPER's built-in tone generator? REAPER seems to be skipping it for both metronome and click source item.
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]

Last edited by daxliniere; 08-06-2019 at 02:44 PM.
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 02:40 PM   #26
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 101
Default

All crash causes are broken mouse API from SWS. If this is presented in the final release, there will be many complaints
__________________
My scripts for rendering
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 02:42 PM   #27
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srdmusic View Post
As soon as someone can figure out how to get UAD and iLok to work on linux I'm switching.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
iLok probably never, since it's a low-level system driver. You cannot WINE that I don't think. Not to mention the market share for Linux in audio is so small, it isn't worth developing for it from perspective of many bigger companies.
You can run iLoks remotely with VirtualHere. You can even install the VirtualHere server on a $21 embedded device like a Raspberry Pi or your NAS!
https://www.virtualhere.com/home
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 02:49 PM   #28
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 749
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxliniere View Post
You can run iLoks remotely with VirtualHere. You can even install the VirtualHere server on a $21 embedded device like a Raspberry Pi or your NAS!
https://www.virtualhere.com/home
You can run the VirtualHere Server software on Linux. However, the VirtualHere Server emulates the real dongle on the local machine and since the dongle hardware is not recognized in Linux, you can't use it on the local machine. You still need the iLok manager software and can only authorize via disk or cloud if supported by the plugin.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 04:27 PM   #29
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxliniere View Post
Can anyone get the first metronome beat to play when using REAPER's built-in tone generator? REAPER seems to be skipping it for both metronome and click source item.
There's an option in the prefs to use a tiny fade-in on playback start.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 04:27 PM   #30
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
All crash causes are broken mouse API from SWS. If this is presented in the final release, there will be many complaints
Unfortunately SWS needs to be updated to address this.
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 04:48 PM   #31
AndrewFalcon
Human being with feelings
 
AndrewFalcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Unfortunately SWS needs to be updated to address this.
If possible, it would be cool to have a native BR_GetMouseCursorContext replacement in that case, because this function didn’t always work accurately. It didn’t return all the elements. For example
Snap offset position marker and item buttons for example was not included.To return TCP controls (knobs) wood be supercool!Dreams)
AndrewFalcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 06:41 PM   #32
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,485
Default

I'm going to work on updating the existing SWS API to work (and making a few tweaks to the REAPER side to make it easier).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2019, 06:54 PM   #33
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,948
Default

Thanks Justin, you rock!!!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2019, 02:43 AM   #34
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,119
Default

Maybe you could also consider notation editor for mouse cursor context. E.g. getting item (for continuous view), pitch, event, time under mouse.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 05:50 AM   #35
srdmusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 612
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
iLok probably never, since it's a low-level system driver. You cannot WINE that I don't think. Not to mention the market share for Linux in audio is so small, it isn't worth developing for it from perspective of many bigger companies.
I think there is a way to get iLok to work for any licence that can be stored on the system or cloud instead of on the physical USB ilok because that does not require the driver.

The bigger problem for me is UAD. There are just so many great emulations that would need to be replaced.

I'm probably going to upgrade to the 64 core/ 128 thread AMD when it's out at the end of the year. It will be interesting to see the benchmarks between Windows and Linux on that new Threadripper.
srdmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 05:54 AM   #36
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,476
Default

Yeah I was thinking of the plugins that require the dongle itself. They aren't happening on Linux probably ever.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 06:47 AM   #37
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewFalcon View Post
If possible, it would be cool to have a native BR_GetMouseCursorContext replacement in that case, because this function didn’t always work accurately. It didn’t return all the elements. For example
Snap offset position marker and item buttons for example was not included.To return TCP controls (knobs) wood be supercool!Dreams)
BR_GetMouseCursorContext was an amazing tour de force by Breeder, but I also think an upgrade is needed. In the MIDI editor, BR_GetMouseCursorContext is slow since it needs to parse the active take's chunk, doesn't work in the notation editor, and is sometimes inaccurate since the chunk doesn't reflect certain corner cases of the MIDI editor layout.

REAPER can either replace BR_GetMouseCursorContext entirely by a native function, or add a few new API functions (similar to the recent GetItemFromPoint) to help BR_GetMouseCursorContext execute faster and more accurately.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.